Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so Larry Murphy is back in Ireland. *MOD WARNING FIRST POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

the woman in the Larry Murphy case has moved on, she got married and went back to work, no doubt she is left with lifelong emotional scars as a result of the attack but to say her life is destroyed is overstating it a little. I'm sure though that this constant Larry Watch isn't helpful for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

eviltwin wrote: »
    the woman in the Larry Murphy case has moved on, she got married and went back to work, no doubt she is left with lifelong emotional scars as a result of the attack but to say her life is destroyed is overstating it a little. I'm sure though that this constant Larry Watch isn't helpful for her.

Do you have a link on how she is thinking or are you just speculating.

How would you know.

Do you have a link on how she is thinking or are you just speculating.

How would you know.

I can't say for certain but I would hazard a guess being reminded of her attacker in the media regularly isn't a pleasant experience.

What I have read and my very limited knowledge of following news events, the likes of an experience would last your life time. Hazard a guess ????.

Of course it would last a lifetime but it doesn't have to destroy your life as some have said. What kind of message does that send out to victims? There are many men and women who have survived sex attacks and gone on to lead normal, happy lives. Of course this woman went through a horrific experience and certainly its up there with the more horrific I can think of but it was reported at the time of Murphy's release that she had married and was doing well under the circumstances. She probably won't ever be the same person she was before it happened but she doesn't have to let it define her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the evidence is ...
    this is a man that is capable of stalking a women, learning her routine, bashing her skull while she is at the boot of her car, pushing her into her boot, and driving her to his car parked in a more discrete location, tying her up and putting her in his car, driving her to a remote wood in west wicklow (a decent journey from carlow), raping her repeatedly before getting caught in the act and escaping....driving home, collecting a bottle of whiskey on the way, and drinking it at home while his wife and kids slept....and never spoke of what he did or showed remorse or even admitted it...
    yeah, the evidence for that particular crime, which he was convicted of, nothing else, he wasn't convicted of anything else, because theirs no evidence, get over it

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

So is it the case that for this type of crime no one ever really does his/her time for it?

Once released its something to be expected? Or is it just the high profile cases that TV3 do documentaries about?

There are rapists and serial rapists the length and breadth of this country, some of whom are "men of the cloth".

This is just jumping on the social media pitch fork mentality band wagon in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭okedoke

No, you're mistaken.
    He's actually just an evil scumbag who destroyed a woman's life, remains a real danger to women and whom the guards need to watch like a hawk if he is back in the country.

Heard nothing about 3 inch teeth myself.

I could be thinking of a different Larry Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Jeez, I doubt she needs the media to remind her about him

Don't be so flippant. Do you think its helpful to see your rapist in the press, on tv and basically being elevated to an almost celebrity status when you are trying to get on with your life? Murphy left a lot of victims, this woman, his ex wife and children, his siblings, there was another woman he attacked too who was a friend of his wife...all these people deserve to be able to get on with things without the country playing Where's Larry? for no other reason than some people in the media are convinced he is a serial killer even though there is not one shred of credible evidence to suggest that he is.

There are many rapists in this country no one knows about many of whom have raped more women than Murphy was convicted of but how many of those do we know?

Right. So no one 'knows about' them, yet you speak about them like they're factual??? How on earth do you know about them then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Right. So no one 'knows about' them, yet you speak about them like they're factual??? How on earth do you know about them then?
    Well look at the statistics of unreported rapes vs convictions.

I remember reading a thread on a forum, I don't know if it was on Boards.ie or not but it was women giving their experiences of sexual assault/rape and I was shocked. It's a very high stat the amount of women who will suffer this.

I should say there are thousands of rapists walking around our streets, probably a few serial rapists. Remember rape is a wide term, sleeping with a women who is drunk is technically rape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Holsten wrote: »

I remember reading a thread on a forum, I don't know if it was on Boards.ie or not but it was women giving their experiences of sexual assault/rape and I was shocked. It's a very high stat the amount of women who will suffer this.

I should say there are thousands of rapists walking around our streets, probably a few serial rapists. Remember rape is a wide term, sleeping with a women who is drunk is technically rape.

So how many rapists of Larry Murphy's caliber do you believe are walking around the place?

Those statistics certainly don't make it a fact that there are people walking around in society who have raped more times than Larry Murphy though?? Just speculation. Obviously there was a serial abductor at the very least at work in Ireland between 1993-1998

GenieOz wrote: »
    So how many rapists of Larry Murphy's caliber do you believe are walking around the place?
    No idea, but look at the sheer amount of unsolved missing people cases. Look at the likes of Fritzel or Castro, I would put money that these have happened or are probably happening right now in Ireland.

Probably a few serial killers walking around free as a bird too.

Try and cop on, this guy stalked a woman waited for her, grabbed her and forced her into a car and tied her up with her own bra. Drove her for miles to a place to the murder triangle. Raped her then tried to kill her, and was disturbed by hunters and fled. This guy was an experienced abuser as suggested by the FBI. Do not make excuses for his likes. It is insulting to normal people.

What the hell are you on about? How the hell am I making excuses for "his likes"?! Jesus Christ.

Is it outside the realm of possibility that there are others, even worse than Mr. Murphy in Ireland active at this very minute who've yet to be caught? No, of course not.

What the hell are you on about? How the hell am I making excuses for "his likes"?! Jesus Christ.

Is it outside the realm of possibility that there are others, even worse than Mr. Murphy in Ireland active at this very minute who've yet to be caught? No, of course not.

This thread is about Mr Murphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

This thread is about Mr Murphy.

Please don't refer to that scumbag as a 'Mr', he is no such thing.

No it isn't, but if we knew about them there'd be as much hatred and focus on them aswell.
    I don't see the point you're trying to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,607 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

How can anybody say things like "leave him alone to get on with his life" do you think his victim has just got on with life after 10 years. No she will always have those horrible memories and events in her mind. Murphy showed no remorse for his evil crimes. Get on with his life please some crimes are so evil the person should never be allowed a moments peace ever again. Big deal he spent 10 years in jail he is a violent sick rapist and possible serial killer and will still have that mentality after being in jail. If it was someone in your family or a friend who he raped i doubt anyone would say leave him alone he's paid his debt ect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

I'm interested as to the opening and swift closing of this account

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=702376

What a username :eek::pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Adamantium wrote: »
    Trailer voice: In a country where no one wants them,
    Larry Murphy and John Gilligan return to Ireland in an action buddy comedy

<Scene of them breaking into a house>

Gilligan: "You take the front door and I'll take the back"

Murphy: "But John, I always take the back"

<pauses>

"Right you are Larry"

Coming to theatres SUMMER 2014

Gilligan, two weeks off retirement from the underworld before moving to Alicante: "I'm too old for this sh*t"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I'm sure she's having a f*cking whale of a time and that didn't affect her life at all or her relationship. I bet it's had no impact on how she is now... Jesus H! I would imagine she's a shadow of herself ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

EvilTwin and Holsten must be on a wind up here?

"It's not Larry Murphy people should be afraid of it, it's the people who are closest to them."

"I should say there are thousands of rapists walking around our streets, probably a few serial rapists."

"There are many rapists in this country no one knows about, many of whom have raped more women than Murphy was convicted of but how many of those do we know?"

^^^ Not sure if serious ^^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Freddie Dodge

Some awfully sick people posting on this thread.

Hopefully in years to come they'll look back and think "I was just being a dick, I thought I waz koolio, but in fact I was just an immature teenage wannabe lawyer, inadvertently hurting people.

If Holsten and his crew of "me too" thankers arent teenagers, then re-read line 1.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I'm sure she's having a f*cking whale of a time and that didn't affect her life at all or her relationship. I bet it's had no impact on how she is now... Jesus H! I would imagine she's a shadow of herself ffs.

Talk about an overreaction. I never once said she was having a whale of a time or anything like it. My point was to the people who said that being the victim of a rape destroys your life. As an abuse survivor I find that point of view harmful and quite offensive. My life hasn't been ruined, its not been an easy road to get to the place I am today but I'm happy with my life just like many other men and women who were raped or abused.

If someone had said to me in my lowest point that my life was destroyed I think I would have ended it all, having hope that I could get past it and put my life back together was a light at the end of tunnel and survivors need that. It doesn't mean you forget it or that you don't carry the emotional impact of it, you do, every day of your life, but you can still have a happy life.

EvilTwin and Holsten must be on a wind up here?

"It's not Larry Murphy people should be afraid of it, it's the people who are closest to them."

"I should say there are thousands of rapists walking around our streets, probably a few serial rapists."

"There are many rapists in this country no one knows about, many of whom have raped more women than Murphy was convicted of but how many of those do we know?"

^^^ Not sure if serious ^^^

I'm not on a wind up at all.

I have nothing but contempt for Murphy, I couldn't post here what I wish on that man or I'd be banned but I hope his life is one of misery and pain and hardship. I hope if there is a hell he gets pride of place.

My objections are the media frenzy that goes with him, the social media and newspapers obsession. I can remember in the weeks after his release hearing that he was living in Coolock, Cabra and Portlaoise all on the same week, all from people in those areas who were terrified to go out their door after dark in case they were attacked. All with no confirmation that any of the information was accurate.

The fear of Murphy comes from the fear many people have that he is the one responsible for the missing women. There is some very compelling circumstancial evidence that he involved but right now that's all it is. There is nothing to say one way or another that he did kill even one of those women.

He was a sick man but he's one of many. Rape reporting and convictions are so low in this country that we just don't know how many serial offenders are out there at any time.

Again I do not diminish the crime Murphy was convicted of, the impact on his victim or the danger he poses but I will not live in fear of the man either. If you want to think that makes me a wind up merchant fire away.

Some awfully sick people posting on this thread.

Hopefully in years to come they'll look back and think "I was just being a dick, I thought I waz koolio, but in fact I was just an immature teenage wannabe lawyer, inadvertently hurting people.

If Holsten and his crew of "me too" thankers arent teenagers, then re-read line 1.
    What the hell are you on about? Seriously? Yet another poster who knows nothing about this area at all.

Alluding to the fact that people who don't agree with the media hounding and endless punishment of types like Murphy are some how sick? Cop on to yourself and do the research then try to have an intelligent input.

It's nothing at all about trying to be a dick or cool or whatever, how childish to even think that. Laughable post.

What the hell are you on about? Seriously? Yet another poster who knows nothing about this area at all.

Alluding to the fact that people who don't agree with the media hounding and endless punishment of types like Murphy are some how sick? Cop on to yourself and do the research then try to have an intelligent input.

It's nothing at all about trying to be a dick or cool or whatever, how childish to even think that. Laughable post.

Yours would be laughable too, if they weren't so bloody sickening.