Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I was on a korean game show!

• 29-12-2013 5:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭

If anyones interested I represented Ireland on a Korean Game show in August!
    Random I know haha
    But the best week of my life!! Last feb I saw the Korean Embassy in Dublin had a competition going, were you could win a trip to South Korea. So i entered for the crai, since I've always been interested in Korean culture (being a lover of k-pop, k-drama and the arts..) So first round was to write an essay about everything I loved about Korea. They emailed me back and said I qualified for the second round. This was a quiz in trinity with about 40-50 ppl. the top 5 scorers qualified into the last round, which was me! The last round was an interview again in trinity, with ppl from the korean and irish embassys. the whole point of all these rounds was to find a person suitable to represent Ireland over in Korea. After the judges deliberated fr a few hours, they came back and told me I won! So, the Korean embassy flew me over in August and paid for EVERYTHING, 5 star hotels like the hilton, the best of food, drink, theatre.. you name it. The last day of the week was the filming of the game show.
    Simply amazing trip and one i will never forget!
    Here's a link to the show if you're curious :)

Facebook Page with loads of pics
    https://www.facebook.com/alana.obrien.56?success=1

And heres the show! Unfort not in eng subs...sorry :/
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0nW7MB7ja8
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Sounds like the first ten minutes of an episode of banned up abroad.

Then he asked me to bring this bag home..

• Registered Users Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Be handy if I could speak Korean for the video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

give us a time for the video so we can see what part you are shown in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I'd ride you OP

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Gamayun

Sam Mac wrote: »

5:10 for OP

I think there's more contestants than countries! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Imagine if you got sent up to North korea :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Have any dog whilst there?

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭aob85

Sam Mac wrote: »

Ah cool will do, its a long video (2 hours i think)

Have any dog whilst there?

Haha no! Had alot of very random food tho like, live octopus (bleagh!)
    Other than that the food there is gorge, they looooove cabbage believe it or not! they have it with every meal, called Kimchi :)

mikeym wrote: »

imagine!!! Dont think i'd go up North now lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Nice entrance OP. Should have come in drinking a pint of stout or shaking a hurl.

As it's nearly 2 hours and in Korean any chance of giving us the highlights or did you disgrace us?

Gamayun wrote: »
    5:10 for OP

I think there's more contestants than countries! :P

yeah 30 contestants!!! :O
    I should of warned everyone, the dress is a bit mad!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,650 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Good job op!

So how did you do?!

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Gamayun

mikeym wrote: »

COMMENCE QUIZ PROGRAMME!

"Who invented the Television?"

OP: "That was John Lo.. *gun cocks* .. eh, glorious leader Kim Jong-un of course.."

"Correct! END BROADCAST!"

Gamayun wrote: »
    COMMENCE QUIZ PROGRAMME!

"Who invented the Television?"

OP: "That was John Lo.. *gun cocks* .. eh, glorious leader Kim Jong-un of course.."

"Correct! END BROADCAST!"

Oh, the OP won then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Costume design by Foster and Allen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Well done OP!

How did you do in it?

smcgiff wrote: »
    Nice entrance OP. Should have come in drinking a pint of stout or shaking a hurl.

As it's nearly 2 hours and in Korean any chance of giving us the highlights or did you disgrace us?

May I add, I had approx 2-3 hours sleep every night! after a long day of filming, south africa, switzerland, austria, uk and I would go out on the lash...
    so i am INCREDIBLY tired and a teensie bit hungover most times :p

HIGHLIGHTS
    5:00
    12:10
    12:20
    13:30
    15:50
    13:15
    16:40
    18:05
    26:20
    40:15
    45:25 (im so tired here that i look a little crazy!)
    55:10
    Check out cutie contestant Gabriel (only 15!!) and he does a Dance! 1:05:10

i pop up all over the place really, so prob left a good bit out!

mikom wrote: »
    Costume design by Foster and Allen.

I know, costume was so over the top!
    It was designed my Fi Bourke an Irish designer who makes the dresses for the Miss world and Eurovision shows and the like
    I like it though, made for the stage..and maybe paddy's day?? haha

Well done OP!

How did you do in it?

Didnt win the over all show, but got quite far in each round :D
    Honestly didnt go over thinking I could win, i was up against people who lived in Korea or who are married to Koreans..
    But undoubtedly the best week of my life ;)

Dress was grand. Nice legs, btw.

aob85 wrote: »
    Didnt win the over all show, but got quite far in each round :D
    Honestly didnt go over thinking I could win, i was up against people who lived in Korea or who are married to Koreans..
    But undoubtedly the best week of my life ;)

Thats brill, sounds like an amazing experience! Well done you! I was in an Irish quiz show once, it was cheesy - nothing as extravagant as your Korean one!

Ha really? which one?

• Registered Users Posts: 275 ✭✭Pyridine

Are you the Chinese looking brunette OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Brilliant! State of that Kiwi lad!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Nice one fair play OP

aob85 wrote: »
    Ha really? which one?

Ill have to google around for the name of it - Ryan Tubridy was the quizmaster. It was a super cheese fest.

Edit - it was called All Kinds of Everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Awesome stuff! :D Looks like you had a hell of a time ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭Archeron

Cool, like a modern day Korean version of Going for Gold,

And strangely, the prize in the last one of those i saw was a trip to the Seoul Olympics in 1988. Strange goings on....

Well done OP, it's a country I would love to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

When the BBC's Pointless quiz show asked 100 people to name a country in the G20, nobody answered "South Korea", so very well done to you at home if you got that.