HTC One [Megathread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 889 ✭✭✭pedatron

Lads. Best current ROM for the One? Just tried out OnDroid with the latest 5.5 sense and it has bad battery life. Any recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Gordy6040

Dcully wrote: »
    I know three people apart from myself with a HTC One and none have any issues whatsoever.
    S4 might be a nice bit of gear but but its not a patch on the HTC one.

yeah, thing is , i really like the phone. I'ts actually really pissing me off about the service i got. I'd love to be able to get another one because the interface is fantastic. Just cant though. Its a real pity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

listermint wrote: »
    I still prefer the power button to be on the side but hey i cant win em all..
    Pique wrote: »
    And as a right-hander with long fingers, I find the position to be awkward too.

Ya just can't win :)

Lads, get a custom kernal with swipe to lock/unlock on there. It was one of the first things i did upon getting the phone. I actually cannot remember the last time I touched the power button. . .it's bleedin' miles away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

Anybody notice any problems with blinkfeed recently. Have configured a couple of different sources but only appears to be updating twitter sources. Adding and removing a topic seems to refresh everything?

I've had a similar issue where it somehow ends up only showing Facebook posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

Picked up the HTC One a couple of days ago, really enjoying it so far.

Found a work-around app for the power button issue - it uses the proximity sensor / g-sensor to start:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.omd.autoscreenon&hl=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Gordy6040

Dubba wrote: »

Found a work-around app for the power button issue - it uses the proximity sensor / g-sensor to start:

Good tip , i'll try it on my desire S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Gordy6040 wrote: »
    Oh god!
    i've had a nightmare with HTC support, they're shocking. Took them 7 weeks to get the my phone picked up , they kept setting up new tt's to deal with it. I messaged them on face book, sent a mail via their web site, actually wrote a letter to their office in London. Eventually I had to post the phone back to them.

Anyway, i really like my HTC One S. Moral of the story is , stay on top of them, make sure that the tech guys can see the courier is booked to collect your phone.
    just out of interest, have you ever had problems with the power / standby button? The one on my Desire S went, so did my wifes. It went on my One S as well. The glass and the frame etc are perfect, just the power button seems a bit weak.
    yeah, thing is , i really like the phone. I'ts actually really pissing me off about the service i got. I'd love to be able to get another one because the interface is fantastic. Just cant though. Its a real pity
    Good tip , i'll try it on my desire S.

This thread is about the HTC One. You don't appear to have one but are complaining about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

This thread is about the HTC One. You don't appear to have one but are complaining about it?

You uh... May want to check the very first post of this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

is anyone having problems with getting 3g on o2 in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Prenderb

Anyone having sound quality issues from the speakers - music and ringtone wise? Bit of crackling and popping once I head above about half volume on mine - perfect in the headphones and fine on calls so I reckon it's the lower speaker. Am I the only one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,314 ✭✭✭✭listermint

theteal wrote: »
    Lads, get a custom kernal with swipe to lock/unlock on there. It was one of the first things i did upon getting the phone. I actually cannot remember the last time I touched the power button. . .it's bleedin' miles away!

I dont understand though. the screen would have to be on to swipe unlock. Wouldnt this have poor power rating with screen always on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

scudzilla wrote: »
    HTC Ireland have been teasing on there FB page this weekend and have just revealed the new 'HTC One'

Looks like a very very smart piece of kit.

Sonics2k wrote: »
    You uh... May want to check the very first post of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Forgive my ignorance but as mentioned before does this app not require the phone constantly powered on affecting battery life?Thanks it looks like a handy app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,314 ✭✭✭✭listermint

seligehgit wrote: »
    Forgive my ignorance but as mentioned before does this app not require the phone constantly powered on affecting battery life?Thanks it looks like a handy app.

Well this app is different to the other kernal fix,in respect it used a different tool to perform the 'screen on' function. i.e. G sensors or proximity sensors which are on anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Blinked_Missed It

There is 1 poster who keeps complaining and we still havent got to the bottom of the issue. 3 phones?? Bit suspect no.

And even at that he is buying second hand units of god knows who.

Ive had mine since it came out not a days issue with it. The build quality is second to none and its no comparison to the Plastic S4 of which my mother has and several of my friends. Ive had the HTC Legend / HTC Desire / Samsung S2 and Samsung Galaxy Nexus. And build quailty wise the HTC one beats them all hands down.

I still prefer the power button to be on the side but hey i cant win em all..

Hang on a second. I've been involved in the mobile and networking business for over 15yrs. In previous employment I have likely more experience dealing with mobile manufacturers, wholesalers, retailers and repair dealerships than almost anyone out there.

I have had 3, count them, 3 HTC Ones misaligned. Its been a well known issue if you'd care to check out the XDA Developer forums for 1 minute rather than basically accusing somebody of trolling. The evidence is right there. I have spoken to colleagues in work with the same issue and have seen their HTC Ones' with the same problems. I've also seen others which don't have it. It was specifically stated the 1st 2 HTC Ones were both made the same day in the same factory (13th March in Argentina). I also stated I moved away from the One until I could be sure the 1st rushed batches were gone & hoped QA would now be perfect. On some its not. Simple. Try these:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2408050

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qL1lV9-DbcM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NwOu5oXpjVQ

http://androidforums.com/htc-one/712236-htc-one-build-quality.html

As to "buying second hand units off god knows who".
    1: I buy with receipts, never without.
    2: I check with the network who I have direct links to that the phones are legit (no claims, no repair history, no blacklists)
    3: I don't buy dodgy stolen kit & anyone who tries to sell it to me will find themselves dealing with the criminal courts & believe me I'm very capable of getting that organized very quickly.
    4: Most importantly I'm not here to prove myself beyond a reasonable doubt to you.

Get your facts straight before you post. I'm not "1 poster who keeps complaining", I'm 1 poster with 3 HTC Ones with the same problem as others around the world have also faced.

Ps: I'm not a fanboy. I have as much loyalty to multinational multi-billion dollar corporations as they have to me. None.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

The first post is two years old, and the video features the HTC One X.

Put two and two together here.

I dont understand though. the screen would have to be on to swipe unlock. Wouldnt this have poor power rating with screen always on ?

i don't understand, is my screen still on when i swipe to lock? looks off as far as i can tell. i've not looked at the ins and outs of the kernal tweak. i still get 2 days from a charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

Two days, wow! But how far do you let the battery drain? I don't like going under 30%, as I've heard it's not good for the battery. I'm allways near s charge source so it's not an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Chris Dolmeth

Rabble
    Jaysus methinks thou doth protest too much.

For someone with sooo much experience in the mobile industry with sooo many contacts blah blah, one would think that you'd either have more reliable contacts from whom to buy phones, or at least have the sense to inspect the phone before buying. If not the first time, then at least the subsequent ones when you'd know what to look for (if you hadn't already known from, you know, your extensive experience or contacts or something like that).

Also, your bit about getting someone done for selling dodgy gear gave me a laugh.

Jaysus methinks thou doth protest too much.

For someone with sooo much experience in the mobile industry with sooo many contacts blah blah, one would think that you'd either have more reliable contacts from whom to buy phones, or at least have the sense to inspect the phone before buying. If not the first time, then at least the subsequent ones when you'd know what to look for (of you hadn't already known from, you know, your extensive experience or contacts or something like that).

Also, your bit about getting someone done for selling dodgy gear have me a laugh.

If someone accuses me of something & doesn't have the cop-on to check the evidence surrounding the issue before he/she speaks I'll respond how I feel but its nice to see this place has become fanboy central. Its getting as bad as the Apple heads. If you had read properly (or if you can) I said "in previous employment". I've moved on. I buy my phones like everyone else via the usual network sources or as there was no upgrade available this time elsewhere. The guy was usually very reliable so I went on his word & I don't believe there was deliberate deception.

I explained previously how old & where the phone came from, then was basically accused of buying dodgy phones. Glad I gave you a laugh but try doing it with me & I'll wipe the smile from your face.

Its a shame this thread has been hijacked by certain HTC fanboys. Cop yourself on. I'll take the Q over to XDA Developers where theres a chance of not dealing with a bunch of self righteous children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Chris Dolmeth

try doing it with me & I'll wipe the smile from your face.

Ooh look, an Internet hard man lol, and you're accusing others of being children! So mature!

Btw, your version of 'evidence' (unverifiable Internet post) differs from most people's.

Two days, wow! But how far do you let the battery drain? I don't like going under 30%, as I've heard it's not good for the battery. I'm allways near s charge source so it's not an issue.

it just beeped at me now to let me know it's at 14%, I'd normally let it go low. I'm in WiFi zones for 90% of the working week, I do notice the battery going a bit quicker on weekends when out and relying on the mobile signal.

Ooh look, an Internet hard man lol, and you're accusing others of being children! So mature!

Btw, your version of 'evidence' (unverifiable Internet post) differs from most people's.

No I told you if you tried to sell me stolen goods I would do it in real life. Not an internet hard man, just a very simple fact you'd be dealing with the Gardai and the courts very quickly. Then again your probably not over 12 so you could be alright.

My version of evidence includes videos and pictures of real HTC Ones being shown to have the issue. I doubt even HTC would refute their authenticity but your clearly looking for DNA evidence or just calling a number of people liars when it would seem they have no reason to lie. As for my issue being different from most how the hell would you even know the numbers of those affected or not. Stupid comment.

Its an anti-HTC conspiracy isn't it. Stop being a bloody idiot. Its a piece of hardware which some users clearly have certain issues with no different to any other out there. Your on the ignore list.

If someone accuses me of something & doesn't have the cop-on to check the evidence surrounding the issue before he/she speaks I'll respond how I feel but its nice to see this place has become fanboy central. Its getting as bad as the Apple heads. If you had read properly (or if you can) I said "in previous employment". I've moved on. I buy my phones like everyone else via the usual network sources or as there was no upgrade available this time elsewhere. The guy was usually very reliable so I went on his word & I don't believe there was deliberate deception.

I explained previously how old & where the phone came from, then was basically accused of buying dodgy phones. Glad I gave you a laugh but try doing it with me & I'll wipe the smile from your face.

Its a shame this thread has been hijacked by certain HTC fanboys. Cop yourself on. I'll take the Q over to XDA Developers where theres a chance of not dealing with a bunch of self righteous children.

I have to respond to this with, em where in the hell did i accuse you of buying 'dodgy' phones, I said 'SECOND HAND' that does not constitute that the phone is stolen or otherwise. It is you that got your back up and made up that nonsense.

I am not HTC fanboy, if you had of read my post you would clearly see all the models i have owned from various manufacturers so get that nonsense off your plate.

Any sorry but any sensible person would have to wonder why you of all the posters on this thread managed to get '3'. Yes '3' in a row phones with badly alligned screens. Put up any links you want but you managed to get 3 phones with bad screens and kept coming back for more? Do you not think that is perplexing (for the average man).

Also one has to wonder despite all your industry now how and prowess you didnt think about looking at a phone or turning it on before handing over what im assuming is a substantial sum of cash to somebody for a phone, (trust or otherwise)

And the you polish it off by calling us all fanboys because we dont agree with you. Well sorry but this forum is for reasoned debate. Youve been reasoned with and have been found wanting.

Maybe you should by HTC one number 4, you might get lucky this time....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 665 ✭✭✭philthrill69

Have to agree that this thread is over run with fanboys. You take your life in your own hands if you dare speak of the HTC One in a negative light.
    All you get is smart answers and posters going on the offensive immediately.
    I would advise anyone looking for unbiased advice about whether to buy the HTC One or not to go elsewhere.

Have to agree that this thread is over run with fanboys. You take your life in your own hands if you dare speak of the HTC One in a negative light.
    All you get is smart answers and posters going on the offensive immediately.
    I would advise anyone looking for unbiased advice about whether to buy the HTC One or not to go elsewhere.

I completely disagree with every facet of what you said.

There is a huge amount of helpful information in here, huge amount from experienced users (which is where youd want a review)

Dont disregard this by shouting out fanboyism because thats just to easy to troll at people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Just wondering if there is a setting on my htc one to turn off the screen(not lock it) by turning it over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,951 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Hey guys just looking for a little help here. My one is stuck on android 4.1.2 and I can't seem to get it to update at all. I bought the phone second hand and Im just wondering if its been rooted or has the boot loader unlocked ? Would this affect it updating to the newest version of android ? does anybody have any hints ?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 252 ✭✭viclemronny

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Hey guys just looking for a little help here. My one is stuck on android 4.1.2 and I can't seem to get it to update at all. I bought the phone second hand and Im just wondering if its been rooted or has the boot loader unlocked ? Would this affect it updating to the newest version of android ? does anybody have any hints ?

There's an app called 'root checker' on the play store that will tell you if it's rooted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,951 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

There's an app called 'root checker' on the play store that will tell you if it's rooted.

I've tried that and it says its not. It's just in Polaris office there's a few files about routing and unlocking the boatload. I've reset the phone but those files are still there. Plus when I reset the phone by holding the power and volume button a bit of coding our something appears ontthe phone along the bottom of the screen. I just have no experience when it comes to routing etc.