Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Old diesel

POGAN wrote: »
    Makes you miss the ST220 in north cork traffic :(

That was a very nice car - and extremely effective in that youd never ever guess it was a garda car.

Bit of an indictment of the current fleet that we are left mourning the loss of an unmarked previous model high spec Mondeo :(.

Any word on any decent stuff coming through for AGS - I mean something that's a bit better then a 2.0 140 bhp diesel.

I know to be fair you did mention before about the 197 bhp 2.2s (I think) that were coming through the system.

New police spec Focus ST estate would make a lovely replacement for the ST 220 if an unmarked one was bought :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Old diesel wrote: »
    That was a very nice car - and extremely effective in that youd never ever guess it was a garda car.

Bit of an indictment of the current fleet that we are left mourning the loss of an unmarked previous model high spec Mondeo :(.

Any word on any decent stuff coming through for AGS - I mean something that's a bit better then a 2.0 140 bhp diesel.

I know to be fair you did mention before about the 197 bhp 2.2s (I think) that were coming through the system.

New police spec Focus ST estate would make a lovely replacement for the ST 220 if an unmarked one was bought :)

The new 2.2 (petrol) 190bhp marked advanced car should be in next month or two but don't believe it till I see it!

St220 was seized car would never being bought by the AGS because the right thing to do!

Focus st would be nice but a dream really anything better than transit connect that are awful!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

POGAN wrote: »
    The new 2.2 (petrol) 190bhp marked advanced car should be in next month or two but don't believe it till I see it!

St220 was seized car would never being bought by the AGS because the right thing to do!

Focus st would be nice but a dream really anything better than transit connect that are awful!!

Keep in mind if you just have the standard driving course done you won't be let drive the 2.2

Yup if your luck to have a driving course in the AGS your lucky aren't ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Any unit getting a 2.2 will previously have had a 2.5 or 3 litre petrol advanced car. If they previously have one then they will have members who can drive it or access to CBD3 courses for new members.

Also the standard car course pre 2005 covers all power ranges. It only became power/weight circa 2005.

Hooch wrote: »
    Any unit getting a 2.2 will previously have had a 2.5 or 3 litre petrol advanced car. If they previously have one then they will have members who can drive it or access to CBD3 courses for new members.

Also the standard car course pre 2005 covers all power ranges. It only became power/weight circa 2005.

Grand if you have people with either course. However the amount who have joined since 2005, and who require courses may impact unless more courses become available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I'd like to point out that these recent youtube clips of arrests have little, if anything to do with the vehicles involved and therefore I think the posters should receive off topic warnings.

This too shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

flazio wrote: »
    I'd like to point out that these recent youtube clips of arrests have little, if anything to do with the vehicles involved and therefore I think the posters should receive off topic warnings.

These posts are receiving a lot of 'thanks' so I think the general consensus has no problem with these clips. I for one wouldn't have come across these videos if it weren't for the posters and I'm grateful for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

Is your steering as good as your modding from the backseat? :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Technically there are vehicles in both the videos. So they are allowed in the "ES Vehicle Gallery No pic / no post" thread.

Ford Transit, RSU Volvos, Garda Chopper.

For the information of future posters, videos are more than welcome here.

Now back to the "Discussion" please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Oh dear one wonders what the reason for the pursuit was, fail to indicate , broken tail light use mobile phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Not sure if it comes under this thread's juristiction - Armoured Diplomatic vehicles :confused:

132D **** black Chevrolet Suburban in town , belonging to ??? Embassy :rolleyes:

Capri wrote: »
    Not sure if it comes under this thread's juristiction - Armoured Diplomatic vehicles :confused:

132D **** black Chevrolet Suburban in town , belonging to ??? Embassy :rolleyes:

There is actually loads of armored embassy cars about the city. Some are just for status.

I'm sure we can all guess who owns the Chevy.

Lovely jeep all the same. If not a bit over the top for Ireland's city roads.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=86239891&postcount=1460

Oh, there's a bike on fire in a petrol station. I'll just get out my phone, select camera and fire off a couple of shots. Dope.

Another Garda Motorcycle that won't be replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

foreign wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=86239891&postcount=1460

Oh, there's a bike on fire in a petrol station. I'll just get out my phone, select camera and fire off a couple of shots. Dope.

What a clown. I tell ye, I wouldn't be hanging around any petrol station with a fire like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭BaronVon

worth the watch, well equipped force!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bu9qlcWq8VM

What's the deal with a ballistic clipboard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

infacteh wrote: »
    What's the deal with a ballistic clipboard?

Either, it's to record the rounds fired, or it was some sort of failed attempt at a joke. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

Used while escorting prisoners ie. from car into court house can be used to cover ones face and prevent some one getting a shot off ! Or hostage situation entering a house or building !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

3fullback wrote: »
    Used while escorting prisoners ie. from car into court house can be used to cover ones face and prevent some one getting a shot off ! Or hostage situation entering a house or building !

Really? It looked like just a regular clipboard though. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Lovely jeep all the same. If not a bit over the top for Ireland's city roads.

Right height for getting in/out of the embassy tho' :rolleyes::rolleyes:

http://api.ning.com/files/FTb4qkosq9LFu8XdHR6*XuoxVGL*TpnY00L00PMHw2ODcpdVucUScQWMSoip6mzn1zsFdwhP9ER2QqOghxCAI-1Wyr-jnr*i/OBAMA.jpg

No shortago of money in Dubai police

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYX3YXnwF9k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

swiftblade wrote: »
    Really? It looked like just a regular clipboard though. :confused:

http://www.wired.co.uk/news/archive/2011-11/11/ballistic-clipboard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭belacqua_

3fullback wrote: »
    http://youtu.be/99Zh3QEhWp8

Anyone know what unit these cars are from looks like a specialised unit !

The jeep is ERU, I believe. I saw an identical vehicle escorting Michelle Obama and her secret service entourage in June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭robo10

was that an OPC vectra in the video it had all the extra bumper trim and looks to me like twin rear pipes similier to an OPC or maybe just a vectra with an XP2 body kit .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

belacqua_ wrote: »
    The jeep is ERU, I believe. I saw an identical vehicle escorting Michelle Obama and her secret service entourage in June.

The Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation (NBCI) has unmarked Toyota Land Cruisers (don't know if they're bulletproof, but look the same as Emergency Response Unit jeeps), and more importantly they also use Opel Vectras.

Otherwise, it just could be an unmarked Detectives' car and ERU at the same scene.

Anyone know what was going on?

EireGun wrote: »
    The Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation (NBCI) has unmarked Toyota Land Cruisers (don't know if they're bulletproof, but look the same as Emergency Response Unit jeeps), and more importantly they also use Opel Vectras.

Otherwise, it just could be an unmarked Detectives' car and ERU at the same scene.

we need to be careful with talk about these units not normal. Don't want rain on this mods have said no discussing these units before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭kub

EireGun wrote: »

I would doubt it if it was ERU, surely with 3 RSU units based in Cork, would ERU really need to travel down?

kub wrote: »
    I would doubt it if it was ERU, surely with 3 RSU units based in Cork, would ERU really need to travel down?

The ERU and the RSU are not the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭kub

The ERU and the RSU are not the same thing.

In hindsight of course you are correct. Is there any date as to when that recording was taken?

I have a recollection of a certain stock broking company on the South Mall receiving a very sudden visit by a certain Garda unit about 2/3 years ago.