Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Well if they still have Pan Europeans, they are at least 11 years old, as Honda stopped making them in 2002.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Theres also more speed detection vans in the DMR than that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Mr Simpson wrote: »

Garda ones?

Garda ones?

Yup, at least 2 (different logos on them)

Only one is assigned to DMR.

There's been 2 different ones in fairview in the last few weeks, maybe the second was cover or something?

There is one that is available to all regions to bolster enforcement. They are all 08's.

That'd be it so, cheers foreign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭BaronVon

The Garda symbols on them are magnetic, and can be removed or placed anywhere, which could make it look like a different van

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

infacteh wrote: »
    The Garda symbols on them are magnetic, and can be removed or placed anywhere, which could make it look like a different van

Sounds like a daring souvenir!

Nice spot of driving on the hard shoulder there Capri.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

foreign wrote: »
    Nice spot of driving on the hard shoulder there Capri.

You will observe , looking closer, that I was STOPPED :rolleyes: or a suicide pilot ready to total the camera van :P

Capri wrote: »
    You will observe , looking closer, that I was STOPPED :rolleyes: or a suicide pilot ready to total the camera van :P

Noticed that alright. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

Does anyone know when the armed Regional Support Units are getting new vehicles?

They've had the Volvo XC70 since 2008 I think, and a couple have 2009 reg plates. Surely they must be breaking the 300,000km barrier fairly soon. The only other marked vehicle I've seen the RSU use is the BMW X5, but that is from 2005 and so that must be well past 300k.

The Guards were trialling a new BMW 5 Series Touring about a year ago, and it would be up to the Volvo XC70 standard in my opinion... http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulmcmenamin86/7585724654/in/photostream/

Should they stick with Volvo, or go looking for an alternative?

EireGun wrote: »
    Does anyone know when the armed Regional Support Units are getting new vehicles?

They've had the Volvo XC70 since 2008 I think, and a couple have 2009 reg plates. Surely they must be breaking the 300,000km barrier fairly soon. The only other marked vehicle I've seen the RSU use is the BMW X5, but that is from 2005 and so that must be well past 300k.

The Guards were trialling a new BMW 5 Series Touring about a year ago, and it would be up to the Volvo XC70 standard in my opinion... http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulmcmenamin86/7585724654/in/photostream/

The XC70 that they have is a police special built to their spec. I would imagine the 300k rule doesn't apply to them. Just like it doesn't apple to other vehicles in the fleet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Section_4

foreign wrote: »
    The XC70 that they have is a police special built to their spec. I would imagine the 300k rule doesn't apply to them. Just like it doesn't apple to other vehicles in the fleet.

The 300,000 km rule applies to every car and van in the fleet.

The XC70 is suited to high speed driving along motorways and dual carriage ways, due to the poor handling characteristics of the XC70 it is not a competent pursuit vehicle or that adept for dynamic driving through twisty estate / county roads.

The 2006/2007 era 2.0 litre petrol Mondeos were the best all round car bought en masse by AGS thus far.

I suspect the BMW police edition 530d estate would be at the top of the RSUs (and every other units) wish list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

Section_4 wrote: »

The XC70 is suited to high speed driving along motorways and dual carriage ways, due to the poor handling characteristics of the XC70 it is not a competent pursuit vehicle or that adept for dynamic driving through twisty estate / county roads.

The 2006/2007 era 2.0 litre petrol Mondeos were the best all round car bought en masse by AGS thus far.

I suspect the BMW police edition 530d estate would be at the top of the RSUs (and every other units) wish list.
    Might be a rookie Q to ask section 4 but would the handling of the mondeo be as good whether it was a 2.0l petrol or the 2.0l diesel TC have now? :)

D Trent wrote: »
    Might be a rookie Q to ask section 4 but would the handling of the mondeo be as good whether it was a 2.0l petrol or the 2.0l diesel TC have now? :)

The 2.0 petrol handles better. The 2.0 Mondeo has a lighter engine than the 2.0 diesel with broadly similar power figures (diesel has more torque but it can't be applied as liberally without inducing wheel spin and/or under steer). The 2.0 diesel powered cars are ideal for motor/dual carriage way work while the petrol engined cars are better suited for responsive driving in suburban and city environments.

The current Fords do not handle as well as the previous generation, the power steering is an electric motor system versus the old generations hydraulic set up. The current cars are also larger and heavier without corresponding improvements in power and braking systems.

Actually sure one of the mechanics in the depot said that it's only the cars that are 300K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭carzony

I thought van and jeeps had to do 6000,000? I defo read that on here somewhere?

Actually sure one of the mechanics in the depot said that it's only the cars that are 300K.

I've heard that as well. 600K for vans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

There will be tender next year I would think but skoda is front runner with the lads in the college and on the unit.

RSU xc70 is police spec car are not covered by 300,000km grounding rule. That x5 was seized car from well known crime family in limerick it is one of two seized it was respray white and marked up as it is bulletrestiant it replaced one of xc70 crashed in cork.

I've heard that as well. 600K for vans

Yes foreign is correct the dmaxs, connect vans, transits (07/08) and the land cruiser all all between 500,000km n 600,000

Cars are all 300,000km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Old diesel

POGAN wrote: »
    There will be tender next year I would think but skoda is front runner with the lads in the college and on the unit.

RSU xc70 is police spec car are not covered by 300,000km grounding rule. That x5 was seized car from well known crime family in limerick it is one of two seized it was respray white and marked up as it is bulletrestiant it replaced one of xc70 crashed in cork.

Would the Skoda have the power for the job though - if AGS insist on having diesel. Top rating on them is 170 bhp - no???.

Of course sir could always order in the 3.6 v6 - but realistically this is Ireland and thus pigs would start flying before that would happen - lol.

The RSU going from a high spec Volvo police special to a Ford Mondeo sounds like a downgrade to me. The Fords might be fine for traffic duties, etc. but the Brits use BMW 3 and 5 series for their ARVs and the PSNI use the Audi A6 estates now for their ARVs (marked and unmarked) https://www.flickr.com/photos/81709772@N07/8684019336/

Maybe another fleet of Volvos wouldn't be so bad.

The RSU going from a high spec Volvo police special to a Ford Mondeo sounds like a downgrade to me. The Fords might be fine for traffic duties, etc. but the Brits use BMW 3 and 5 series for their ARVs and the PSNI use the Audi A6 estates now for their ARVs (marked and unmarked) https://www.flickr.com/photos/81709772@N07/8684019336/

Not hope getting Audis current fleet, ERU did get q7 tho but one car they would least need 30 cars over 12 month period

Volvos cost in 2008 €30 million money not there like anymore

I was not suggesting 2.0 Mondeos for the RSU, just commenting on how well the 2006/2007 Mondeos held up and that AGS haven't, to date, been able to replace them with anything comparable as they proved be excellent all round vehicles.

I think BMW 530d Tourings for RSU, regional Traffic Corps and the like would be the best option (albeit probably not politically or economically viable at the moment).

Yes foreign is correct the dmaxs, connect vans, transits (07/08) and the land cruiser all all between 500,000km n 600,000

Cars are all 300,000km

I won't go into it on a public forum but didn't the GRA say not to go over the 300k mark, regardless of the vehicle?

I understand the new Connects were bought with a higher end mileage limit but that was at the concession of the manufacture who is now willing to stand over the chassis's integrity past 300k?

Imagine what a patrol car would be like at 400k.......

Not hope getting Audis current fleet, ERU did get q7 tho but one car they would least need 30 cars over 12 month period

There were 30 Volvos delivered in 2008/2009 for the RSU, am I right? That's 6 per region (average), I am sure a few have been totalled in the 5 years they've had them. They replaced one with a seized 2005 BMW X5 (high security I think) in Cork, that's all I know of personally.

The 30 Volvos cost €30 Million in 2008 (I heard that figure mentioned before too)? That works out at €1 Million per Volvo XC70?
    The BMW 5 Series Touring or Audi A6 Touring (high spec.) works out at about €50,000 for me or you to buy, x30 is €1.5M, I guess when you factor in kitting them out, training, maintenance (fuel?) it would be double that figure, but not €30M surely?...

This is that ERU Audi Q7... image[4].png