If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UPC Horizon Launched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

Zascar wrote: »
    So I got a text today saying my delivery would come at between 1.30 to 3.30. I left the old digibox in my workreception and told them to accept the package and give back the old one. I was on the phone but had a missed call from a private number. I got the voicemail a few minutes later, it was the driver saying "I'm here to deliver your package - but I need to pick up the old unit, and since you have not answered the phone - you won't be getting your delivery today". What a croc of sh1t - he did not even come into the building to try to get me - I could have been in reception in 2 minutes. I'll pick it up at the depot tomorrow but still, I'm annoyed.

That's exactly what they do. He called me from outside to say I am here for the delivery. I was home, so a call worked for me better than buzzing the apartment alarm. Give them a call. They will deliver it to your home tomorrow but be ready to receive the call :)

Cocolola wrote: »
    Can I jump in and ask a question?

Ordered the Horizon Essentials Bundle through DID website the other day and after a bit of chasing them down they finally sent the order through to UPC a little while ago. Got the email from UPC a few minutes ago and it has us down for self install and no handset provided (which I kind of assumed we would be given but anyway).

So we're in rented accommodation and there's an old NTL box behind the TV, I have no idea if it works or what. But I was expecting we would need a technician to install the Horizon box seeing as we're new customers with no current cable package? Or do UPC have information on their end that lets them see the connection to our house is up to date and that self install should be no problem?

Sorry for sounding like an idiot :)

If you ask for a technician they will charge extra. Self install is easy enough to do. If you have a cable then plug that into the UPC point on the wall (not to tyhe NTL box) and your tv. Tune in your telly you may see the basic analog channels. That will mean your connection is active.

Usually they will activate the connection before they send out the box for self install.

If there's NTL box then the cable must be there. Just disconnect the cable from the box and plug it into your telly. Recently one of my friend got new connection and his connection was active.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

So I got a text today saying my delivery would come at between 1.30 to 3.30. I left the old digibox in my workreception and told them to accept the package and give back the old one. I was on the phone but had a missed call from a private number. I got the voicemail a few minutes later, it was the driver saying "I'm here to deliver your package - but I need to pick up the old unit, and since you have not answered the phone - you won't be getting your delivery today". What a croc of sh1t - he did not even come into the building to try to get me - I could have been in reception in 2 minutes. I'll pick it up at the depot tomorrow but still, I'm annoyed.

Not really a Horizon issue though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

who_me wrote: »
    IMO, there's a huge improvement. Looks better, is faster. People who complain about the Horizon EPG must not have had the Cisco box beforehand, as it's comparing Lamborghinis and tractors*. It could still be a lot faster, but it's a massive improvement on the Cisco box.

(* yes, I know Lamborghini made tractors.)

Cisco HD box EPG and software has been updated (i use for multiroom) and tbh its just as fast as the Horizon box i have. The UI is much easier to use on the old box and less cluttered and complicated.

Too much going on with the Horizon box. Fix the simple things and it could be good but for now its like using the NTL generation boxes for me, Slow, Clunky Junk!!

Looking Better Means Fúck All

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭pah

Ordered the horizon complete bundle to be installed next Thursday had to get a technician as there is no connection box in the house - I was told the previous owner cut the cable coming out of the ground inside the front door when laying wooden floor as he didn't need a hardline??

ive survived on 3g broadand and sky but couldn't live with the atrocious speeds and bills of the two together - explained this to guy on the phone - said there was no extra charge for the install but I wonder how big a job it will be. I assume the old system came in at the front door and then ran to the hot press where it's split to the rooms around the house

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Just got it set up a few minutes ago. Initial reaction: I was hoping some of the negative comments here would be over exaggerated. They are not.

This sort of thing makes me angry. The absolute basics - the little things you simply rely on using every minute - are now worse than before. What I liked about UPC is I could just press left and right and see what was on on the other channels - flick through really fast to find what you want, and click once to view. Simple. This seems to be gone. :mad:
    Now one one every used the guide on the last box as it was too slow. This is slightly faster but still nothing on Sky. With sky, you press guide, go up and down click twice quickly to view - its really fast. They tried to do the same thing but its very slow. it takes about 5 seconds to change channel now if using the guide. This is unacceptable. Why you have to push twice to get it to change channel is beyond me. You get this unnecessary menu - this should be accessible by pressing "i" instead. So the way the previous box worked well, they new one no longer does - and how sky was better - it has done very badly, only marginally better than it was before.

Honestly. How in the world could they have got it so incredibly wrong? If I can find the time I'll write something proper to UPC's CEO.

I really hope I'm wrong here and I figure out better ways to go this - but it just infuriates me that simply scanning other channels to see thats on and quickly change is now significantly slower than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,022 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭motownman

All of he negative comments about the Horizon service are very disappointing.

I currently have the UPC mediabox HD DVR and hoped that Horizon was going to solve all the problems that it has.

It is hard to believe they can put this product out while it still has so many bugs and flaws.

It would be nice if someone who has the box listed all the bugs/flaws and asked UPC to acknowledge and address these issues with a time frame for a fix. I can't imagine they would respond unfortunately.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Sandy I don't think this is really a beta thing that can be fixed. I'd say it's simply badly developed and it's never going to improve significantly. I'm considering whether I want the old one back....
    motownman wrote: »

It would be nice if someone who has the box listed all the bugs/flaws and asked UPC to acknowledge and address these issues with a time frame for a fix. I can't imagine they would respond unfortunately.

Good idea anyway. I've actually started making a list of the things I hate about it. Perhaps a separate thread is needed

On a separate note. How do you get the volume to work with your tv?
    Also I cannot get the network thing to work. No idea what to do. I'd love to be able to stream movies downloaded from my pc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Getting the Horizon box delivered on Monday for a self install, why do they not provided the coax/telephone cable with the box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭quarryman

Is it possible to get a refund on this and go back to the old box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭Meesared

God i wouldnt go back to the old box if i was paid to, the horizon is way better IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Just got it set up a few minutes ago. Initial reaction: I was hoping some of the negative comments here would be over exaggerated. They are not.

This sort of thing makes me angry. The absolute basics - the little things you simply rely on using every minute - are now worse than before. What I liked about UPC is I could just press left and right and see what was on on the other channels - flick through really fast to find what you want, and click once to view. Simple. This seems to be gone. :mad:
    Now one one every used the guide on the last box as it was too slow. This is slightly faster but still nothing on Sky. With sky, you press guide, go up and down click twice quickly to view - its really fast. They tried to do the same thing but its very slow. it takes about 5 seconds to change channel now if using the guide. This is unacceptable. Why you have to push twice to get it to change channel is beyond me. You get this unnecessary menu - this should be accessible by pressing "i" instead. So the way the previous box worked well, they new one no longer does - and how sky was better - it has done very badly, only marginally better than it was before.

Honestly. How in the world could they have got it so incredibly wrong? If I can find the time I'll write something proper to UPC's CEO.

I really hope I'm wrong here and I figure out better ways to go this - but it just infuriates me that simply scanning other channels to see thats on and quickly change is now significantly slower than before.

A couple of minor points:

If you want to view what's on other channels, hit "Back", then Up / Down. You can view what's on other channels, with a preview.

If you want to go straight from the Guide to watch the show, without going via the Info screen, keep the Ok button held (as opposed to double-tapping Ok on Sky).

Thanks - that's actually quite encouraging. It's still unacceptably slow though. But at least it's something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Disappointing feedback tbh, kinda wish I'd done some research here before agreeing to change over to Horizon from my existing UPC package :(

It's a pity the developer/hacker community can't get their hands on this and totally redo it - like with mobile phones. I bet a few of these lads could have this thing perfect with a few weeks work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭toddunctious

It's a pity the developer/hacker community can't get their hands on this and totally redo it - like with mobile phones. I bet a few of these lads could have this thing perfect with a few weeks work...

Ye would be cool if they could run xbmc on it

Also on the guide you can enter channel number to quickly jump to the channel in guide. Same like old box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭paulboland

latest update V1.28-16777494
    was on 03-08-2013 same as you have

That is the H2 update we got on 03-08-2013
    We were testing new beta software in Ireland before it went on general release
    They were using Ireland Beta testers before Final H2 was released
    H2 was supposed to be released earlier in Holland but got delayed due to the feedback Ireland customers gave on the box
    Customers in Ireland were really testing the Box software and really was in beta stage as we had the new remote to test it

H2 is the final software we have now and new remote we already were testing

Future updates will happen also to add new features and fix problems not fixed in H2

Info from UPC Holland Website
    The combination of the software update and the new H2 remote Horizon TV is faster, easier to use and more stable.
    Software Update H2
    The software update, called H2, UPC renews the menu Horizon TV.
    • You can easily and quickly navigate.
    • You can find what you want faster.
    • Horizon TV delivers more program information.
    • The format of the menu offers more control.
    You do not have to do it yourself
    The software update H2 is automatically retrieved by your Horizon Mediabox. The new remote will send you free home
    Update was released in Holland August 12th 2013

In Ireland We already have it H2 Version already and this is what was launched officially in Ireland on August 12th 2013
    We had the new software and remote first before anyone in Europe

If you get Horizon to boot up normal
    Try yourself a normal factory reset and when asked say no to keep any settings

If that does not work you will need to wait till Monday to call UPC 1908

Call UPC 1908
    They need to try a forced factory reset it can only to be done by UPC they will send a signal to the box to try to fix it
    If it does not work the fix
    They will send you a new Horizon Box

Customers should never do a forced factory reset themselves must only be done by UPC
    Note This is different than a normal factory reset we can do as customers

If you get the Horizon Box to load as normal it will be good idea to try a Normal factory Reset but wait till the Morning time when UPC system will be active to enable the Box
    As doing a factory Reset after midnight can cause the box to get stuck in its setup
    Try a factory reset in the morning after 9.00am if you get the box working to view a channel

You can do a normal factory reset and keep settings and will keep recordings if you want but see below

I suggest you when doing a factory reset you don't keep any settings (This will remove all recordings)
    especially if box was freezing or remote was freezing
    this is usually caused when doing network setup you then did media setup and let it scan media devices

Never do a scan of media devices with network media setup always skip that setup because if you do let it scan the box will start to freeze (This is because Horizon media network scan cant handle over 1000 files and is known problem and you only notice the problem after you been playing back videos)

To tell if you have this problem if you see
    1) My Home Network Videos if you see videos in this you did do the scan
    2) My Music you see music tracks you did do a media scan
    and only way to fix is a factory reset with no settings kept

If you see message There is no music or no videos in your home network then all is ok and you did not do the scan

Note You will still see media in My Devices in My Library and can play videos/music from there and does not affect the horizon ability to playback videos or music from your PC or connected devices to your PC on same network