If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Go for it mate!

Any community work will be looked favourably upon at interview level,

bear in mind that by time the interview will come up if you start now you will have a good few months done at least :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Chem Lord

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Go for it mate!

Any community work will be looked favourably upon at interview level,

bear in mind that by time the interview will come up if you start now you will have a good few months done at least :)

I have sown experience with community work, like I help raise money in my area to send sick elderly to Lourdes! But the more I have the better! And as for Scouser's reply, I understand what you mean but I'm sire there's plenty of people out there who are just trying to give themselves the best chance possible at interview stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

Chem Lord wrote: »

I'm sire there's plenty of people out there who are just trying to give themselves the best chance possible at interview stage!

and hopefully the panel will see right through each and every veil of lies!

Scouser wrote: »
    and hopefully the panel will see right through each and every veil of lies!

Ok if you think someone wouldn't make a suitable guard just because he/she hasn't done a lot of volunteering, then that's your choice, I respect that. But I think you may be blowing this way out of proportion.

i dont think that at all. theres a myriad of different things that make a good gaurd

im just dismayed at the johnny come lately attitude from alot of posters and comments on here since recruitment has been announced

theres plenty of 'what are my chances' threads on here and that type of fishing for info on how to 'beef up your CV' is quite insincere and very hard to stomach.

AGS has been around for quite sometime and anyone who has any sort of interest in becoming a member should know exactly what they are looking for and would have been working on these requirements for the last number of years

anyone who has started this in the last month or so will be found out

i dont think that at all. theres a myriad of different things that make a good gaurd

im just dismayed at the johnny come lately attitude from alot of posters and comments on here since recruitment has been announced

theres plenty of 'what are my chances' threads on here and that type of fishing for info on how to 'beef up your CV' is quite insincere and very hard to stomach.

AGS has been around for quite sometime and anyone who has any sort of interest in becoming a member should know exactly what they are looking for and would have been working on these requirements for the last number of years

anyone who has started this in the last month or so will be found out

The 'johnny come late attitude'? I think you have have forgotten how long it's been since the last recruitment! Plenty of people who had dreamed of working for the guards had to focus on other career paths over the last few years. Nobody had any idea when it would start back! Also, a lot of people like myself were only 13/14 years old when the last recruitment took place. Shortly afterwards, the moratorium was announced and plenty of people in secondary school focused on other avenues!

As a gard yourself, you'd swear you wouldn't be so narrow minded.

The 'johnny come late attitude'? I think you have have forgotten how long it's been since the last recruitment!

yes the johnny come lately attitude. there has been quite a considerable amount of time since the last recruitment - Plenty of time for anyone interested in AGS to have all the boxes ticked and plenty of various relevant experience chalked up
    Plenty of people who had dreamed of working for the guards had to focus on other career paths over the last few years. Nobody had any idea when it would start back!

very true but it would eventually start back............... those truelly interested and committed to becoming a member would have been focused on qualifications etc for that exact eventuality whenever it may have been
    Also, a lot of people like myself were only 13/14 years old when the last recruitment took place. Shortly afterwards, the moratorium was announced and plenty of people in secondary school focused on other avenues!

but why would community involvement stop? the keystone to working in AGS is community work. why the sudden scramble to get experience doing this

if you were 14 at the time of the last moratorium you could still do work for vincent de paul, concern, amnesty international etc

in 2011 you were eligible to join the RDF and order of malta

in 2012 you were eligible to join CD and GR

As a gard yourself, you'd swear you wouldn't be so narrow minded.

im not a garda and i am not being narrow minded. im just calling it as i see it

the sudden rush to help out in voluntary orgs in order to tick a box for a future career and then bolt when you get what you want is a little distasteful

im not a garda and i am not being narrow minded. im just calling it as i see it

the sudden rush to help out in voluntary orgs in order to tick a box for a future career and then bolt when you get what you want is a little distasteful

My mistake, but yes you are being extremely narrow minded. You should remember that there's some very active/busy people out there who have other obligations like family, work, college, sports and who might not have had a lot of time to volunteer. These people very hard working, determined and an organisation like AGS would be extremely grateful to have them in their ranks. And by the way, who said anyone would 'bolt' from volunteering once/if they got into AGS? Stop being so dramatic, if that sickens you,why do you think you'd last in AGS?

im arguing the point that the sudden rush by people to meet requirements is disingenuous to the cause they are suddenly volunteering for

im gonna leave it at that

im arguing the point that the sudden rush by people to meet requirements is disingenuous to the cause they are suddenly volunteering for

im gonna leave it at that

Best of luck in recruitment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭yenom

Who the hell wants to go volunteering at 14, seriously cop on will ya.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

yenom wrote: »

Exactly, my 14 year old brother only wants to play the damn playstation:rolleyes:.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

yenom wrote: »

Been volunteering since my preteens!!!

but i appreciate what the poster previously said about the sudden surge to be mother theresas.

Its like dublin fans coming out to croker for the championship and sunny weather.

where were yas in parnell park in the cold depths of winter?

Ur able to support in summer,but not winter?
    Ur able to help the homeless now that recruitment is open, but couldnt during the moratorium?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Brad Pittman

This page is getting ridiculous. People here seem to think that they know everything about what the Gardai want, and they love nothing more to jump on someone's back.

I know everyone is in competition for the same job.

You don't need degrees or to be in the Garda reserve to apply. Once you get to the interview stage it's just you in a room with three other people. It's up to you to prove that your good enough.

Everybody has just as good a chance as the next person. Don't go running off to volunteer or do a course just because someone on this says so.

The scenario questions are the most important part of the interview. That's what your going to get your points on. Concentrate on them and not the ridiculous rumors that are flying around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

This page is getting ridiculous. People here seem to think that they know everything about what the Gardai want, and they love nothing more to jump on someone's back.

I know everyone is in competition for the same job.

You don't need degrees or to be in the Garda reserve to apply. Once you get to the interview stage it's just you in a room with three other people. It's up to you to prove that your good enough.

Everybody has just as good a chance as the next person. Don't go running off to volunteer or do a course just because someone on this says so.

The scenario questions are the most important part of the interview. That's what your going to get your points on. Concentrate on them and not the ridiculous rumors that are flying around here

Well said.

Well Said Also,

Focus on getting fit and the aptitude aswell,

One step at a time,

The aptitude will be the first hurdle for us regardless of our qualifications etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Cd_doe

This page is getting ridiculous. People here seem to think that they know everything about what the Gardai want,

The scenario questions are the most important part of the interview. That's what your going to get your points on. Concentrate on them

Hmmmmm. I agree more with the first quote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Brad Pittman

Cd_doe wrote: »
    Hmmmmm. I agree more with the first quote

You don't have to agree with me. Just giving my opinion because everyone else is giving theirs

WilcoOut wrote: »
    Been volunteering since my preteens!!!

Its like dublin fans coming out to croker for the championship and sunny weather.

where were yas in parnell park in the cold depths of winter?

Ur able to support in summer,but not winter?
    Ur able to help the homeless now that recruitment is open, but couldnt during the moratorium?

Who wants to be sitting in parnell park in pissy irish winter weather, when you could be watching the game from home? Cheer up would you? Be happy! :)

carzony wrote: »
    I guarantee a huge number of full time members would fail the physical test if they had to do it again.

I'm not slagging them, i'm curious. Why are so many overweight? My first guess would be the awkward hours they have to work?

Take a look at this,

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-23609457

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

jesus this place is dead, even tho recruitment is restarting i almost get the feeling people realise that it is minimal and the chances of getting in are very tough, and that the eary uncertainty is still creeping around on this forum, or is it just me. Iv more doubts now than i did before recruitment was announced, or maybe its the wait. when i look back at older threads here i see all the activity that used to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭carzony

thekopend wrote: »
    jesus this place is dead, even tho recruitment is restarting i almost get the feeling people realise that it is minimal and the chances of getting in are very tough, and that the eary uncertainty is still creeping around on this forum, or is it just me. Iv more doubts now than i did before recruitment was announced, or maybe its the wait. when i look back at older threads here i see all the activity that used to be

I have noticed the forum being quiet bar a few of the regulars. I think people are just getting pissed off waiting for some proper, accurate information on recruitment, everything said here is just rumours/opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

So what's everyone doing to keep busy lately? I've got my driving test later this week, really hope ill have my license before recruitment kicks off!
    Hope you got on well in test Chem Lord:)

D Trent wrote: »
    Hope you got on well in test Chem Lord:)

Thanks buddy, I didn't pass but I'll try again soon! My goal for the next week months is to get fit and be more active :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭annlewis

It's gone fierce quiet on here guys.. how is everyone ? Are we all ok and getting ready for september ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Ladymuck Thesecond

annlewis wrote: »
    It's gone fierce quiet on here guys.. how is everyone ? Are we all ok and getting ready for september ?

Ha It's so quiet, I actually thought there must be a problem with my notifications! We probably only have a few weeks left before we hear of them accepting applications, fingers crossed!

Ya gone quiet alright,, evrybody must be gone off getting fit lol,

Is that Kilroys course any good ? I was thinking of getting it?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Love the way people get fit for a few months. If you get put on a beat unit in one of the big city stations full time it won't be just getting fit for a few months :pac:

I think it's just quite as no one really knows what to expect in the next drive. I have a few educational requirement problems (Maths and Irish), but I have the Reserves to build on. Doubtful about getting in with this recruitment drive but I will still apply and find out what is needed and build on that.

Do hope a few get in on here, help share some fresh information with us ! The thing that would worry me most the aptitude test, as I was never good at them, if you gave me one for my current job I would more than likely fail it.

Do hope a few get in on here, help share some fresh information with us ! The thing that would worry me most the aptitude test, as I was never good at them, if you gave me one for my current job I would more than likely fail it.[/QUOTE]

There are books and courses etc that help with the aptitude mate, Its all practice and just give it your best shot on the day:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

msg11 wrote: »
    Love the way people get fit for a few months. If you get put on a beat unit in one of the big city stations full time it won't be just getting fit for a few months :pac:

I think it's just quite as no one really knows what to expect in the next drive. I have a few educational requirement problems (Maths and Irish), but I have the Reserves to build on. Doubtful about getting in with this recruitment drive but I will still apply and find out what is needed and build on that.

Do hope a few get in on here, help share some fresh information with us ! The thing that would worry me most the aptitude test, as I was never good at them, if you gave me one for my current job I would more than likely fail it.

The Irish won't be a problem if you have a second language with English but the maths will be, if you dont have it you will not be eligible to apply and you won't even get a look in or be allowed to do aptitude. You can send away the application alright but as soon as pas receive it and see the education short comings it will stop there. If I were you I'd focus on getting required education ASAP so you can go for it the next time round!