Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

and your not overweight your grand.

I guarantee a huge number of full time members would fail the physical test if they had to do it again.

I'm not slagging them, i'm curious. Why are so many overweight? My first guess would be the awkward hours they have to work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Brad Pittman

carzony wrote: »
    I guarantee a huge number of full time members would fail the physical test if they had to do it again.

I'm not slagging them, i'm curious. Why are so many overweight? My first guess would be the awkward hours they have to work?

Yeah true. I doubt they get the time to train properly, and they hardly want to spend days of stuck in a gym. I'd say it's a lot of the older lads who are stuck behind a desk that are overweight.

In the defense forces everyone has to pass a yearly fitness test. I wonder if it would be a goof idea for the Gardai?

Yeah true. I doubt they get the time to train properly, and they hardly want to spend days of stuck in a gym. I'd say it's a lot of the older lads who are stuck behind a desk that are overweight.

In the defense forces everyone has to pass a yearly fitness test. I wonder if it would be a goof idea for the Gardai?

I don't think it'd be fair. There are lots of Gardaí that do the job very well, Even if they are unfit. I just think they should be encouraged to not get to fat. It looks terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Shiftwork does it to you. Some stations are lucky enough to have their own gyms, but you also need the time to use them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Cd_doe

In relation to the "new wages", does anybody know what the take home pay would be for somebody who joins under the new circumstances?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

Anyone going for this when it opens goodluck. It's not the job it was but at least it's something. Plus it may take some of the stagnation out of the job.

I'd imagine the vast majority of new recruits are going to end up in Dublin. It's something to be aware of if going for this. There are large lists of people queuing to go to cork and places like that for years, so expect to be replacements for them.

For anyone going for this, I'd recommend doing some volunteering with community groups. Even an hour a week if you can talk it up. Something like that's more value that swimming lessons as they teach that stuff anyways. Again goodluck to everyone trying...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

audidiesel wrote: »
    Anyone going for this when it opens goodluck. It's not the job it was but at least it's something. Plus it may take some of the stagnation out of the job.

I'd imagine the vast majority of new recruits are going to end up in Dublin. It's something to be aware of if going for this. There are large lists of people queuing to go to cork and places like that for years, so expect to be replacements for them.

For anyone going for this, I'd recommend doing some volunteering with community groups. Even an hour a week if you can talk it up. Something like that's more value that swimming lessons as they teach that stuff anyways. Again goodluck to everyone trying...

Hi Audidiesel,

Your rite about the waiting lists for transfers alright!!

Are you a member yourself or an applicant?

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Are you a member yourself or an applicant?

I'm a member myself

cool,

Would you mind giving an opinon on the following questions?

Have you been in it long?

Is it hard to progress through the ranks into special units etc?

How much does 'pull ' come into things?

regards

• Registered Users Posts: 6,822 ✭✭✭Alkers

I reckon I will be applying for this also.
    One question I have, I'm from Dublin born and bred, I have little (read no) interest in livinglong-term outside of Dublin. What would be my chances of getting stationed somewhere within commuting distance of Dublin, I understand that initially you are posted wherever you're needed and I don't mind that short-term once I could get back to living in Dublin in the long-run.
    I already have accommodation here if that makes a difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

Dubs are lucky that there are so many Stations in the city and county so you will more than likely be stationed in dublin

the furthest i have heard anyone i know from dublin being stationed has been ashbourne and naas

but if you were unlucky to be stationed in Tralee or Kinsale or somewhere - you will get a swap instantly as there will be members mad to get out of dublin and back down home

Canyon86 wrote: »
    cool,

Would you mind giving an opinon on the following questions?

Have you been in it long?

Is it hard to progress through the ranks into special units etc?

How much does 'pull ' come into things?

regards

No bother.

Was attested in 2007 so 6 years ago.

Yes it can be. With no new bodies coming in there are usually lots of people going for specialist units. To be honest you'd be waiting at least 5 years before anything. No real interest in any of them myself, but to each their own.

Pull. Hmm that's a tough one. Officially it doesnt but realistically it does alright. I've none so makes no odds to me, but it can play a big part with some things. Courses, transfers etc

No bother.

Yes it can be. With no new bodies coming in there are usually lots of people going for specialist units. To be honest you'd be waiting at least 5 years before anything. No real interest in any of them myself, but to each their own.

Pull. Hmm that's a tough one. Officially it doesnt but realistically it does alright. I've none so makes no odds to me, but it can play a big part with some things. Courses, transfers etc

How are you treated by your superiors?
    Are you based far from where your originally from?
    What's the best thing about being a Garda?
    How difficult is it to be promoted?
    Any advice for future Recruits?

Sorry for all the questions

No bother.

don't wanna swamp you with questions, but what was your background before joining? As in did you go to college or have any particular qualifications?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Want to be enthusiastic about this but really think we need to see the pay and conditions first.

As for the weight issue, I agree it's unsightly, but it's really not fair to judge from the outside. Shift work, long hours and stress will do terrible things to your body.

Want to be enthusiastic about this but really think we need to see the pay and conditions first.

As for the weight issue, I agree it's unsightly, but it's really not fair to judge from the outside. Shift work, long hours and stress will do terrible things to your body.

Good point. Money shouldn't be a motivational factor though. Your never going to be rich if you join. Thankfully there is job security and a pension though.

I think the whole weight issue is unfair too though. I haven't ever seen a seriously obese Garda. The job isn't all about sprinting after people everyday

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Good point. Money shouldn't be a motivational factor though. Your never going to be rich if you join. Thankfully there is job security and a pension though.

I think the whole weight issue is unfair too though. I haven't ever seen a seriously obese Garda. The job isn't all about sprinting after people everyday

No, you won't be rich, but one can quickly become disenfranchised with their work if they don't feel they're getting a reasonable return on it.

Agreed, I expect much of the job will be mundane paper work and alot of dealing with people that are not criminals.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Chem Lord

So what's everyone doing to keep busy lately? I've got my driving test later this week, really hope ill have my license before recruitment kicks off!

Chem Lord wrote: »
    So what's everyone doing to keep busy lately? I've got my driving test later this week, really hope ill have my license before recruitment kicks off!

Good luck. The driving test isn't that bad. It's basic driving mate :D and the majority fail on simple things like road position and that so just concentrate:cool:

How are you treated by your superiors?
    Are you based far from where your originally from?
    What's the best thing about being a Garda?
    How difficult is it to be promoted?
    Any advice for future Recruits?

Sorry for all the questions

no worries. sorry for the delay....

my sergeant and inspector are grand. my supers not in the real world and I don't deal with anything higher as a rule.

im an hour and a half roughly from my original home. most lads outside of Dublin would be an hour away or more usually. there would be exceptions. but everyone going in should expect to go to Dublin anyways.

the best thing about the job... hmmm honestly its not the job it was. management are unbelievably petty about small things these days. they are slowly taking away most of the stuff that made it fun. but id say its probably the variety. every day tends to be a bit different. that and you see a lot of things nobody else tends to see.

promotion at the moment is very hard. realistically your gonna be waiting around 7-10 years at least in a lot of cases to get up to sergeant. a few years then to inspector and so on. its incredibly tight and most are going to be at the bottom of a long queue. there's a lot of people who have degrees and masters etc already in the job looking to get the jump. so don't expect it to happen for a nice few years if ever.

regular recruitment in numbers would speed this process up again but I wont be holding my breath.

the advice to anyone looking to join that id give is simple. go in with your eyes open. it isn't the job it was when I went into Templemore 7/8 years ago. its changed a lot. theres far less money, far less transport, far less equipment and much higher accountability.

while you don't join looking to be rich, a reasonable lifestyle was expected. that expectation is pretty much dead now. im a nice chunk up on the wage scale at this stage and im only clearing €400 odd a week with an extra €300 odd once a month in allowances. starting off you'd be on about 250 less a month when attested. plus a year on about 200 a week. your almost guaranteed to be working a part of nearly every weekend aswell. for shift work that isn't that great. especially when you take in the extra dangers youd face.

for those still interested as I said earlier, forget swimming lessons, self defence classes etc. the job doesn't care as it will teach you that stuff. management love community involvement. get involved in that kinda thing as much as possible and twill stand to you a lot more in interview.

that's my two cents anyways. hope that answers a few of your questions :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭thekopend

my sergeant and inspector are grand. my supers not in the real world and I don't deal with anything higher as a rule.

im an hour and a half roughly from my original home. most lads outside of Dublin would be an hour away or more usually. there would be exceptions. but everyone going in should expect to go to Dublin anyways.

the best thing about the job... hmmm honestly its not the job it was. management are unbelievably petty about small things these days. they are slowly taking away most of the stuff that made it fun. but id say its probably the variety. every day tends to be a bit different. that and you see a lot of things nobody else tends to see.

promotion at the moment is very hard. realistically your gonna be waiting around 7-10 years at least in a lot of cases to get up to sergeant. a few years then to inspector and so on. its incredibly tight and most are going to be at the bottom of a long queue. there's a lot of people who have degrees and masters etc already in the job looking to get the jump. so don't expect it to happen for a nice few years if ever.

regular recruitment in numbers would speed this process up again but I wont be holding my breath.

the advice to anyone looking to join that id give is simple. go in with your eyes open. it isn't the job it was when I went into Templemore 7/8 years ago. its changed a lot. theres far less money, far less transport, far less equipment and much higher accountability.

while you don't join looking to be rich, a reasonable lifestyle was expected. that expectation is pretty much dead now. im a nice chunk up on the wage scale at this stage and im only clearing €400 odd a week with an extra €300 odd once a month in allowances. starting off you'd be on about 250 less a month when attested. plus a year on about 200 a week. your almost guaranteed to be working a part of nearly every weekend aswell. for shift work that isn't that great. especially when you take in the extra dangers youd face.

for those still interested as I said earlier, forget swimming lessons, self defence classes etc. the job doesn't care as it will teach you that stuff. management love community involvement. get involved in that kinda thing as much as possible and twill stand to you a lot more in interview.

Great post, no harm having someone who knows the real deal posting. When u say a year on 200 a week what do you mean, as in full pay, why's this?

• Registered Users Posts: 40 Ladymuck Thesecond

Thanks for the reply... It's interesting to hear a realistic account!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

After reading that account and considering the state the country is in, I reckon wages will be very,very bad for new recruits. Probably 250 a week or there abouts :eek: You'd be living very,very light on that kind of money and if you get stationed far from your home, well you'll be borrowing petrol money :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Don't forget, all new entrants to the Public sector are on a lower rate of pay than those pre croke park agreement. Student garda pay is subsistence, and nothing more. You'll have just enough to fund your weekly commute, and your snacks, when the dining hall is closed, with the rest for laundry bills.

Thanks for your post,,very informative

Great Post,:)

What is your view on the reserves?
    Do you forsee regular recruitment for the next ten years?
    Do AGS look more favourably on candidates with a bigger physique etc?

Take your time reply Audi,

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Chem Lord

So community work/volunteering seems to be important for the interview? Guess ill get in to the nearest homeless shelter and see if they need a hand!

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

Chem Lord wrote: »
    So community work/volunteering seems to be important for the interview? Guess ill get in to the nearest homeless shelter and see if they need a hand!

for god sake dont do it out of the goodness of your heart or anything

• Registered Users Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭thekopend

Wel if you have nothing done until now I'd say you are a bit late, they are gards you know, they are able to add 2&2 together and realise you are only doing it now for the sake of the recruitment. And it will be and always has been a very important part of the interview!