Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Zombie Mod for Arma 2 (v2)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Is it still a glorified deathmatch with some zombies for effect?

From what I've seen , yes. Its either all out deathmatch or else you get care bear servers with no pvp. They're even worse imo. You get gear together relatively easy and then there's nothing to do after that. You need a good balance of pvp and pve , but its hard to find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,337 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Meatwad wrote: »
    From what I've seen , yes. Its either all out deathmatch or else you get care bear servers with no pvp. They're even worse imo. You get gear together relatively easy and then there's nothing to do after that. You need a good balance of pvp and pve , but its hard to find.

No it isn't, get a few friends together and play as a group.

MadYaker wrote: »
    No it isn't, get a few friends together and play as a group.
    Haven't played in a while as waiting on the standalone, but from my experience and from what I gathered , he was asking about lone wolfing it, most servers I've come across are shoot first. Have personally never had the experience of impromptu groups forming to help each other out, and any groups I've come across while lonewolfing, either murdered me or tried to murder and loot me.
    I agree its a different game played with friends but I don't think thats what the question was about.It was about has the attitude of people changed, and in my experience it hasn't , its only gotten worse.Its definitely far from the utopian place where rendom strangers group together to help each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Laviski

well i'm the mindset if you have a gun your a threat. i have let many ppl go that did not look to have a weapon and i have teamed up with randomers although its rare. Yes in the begining it happened alot (teaming up) but its a valid point if your billynomates you do have a disadvantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,337 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Im not talking about randomers you meet on a server I'm talking about people you regularily play games with communicating on teamspeak and working together.

Laviski wrote: »
    well i'm the mindset if you have a gun your a threat. i have let many ppl go that did not look to have a weapon and i have teamed up with randomers although its rare. Yes in the begining it happened alot (teaming up) but its a valid point if your billynomates you do have a disadvantage.

Totally agree on that.I found it fun to be lone wolfing at times because it adds an extra element of being ****ed.You loose too much blood and you can't rely on a mate with a blood pack to save you. Like most multiplayer games, its more fun in a group and your chances of survival are away higher than playing on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

When cannibilism comes in, then I'll play lone wolf again.

''I ate his liver with some beanz and mountain dew..''

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Lone wolfing can be done. Can be unreal craic. My take on lone wolfing:

3sxmka.jpg

Anyone here played Epoch yet?

7 hour session tonight and I swear every minute something was going on. Killed about 12 people. Absolutely unreal. Defo recommend it to anyone that loves abit of action. If you prefer the exploring side of it then stay away :P

Thought I'd upload my experience on Epoch. Plenty of footage to come, gets quite good soon enough.

Decided to go with just the action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Laviski

currently setting up dayz epoch sahrani. gonna turn off the cherno one as not many has used but i see a niche in doing a sahrani epoch as no one has a server for it yet. it will be on gaellords.com:2310

i will let you know when its fully working.

Awesome dude!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

Meatwad wrote: »

Aye, I'd heard as much. I did play with a friend for about a week but we mostly kept to the inland, forested areas. Which also meant fewer people and oddly enough, fewer zombies.
    It was also a pain connecting to servers with the timeouts and general long wait in actually connecting.

And yes, from what I've read the game mechanics just don't lend themselves towards cooperation as there's no real 'end-game' for players to engage in. Or perhaps lone-wolfing it just needs to be more of a threat, more from the environment than other players...

Nice video's Ktulu, I remember when you used to play on the boards server over a year ago :P

Anyways, 2nd part to the Jackal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭CrinkElite

Thought I'd upload my experience on Epoch. Plenty of footage to come, gets quite good soon enough.

Decided to go with just the action.

Fair Fcuks for nailing those guys. Jesus your buddy's a cranky basterd, you've the patience of a saint.

CrinkElite wrote: »
    Fair Fcuks for nailing those guys. Jesus your buddy's a cranky basterd, you've the patience of a saint.

Haha, thanks man. Sure what can you do when there is a 50 cal machine gun aiming right at you? Gotta keep the head straight :P

We are currently testing on our new DayZ Overwatch server. Search: Gaellords & join us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭synesthesia

what the highlights of this new mod ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

what the highlights of this new mod ?

Its like Breaking Point but with more integrity.

Yeah seems great so far, loads of new weapons & skins. New buildings & camps put into the map. Different vehicles. Remove parts from vehicles. Take clothes off dead players. Our server also has DOGS, all the lads are excited about it haha.

Jaysus guys, that sounds pretty awesome. I'm in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Idioteque

ktulu123 wrote: »
    Yeah seems great so far, loads of new weapons & skins. New buildings & camps put into the map. Different vehicles. Remove parts from vehicles. Take clothes off dead players. Our server also has DOGS, all the lads are excited about it haha.

I'd be interested to hear how yis get on. I've been playing regularly for over a year now with the two guys who created the mod (Scrumbe & Ullechamp). There has been some issues lately with Overwatch servers gettnig DDOS'd...funnily enough it's been since it took over from Breaking Point *cough cough*

It's only in Alpha and there are some great ideas they have for it which they hope to implement over the coming weeks/months.

Enjoy! - check out the bridge at Kamenka :) It's the small touches I like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Do fish avoid the player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Was on there for a while, got a winny and a cz in about 20 minutes :p No one ever checks that barn just a tiny bit north of elektro haha! To the lad who ran in to me in the school, i absolutely sh1t myself!! haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Dead_Shot

how did you's install overwatch? the dayz commander is stopping the download n i cant get past 46% on it

The killing begins :P

how did you's install overwatch? the dayz commander is stopping the download n i cant get past 46% on it

got it earlier today via dayz commander - no issues ... on 3G !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Hallyington

We are currently testing on our new DayZ Overwatch server. Search: Gaellords & join us

Read that as "Gaylords" :rolleyes:
    I'll try hop on soon enough, sounds like a decent server.

Yeah thats the point of it :P We don't take ourselves too seriously