Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Zombie Mod for Arma 2 (v2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Dead_Shot

when i join now i just get the debriefing screen?

arma2oa_2013_07_15_20_13_31_47.jpg
    how do you print screen

arma2oa_2013_07_15_20_13_45_45.jpg
    image upload no compression

This is what am getting when i try to log back in...was playing away fine an 1hr ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Laviski

Dead_Shot wrote: »
    when i join now i just get the debriefing screen?

are you fully updated?

0.1.9 dayz overwatch

yeah updated it last night...was playin on d server an hour ago logged out n couldnt log back in...i tink i might be somethin with the skin i logged out in

want me to reset your char?

got back in...it was the skin stopping me from joining

yeah i just changed your skin.

interesting bug tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Jesus havent played this in months :) . good to be back :P

Sweet, will hop on in abit!!

Im back Maka :P

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Soby wrote: »
    Jesus havent played this in months :) . good to be back :P

Was thinking of getting back into it myself, haven't played since August last year. :eek:

What do folks use to launch the game these days, is it still Arma 2 Launcher or that DayZ Commander yoke? Is using RAMDisk to run the mod from still ok? Completely forgotten how run the thing now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Was thinking of getting back into it myself, haven't played since August last year. :eek:

What do folks use to launch the game these days, is it still Arma 2 Launcher or that DayZ Commander yoke? Is using RAMDisk to run the mod from still ok? Completely forgotten how run the thing now.

DayZ Commander is probably the easiest. Download Overwatch on that, and then either launch it through DayZ commander or Arma II launcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,337 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I think we have a found bug. The M2 machinegun on the humvee doesn't do any damage. We shot vehicles and players and it did nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Must say i'm really enjoy Overwatch and the GaelLords server is always great fun..apart from the few hacking instances there tonight..we american script kiddies acting the prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

how come so much hacking with this game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

Arma doesn't have any good anti-hack measures. Its just people running scripts.
    Won't happen in standalone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭hawkeye_bmr

Arma 2 and OA were programmed to lean more towards multiplayer missions, and freely allowed numerous scripts to run during a multiplayer session - i.e. calling for an ammo drop, calling in a precision air strike, creating a medical tent.

As dayz is just a mod, its not able to block all access to running scripts, but as standalone (whenever that comes), it will have this feature removed from the core programming, thus eliminating hackers (hopefully)!

The server I play on over here in Oz, is really dumbing down the whole experience. They have over 150 cars and trucks, 40+ chopper, 99% of the time its raining, view distance is only 300-400 meters with thick fog, and vehicles are reset every couple of days, which makes it pointless to try to hold onto anything. - but its the only server that I can get a decent ping :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭SasQuatch88

**** one Hawkeye.. used to love finding your hidden tents around the gaf.. always some nice googies in them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

We'll start the Server4Hawkeye fundraiser next weekend.
    Your server, your rules.

Messing around on Origins a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

**** one Hawkeye.. used to love finding your hidden tents around the gaf.. always some nice googies in them..

Nothing better than some googies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭hawkeye_bmr

One of the best encounters with people raiding my tents was at Grishno, where myself and McGinnis =BMR= had several tents nicely placed between 2 houses.
    Logged in to hear a chopper hovering, quickly got my mk48 and killed 2 guys as they were coming towards the tents thru the broken wall, then unleashing the mk48 at the chopper.

or the time I hopped in the UAZ with one of you guys, think it was _vti, whilst yous were trying to kill me, that was also at Grishno...

Ah the good old dayz....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Scared the absolute ****e out of me at Grishino that day. haha! I've used that spot a few times since, great spot for a tent

Found a lovely SUV up north west - thank you kindly to the owner :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Squaredude

The dogs are fairly handy at taking out zombies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭_vti

One of the best encounters with people raiding my tents was at Grishno, where myself and McGinnis =BMR= had several tents nicely placed between 2 houses.
    Logged in to hear a chopper hovering, quickly got my mk48 and killed 2 guys as they were coming towards the tents thru the broken wall, then unleashing the mk48 at the chopper.

or the time I hopped in the UAZ with one of you guys, think it was _vti, whilst yous were trying to kill me, that was also at Grishno...

Ah the good old dayz....

One of my most fondest memories of any online game for sure!

Sucks I dont have too much time for Arma much lately :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

_vti wrote: »
    One of my most fondest memories of any online game for sure!

Sucks I dont have too much time for Arma much lately :(

Was that when Hawkeye got out to shoot you and you kept switching seats so he couldn't get a shot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

Squaredude wrote: »
    The dogs are fairly handy at taking out zombies.

also fairly handy for getting you killed . i killed 3 guys last night with dogs . all had their position given away by the barking . i wouldnt have known they were there if the dogs hadnt been there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭_vti

Was that when Hawkeye got out to shoot you and you kept switching seats so he couldn't get a shot?

yeah lol he got killed to the east of grishino and ktulu and myself were looting his body, about 10-15 minutes pass and hes back up there from spawning, hid in a bush. I saw some slight movement and managed to break his legs before he crawled behind the UAZ and got into it. LOL

His level of persistence is inspiring haha. Himself and McGinnis are a REALLY good team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Squaredude

also fairly handy for getting you killed . i killed 3 guys last night with dogs . all had their position given away by the barking . i wouldnt have known they were there if the dogs hadnt been there

Yeah I had to get rid of the dog once I got near Stary.Too feckin loud.

Video taken awhile back when I was on Origins, some combat outside Dr. Ivan's lab.

Will try get the video of Cheezy trying to shoot the 50 cal up as soon as I can :P