Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Zombie Mod for Arma 2 (v2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Will any of the gaellords lads be playing day z tonight? If yous are, any chance I could jump in with yous? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Laviski

Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    Will any of the gaellords lads be playing day z tonight? If yous are, any chance I could jump in with yous? :)

I'm currently away on holidays atm but there is 14 on ts and i'm sure some of them are playing some form of arma2/dayz. Dont be shy speak up they dont bite you might get into ktulu's videos for your troubles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

Jump on the teamspeak anyway, I'm sure there'll be some people on it playing DayZ. :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

ktulu123 wrote: »
    New series based on Sahrani, huge map & great fun so far. Can be got on DayZ Commander. Enjoy!

Nice video ktulu. Haven't played DayZ in a long time, nice to hear some familiar voices though. Max, funny as ever. :pac:

Yeah max is a serious but funny chap ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

Lads, wheres the cheapest place to buy Arma right now, so I can play DayZ? Steam seem to be on the expensive side for me

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Wasn't on tonight myself (Beer) but join any time, always looking for more chaps to game with!
    Laviski wrote: »
    you might get into ktulu's videos for your troubles

Not sure if good or bad thing :P
    Andrew76 wrote: »
    Nice video ktulu. Haven't played DayZ in a long time, nice to hear some familiar voices though. Max, funny as ever. :pac:

Cheers, yeah the chap is fecking hilarious! More to come! :)
    Mister Man wrote: »
    Lads, wheres the cheapest place to buy Arma right now, so I can play DayZ? Steam seem to be on the expensive side for me

Right now the Bohemia Interactive store have 50% off all games, so thats probs the cheapest place atm. https://store.bistudio.com/

Your lucky dude, would love to get that "first time playing" DayZ feeling again! Nothing like it! :)

ktulu123 wrote: »
    Right now the Bohemia Interactive store have 50% off all games, so thats probs the cheapest place atm. https://store.bistudio.com/

Your lucky dude, would love to get that "first time playing" DayZ feeling again! Nothing like it! :)

Just picked that up and currently downloading! Looking forward to playing it :) Cheers

Dunno about you lads, but I still get really nervous when im in a big firefight with others in day z and ive been playing a good while, heart starts beating fast and all :D

think bohemia said it best

"original games do not fade"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Dunno about you lads, but I still get really nervous when im in a big firefight with others in day z and ive been playing a good while, heart starts beating fast and all :D

Was playing breaking point yesterday, mad fire fight between 5-6 players near elektro powerplant and firestation. Took out one bandit from elektro hill, then got sniped...respawned, flanked my bambi self back around to my body took up my gear again and hunted down my killer, took him out...almost got sexually molested by the new blood monster in the game before taking out another bandit. Needless to say I needed a new pair of jocks afterwards. Such a great game!

Playing sahrani there a while ago, was in corazol army base ATC and seen a bandit and a ghillie guy entering the camp, seen the bandit coming back out and killed him and was shaking so much haha then I walk down the stairs and see the bush just looking at me haha day z never fails!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Rogann

New video of attack on Sahrani AI Island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭quarryman

So I last played this game about 8-9 months back.

Enjoyed it for what it was. The initial few hours of discovery and fear were the best I've had in years of gaming.

So what has changed in the game since then? Any major gameplay improvements etc? What's the plan for the mod going forward?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

quarryman wrote: »
    So I last played this game about 8-9 months back.

Enjoyed it for what it was. The initial few hours of discovery and fear were the best I've had in years of gaming.

So what has changed in the game since then? Any major gameplay improvements etc? What's the plan for the mod going forward?

There hasn't been any major improvements. Its basically the same as it was this time last year with a few new bells and whistles.
    Standalone alpha should be out in the next month or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

If you like the discovery aspect, there are a ton of new maps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Rogann

Just uploaded a new Origins episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Dead_Shot

what server is everyone playing on nowya dayz? lol

New origins update is out today, 1.7.5 :) We should definitely try get a boards stronghold going haha!

So I've tried to get playing this again. I don't bother messing with six updater or daycommander or any of that after seeing Steam have the mod as an addon. Great I'll let Steam handle everything. No joy. I try to join a server and it keeps saying "bad version, server rejected connection".

I've tried the option of selecting the normal version or the "beta version" when launching it from steam. No difference.

So how are people playing the mod these days and keeping up to date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭simon360

quarryman wrote: »
    So I've tried to get playing this again. I don't bother messing with six updater or daycommander or any of that after seeing Steam have the mod as an addon. Great I'll let Steam handle everything. No joy. I try to join a server and it keeps saying "bad version, server rejected connection".

I've tried the option of selecting the normal version or the "beta version" when launching it from steam. No difference.

So how are people playing the mod these days and keeping up to date?

Your OA is out of date, DayZ Commander is handy for that just use that, update OA version and you can launch through steam, you should be good to go!

simon360 wrote: »
    Your OA is out of date, DayZ Commander is handy for that just use that, update OA version and you can launch through steam, you should be good to go!

That worked, thanks!

I've only started playing in the last day, and although I enjoy some things, a lot of the game seems to be walking long distances to a town, where I get killed by zombies before I can pick up a weapon? Any tips lads!?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Get with a group or be more stealthy with movement.

Mister Man wrote: »
    I've only started playing in the last day, and although I enjoy some things, a lot of the game seems to be walking long distances to a town, where I get killed by zombies before I can pick up a weapon? Any tips lads!?

Well to be honest sneaky sneak through towns isn't the way for me anymore. Main places you'd want to loot down south is Cherno, Elektro and Balota, have a look at http://www.dayzdb.com/map for lootable buildings and if they are worth looting or not. When you get zombies after you keep running, run through buildings where there is a entrance you go into and an entrance you can escape from as zombies walk indoors, take sharp turns around fences and try to run through bushes and trees in a zig zag pattern as zombies get stuck (zig zag like a maniac when you're getting shot at aswell).

EDIT: Look up "Loot Run" guides on youtube, plenty of information there! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D19K7GV0wr0
    Also forgot to mention Zombies are ridiculously overpowered as of last weeks update, haven't really played since as of a annoying ragequit :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

The new Origins update has me & the lads interested in it again. Gonna plan & get a stronghold thing going, what servers are the best ones?

Im on a good one atm, very low ping too and admins seem non abusive. IP: 37.59.50.160:2352

DayZ 1.7.7.1 is out now :D Pretty sure it only just got released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Forum Link
    * [FIXED] - Crashsite loot spawn fixed.
    * [FIXED] - LOS should now reset correct.
    * [FIXED] - Updated Chopper Repair system to include hull and missiles.
    * [FIXED] - Blood transfusion should now work properly.
    * [FIXED] - Zeds can knock you unconscious again.
    * [FIXED] - Issue with built items not display properly over the network.
    * [FIXED] - Changing clothes while in a gear menu of a pile/vehicle/tent will no longer crash your game.
    * [FIXED] - Fixed duplication of mags via combining/converting and duplication of tents/built items.
    * [FIXED] - 100% damaged vehicles do not respawn anymore.
    * [FIXED] - Added check to make sure no one is within 30 meters of zed spawning.
    * [FIXED] - Fixed bandit detection for kills and humanity changes.
    * [FIXED] - Fixed an issue where you wouldn't be able to pick up any loot.
    * [FIXED] - Fixed an issue where bandaging an other player wouldn't bandage them.
    * [FIXED] - Added a range check to zed attacks, no more 5-10m hits. (We Hope)
    * [FIXED] - Fixed issue where your player's body would be deleted if aborting too quickly.
    * [FIXED] - Shadow LODs on soda cans.
    * [FIXED] - Zeds full scale damage reverted to 100% was 50% in .7.

* [UPDATED] - Color saturation starts to fade out at blood level 9000
    * [UPDATED] - Rest to provide a 1% chance to cure infection (Can only be done once every 5 mins)
    * [UPDATED] - Zed will now attack again while prone with animation.
    * [UPDATED] - Updated tackle animations to an actual stumble/trip animation for back, left and right of player (holding a pistol remains unchanged). Players hit from the front will be stopped in their tracks.
    * [UPDATED] - Reported bike damage is divided by 10.
    * [UPDATED] - Much quicker login/loading.
    * [UPDATED] - More reliable loot spawns.
    * [UPDATED] - Infection rates are much lower (based on #zeds attacking you) viral zeds have 4x greater infection rates
    * [UPDATED] - player knockdown by zeds should be less common.
    * [UPDATED] - SUV has been unbanned and readded under SUV_DZ Server admins must update there database.
    * [UPDATED] - fishing_Boat speed update from 15 to 45.
    * [UPDATED] - SQL files for private database users Included all hitpoints and inventory systems.
    * [UPDATED] - Updated pMain to now include extra setting --execute="call pMain(serverinstance) example. --execute="call pMain(1) would spawn all vehicles for instance 1
    * [UPDATED] - Zed Target system updated to include movement speed changes. above 10m = full speed, above 2.2m and below 10m = Approach speed, below 2.2 = Attack speed.
    * [UPDATED] - Attack system updated to include LOS & Angle of attack checks as the animation is run to make sure player is only damaged/knockdown if they meet both conditions.
    * [UPDATED] - RoadBlocks/Trash should now spawn quicker based on the current speed of the player.

Both removed so we can debug fps issues.

* [REMOVED] - Wild Zeds while we try to debug issues with FPS.
    * [REMOVED] - Zeds will no longer spawn while in vehicles.