If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

What do we want?

Fellow protesters in collars and ties

When do we want it?

A.S.A.P............ along with some blue sky thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Sergeant wrote: »
    The Gardaí, auditors and senior civil servants have been investigating Anglo and what went on there for years. It's complicated stuff, and you cannot start arresting people based on faux online outrage and a desire for revenge.

It isn't how it works.

People should be mad at the financial regulator. How does he keep getting over looked? Its his job to catch this stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Anglo Irish Bank are sickening. All senior management with them should go to jail for a long long time. We need to see these fcukers pay for what they have done. They are the main crowd of scumbag bwankers who have ruined the trust between the public/small business and banks forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I did listen to the partial recording tapes on the 6.1 News yesterday. It had made absolutely sickened to actually listen to it. But; I would like to say 'a big cheer' to The Irish Indo for putting out this story. They have done a great job in putting this out in the public interest.

However; let it be said; it should have been done years & years ago by now.

And oh would you look at this ladies & gents. This joke of a man hadn't said anything yet about these tapes.

http://www.herald.ie/news/brian-cowen-has-nothing-to-say-on-anglo-scandal-29371591.html

I wonder how the German Finance Minister Wolfgang Schauble would react to this story. Himself & Angela should be sounding like raging bulls at this hour when they hear about it.

I suppose that this situation is not going to rest any time soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

Richard Boyd-Barrett and the Perpetually Outraged.

No matter how p1ssed off I may be, I would not march alongside SWP/Eirigi/PBP or any of the rest of the 'What Do We Want? Something. When DO We Want It? Sometime' crew.

Like I said in the last post-to people with your attitude you can always march and go to another section of the crowd away from richard boyd barrett if thats what floats your boat- but if you dont protest at all- dont bother complaining- those who dont protest to try change something have little or no right to any opinion as far as Im concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Formalhaut

Potatoeman wrote: »
    People should be mad at the financial regulator. How does he keep getting over looked? Its his job to catch this stuff.

Em, I think the regulator is what's known as a 'toothless tiger'. Or 'a joke'. Take your pick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

The one that makes me most sick in this is Patrick Neary - he still has the gall to say he acted in the best public interest. Did he ****!

He was the lubricant that helped Anglo shaft the Irish public.

While the Anglo executives were paid big salaries to do their job "keep the bank open by any means possible" Neary was paid a big salary to do sweet **** all and and even bigger pension to rub our nose in the dog****. What a hurted cnut.

Edit: To reply to the post above about regulator, Matthew Elderfield had no problem pulling up anyone that was acting the prick especially the Quinns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Difference there is (allegedly) Gerry and his cohorts are ordinary decent criminals for the want of a better phrase.[/QUOTE]

Do you have a link to any charges against him, or convictions. Or would you like to withdraw that remark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

One has to be amused with a situation where Gerry Adams is asking questions regarding money disappearing from a bank.

I hope you are not insinuating that Gerry or anyone he might have had the odd Guinness with might know something about disappearing Northern Bank, now Danske Bank, notes.

Incidentally, that robbery was actually 2 separate robberies committed on the same day. The first robbery, which was in the morning was so easy, and the missing money (which was in itself a significant amount) was so easy that the persons who were involved (probably with a bit of help from inside...... how else would they have known that the missing money hadn't been noted to be missing ? ?) came back that same evening for a second go, netting the lion's share on that occasion.

So there you go..... it was actually 2 robberies..... but probably less embarrassing for the bank concerned to simply refer to it in the singular.

Another example perhaps of incredible bank efficiencies !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭macgrub

listermint wrote: »
    Enda responding to Mattie Mc Graths calls for a 'short sharp enquiry' coupled with well resourced garda criminal investigation by the DPP,

Enda

"we will have a parliamentary enquiry in to this in the autumn"

I hate that man i really do.

Enda or Mattie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

The Financial Regulator has no power to bring criminal proceedings against individuals. So it requires the Gardaí to get involved. I think these Anglo guys are asshats, but I'd rather a proper enquiry than some kneejerk reactionary arrests that lead nowhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Why organise a mid-week protest at 1pm? Who's gonna ditch work in a recession to protest? Have it on Saturday or Sunday when most people are off if you're looking for big numbers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

although i do draw the line at supporting Eirigi...i would put that aside if it at least gave us a time and date to rattle the cages, with a decent crowd.

Just because eirigo or the swp or whoever else turns up to attend a protest- it doesnt mean you are there to support them- after what has being revealed in the anglo tapes- some people are still making all sorts of excuses for not protesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Am Chile wrote: »
    Like I said in the last post-to people with your attitude you can always march and go to another section of the crowd away from richard boyd barrett if thats what floats your boat- but if you dont protest at all- dont bother complaining- those who dont protest to try change something have little or no right to any opinion as far as Im concerned.

THIS!!!!

People always moan about who is protesting but at least RBB, Higgins, hippies whatever get out there. Don't just moan on a forum ****ing get out there and join in. If you can see there is a problem then why not become part of the solution!

I did listen to the partial recording tapes on the 6.1 News yesterday. It had made absolutely sickened to actually listen to it. But; I would like to say 'a big cheer' to The Irish Indo for putting out this story. They have done a great job in putting this out in the public interest.

And oh would you look at this ladies & gents. This joke of a man hadn't said anything yet about these tapes.

http://www.herald.ie/news/brian-cowen-has-nothing-to-say-on-anglo-scandal-29371591.html

I wonder how the German Finance Minister Wolfgang Schauble would react to this story. Himself & Angela should be sounding like raging bulls at this hour when they hear about it.

I listened to the recordings being played on BBC R4's Today Programme this morning, and it was cringeworthy. A couple of gombeen men on the take, playing right into the hands of every Irish stereotype you could think of.

They've made a laughing stock of the country. But what's worse is, we're making laughing stocks of ourselves by sitting passively by without vocal demonstration. To say it's bad PR for the country is putting it mildly. It's ****ing humiliating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,199 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The Gardaí, auditors and senior civil servants have been investigating Anglo and what went on there for years. It's complicated stuff, and you cannot start arresting people based on faux online outrage and a desire for revenge.

It isn't how it works.

It's not that complicated.

Moving money between financial institutions as they undergo audits to hide loans is pretty much an open and shut case of fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Difference there is (allegedly) Gerry and his cohorts are ordinary decent criminals for the want of a better phrase.[/QUOTE]

Do you have a link to any charges against him, or convictions. Or would you like to withdraw that remark.

Did you ignore the allegedly bit?

I'm well aware there is no evidence against him. It's something Enda and Co like to bandy about when they come under the microscope from him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

It isn't how it works.

Did'nt the state intern people and execute them during the emergency...

Maybe this situation isn't as serious though :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Sure we know what he was at

Brian Cowen Drunk: The 12-Hour Bender

the most disturbing part of that

'Shirt unbuttoned? To just above his belly' :pac:

Irish PM Brian Cowen under pressure after 'drunk' radio interview

I'm not usually a fan of the Indo - but in this instance hats off. They're doing what any decent fourth estate should do - exposing the sewer under Irish public life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Did you ignore the allegedly bit?

I'm well aware there is no evidence against him. It's something Enda and Co like to bandy about when they come under the microscope from him

Why bandy it about here in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Why organise a mid-week protest at 1pm? Who's gonna ditch work in a recession to protest? Have it on Saturday or Sunday when most people are off if you're looking for big numbers!

Yeah a Saturday or sunday when the politicians will be out of town the dail will be closed up and the only people inconvenienced will be ordinary people going about their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Why bandy it about here in this thread.

Go and back and read the posts and the context it was said in otherwise don't waste my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Formalhaut wrote: »
    Em, I think the regulator is what's known as a 'toothless tiger'. Or 'a joke'. Take your pick.

We had regulation that was not enforced. Whats the point of having it if its not enforced?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

bumper234 wrote: »
    Yeah a Saturday or sunday when the politicians will be out of town the dail will be closed up and the only people inconvenienced will be ordinary people going about their business.

Well have it whenever ye want then, I suppose if enough people care, the numbers will turn up.

Just don't block my way to the academy and I don't care! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

Could we end up seeing these bankers on trial in the Hague rather than an Irish court ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭jprender

We had regulation that was not enforced. Whats the point of having it if its not enforced?

Jobs for the boys. And it suited the Govt at the time for it not to be enforced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Zebra3 wrote: »
    It's not that complicated.

Moving money between financial institutions as they undergo audits to hide loans is pretty much an open and shut case of fraud.

Well it is when you've to investigate and find out who authorised and facilitated the fraud. You also need this thing called evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,669 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Gardai siezed tapes under warrant from Anglo 4 years ago.

Fock me but this country of ours is one corrupt $hithole of a dump.

Seems like the Garda attempts at prosecutions were being blocked for some reason :rolleyes: so a lone Garda decided to sneak them to the Indo and Williams so that the public could decide for themselves.
    That's what was being hinted at on Joe Duffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,287 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Well it is when you've to investigate and find out who authorised and facilitated the fraud. You also need this thing called evidence.

Its been 5 Years im sure your actually having a laugh at this stage. Nothing has come of it so far nothing. Has to be political pressure silencing anything thats been found or keeping the investigation away from precious people.