Anyone else not want children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Sierra 117 wrote: »
    It bothers me that some parents believe their kids owe them for raising them. My father is one such parent. I didn't ask to be born and it was his responsibility to raise me. I don't owe him anything for that.

Or parents who assume that the sole reason to rear you is to keep them when they get old. When all you hear your whole life is that that is why you exist and it is your duty to do it, it is the last thing you want to do. Most people would do it in a heartbeat for their parents, but the likes of my partner's mother, you couldn't. Your house would never be your own. She would make life a living hell. She has never been to our apartment because she has said she wants to get rid of our cat. When we get a house in the future (well we hope) we want to get a wolfhound and already she said she would just open the gate and scare it away!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Itwasntme. wrote: »
    :pac: Why are you surprised that someone doesn't think life is a gift? I had this conversation with my sister and she agrees with me so I am definitely not the only one. What's the point of life? To procreate and perpetuate the human species? To what end?

This is not some angsty cry for help or anything. I really don't see the point. Yes, I am making the most of it while I am here - I live, laugh, cry etc. but I really wish I had been given the choice before hand and I would not want to make that decision for someone I couldn't consult. What if they feel like I do?

Not surprised you dont think its a gift, far fuuckin from it over here too, just surprised that now that you are here, you would still say I would choose not to be. I dont think there is any point to life either tbh, but I'm here, gonna make the most of it.

In any event, as long as Lidl have cheap wine, I will be thankful to my parents for giving me life :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I'm a 29 year old woman in a long-term relationship.

I think if I wanted kids, I'd know by now. But every time the thought crosses my mind, I just think "Why?"

I love my free time, I love lounging, I love not being broke. I don't even like looking after plants.

I just want kitties and doggies and my fella.

So, no, don't think I want kids.

The fella is as bemused by the whole thing as me.

• Site Banned Posts: 59 ✭✭Lams

**Vai** wrote: »
    Hahahaha yet more incredible condescention. You deserve a medal.

Explain how you are being condescended to. And how else do you think the poster could have made their point without you being "condescending" to you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

T-Maxx wrote: »
    How can I put this in simpler terms?

Like saying you don't like Guinness even though you've never tasted it?

Or like saying you don't like gay sex even thought you've never tried it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,171 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Oops, sounds like I've touched a nerve:D As I said, I don't care if people choose to have kids or not and it tends to be people who have kids who are the ones who have the condescending attitude towards those of us who don't want any. I have yet to see a happy parent pushing a pram. I don't know what there is to being a parent as I honestly don't give a damn, which is why I don't have any kids Keith.
    Grand, don't have kids if you don't want to, but inventing reason to justify your decision is a bit sad. You never saw someone pushing a buggy that looks happy :rolleyes:
    Ruubot2 wrote: »
    No kids here. Married 9 years. I am too greedy with my time and money, it wouldn't be fair and I don't want the responsibility. I love the ability to go wherever I want, whenever I want.

Fair play for being honest. I think almost everybody that doesn't have kids do it for that reason. At least you didn't throw in some bullsh1te about the world being overpopulated as a reason. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Lams wrote: »
    Explain how you are being condescended to. And how else do you think the poster could have made their point without you being "condescending" to you?

Maybe you should go back and read through the posters comments. Its fairly self explanatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

What is with all the patronising comments? If you want kids go for it. If you don't don't. Simple as. Feeling sorry for someone because they don't know what they are missing or because they are tied to someone for the next 18 years...you're all as bad as each other really.

Cienciano wrote: »
    At least you didn't throw in some bullsh1te about the world being overpopulated as a reason. :D

So that's not a valid reason? Some folks need to drastically update their thinking.

eviltwin wrote: »
    What is with all the patronising comments? If you want kids go for it. If you don't don't. Simple as. Feeling sorry for someone because they don't know what they are missing or because they are tied to someone for the next 18 years...you're all as bad as each other really.
    Couldnt agree more, then again its next to impossible to have any kind of discussion on boards without it turning into an us v them... :(

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Couldnt agree more, then again its next to impossible to have any kind of discussion on boards without it turning into an us v them... :(

I think its the issue rather than boards, to be fair. 99% of people seems to feel very strongly (perhaps a little too strongly) one way or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

What is says to me "this is how I see it, it makes perfect sense to me so they have to be wrong". I find it fascinating that people cannot take a difference of opinion on an opinions forum. :confused:

I don't know why the issue of children gets people so defensive. No one is "right" here, so long as you are happy with what you've decided then that is all that matters surely. There are always going to be idiots out there who think you're to be pitied because you haven't made the same choices in life they have, leave them to it. They are not worth thinking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,402 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

old hippy wrote: »
    Or like saying you don't like gay sex even thought you've never tried it? :rolleyes:

DING DING DING!!!

So that is why you lot don't want kids.:D

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    What is says to me "this is how I see it, it makes perfect sense to me so they have to be wrong". I find it fascinating that people cannot take a difference of opinion on an opinions forum. :confused:

Could be the anonymity element. I always find internet forums tend to bring out more militant views, whereas face to face people tend to be more reasonable. I'm sometimes surprised how reasonable I am when actually talking to people compared to my online shenanigans. Then I just feel like a two faced git lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,402 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

I don't know why the issue of children gets people so defensive. No one is "right" here, so long as you are happy with what you've decided then that is all that matters surely. There are always going to be idiots out there who think you're to be pitied because you haven't made the same choices in life they have, leave them to it. They are not worth thinking about.

If you don't think that the ultimate purpose of life is to procreate then you have a surprise coming.

What's the surprise? :confused:

DING DING DING!!!

So that is why you lot don't want kids.:D

How patronising. For the record, I'm married and neither me nor the wife want kids. That's our choice and we don't need your validations. As for my sexuality, it is all encompassing. I'll leave you to dig yourself deeper into that hole.

So anyone who doesnt want kids is here without a purpose? The cheek of 'em. (Gets pitchfork) :P

How do you know that?

Would you say that to gay couples, or those who are unable to conceive etc?

I think, T Maxx, the surprise is on you. When you get a better perspective of people.

old hippy wrote: »
    How patronising. For the record, I'm married and neither me nor the wife want kids. That's our choice and we don't need your validations. As for my sexuality, it is all encompassing. I'll leave you to dig yourself deeper into that hole.

lol, I wasnt sure whether or not to take offence at the comment too, then thought feck sure its friday :) But yeah, I'm gay...I want kids - "shock as gay woman reveals she has uterus" lol

So that's not a valid reason? Some folks need to drastically update their thinking.
    Lol, you agree! You can barely move in this country without bumping into someone. Thousands in Ireland die every day because there's not enough food to go around :D

The ultimate purpose in my life is to be happy

I want to know what the surprise is :D

For the record T-Maxx I have children and I'm mad about them but I also have enough awareness to know that what makes me happy isn't for everyone.

And to be totally honest, I don't care!! Why should the decisions of other people be an issue for me, its not. Its their life and they have to choose their own path and more power to them I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

The ultimate purpose of life is whatever we want it to be.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Lol, you agree! You can barely move in this country without bumping into someone. Thousands in Ireland die every day because there's not enough food to go around :D

What an idiotic way to look at the issue. Seriously, try looking outside of Ireland, at the bigger picture. Just because we have space, should we fill it with extra people? America and Australia better get cracking too then because they have incredible amounts of space. Best fill all that up with people too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Why does this line keep coming up? The fact that a person's parents had them doesn't put an obligation on that person to have to want and/or like children.
    Maybe there's a religious slant to this thinking. That that there's some pool of unborn baby souls out there in the ether and you're denying them the chance of being born or something :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

If procreation is "the ultimate purpose of life", how come so many people wholeheartedly feel it is just not right for them and how come there are so many atrocious parents?
    What an idiotic way to look at the issue. Seriously, try looking outside of Ireland, at the bigger picture. Just because we have space, should we fill it with extra people? America and Australia better get cracking too then because they have incredible amounts of space. Best fill all that up with people too.
    I don't think anyone's saying the extra space has to be filled up but that the "world is over populated as it is" reasoning is flawed because this over-population does not apply to large chunks of the world. If over-population was evenly spread, it would make sense, but it's very much not evenly spread.

If procreation is "the ultimate purpose of life", how come so many people wholeheartedly feel it is just not right for them and how come there are so many atrocious parents?

I don't think anyone's saying the extra space has to be filled up but that the "world is over populated as it is" reasoning is flawed because this over-population does not apply to large chunks of the world. If over-population was evenly spread, it would make sense, but it's very much not evenly spread.

Yeah its not evenly spread but the population numbers go up no matter where the baby is born. We need to look at our way of thinking in the 1st world in order to change the thinking of those overpopulated places. Its a global issue.

Im not saying we cant feed everyone in a perfect world but we don't have a perfect world. There are people starving now and by 2050 there will be a lot more. There will also be less species which are essential to various habitats. In fact the habitats will be wiped out anyway to make room for all these new people.

Thinking we can get away with it because we don't live in Delhi is small minded and flawed logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,743 ✭✭✭seenitall

I don't know why the issue of children gets people so defensive.

Hmmm... I think there is a big elephant in the room here as to why people get so defensive about this, however as no one else has mentioned it so far, I'm not going to be the one to open that particular can of worms either, thanks all the same. :D

Thinking of the specifically Irish attitudes around procreation, as opposed to the rest of Europe. ;)