Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Season 3 Episode 9: Have NOT read the books/BEWARE SPOILERS MOD NOTE POST #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

I wonder what this has in store for Joffrey and Balon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭Cina

DEY TEWK AHR STARKS!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Yikes.

I suspected the Boltons might be thinking to switch teams, but I wasn't expecting that. I also suspected Robb might finally come to ruin when attacking Casterly Rock, but I guess I was wayyy off the mark there. Given how much time was spent talking about that battle, this feels like a massive Bait & Switch.

I guess there's no point discussing the other strands, because there's only one scene(s) that'll be the subject of this thread! And as for what I just witnessed, I'm not shocked, I'm angry :) Given I'm ignorant of the books, despite what some around here have tried to claim, I'm not sure if the anger should be directed at GRR Martin or HBO. I suppose the 9th episode is now infamous for being the one where the biggest shock / twist happens (although book-reader friends did their best to foreshadow things with annoying bullsh*t winking), but that definitely just took the biscuit. Escalation for the sake of it in my mind.

I've had a theory about narratives for some time, that creating an environment where no character is safe can potentially be counter-productive. Whilst it keeps the tension high & makes sure the viewer never gets comfortable, I think the flipside is that one can potentially stop caring for the characters - why would you, when you know the creators are total sadists, as likely to kill off your favourites when you least suspect it, just for the sake of a short-term shock.

This feels like a vindication of that theory, or at least a moment where perhaps I should indeed stop caring. Where's the point in wasting time, investing yourself in a character-arc if the author / scriptwriters arbitrarily, and viciously, kill the characters off on a whim? I'm no mug, I don't expect a happy ending - sure isn't that what the torturer said the other week to Theon - but this feels like the show has gone way beyond the pale.

It was a shock, sure, in the sense that I wasn't expecting this level of bloodbath & this many deaths - so I guess kudos for taking me by surprise - but this act feels like such a lame attempt to shock your audience that I cannot respect the action or the intention. It's practically Flash Gordon levels of a sudden narrative twist: everything was hunky dory, oh and then suddenly they all died - ISN'T THAT SHOCKING???

No Game of Thrones it isn't.

An entire family (two families!) worth of characters have now become narrative deadends; and in a series that has frequently moved at a snail's pace thanks to an over-stuffed castlist, this act feels like a cheat.

I'm off to watch Venture Bros. - least that's a nice pick-me-up after this.

Edit: haha, kinky GoT reference in new Venture Bros. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

abff wrote: »
    Where did you all see this episode? It doesn't air until 9 p.m. on Sky Atlantic.

550.jpg

pixelburp wrote: »

An entire family (two families!) worth of characters have now become narrative deadends; and in a series that has frequently moved at a snail's pace thanks to an over-stuffed castlist, this act feels like a cheat.

Presumably you mean the Starks here, of which 4 of 5 of the children are still alive? Not sure how that would be considered a dead end.

You say it moves at a snail's pace and then when something happens you complain? The castlist is needed, they could actually do with some extra characters being given time, but that's for another discussion.

Who's the other family? The Tullys? Edmure is still alive and unsure about the Blackfish, didn't notice it myself but apparently he went for a piss before the bedding.

There have been very few deaths this season so not sure how having a couple of characters bite the dust should feel like a cheat?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Liam O wrote: »
    Presumably you mean the Starks here, of which 4 of 5 of the children are still alive? Not sure how that would be considered a dead end.

You say it moves at a snail's pace and then when something happens you complain? The castlist is needed, they could actually do with some extra characters being given time, but that's for another discussion.

Meh, whatever; substitute the hyperbole for "Catlyn, Robb, Talisa(sp)" and I still stand by my point. The Stark family is in effect dead as a lineage & the North is now utterly leaderless, considering its largest family is thrown to the winds, and 2nd largest likely to follow.

Think you're misreading what I said- it's not that the show is moving at a snails pace, certain character arcs have been. Theon, Bran, the White Walkers etc. have been going nowhere and it's frustrating that one of the few arcs that had traction, and was a focus of the show, has just been brought to a shuddering halt by a bit of gratuitous plotting.

The problem isn't that "something happened", it's the nature of how it happened, and purpose behind it. Which was to arbitrarily shock the audience for the sake of it. It's not being clever imo, and just undermines the notion of building up any kind of link between the characters and the audience.

Like I said, this event proves to me that caring about the characters is completely a pointless exercise, as their author clearly delights in twisting the knife at a moments notice.
    Liam O wrote: »
    Who's the other family? The Tullys? Edmure is still alive and unsure about the Blackfish, didn't notice it myself but apparently he went for a piss before the bedding.

Uhm, I imagine they're just as dead - why wouldn't they be? Clearly Frey doesn't care for his family so won't shed a tear to off Edmure & his bride in their beds & Blackfish will also likely be killed considering a rout was happening when we faded to black. Unless Frey will try and strike a deal with the two Tullys, which seems unlikely considering their sister just got murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Madness...that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

^ Your lack of love for Game of Thrones angers me :P I kid, but seriously, damn, I thought that was amazing television. Never in my life have I been so stunned by a tv show, I was speechless after that.

What difference would it make if Robb died in battle at Casterly Rock rather then at Frey's hand, the result is the same, it's just less shocking so I don't really buy that the writers are just trying to get a cheap shock, it was unexpected yes, but I didn't find it cheap.

So I'd seen the whole Red Wedding thing mentioned here and there online, I guess we finally found out what that meant!

However I do think it's about time the good guys got a break and something decent happened. The death of Joffrey would almost make up for the Red Wedding scene! Although I think if Joffrey died I'd actually miss him and his evil ways :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

^ Your lack of love for Game of Thrones angers me :P I kid, but seriously, damn, I thought that was amazing television. Never in my life have I been so stunned by a tv show, I was speechless after that.

What difference would it make if Robb died in battle at Casterly Rock rather then at Frey's hand, the result is the same, it's just less shocking so I don't really buy that the writers are just trying to get a cheap shock, it was unexpected yes, but I didn't find it cheap.

So I'd seen the whole Red Wedding thing mentioned here and there online, I guess we finally found out what that meant!

However I do think it's about time the good guys got a break and something decent happened. The death of Joffrey would almost make up for the Red Wedding scene! Although I think if Joffrey died I'd actually miss him and his evil ways :D

Are you kidding me? The sooner he is thrown off the top of the highest tower in Kings Landing onto a bicycle with no saddle, the better!

PropJoe10 wrote: »
    Are you kidding me? The sooner he is thrown off the top of the highest tower in Kings Landing onto a bicycle with no saddle, the better!

I know what you mean but he's just one of those characters you love to hate! Although I hate him as a character I really enjoy him at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,703 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Holysweetmarymotherofjesus! THAT'S how you end en episode.

I knew something big must have been coming by the way that the whole of the Season was moving slowly, but i never expected that. I didn't expect Robb to go in that manner, not to mention i never expected Catelyn or Talisa to get it (and shut lets include every general in Robbs army too).

Exactly around the moment of the bedding ceremony, i knew something was up. And when that music started playing, and Catelyn copped what was going on, the tension just multiplied by about 6 bazillion! Frey's speech, followed by yer man coming up behind Tulisa, i was fully expecting her throat to be slit, but the brutality of how she was killed... Wow.

Will be interesting to see if Blackfish or Edmure will make it out alive.

Also love the fact that Bran is a proper Warg now, and the fact that he's the first Warg to possess a human (albeit Hodor), it's a step towards possession of a non-simple human. I wasn't really that interested in Brans story until now.

I can see a strong friendship blooming between the Hound and Arya, and i wonder if she'll keep her word and stab him through the eye and out the back of his head (he seemed a bit taken aback by that).

Gah! Bring on next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

Had Robb's death spoiled by some dick on Reddit last night but still managed to have my jaw drop to the floor. Poor little Eddard Stark, the curse of Sean Bean strikes again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

From the start of the episode I had a feeling something was going to happen to robbs wife but I really wasn't expecting that to happen, actually cant get over it.
    The Starks are so unfortunate, Arya, Barn and the younger brother are the only starks left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

From the start of the episode I had a feeling something was going to happen to robbs wife but I really wasn't expecting that to happen, actually cant get over it.
    The Starks are so unfortunate, Arya, Barn and the younger brother are the only starks left.

Sansa's useless, but she's still alive!!!

If that's at me, don't get me wrong, I enjoy Game of Thrones, but some of its narrative flaws have gone from being cute to just plain annoying.

Investing myself emotionally in this show's cast seems like a masochistic exercise; I think I'll just stick with enjoying the scale of it all rather than get too comfy with the cast. Where's the point, that Martin fellow clearly likes target practice :)

It didn't feel like a proper resolution to the storyline, just a sudden decision to off the major limbs of the Stark family for a bit of shock. Maybe it's just the fact it's the 9th episode, that it's now some form of trope that GoT's ninth in the series has to contain a big bad shock and as a result I was expecting something awful to happen *shrug* Robb's arc seemed to be going elsewhere, so it's disappointing this big slice through the primary movers has happened.

Agreed; least it means there's no more of the irritating winking; least until series 4 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

Sansa's useless, but she's still alive!!!

haha completely forgot about her.

enhanced-buzz-8618-1370272123-47.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,745 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Headshot wrote: »
    You know im probably in the minority but im fair pissed off that my favourite characters are dead. Puts me right off the show.

you liked robb?

he got enamoured with his own military success and forgot to play the game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

It didn't feel like a proper resolution to the storyline, just a sudden decision to off the major limbs of the Stark family for a bit of shock. Maybe it's just the fact it's the 9th episode, that it's now some form of trope that GoT's ninth in the series has to contain a big bad shock and as a result I was expecting something awful to happen *shrug* Robb's arc seemed to be going elsewhere, so it's disappointing this big slice through the primary movers has happened.

Yeah, reminds me a little bit of junior cert creative writing whenever I reached a writer's block: "Right, I guess I'll just have my protagonist die horribly now".

Headshot wrote: »
    You know im probably in the minority but im fair pissed off that my favourite characters are dead. Puts me right off the show.

http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/p621/Dekommissioner/GoT11.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Well Stannis's curse has worked on Robb, I wonder will Joffery and Baelon Grejoy be next? I can't even love to hate Joffrey, just want him to die horribly! :P

tvnutz wrote: »
    Well Stannis's curse has worked on Robb, I wonder will Joffery and Baelon Grejoy be next? I can't even love to hate Joffrey, just want him to die horribly! :P

Ah yes I had forgotten about that. Are you suggesting that the curse somehow influenced Robb's death? I suppose it is the only logical explanation but I thought it would be another demon baby type situation :pac: Joffrey's death will be a nice payoff after all the crap we've had to go through as of late!
    Investing myself emotionally in this show's cast seems like a masochistic exercise; I think I'll just stick with enjoying the scale of it all rather than get too comfy with the cast. Where's the point, that Martin fellow clearly likes target practice :)

Agreed; least it means there's no more of the irritating winking; least until series 4 :D

Yes I do see your point. I suppose for me it never was about getting invested in the characters and rooting for such and such, it was always the grand scale, so I suppose the recent shock had less of an effect on me. Although I can't imagine too many had invested in Robb in the first place!

Although I do have a lot of hope for Arya, I think it will be worth investing in her, she's got it together pretty well considering. However, saying that she will probably drop dead for no good reason in the next episode. :D

You do make a good point that, after a seasons worth of boring scenes Robb's story was finally going somewhere only to be abruptly ended.

From a purely dramatic point of view I like the fact that popular characters are killed off, or can be killed off might be more accurate. It means I don't know what way the story is going to go, to me it's a refreshing change from what is usually on tv where popular characters are untouchable and as a result the story becomes predictable. Ultimately this isn't the story of the Starks, Lannisters or the Targaryens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

Well holy sh*t I wasn't expecting that ending...devastated for the starks, I need time to get over this!

What becomes of the army now? What of the starks?

So many questions!

:( :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

It was surprising that Jon Snow was out of there faster than Speedy Gonzalez without a look back at the girlfriend.

He saw the two wolves, so I wonder if he knows that his brothers were around. What happened Jon's wolf again? Has it been by his side recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Holy fecking bajaysus christ above mother of god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I'm definitely going using "every sword needs a sheath" Wish me luck :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Theres still another episode left. :D

That was a ridiculously good episode. I'm surprised to see people mentioning them as their favourite characters though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

My reaction was more like this when Robb was shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,356 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Um... Wow!

An episode so good, that Tyrion's absence wasn't even noticed. I mean who could've guessed what would happen? Extremely shocking. I know I never expected Rickon to have so many lines. :D

Oh and the big slaughter scene was shocking as well.

As for Aria, I liked how she said she would stab The Hound in his eye then the look on his and her faces as she walked away