Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Conor McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,447 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I was at the late late last night (thanks again to Scud) and both Conor and Cathal came across extremely well. And I have to say, Tubridy was actually decent enough interviewing them. They did the sport proud. It was a great moment for irish mma and I think it gained a few new fans last night too. Even MrStuffins spent the start of the night educating an old woman!

On a side note, Pendred looked huge last night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Was that you 3 lads on camera straight after the interview? Id say ye were the only guys under 40 there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,486 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

El Guapo! wrote: »
    I was at the late late last night (thanks again to Scud) and both Conor and Cathal came across extremely well. And I have to say, Tubridy was actually decent enough interviewing them. They did the sport proud. It was a great moment for irish mma and I think it gained a few new fans last night too. Even MrStuffins spent the start of the night educating an old woman!

On a side note, Pendred looked huge last night!

I gave that b*tch an armbar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Big Davey

There's something unique about Conor when he's in the Limelight doin these interviews... seems to light up without nerves of any sort, it's uncanny. It's like the attention and moment just feeds into him like Gamma rays to the incredible hulk! That's a scary natural ability. Most people don't react like that.
    One question and one point I would like to make.
    Does Conor speak a little funny ? Has he been abroad much ? Straight question.
    My point is that social welfare are not the most forgiving of organisations, when Conor was on the dole I presume he was a dedicated to the sport as he mentions on the late late which might mean he was not actively seeking employment which would might mean his social welfare payments were not deserved in their opinion ? If they have enough evidence they can seek to get all the money back ? I presume he will pay tax on the 60k which might leave him with around 30 k? If welfare come after him he won't have much left in my opinion. On the subject of Conor he is a great atlelete great personality and I hope he makes the millions he talks about he is on the first step of the ladder and the world really is his oyster.

adamski8 wrote: »
    Was that you 3 lads on camera straight after the interview? Id say ye were the only guys under 40 there!

No that wasn't us. Scud is at least 65.
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Wils110

He was actively seeking work....with the UFC just cause its not 9-5 don't mean it's not a job...regards tax would he not be self employed now so he can claim alot in expenses now,training equipment....the 2 lads where great last night it's great to see Irish lads put in the hard work and it paying off even the 3 Irish who got signed to wwe in the last few weeks its about time we stop getting overlooked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,588 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Big Davey wrote: »
    My point is that social welfare are not the most forgiving of organisations, when Conor was on the dole I presume he was a dedicated to the sport as he mentions on the late late which might mean he was not actively seeking employment which would might mean his social welfare payments were not deserved in their opinion ?
    Define seeking employment?

The way I'd see it, the last few months he put a lot of effort into becoming a professional fighter, effort with an aim to secure a UFC contract (ie employment), a contract that means he longer needs the assistance of social welfare.

Is it really anybody's business what he got off the social welfare?! It amazes me what people will want to nit pick about.
    Can we not just talk about his success and his potential rather than this shíte?!

Mellor wrote: »
    Define seeking employment?

The way I'd see it, the last few months he put a lot of effort into becoming a professional fighter, effort with an aim to secure a UFC contract (ie employment), a contract that means he longer needs the assistance of social welfare.

Yes good point. It might open the door for boxers too. Train full time while on the dole with a view to going pro with one of the promoters in Ireland or the uk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ok guys here's the moderator hat on.

Although Conor put the social welfare issue into the public domain I must remind people that this is an MMA discussion forum and not a STATE BENEFITS FORUM so lets drop the subject and get back to discussing MMA.

Thanks.

Is it really anybody's business what he got off the social welfare?! It amazes me what people will want to nit pick about.
    Can we not just talk about his success and his potential rather than this shíte?!

****e ? I felt he left himself open for scrutiny by welfare. It's the social welfares business what he got and if some begrudger in there wants him to jump through a few hoops and explain how he was "actively" seeking employment he will have to. Nit pick lol this is business this is real life there will be promoters etc trying to screw him out of money in the future he needs to be on his toes not everybody out there is as happy for him as we are there is no point in burying your head in the sand.

Although Conor put the social welfare issue into the public domain I must remind people that this is an MMA discussion forum and not a STATE BENEFITS FORUM so lets drop the subject and get back to discussing MMA.

Thanks.
    Ok point taken. It's not a business forum either so we should not talk about the 60 k or contracts etc strictly sport that's ok.

Big Davey wrote: »
    Ok point taken. It's not a business forum either so we should not talk about the 60 k or contracts etc strictly sport that's ok.

Don't try my patience.

Sorry sir that was not my intention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Haaahhhahaa this is the bitchiest MMA forum on the internet,I visit a few and this is the worst for arguments.

Any way do anyone know Connors walk around weight? I'm curious to see how much weight he cuts he looked big for 145 last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Thanks.

Reread this, get back on topic of MMA, Social welfare is another issue altogether.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

mentioned to my wife that they would be on, I was out but she texted me to say that they were both really good and came across really well, watched it today on the player and thought the both great ambassadors for Irish MMA and SBGi.

The reason I mention my other half is that , the two gentleman are raising awareness of Irish MMA throughout the country and hopefully bring more casual observers on to support them, she may even watch the Boston card with me !!!

Fair play to both of them, its a great time for Irish MMA and personally I felt Mc Gregor's enthusiasm to be infectious and inspirational.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ray Mond

No that wasn't us. Scud is at least 65.
    :p

That would have been me and my 3 mates:) front row seats baby !!
    Ps there wasn't enough wine :)

vasch_ro wrote: »

The reason I mention my other half is that , the two gentleman are raising awareness of Irish MMA throughout the country and hopefully bring more casual observers on to support them, she may even watch the Boston card with me !!!

Right now there are 58 people viewing this forum, and 8 viewing the Martial Arts & Self Defence forum.. In the 72 hours following McGregors fight this forum's figures were in the hundreds and we'd hardly a post in the MA&SD forum!.

Now everyone in work is asking me "M, you know Conor McGregor don't ya" and talking about MMA ~ its bloody great :D

Right now there are 58 people viewing this forum, and 8 viewing the Martial Arts & Self Defence forum.. In the 72 hours following McGregors fight this forum's figures were in the hundreds and we'd hardly a post in the MA&SD forum!.

Now everyone in work is asking me "M, you know Conor McGregor don't ya" and talking about MMA ~ its bloody great :D
    Yeah it's unbelievable my boss is a a 50 year old woman and since Conor's came into the lime light I get asked everyday about him, that her and her friends are talking bout him and mma all the time! Like these are 'posh' women and men in there 50s that never would have taken a second look at this sport. It's just amazing what Conor is doing for the sport in general.
    His whole persona is really helping bring a lot of new fans to the sport. And he will go down in history for this.
    He deserves every success he gets , trust me I know first hand how dedicated he is , he eats sleeps and trains that is all. How many guys do u know that writes down everything he does down in every single training session and then goes home and spends hours reading back over it and correcting mistakes if ther is any? One of a kind he is and he's gonna be headlining for the title in the next 2 years trust me.
    And I couldn't be happier and prouder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭alanrebelsw

Impressive.. both lads looked and sounded professional and passionate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fvimeo.com%2F59241653&h=sAQHtpxsm

found this on facebook not sure if you can watch the highlight video if you don't have facebook.

One the scariest highlight videos I've seen in a while

Ray Mond wrote: »
    That would have been me and my 3 mates:) front row seats baby !!
    Ps there wasn't enough wine :)

Were you one of the lads singin on stage?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Facebook link just redirects to vimeo

http://vimeo.com/59241653

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

dave1982 wrote: »
    Haaahhhahaa this is the bitchiest MMA forum on the internet,I visit a few and this is the worst for arguments.

Any way do anyone know Connors walk around weight? I'm curious to see how much weight he cuts he looked big for 145 last night

You think? I've been on quite a few forums (and banned from quite a few) and find this one the best, not many idiots, well modded (most of the time it doesn't even need modding) and guys who know a lot about the sport

Great Interview from Conor and Cahal, i checked out the late late show forum in television and people are rving about the lads, best guests by a country mile, and this is from people who never knew about MMA, or had preconcieved idea's that it's just a thugs game. Imagine what the view is from the hundreds of thousands who watched the show??

As for the show, i headed in wit The Wench, ElGuapo and mrstuffins, the whole thing was a bit boring at times but Conor/Cahal more than made up for it

Hard to believe Conor only fights at 25lb (15 if he goes up) below Cahal, i knew that cahal was big but he's a fcukin monster!!

Also ended up wit a 2 night stay at The Westport hotel which is great for a freebie

Funniest moment of the night, before we went in we were warned to turn phones off, before it went live we were warned again, 20 mins into the show someone's fcukin phone alarm starts going mental!! (Any idea's who that was mrstuffins?)

Were you one of the lads singin on stage?!

Haha yeah that was us too many glasses of wine :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,588 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Paddy power have a bet availibke for Conor to win the title by 2014 or 2016

dave1982 wrote: »
    He said before that he needs 3 weeks to fight FW, 1 week for LW and he'll fight WW tomorrow.
    I may be paraphrasing a little there but should give you an idea of his walk around weight.

Mellor wrote: »
    Paddy power have a bet availibke for Conor to win the title by 2014 or 2016

9/2 to win one by the end of 2016 of 8/1 to nab one by 2014

Cheeky score on the 2014 one i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭califano

And the CC mega thread productive in bringing you out of dormant mode:p

Joking:)