Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Conor McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,486 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Unfortunately, like with everywhere and everything, where you have success you will have people hating. People hate GSP, they hate Silva, they hate Bono, they hate Colin Farrell, they probably hate Bert & Ernie from Sesame Street.

I don't know why people rise to it though, it's what they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,447 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Unfortunately, like with everywhere and everything, where you have success you will have people hating. People hate GSP, they hate Silva, they hate Bono, they hate Colin Farrell, they probably hate Bert & Ernie from Sesame Street.

Hey hey hey! Hold on there a second. I won't have a bad word said about Bert & Ernie. Watch your mouth there pal.

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Hey hey hey! Hold on there a second. I won't have a bad word said about Bert & Ernie. Watch your mouth there pal.

Two lads living together that long and Bert won't make am honest man of Ernie.

It's unnatural!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Ah come on Bono is a asshole :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

I was thinking about who would make a great fight for Connor.I know he's in a weight class above him but Connor has fought at 155 how about Connor V Nate Diaz that would be a war!

dave1982 wrote: »
    I was thinking about who would make a great fight for Connor.I know he's in a weight class above him but Connor has fought at 155 how about Connor V Nate Diaz that would be a war!

There are so many awesome potential fights for Conor. Especially at 155. The division is stacked to hell!

However, 155 is dodgy. It's one thing fighting Lightweights out of your weight class on a local level, but in the UFC a lot of the lads who should be fighting at 170 and are HUGE at 155. (even if Conor is a big lad himself).

There are a lot of lads who step up in weight class and the difference is insurmountable. Look no further than Diaz himself. Title contender at 155, also ran at 170.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,905 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Aye. As he is a 145er who dabbled with 155, others who have dabbled between the two classes would make good fights. Siver, Ross Pearson, Edgar, Guida and now Pettis would all be huge fights for him down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

I think the right for him to take would be someone on a similar path. I don't think putting him in a fight he's bound to win just to please everyone and keep the train going will help him in the long run. He should face someone coming off 1 or 2 good wins in the UFC just like he is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

He's exciting, he's talented and he has worked damn hard for it.

Some people need to learn the difference between arrogance and confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,588 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Re: 145 vrs 155.
    I agree with some of the above, the step in divisions is huge, there's some really big 155ers in the UFC. I think he should be aiming for a title run at 145 ultimately, with the sporadic 155 fight.

I'd like to see it similar to Anderson's (or Wandy's even) position at 185 is the main division. But he steps up to 205 to fill in for injury, or when there are no other fights available, or on short notice to help a card out. But he isn't going to chase a 205 title shot.

I think that should be Conor's position at 145. Targeting the 145 title shot, but available to fill in at 155.

Mellor wrote: »

I think that should be Conor's position at 145. Targeting the 145 title shot, but available to fill in at 155.

Agree 100%
    Henderson cuts from 180 to fight at 155. He fights as a middleweight in BJJ competitions. Maynard is the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,588 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Agree 100%
    Henderson cuts from 180 to fight at 155. He fights as a middleweight in BJJ competitions. Maynard is the same.
    Yeah Bendo is a huge LW alright.
    I think middleweight is 175 or so. (Kilos FTW ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

Id like to see him fight Swanson, would be a big step up and a great fight to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭BeepBeep!

According to his twitter Conor is looking for fights at 145,155 or 170 before 17th August - Better staying clear of 170 I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭p to the e

I think the right for him to take would be someone on a similar path. I don't think putting him in a fight he's bound to win just to please everyone and keep the train going will help him in the long run. He should face someone coming off 1 or 2 good wins in the UFC just like he is

Marcus Brimage was coming off of a three fight win streak in the UFC but I know what you mean. He needs to be nurtured and groomed (careful now) to be a serious title contender. Someone that can take him the full three rounds would be a great test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Does anyone else think Conor has an odd accent ?
    In parts he almost sounded American on the late late show or was it just he was nervous being on tv and trying to hold back a bit on the Dublin accent ? I
    I thought he came across very well but just found something odd about his accent ?

Anyway lets hope well be seeing a lot more of him cause he is an amazing talent , and will do MMA in Ireland proud,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

BeepBeep! wrote: »
    According to his twitter Conor is looking for fights at 145,155 or 170 before 17th August - Better staying clear of 170 I think!
    While I cant wait to see him again I think he needs to take a breath. He has to realize that hes gonna have to bide his time if only for the fact the UFC know they could have a star and will not want to throw him in to many situations they are not comfortable with

He's probably just reliased that 60g's is peanuts when everything gets deducted and he is wanting another 60g's quicksmart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Big Davey

I said this earlier in the thread and got ignored too :-) yeah he does talk funny !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭BeepBeep!

Totally agree with that...patience is what is required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Some people pick up accents very quickly, big swing!

Not like he's pretending to be American, he's clearly very proud to say he's Irish.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

He changed the way he spoke for the TV. Just like your mother always tended to have a "telephone voice" and how you'd speak differently in a Job Interview.

There's absolutely zero chance he pronounces "The Ultimate Fighting Championship" the way he did on Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

See Joe Lauzon wants to be booked on the Boston card, another possible match up maybe?

Not slagging his accent sure we all have different ones, just wondering if anyone on here who would know him could shed light on if that's the way he speak or if it was him holding back on his normal accent for TV, nothing wrong with either just wondering cause it sounded strange,

End of the day its his fighting that is already doing the talking for him,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭p to the e

He changed the way he spoke for the TV. Just like your mother always tended to have a "telephone voice" and how you'd speak differently in a Job Interview.

There's absolutely zero chance he pronounces "The Ultimate Fighting Championship" the way he did on Friday night.

Exactly. He was just annunciating his words for television. No biggy.

I've read on an American site or two how they think he sounds like Brad Pitt out of Snatch. Make of that what you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

He didn't sound any different to how he speaks everyday to me.

Richy06 wrote: »

That was the question, so that is how he normally speaks ??
    No disrespect to him at all just has a weird accent at times that's hard to place,

• Site Banned Posts: 45 Double decker

Gunnar nelson not Conor mcgregor belongs in the lw category

Richy06 wrote: »

Does he speak to you everyday ?

cowzerp wrote: »
    Some people pick up accents very quickly, big swing!

Not like he's pretending to be American, he's clearly very proud to say he's Irish.

How quickly ? I heard he got a bit of a Scotch twang as he flew over Scotland on the way home lol he is great fighter and a good bit of craic we are only talking lads.