If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Conor McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Mellor wrote: »
    Paddy power have a bet availibke for Conor to win the title by 2014 or 2016

He said before that he needs 3 weeks to fight FW, 1 week for LW and he'll fight WW tomorrow.
    I may be paraphrasing a little there but should give you an idea of his walk around weight.

Thanks I had him at 165-170lbs on the late late last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ray Mond

scudzilla wrote: »
    9/2 to win one by the end of 2016 of 8/1 to nab one by 2014

Cheeky score on the 2014 one i think

He was 14/1 before the brimage fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

dave1982 wrote: »
    Haaahhhahaa this is the bitchiest MMA forum on the internet,I visit a few and this is the worst for arguments.

Nonsense - Before last Saturday the forum had a steady number of regulars and little or no bitching on it. Sure infractions were and are still rare here compared to other forums.

Conor's win brought more people onto the forum. I can name a few more forums worse for arguments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

And the CC mega thread productive in bringing you out of dormant mode:p

Joking:)
    "I have always been find of the west African proverb 'Speak softly and carry a big stick, you will go far'

~ Theodore Teddy Roosevelt.

Or as my great-great-great Grandfather Mr.Makikomi IV Esq used to say;

'You were given two ears and one mouth so you can listen twice as much as you speak'.

Pity its practiced by so few!.

Just watched the late late interview there. Both great ambassadors for the sport came across really well. McGregor is especially great to listen to, hope he goes the whole way. Can't wait until August & this is from someone that stopped watching MMA/UFC for some reason a few years ago. Just lost interest have no idea why but since seeing McGregor that is not the case!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭welkin

I wish McGregor all the best but he seems to be getting a little carried away with himself.
    He won a bonus of 60K dollars which is about 45K euros and I'm sure his team and taxman will have to get a cut so I don't know how much he has left for himself. He seems to think he's just won the world championship and I hope he does someday but in the meantime he should watch his money. He's won one fight in the UFC. It can all change very quickly.

That said that "pro gambler" John OShea came across as some D4 knob. Even more annoying head and voice on him than Tubbs and that's saying something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Nappy

He said on an interview he was getting someone to look after his finances. Going from the dole to 60K in 66 seconds isn't bad though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭LOI Stats

Saw a couple of seconds of the McGregor/Pender interview on the Late Late the other night. Looked up the whole thing on the RTÉ Player this evening.

Both seem like excellent ambassadors for the sport. I know next to nothing about MMA and I'm not a fan of martial arts or other types of combat sports, if that is what you would call them, but the way they both spoke about MMA inspired me to take a look at it. Not like I've never seen it before, but still.

I had no idea what was going on most of the time, but I enjoyed it all the same. I roll the eyes when people jump on bandwagons, but I will certainly tune in when these lads make their UFC debut.

McGregor sounds like a lunatic, but it's all funnelled into his training... thankfully! Sounds, like I'm being unkind, but you know what I mean.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭welkin

wonder why RTE didn't get footage of McGregor sparking Brimage.

You'd think the UFC would allow them a few seconds and it would be great free promotion for them to be on Ireland's most popular chat show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

$$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Richy06 wrote: »
    $$$

A recent documentary trailer had the footage in it two days out from the event.

Not sure if they paid for it or not though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Joe Hart

Nappy wrote: »
    He said on an interview he was getting someone to look after his finances. Going from the dole to 60K in 66 seconds isn't bad though.

He'd want to be very careful. He only got 60K for best knockout of the night, otherwise his purse was fairly meagre. You'd have to be concerned when he is talking about getting a wardrobe of 2K suits when his career is starting and moneymaking potential is fairly low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

He won't have to buy any suits Copeland will look after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Joe Hart

T-K-O wrote: »
    He won't have to buy any suits Copeland will look after that.

Are they friends? Not a fan of his made to measure crap myself, think Conor was on about proper London bespoke.

Joe Hart wrote: »
    Are they friends? Not a fan of his made to measure crap myself, think Conor was on about proper London bespoke.

I don't think so but Louis has form looking after up and coming sportsmen like conor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭LOI Stats

When is McGregor's next tv fight scheduled for? I'm not a fan but I'll give it a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

LOI Stats wrote: »
    When is McGregor's next tv fight scheduled for? I'm not a fan but I'll give it a go.

It will probably be on aug 17th but it probably wont be annouced for a while, maybe in june id guess

He'd want to be very careful. He only got 60K for best knockout of the night, otherwise his purse was fairly meagre. You'd have to be concerned when he is talking about getting a wardrobe of 2K suits when his career is starting and moneymaking potential is fairly low.
    Why would u be concerned ? It has nothing at all to do with u what he does with his money! If he goes put and gets 30 2grand suits it's Conor's business. Why even question Wat he will be doing with his money its nobody's concern but his own and I'm sure he'll handle it very well.

And August not long away I'm sure another nice 50g bonus will be coming his way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

Niall0 wrote: »
    Fantastic Performance by Conor! Hopefully he will get on the main card next time, might even be able to crack the top 10 soon.

Heres Conor with Dana
    155767_359504524149658_387740536_n.jpg

Dana, no ones listening to Dana anymore:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭fightireland

What's great about this statement is it perfectly illustrates the difference between people like you [Joe Hart] and people like Conor.

Losers and Winners.

Chumps and Champions.

n

What's great about this statement is it perfectly illustrates the difference between people like you [Joe Hart] and people like Conor.

Losers and Winners.

Chumps and Champions.

you most likely have no idea who joe hart is, so you can hardly call him a loser:confused: his statement makes perfect sense to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭fightireland

some amount of ass licking going on here. saw the late late interview and cant see how people think he came across very well. he was so arrogant and you could tell tubridy was thinking, who does this knacker think he is? and the riff raff in the crowd was off putting 2(his family and friends i presume) that line about becoming a self made millionaire made me cringe.

Okay, here is a test - list one thing you achieved in life?
    Bet you nobody cares but go for it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

some amount of ass licking going on here. saw the late late interview and cant see how people think he came across very well. he was so arrogant and you could tell tubridy was thinking, who does this knacker think he is? and the riff raff in the crowd was off putting 2(his family and friends i presume) that line about becoming a self made millionaire made me cringe.

Arogant? He came across as a guy who has worked hard to get where he is and is just enjoying the fruits of his last 8-10 years training. He deserves some recognition and is enjoying it. Typical begrudger attitude to some success.

And your comment about the crowd just made me cringe. Forgot only certain types could be on the late late
    creepystare-300x300.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,527 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

2FM on at the moment and there was an ad for the Game On show. They used a soundbite from Conor to promote the show, class!

Haha just shows how much of a Loser u really are . Jealousy will get u know where I'm life u sad act.
    Firstly arrogant? How did u come up with this? He's one of the most down to earth people out there , and he even came across like that.
    Knacker? Dresses very well, speaks well , lives in a nice area ! How did you come up this obviously it's the jealousy thing again.
    Hate people that can't be happy for somebody that has worked so hard and had nothing to where Conor is now. Small minded people like yourself will get nowhere in life .
    And the quote about being a millionaire what's wrong with that.How is that cringy. Everybody has dreams and he's on his way to his comingthrough.
    People like u deserve a slap into reality and stop begrudging people and worryingabout other peoples lives , obviously yours is so **** u decide to try belittle others.
    Cop on u idiot.

Ray Mond wrote: »
    Haha just shows how much of a Loser u really are . Jealousy will get u know where I'm life u sad act.
    Firstly arrogant? How did u come up with this? He's one of the most down to earth people out there , and he even came across like that.
    Knacker? Dresses very well, speaks well , lives in a nice area ! How did you come up this obviously it's the jealousy thing again.
    Hate people that can't be happy for somebody that has worked so hard and had nothing to where Conor is now. Small minded people like yourself will get nowhere in life .
    And the quote about being a millionaire what's wrong with that.How is that cringy. Everybody has dreams and he's on his way to his comingthrough.
    People like u deserve a slap into reality and stop begrudging people and sorting about other peoples lives , obviously yours is so **** u decide to try belittle others.
    Cop on u idiot.[/QUOTE

you sound about 12 with what you just wrote.

Conor came across like the cat that got the cream. Guess what, he is that cat. Years of hard work have paid off. Now of course he was a long way to go but this is a huge step forward.

I saw a man who was absolutely over the moon with that has gone on. Im the first to call out sportsmen on arrogance however IMO he was genuinely excited about his future

Ray Mond wrote: »
    People like u deserve a slap into reality and stop begrudging people and sorting about other peoples lives , obviously yours is so **** u decide to try belittle others.
    Cop on u idiot.[/QUOTE

you sound about 12 with what you just wrote.

U sound like you've no friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

leave the personal BS now or bans will be implemented, We should be celebrating the start of hopefully a bright career for Conor.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.