If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Sexism you deal with in everyday life? ***Mod Note in first post. Please read***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Gotham wrote: »
    If you arent being singled out for your sex (That is the only context required for sexism) then it is not sexism. You cant claim to be discriminated under the category of sexism if it can apply to people of both sexes.

Sure, you may be discriminated against, but that is some other stereotyping category.

Which is why context is important. If you simply must know the family plans of everyone you meet, then you are merely rude and inappropriate. If you only ever make this inquiry to women, then you are being sexist.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Right. This thread is for women sharing their everyday life experiences of sexism. It is not for women to have defend their position to passersbys. That ends here. A warning has already been given once, there won't be more. EDIT further off topic posts have been deleted. Back on topic. I'll keep deleting posts until it does. Thank you.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

^^^ That was always going to be needed to be said, but I'm still dismayed at the trolling/mansplaining trying to discredit the experiences of sexism many of us face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Morag

Which in it's self can be sexist cos women are just over reacting or being too sensitive or not understanding what is happening, all of which works to undermine our experiences so we don't share and just put up with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Morag wrote: »
    Which in it's self can be sexist cos women are just over reacting or being too sensitive or not understanding what is happening, all of which works to undermine our experiences so we don't share and just put up with it.

This.

Discrediting the female perspective on how and when she has been treated in a sexist manner is just another example of how 'mainstream' sexism is in our society.

I bolded the words above because the experience of sexism from a female perspective is not something that can ever be fully comprehended, except from a female pov.

This.

Discrediting the female perspective on how and when she has been treated in a sexist manner is just another example of how 'mainstream' sexism is in our society.

I bolded the words above because the experience of sexism from a female perspective is not something that can ever be fully comprehended, except from a female pov.

The experience won't be the same but that doesn't mean that men can't see it happening or understand it or stand up against it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

The experience won't be the same but that doesn't mean that men can't see it happening or understand it or stand up against it.

One would hope that reading threads like this would actually help men to see it from a female pov and to empathise.

One of the most sexist individuals I ever met was completely unaware that he was sexist. When I would point out to him that something he had just said or done was totally sexist, he would be incredulous that it could be perceived as such. He just wouldnt believe me. And then he would dismiss me as a silly woman :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

God, this was actually a good and interesting thread up to a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

The odd time I drive my husband's big car I get guys tailgating me, flashing me or just giving me the finger. That never happens in my own, very very small, car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Well, on the other hand you could look at it this way too. Men and boys are also raised under the same kind of sexism, where they are expected to tough things out, be strong oaks, not feel sad, etc etc, so they are reared and socialised to deny things even to themselves,whereas we have a different permission. Men can then come and show the same intolerance to our perspective that they spend showing to themselves and each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,913 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Whispered wrote: »
    Walking through my town, lost in my thoughts, an old man passing me stepped in front of me and roared "IT WOULDN'T KILL YOU TO SMILE" then walked away.

He wouldn't have done it if I was a man. I'm almost sure of it.

I'm a man and I've had this said to me a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

McGaggs wrote: »
    I'm a man and I've had this said to me a few times

Really? That's so odd because of the few men I asked if it had happened to them, they all said no.

It is absolutely 100% more commonly said to women.

So how did you react to a man (woman?) stopping in front of you to shout in your face? I got such a fright I didn't actually react at all and then I was angry with myself for not telling him to get lost.

Well, on the other hand you could look at it this way too. Men and boys are also raised under the same kind of sexism, where they are expected to tough things out, be strong oaks, not feel sad, etc etc, so they are reared and socialised to deny things even to themselves,whereas we have a different permission. Men can then come and show the same intolerance to our perspective that they spend showing to themselves and each other.

That is an issue and one I am aware of as I have both a daughter and a son.
    But this is ladies lounge all the same.

I remember asking about career progression opportunities in an interview once.
    Being flat out told.
    "The lads like those jobs"

I actually appreciated that guys ignorance. I'd rather people tell it how it is.
    Than let you bust your ass, while they are silently discriminating against you.

When I went looking for career guidance in school, the school didn't have any information on any of the DITs courses, not a single course in any of the DIT, but they sure has had all the ones for business and nursing.

Really? That's so odd because of the few men I asked if it had happened to them, they all said no.

It is absolutely 100% more commonly said to women.

So how did you react to a man (woman?) stopping in front of you to shout in your face? I got such a fright I didn't actually react at all and then I was angry with myself for not telling him to get lost.

I've had it from men and women (usually men), and usually more along the lines of "Cheer up, it might not happen" (although I did once get the worse "Would it kill you to smile")

My reaction is usually to look startled and keep walking, then inwardly curse myself for not shouting back somthing along the lines of "You've just made it happen, you w@nker!"

Do you mind me asking, are you a small man? Like I can't imagine someone saying similar to tall, or well built men. For fear of causing an aggressive reaction.

(feel free to not answer if you like)

Personally, I feel that because I'm a short girl, some people, in particular men, feel they can say what they like to me.

Another sexist incident that happened to me. I was in the Cobblestone pub in Dublin and some filthy, rank breath, pissed older man, surrounded by his equally loser mates grabbed me as I passed and said "nice tits love". When I told him to get his f**king hands off me, he warned me that I was in "his pub" while his mates jeered.

Do you mind me asking, are you a small man? Like I can't imagine someone saying similar to tall, or well built men. For fear of causing an aggressive reaction.

Average height and build. I think it has something to do with my daydreaming face looking a bit sad.

McGaggs wrote: »
    Average height and build. I think it has something to do with my daydreaming face looking a bit sad.

I've got one of those faces too. :cool:

Another thing I've encountered. Recently I have had to deal with some large dogs. We have some customers who will just pull up and hand the dog over if it is a man who is there, but when one of the girls greets them, they insist on walking the dog to their bed themselves.

This might be done in a "looking out for" the girls kind of way. But everybody who is there have the same qualifications and ability. It's not necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I've experienced the shouting and groping and other unwanted attention that seems to happen mostly in pubs or bars. I've learned to ignore it, although I must admit that on a couple of occasions I've lost my temper with people who do stuff like that.

I also had a lecturer here in Spain who said openly in one of his classes that women should cover themselves up and learn to behave themselves more "appropriately", and if they get attacked then it's pretty much their own fault for not being more modest. :eek: I confronted him about it after the class and told him that that is really dangerous stuff to be spewing in a classroom setting, but he refused to accept that there was anything wrong with what he said and practically turned his back on me mid-conversation and walked out of the classroom. I never went back to that class.
    Had a one-to-one lesson with a Spanish guy this morning. We started talking about things to do in this city, he brought up the sculpture museum down the road and I said I wasn't really that into sculpture. He immediately said, 'So what do you like doing, going shopping? I bet you like going shopping. Hahahaha.' I just looked at him blankly and said 'no, I prefer other types of museums like science, natural history and modern art, I like seeing Spanish films at the cinema and reading in the park.'

Seriously, like? I know he wasn't trying to be rude, but just because I'm not into sculpture, I must be some silly bimbo with no appreciation of anything cultural? There's nothing wrong with liking shopping, it was the way he said it, as if anything else would be too much of a challenge for me. Would he have said that to a man?

Sexism here is rife and even the men will admit to that.

I´d something similar happen to me in class last week. Something in the book we were looking came up and the question asked, "Do you prefer museums or shopping?" and one of the guys answered, "Well we know how the girls (all over the age of 35) will answer that one!Haha!" (fcuk off :rolleyes:),

It might seem harmless but this kind of shite can wear you down, particularly in a country where it´s more prevalent and when you know the guy wasn´t making an attempt at irony. The wolf whistles on the street and the sleazy "Viejo Verdes" (dirty old men) blatantly gawking at you in the Metro and the fact that every single student in a managerial position I teach is a man and all their assistants are (very smart) women with absolutely no chance of advancing up the career ladder (and the bosses admitted to this) and the fact that I feel like a freak when I walk in to have a beer/coffee in a bar full of men (which they usually are) during the day and get stared out of it. I´m often treated in a condescending way, particularly by the older generation and not so much by guys my own age. Hopefully this will change down the line but Spain are a few years off yet. I didn´t feel this way when I lived in Ireland or the UK. I always felt like an equal. I don´t get that feeling so much here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,354 ✭✭✭✭fits

I was part of a group generating scenarios for a future Europe recently and there were four experts in the group. Two male and two female. The group facilitator was also male. We were all from different backgrounds and had different contributions to make.

Every time I made a suggestion it was systematically attacked by one of the other men in the group. The facilitator only took his points down and ignored mine. The other woman did not get a word in at all. I got so frustrated at one stage that I had to go out and get some cigarettes to calm myself down. (if you lose your temper you lose the argument)

Anyway in the end, the outputs of our group were heavily weighed in favour of the male contributors and there seemed to be absolutely nothing I could do about it.

I beat myself up about it afterwards wondering if I could have argued my points better, but I do think sexism was a major part of it.

In my current workplace, I experience absolutely no sexism at all. None. Its brilliant.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I work in a petrol station as a part-time job during college.

Normally it's just me there so I can't leave the shop as the till needs to be attended, customers could come in etc...

The amount of times I've had "What kind of a gentleman are you??!!" or a *rolls eyes* 'this young lad can't do a manly thing' when I refuse to top up their motor oil.

I could give a car a full service and replace most parts, if needed.

Mostly it's older women. But I've had younger women give the eye lashes a go or flirt slightly in the hopes of changing oil, lightbulb whatever.

A) I can't just abandon my post.
    B) I'm not your fcuking mechanic :mad:

As recently as last year I used to make stupid 'belong in the kitchen jokes' in college. I never actually meant them. Mostly during conversations with friends (both male and female) where I got as good as I gave. But a few times I would have been within earshot of others and possible taken up wrong.

It was this forum that made me think my immature joking could be taken as sexism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Sexism here is rife and even the men will admit to that.

I´d something similar happen to me in class last week. Something in the book we were looking came up and the question asked, "Do you prefer museums or shopping?" and one of the guys answered, "Well we know how the girls (all over the age of 35) will answer that one!Haha!" (fcuk off :rolleyes:),

It might seem harmless but this kind of shite can wear you down, particularly in a country where it´s more prevalent and when you know the guy wasn´t making an attempt at irony. The wolf whistles on the street and the sleazy "Viejo Verdes" (dirty old men) blatantly gawking at you in the Metro and the fact that every single student in a managerial position I teach is a man and all their assistants are (very smart) women with absolutely no chance of advancing up the career ladder (and the bosses admitted to this) and the fact that I feel like a freak when I walk in to have a beer/coffee in a bar full of men (which they usually are) during the day and get stared out of it. I´m often treated in a condescending way, particularly by the older generation and not so much by guys my own age. Hopefully this will change down the line but Spain are a few years off yet. I didn´t feel this way when I lived in Ireland or the UK. I always felt like an equal. I don´t get that feeling so much here.

I've often felt a lot more objectified here than I ever did in Ireland. Even lads my own age who I meet out are quite leer-y and have no problem saying certain things, straight-up to your face and expect you to be somehow taken by it. I've had lads come up to me with the 'que guapa!' line and the whole not taking no for an answer attitude, and are then quite offended when I brush them off or laugh in their face, as if I've no business doing that. For the most part, while I understand that misogyny absolutely exists in Ireland, I've found Irish lads (those my own age anyway) a lot more restrained in their approach. They go more for humour and charm rather than the straight-up 'I think you're hot, let's ride' bit. There's something about the attitude of some Spanish men that makes me feel uncomfortable sometimes.

Dean0088 wrote: »
    The amount of times I've had "What kind of a gentleman are you??!!" or a *rolls eyes* 'this young lad can't do a manly thing'.
    That sounds like it must be so annoying.

I've a friend with the opposite problem. She works at a petrol station and often people (she claims it's mainly yummy-mummies and older people) come in wanting someone to fill their tank up for them, and they ask "are there any lads around?", insisting they need a man to fill up their petrol tank. Now, I'd never deny that there are certain manual tasks that do require the strength of a man, but my 60 year old mother can fill up a tank of petrol. My friend's always getting annoyed by it, apparently it happens a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

I've a friend with the opposite problem. She works at a petrol station and often people (she claims it's mainly yummy-mummies and older people) come in wanting someone to fill their tank up for them, and they ask "are there any lads around?", insisting they need a man to fill up their petrol tank. Now, I'd never deny that there are certain manual tasks that do require the strength of a man, but my 60 year old mother can fill up a tank of petrol. My friend's always getting annoyed by it, apparently it happens a lot.

This can happen when you wave the white flag, just decide you can never beat it, so may as well join it and let it work for you the best that you can.

I can contain my anger at being requested to change oil or whatever. But being asked to fill their tank?! I'd tell them where to go. But if I was a girl and was asked to go find someone else to do it for them, I'd insist on doing it for them.

Petrol, is it?

*Fills with diesel*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭redlead

vitani wrote: »
    It was funny to hear the men in work yesterday talk about the rugby. They all just presumed that each other had watched the match, but when one of them asked me if I'd seen it, his tone completely changed, as if it would have been unusual for a woman to watch sport.
    That's because it is unusual for a woman to watch sport.
    In general, I don't have to deal with much sexism on a day-to-day basis. But I was a bit taken aback to be called a 'cheap date' when I mentioned to someone recently that I didn't drink much. It just brings to mind a horrible image of a guy trying to get a woman drunk.

This is not sexism. It is called a joke.

redlead wrote: »
    That's because it is unusual for a woman to watch sport.

This is not sexism. It is called a joke.

If I'm not in the pub or with my friends to watch a match, I'll jump on twitter and follow the #sixnations hashtag to have a chat with people about it.

A good 30% were females on there last Saturday.

A good chunk of girls I know in college would watch matches. Especially international games. Rugby seems to have a good female following.

I also stare awkwardly at the wall when a conversation with other lads suddenly turns into chat about football. Don't watch it. Havn't a breeze. And couldn't care less that some lad is being paid £99000000000 to kick a bag of wind into a fishing net for a different team because he threw a wobbler at the last club. Yet I feel like and idiot and am generally ostrasized a bit when it comes to social outings. Eg. Match then pub, Astro then FIFA etc... My idea of hell. But still...

Oh. And it's a sexist joke.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I've not read the whole thread, but I've read the first few pages and am responding on that basis.
    lazygal wrote: »
    I was told by my male supervisor before I went on maternity leave that I'd be coming back from maternity leave pregnant again because that's how women play the system. I also heard on the grapevine another male colleague said after I came back after getting married that I'd be having children and out all the time so I'd be no use to his team.

I had two female colleagues in one company do exactly this, come back from maternity leave pregnant, it very much affected their role in the company.
    I completed a taught MA when I was 23. I had noticed that the main lecturer was not interested in anything the women had to say. Never asked them their opinion, never called on them, never looked at them. If one spoke, he would interrupt look away and then talk to one of the men. This went on for a year. It made everyone feel invisible and even some of the men were self concious because it was so noticeable.

And it's not something that's easy to call someone on, unless you install a video camera and have footage to show them, and no one is going to do that in a small seminar room.

The lecturer was old school snob. He was simply scared of girls. That's what it came down to. And if it were now, I'd have a field day with it.

My maths teacher was like this, now this was twenty years ago and I'd to do maths in the boys school, but he completely ignored the female students.

However I'm now doing a masters, and all of my tutors in an IT related degree to date (four) are female, I think that's fantastic given how polarised IT is, inspires me to proceed onwards, far more than that old fart who was not around for my LC results to talk to me.
    There are still plenty of those old school snobs in academia. I'm convinced that's part of why there is still a relatively low percentage of female professors at third-level because it's a bit of a boy's club, particularly in some disciplines...

The more serious stuff I would call harassment really but based on sexist or chauvinistic attitudes. I know at least two of my friends that had issues with sexual harassment at work. The only way those problems resolved for them was by them leaving the job... In one case HR failed miserably dealing with it when my friend reported the guy after over a year of dealing with his behaviour: the guy still works in the company my friend had to leave to this day probably doing the same thing to other women! :mad:

I've successfully dealt with a bully boss who was also sexist (he once told me that he angled his computer monitor to google female staff coming out of the elevators) and once unsuccessfully dealt with a bully who was a complete sadist, and told me once I looked naked under my coat as my dress was shorter than it, and I was wearing sheer tights.
    Das Kitty wrote: »
    My 'favourite' is when you go to a mechanic about your car and they talk to you like you're two. Or if you happen to have a guy with you, the responses are addressed to him. My husband has no interest in cars, so I'd be the one in charge of maintenance. Last time it happened he just looked at the mechanic and said, "Don't know why you're talking to me, I haven't a clue what you're talking about. Talk to her." We have a mechanic now that I'm very happy with thank feck.

It's been happening too at work with construction guys we're trying to liaise with on data cabling. One of the women will say something and the answer will either be directed at the guy standing next to her, or her boobs.

Lovely!

Trick there is to have your man (sadly) abdicate that to you. My/our mechanic is in his sixties, and got to know me first and has a rep as being a great mechanic to deal with if you are a woman. He and I regularly rib my OH in front of him, and have "secret" conversations about what needs to be done to the OH's car.

Same with our plumber to be honest, and most workmen, I think genuinely they are changing, if you show any small interest they are often happy to explain, we'd the same with a leaky radiator in our house, was me the plumber showed how to stop it, rather than the OH.

Dealing with them alone (strange mech) I play the Barbie card. "Don't tighten the wheel nuts too much in case I get a puncture on the side of the road" works.
    And if it works, I'll use it.
    vitani wrote: »
    It was funny to hear the men in work yesterday talk about the rugby. They all just presumed that each other had watched the match, but when one of them asked me if I'd seen it, his tone completely changed, as if it would have been unusual for a woman to watch sport.

In general, I don't have to deal with much sexism on a day-to-day basis. But I was a bit taken aback to be called a 'cheap date' when I mentioned to someone recently that I didn't drink much. It just brings to mind a horrible image of a guy trying to get a woman drunk.

I'm a very introverted person, and read up all the sports results every weekend, just to chat to the guys (I work in an environment which is 90% male)
    Went into work this week, and we'd chat about the rugby and I referenced a match in 2007 and they looked at me blankly, it was fun in a way to beat them at their own game, but to realise what a fan of the sport I am.

I've worked in very very male dominated environments for over 15 years. I've encountered blatant sexism a couple of times, but overall, I've been treated as an equal by my colleagues, had them give out to me for not calling them when I'd a puncture on the way to work, offer to drive me to my chiropractor when I was fairly hurt with back pain, and just generally be good people.

I've found the same for the most part with women, though I've only worked in a female dominated team for six months out of fifteen years, and I found some of their behaviour strange.

I've encountered sexism, when dealing with groups of men in senior positions horrified to discover that I was their consultant (one particular idiot asked my boss if I was his PA), others who doubted my ability as I was the only female in the room, but others who took a non gender approach and got over it.

There are plenty of people out there ready to jump on any ism to discredit someone, sexism is just another, now I have only ever had one instance of being groped (by a supplier) and I told my male boss at the time I would never deal with the guy alone again, and he was fine.

How many of you have reported such encounters? Out of two (three if you count the idiot who thought I was my bosses PA) I've had to deal with three, and successfully done so, there is little defence.

Outside of work, I can't say I have ever encountered sexism. Ahttp://b-static.net/vbulletin/images/icons/icon13.pnggeism yes, but not sexism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭redlead

Dean0088 wrote: »
    If I'm not in the pub or with my friends to watch a match, I'll jump on twitter and follow the #sixnations hashtag to have a chat with people about it.

A good 30% were females on there last Saturday.
    I also stare awkwardly at the wall when a conversation with other lads suddenly turns into chat about football. Don't watch it. Havn't a breeze. And couldn't care less that some lad is being paid £99000000000 to kick a bag of wind into a fishing net for a different team because he threw a wobbler at the last club. Yet I feel like and idiot and am generally ostrasized a bit when it comes to social outings. Eg. Match then pub, Astro then FIFA etc... My idea of hell. But still...

Men and women are quite different as this thread highlights. The issue the previous lady has over a man being surprised that she is interested in sport is largely that he has made a generalisation that women are not interested in sport. You have similarly made a generalisation of what male conversation largely consists of. Are you therefore being a sexist? Yes there are plenty of women who love sport and yes there are plenty of men who will discuss fashion (how dare I mention that women like talking about clothes) but "in general" it is a safe assumption to make that the average girl won't know what the square ball rule is or that the average man won't know what a tutu is :D If they do, then great. I certainly wouldn't be getting into a hump over it and start calling someone a sexist.

P.S. I really struggled not to immaturely rip the p1ss out of your reply by calling your masculinity into question. Alas, my childish jokes would have gone down here like a lead balloon!