Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

whazzat mic, brian?

Studio Projects B1. It's a large-diaphragm condenser. Only got it recently - you might notice that the cable is missing!
    dwighet wrote: »
    Recarro?

Think it's just an OEM Mazda seat. Tan leather. It has speakers in the headrest but I doubt they work after being out in the rain, and I'm not planning to replace my headphones for gaming anyway :p
    Headshot wrote: »
    Brian you know your headphones

How would you get headphones like Sennheiser HD 598 working on a ps3?

Not too clued in on console gaming - maybe something like an Astro Mixamp?
    glynf wrote: »
    @Brian,

Like your thinking:D

Did you get it in a scrap yard? Thought of doing similar, car seat grafted onto a swivel chair base. Never reaslised how heavy car seats were though till I took the seats out of my A5, the weight of them :eek:

Was thinking about picking up an old lexus or S class seat and doing similar a while back, interest now renewed!

Thinking I could build a decent base from 40mm unistrut, as you can can get casters for same to move it. Wouldn't be the prettiest, but it would hold..

Yeah, I got it from Robert Kinsella's which is on the Red Cow roundabout (there is also parts4cars.ie which is right next to it, don't ask...) It was €30 which is a fair price. It's a nice seat but it's pretty banged up. Might have to cover or replace some of the panels but they're only the central ones so it should be relatively straightforward rectangular pieces.
    i like my Seats in my MX5 :D

did you have some fitment to the chair? or just screws in? is that even comfy m8?

I haven't got to the attachment stage, in that picture I was just sitting it on a kitchen chair to see if it would be comfortable to sit in at that height (since car seats are designed to be used with much less distance between your knees and the floor). Luckily it was still nice and comfy.

There are two instructables that people might find of interest if they are interested in doing something similar.

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Turn-Junker-Car-Seats-into-Beautiful-Office/?ALLSTEPS (probably a bit more work than I'll be bothered to to :pac:)

http://www.instructables.com/id/Cheap-Car-Seat-Office-Chair/?ALLSTEPS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭RUCKING FETARD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

Does any one know if there's any more 4TB HD's coming on the market?
    A bit of competition for the Hitachi Deskstar would be nice and hopefully induce a much needed price drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

There doesn't seem to be the normal, moore's law progression in size of HDDs. Is that all down to the flooding or are there some other technical limitations? While SSDs are marching on the options for HDDs seem to look about the same right now as they did a year ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Fluffy88

Moore's law is for silicone, so GPUs, CPUs, RAM, USB Drives, SSDs and loads of other things that I don't know about but HDDs are mechanical so as you said there are other technical limitations.

The plater of an HDD is very similar to a CD/DVD disk and there is limitations on how much data can fit on a plater without interfering with the data in the neighbouring sections on the disk. That's one reason we don't see the same progress in HDD sizes as we do with other technologies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭RUCKING FETARD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

WD released a 2TB 'laptop' drive a while ago. By laptop, I mean that it was the 2.5'' size but considerably thicker so it wouldn't fit most laptops but would serve as a mobile drive. They usually do this prior to releasing a proper mobile one. If they can get 2TB drives that size, it should only be a short time now before we have the 4TB ones.

I'd say that they could have released them a few months ago, just that they couldn't be bothered when they're milking the prices for all they can.

Price decreases in the mobile sector is due to competition from SSDs, I'd say - i.e., a person looking at a drive for a laptop is likely to just have the one drive, so SSD is a good option. They're the only drives that have actually gone a net amount down since the floods, according to the chart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

After doing a bit of looking around it seems the 4TB Hitachi External HD is cheaper than their 4TB internal HD, so I'm thinking of going with them instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Watch out that you're not buying two hard drives in one case with the external drives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Monotype wrote: »
    Watch out that you're not buying two hard drives in one case with the external drives!

I just though of it myself. Do they practise these things?

Btw nice find on that amazon by tea_bag, 190eu is a very good price for 2312hm now. I am quite tempted, but not tempted eating stale bread for the next month... Plus I love sex and something tells misses not going to cooperate after seeing one more of those dells. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Webcams lads, any bargains about? Tested my old MiniDV on firewire and it just doesnt cut it(not surprisingly).

At some point in the near future I'm going to set up eyefinity for my PC.

Is there anything wrong with this DVI-MDP adaptor?
    http://www.dabs.ie/products/startech-com-mini-displayport-to-dvi-video-adapter-converter-6LCL.html?q=dvi%20to%20displayport&src=16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

ED E wrote: »
    Webcams lads, any bargains about? Tested my old MiniDV on firewire and it just doesnt cut it(not surprisingly).
    go into a gamestop or one of the numerous others and get a second hand xbox web cam. theyre usually around a fiver and are excellent quality for the price. you'd probably spend upwards of €40 for similar quality. the drivers will get automatically fetched from windows update.

microsoft-xbox-360-live-vision-camera.jpg

Gbear wrote: »

http://www.dabs.ie/products/startech-com-mini-displayport-to-dvi-video-adapter-converter-6LCL.html?q=dvi%20to%20displayport&src=16

i am 99% sure it is not an ACTIVE adapter. it wont work with eyefinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

you'll know an active cause it'll have a USB cable attached to it, and its a lot more than €18 :(

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    go into a gamestop or one of the numerous others and get a second hand xbox web cam. theyre usually around a fiver and are excellent quality for the price. you'd probably spend upwards of €40 for similar quality. the drivers will get automatically fetched from windows update.

Have one, they're muck. I can bump the res but then framerates tank. Res doesnt matter that much anyways, as it'd be shrunk but the image is totally washed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

This will do the trick.

The DVI dual link adapters need additional power via USB, the DVI single link ones don't. If you are running 1080p then the single link DVI is fine, 1440p> requires the costlier adapter.

BTW Gbear, the one you linked is a basic passive one same as this one-just a nice white colour to attract this lot...

isheep-expert-witness.jpg

Eh, never mind with the eyefinity.

Although my computer seemed to be working since this fiasco it now won't boot.

After 6 months of this ****e I just don't have the stomach for it anymore. Anyone wanna fix it for me?
    Or buy it off me? I don't think I'm technologically competent enough to run a DIY pc. I just keep breaking it. It would be an incredible coincidence that I keep getting faulty parts. No. The problem is me.

Rip-off or no, I should've just bought a Dell or something. At least it'd work and there'd be no fiddly bits for me to **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Ill give you fifty squids fr it:pac:

Lu Tze wrote: »
    Ill give you fifty squids fr it:pac:

50 Colossal Squid? Each weighing 500kg? At €5/kg?

Sold for €125,000!:)

feck, i am not proud of myself, but i want to try and buy Black ops 2...

i say it every fecking year after MW2 - LAST COD I EVER BUY! I end up buying it anyway... atleast i had a good run out of BLack ops 1, where MW3 was abandoned after few hours and never looked back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭VenomIreland

feck, i am not proud of myself, but i want to try and buy Black ops 2...

i say it every fecking year after MW2 - LAST COD I EVER BUY! I end up buying it anyway... atleast i had a good run out of BLack ops 1, where MW3 was abandoned after few hours and never looked back.
    I'm seriously considering getting it as well :o

It really is a sign of the times that its as low as 40 on release. Still not buying that sh1t though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

Personally, if it gets me a few hours of fun, and its good craic with friends its worth 50euro for me.

40eu is not bad to be honest. looksl ike even tescos selling it for around 45eu console version.

Gamestop like always in its own class - 59.99eu

if it is so cheap now i am pretty sure soon we will get some cheap deals for it. If anyone will find it digital ( cd key even ) cheap post it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Personally, if it gets me a few hours of fun, and its good craic with friends its worth 50euro for me.

We have already shunned one DayZ player, don't be the second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

We have already shunned one DayZ player, don't be the second.

Ah now, the difference is he went to the midnight launch. I didn't get it until 5 the next day. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

Just in case people here don't know about this:

Star Citizen
    • It's a space sim.
    • It's for PC, and PC only.
    • It's Powered by CryEngine3.
    • It's being crowd funded.
    • The more money they get the more awesome it will be.
    • It's already really, really, awesome.

Make it more awesome. Or else.

(If you have good sound, turn it right up for this. :))

Source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Eh, never mind with the eyefinity.

Although my computer seemed to be working since this fiasco it now won't boot.

After 6 months of this ****e I just don't have the stomach for it anymore. Anyone wanna fix it for me?
    Or buy it off me? I don't think I'm technologically competent enough to run a DIY pc. I just keep breaking it. It would be an incredible coincidence that I keep getting faulty parts. No. The problem is me.

Rip-off or no, I should've just bought a Dell or something. At least it'd work and there'd be no fiddly bits for me to **** up.

If you are south Dublin/north Wicklow area-I can have a look for you.

With a bit of luck only your mobo is fried, might be worth picking up a 2nd hand one to get it going?

glynf wrote: »
    If you are south Dublin/north Wicklow area-I can have a look for you.

With a bit of luck only your mobo is fried, might be worth picking up a 2nd hand one to get it going?

Nah in cork.

It's taking about 15 minutes to boot (in W8 with an SSD) and shut down.

It's forgetting my desktop layout when I reboot.

It isn't recognising one of my HDDs.

Will the warranty cover this sort of craic? I'd really rather it wasn't over 100 quid down the jacks.