Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,673 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Anyone have experience repairing molex cables pins? Tempted to do it myself but missing tools such as a cable cutter and crimping tools make it harder to do

Basically the pins are rubbish and need to be redone.

I probably need new pins butt unsure where to get them or is there alternative?

My other idea is that I use the molex that came with my gpu, cut it to shape etc and solder its onto the pump molex but my worry is connecting different colours like pumps brown to black gpu molex and Blue pump molex to yellow gpu molex. Is it possible?

Maybe the proper matching of live red to live brown and neutral Blue to neutral black?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

Aw crap.

I bought a 200mm spectre fan, but for some crazy reason it has the plastic where the screws go in on the wrong side (Im guessing its supposed to be mounted on top?) I want to mount it in the front of my bitfenix prodigy, but obviously its sucking from in the case, out. What should I do? Find really long screws? :D That would be the only way to mount it in the right direction. Or is there a way to have the fans turn the other way? Would that reverse the blow/suck?

If my explanation is bad, basically the white sticker is pointing inside while the red is pointing outside; thats wrong right?

What also complicates the matter is that I only have the one fan to power right now, my mobo has only 1 power socket for fans.

Should all PSUs have extra fan power cables? Mine doesnt seem to have any.

EDIT: Just watched that mechanical keyboard video. Why on EARTH would anyone want one of those? Most annoying sounds ever! Imagine working beside someone with one of those too!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Andy!! wrote: »
    Aw crap.

I bought a 200mm spectre fan, but for some crazy reason it has the plastic where the screws go in on the wrong side (Im guessing its supposed to be mounted on top?) I want to mount it in the front of my bitfenix prodigy, but obviously its sucking from in the case, out. What should I do? Find really long screws? :D That would be the only way to mount it in the right direction. Or is there a way to have the fans turn the other way? Would that reverse the blow/suck?

If my explanation is bad, basically the white sticker is pointing inside while the red is pointing outside; thats wrong right?

What also complicates the matter is that I only have the one fan to power right now, my mobo has only 1 power socket for fans.

EDIT: Just watched that mechanical keyboard video. Why on EARTH would anyone want one of those? Most annoying sounds ever! Imagine working beside someone with one of those too!! :o

yes your explanation is shockingly bad..what are you on about?

dwighet wrote: »

yes your explanation is shockingly bad..what are you on about?

The fan will only screw into the case in the wrong direction. Hopefully thats simple enough for you to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

So you can only use them as either exhaust or intake, and not both? That's extremely weird. There's no mounting holes what-so-ever on the other side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Aw crap.

You have answered your own question:) Drill out the plastic tabs and get longer screws in DIY shop or Maplins (if you want to get your wallet rinsed)..

Serephucus wrote: »
    So you can only use them as either exhaust or intake, and not both? That's extremely weird. There's no mounting holes what-so-ever on the other side?

No... usually, including the stock fans that came with my prodigy, the mounting holes go all the way along the thickness of the fan. But not here. Very weird. They're bitfenix too, makes me wonder why they failed to think on this.

I have no idea where I would get longer screws, being in S.Korea and all. Probably the best solution though. Just very surprised bitfenix made this **** up.

EDIT: Like this, see?

http://www.google.co.kr/search?q=spectre+200mm&hl=en&newwindow=1&client=chrome-mobile&tbo=d&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=MG6nUMLsBOSiigeOrYHoBg&ved=0CAgQ_AUoAQ&biw=360&bih=640#i=16

I guess its a push fan rather that a pull fan.

Just plugged the kettle plug into the PSU with the mains turned on. Heard a big big crackle. External HDD even fired up, even though the comp was off. So ****ing lucky the mobo didnt get fried. So so lucky. That was very scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭N64

Just plugged the kettle plug into the PSU with the mains turned on. Heard a big big crackle. External HDD even fired up, even though the comp was off. So ****ing lucky the mobo didnt get fried. So so lucky. That was very scary.

The crackle you heard was proboloby justy the electricity arcing from the lead to the metal prongs on the power supply. Nothing to be overly worried about. Perhaps your external USB powered switches on when there is USB power ? The computer does not have to be on for USB devices to be powered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

N64 wrote: »
    The computer does not have to be on for USB devices to be powered

the stuff has to have been connected before turning the computer off though, doesn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

the stuff has to have been connected before turning the computer off though, doesn't it?

No.

- and it's not a good idea to plug in a computer from the power cord. You should always plug in at the socket.

Edit: External hard drives should be switched off too when you plug out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Much more responsive, much more reliable (My mech is older than me :pac:) You can type a lot faster on a mech than a membrane.

If you want to hear noisy mechs look up ibm model m Keyboards from the late 80's, im looking to get a Cherry black keyboard eventually to replace it because its too loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

well i think i officially declare surround being crap in games. ( not the 3 monitor setup!!! )

I played around this evening again with it and its more of arse in gaming then benefit. Maybe i am just too used to 1 monitor gaming or it is very distracting and the quality of side monitors is so bad, that it does not add any advantage.

the only game so far that was really really good in surround - EVE online. though i prefer playing with 2 accounts so i play 2x1080p.

feck it so. i think ill just get someday 1440p monitos as main and leave my 2x2312hm's on the sides

Probably going to end up zip-tying the fan to the case hah. Cant find long screws.

Use velcro. Works great for vibration damping.

Use velcro how? What would the vibration damage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Tij da feen

Alright lads, what do ye think of this laptop. It's for the girlfriend, most intensive thing that's going to be done on this is Photoshop, not very heavy stuff either. With a 3rd gen i3 with HD 4000 graphics it seems like a steal at this price. Only problem with it is Windows 8 but other laptops I can find with Windows 7 at that price are 2nd gen i3s and Pentiums.

That links to an i3 laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Tij da feen

That links to an i3 laptop.

It's supposed to..? It's a 3rd gen i3 with HD 4000 graphics.

Oh I thought you said i5 sorry.

To be honest its not the best machine for photoshop but sure itll run it Im sure.

Good price alright, but to be honest, I'd really be wanting USB 3 on any laptop I'd be buying now. On the other hand, most laptops including that in their specs are around €500.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭RUCKING FETARD

Monotype wrote: »
    Good price alright, but to be honest, I'd really be wanting USB 3 on any laptop I'd be buying now. On the other hand, most laptops including that in their specs are around €500.
    We heard ya the first time!:pac:

Yikes! O.O

All fixed now. :)

Quick question lads:

Should hopefully be able to order the rest of the parts for my build tomorrow, but a couple of things are out of stock, with delivery date unkown. How good are HWVS when the stuff you're ordering isn't in stock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

wait it out.

and convince me that my server doesnt need an SSD. and another 256gb for my main PC to remove the HDD.

Well, I mean am I ok to place the order as-is? Will they hold the rest and ship it when stuff comes in? I don't want to wait for item A to arrive in stock, then have items B and C be out of stock before I can order.

I'm picking up a 128GB SSD for my GF's laptop, so that I can move the old 32GB SSD into the server. I'm also considering a 512GB for my desktop as well... So please, for the sake of your wallet, don't ask me that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    wait it out.

and convince me that my server doesnt need an SSD. and another 256gb for my main PC to remove the HDD.

what the **** does your pc need another 256gb ssd for considering you only play battlefield and euro truck simulator and you have little else program wise:P

a small ssd for the server could prob be worth it

No you dont need these upgrades

looking to buy a new HDD at the moment, where the christ have all the samsung F4 drives gone?

Away. Seagate bought them a while back.

Serephucus wrote: »
    Away. Seagate bought them a while back.

Oh dear. What 2/3TB drives are good now then?