Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bumper Accomodation Thread *Put ALL Accomodation queries here*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 MartonD2

Can someone please give me the best possible place to stay thats near the college and not a dump! I dont have any cost issue's starting in september :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 MartonD2

Whats the village accomodation like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,518 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Looking for somewhere to live as a postgrad, need quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

The search doesn't go so well. I was hoping to have a few places to go look at. I have one that I'll be going to look at in because a friend gave me contact details for a landlord he knows. But I'm going to be a mature student going in to first year, and two of the people I'd be moving in with would be post grads, and there will be 1 other moving in at some point who will be an unknown.

So, I wanted to keep my options open, and looked around. I really don't like the places that look for two payments, so that cuts out a lot of places. Being a smoker isn't helping either. But these issues are minor in comparison to most places I'm seeing that would be ok price wise are for between 4 and 6 people. And naturally, the landlord is going to be preferring to find a group who'll just move in rather than 1 person to move in and hoping to get others to move in too. I get that. Just doesn't exactly make it easy.

I want to move in to a place soon, and sort out the Back to Education Allowance, and lots of places are only going to be available from September 1st, too. I'd rather move in to a place far sooner than that. Like the next week, two max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭aelune

Anyone know any nice areas for a postgrad to live?
    Starting in UCC in October and I'm new to Cork. Have been looking but nothing took my attention yet. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

I lived there last year and it was great. Rooms are a good size, grand bathroom, lots of space. The walls are thicker than other places I suppose but they definitely arent sound proof.. or else its just the windows. Like my room was facing western road so there was a lot of traffic and noise at night and the girls that were facing other appartments were worse off because they could hear everyone coming back after nights out but to be honest, there will be noise everywhere you stay. The dishwasher comes in very handy too :P
    I booked in July and was 87th on the waiting list but I still got in.

It is expensive but I think its worth it, especially if you're going into first year. Make friends with Geraldine in the office she's a legend and be nice to Noel the boss coz he'll give you free passes to Havanas club every week. You can save money that way :P

Best of luck :)

@MedGirl17 - they have everything. Fridge, freezer, toaster, kettle, dishwasher and they have all the saucepans, bowls etc that you need. You dont need to bring anything basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 ASA

MartonD2 wrote: »
    Can someone please give me the best possible place to stay thats near the college and not a dump! I dont have any cost issue's starting in september :)

Hi MartonD2

You can call into our office on College Road and we can run through the options that are available to you for accommodation.

All the best

Accommodation Office

Varik wrote: »
    Looking for somewhere to live as a postgrad, need quiet.

Hi Varik

There are a number of options that are open to Postgraduates for accommodation in UCC.

On our website we have information that may be useful for you. You can find a link to it here.

If you have any questions or queries do not hesitate to contact us.

All the best

Accommodation Office

Pushtrak wrote: »
    The search doesn't go so well. I was hoping to have a few places to go look at. I have one that I'll be going to look at in because a friend gave me contact details for a landlord he knows. But I'm going to be a mature student going in to first year, and two of the people I'd be moving in with would be post grads, and there will be 1 other moving in at some point who will be an unknown.

So, I wanted to keep my options open, and looked around. I really don't like the places that look for two payments, so that cuts out a lot of places. Being a smoker isn't helping either. But these issues are minor in comparison to most places I'm seeing that would be ok price wise are for between 4 and 6 people. And naturally, the landlord is going to be preferring to find a group who'll just move in rather than 1 person to move in and hoping to get others to move in too. I get that. Just doesn't exactly make it easy.

I want to move in to a place soon, and sort out the Back to Education Allowance, and lots of places are only going to be available from September 1st, too. I'd rather move in to a place far sooner than that. Like the next week, two max.

Hi Pushtrak

If you give me a private mail I could talk to you in greater detail about some of the options that are available to you.

All the best

Accommodation Office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

Hi I'm 24 year old student starting first year in CSN on tramore road in Sept . Does anyone know if It's easy to get accomodation out that way? Or would I be looking at houses closer to UCC ? Thanks if anyone can help me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,518 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Any opinions on Arcadia Hall or Lancaster Hall.

Is the bus from Arcadia Hall an issue and how is noise in each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 AnotherTool

Four lads looking for someone to fill a room in a five bed house on Barrack Street for the coming academic year. Very nice, clean house. Room is a huge single bed room, could easily fit a double bed. Two engineering and two medicine students looking for someone who's friendly, easy-going, studious but still up for a bit of craic. PM for more details. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭HelloYoungBoy

Anyone looking for a room in College Road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 MacMolly

Im hoping to go to UCC in Sept (depending on results tomorrow !! )
    could anyone advise me between The Village or Victoria Mills please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭CaoimheCweeva

MacMolly wrote: »
    Im hoping to go to UCC in Sept (depending on results tomorrow !! )
    could anyone advise me between The Village or Victoria Mills please?

Good luck with tomorrow! I'm totally depending on the results - if I don't get Cork, it's off to Tralee I go :/
    I've booked with The Village anyways .. I can't tell you which is better personally, but I've heard basically all bad about Victoria Mills, and most people have seemed to like The Village, even though there isn't much on it .. The Village seems grand though, and I think it's cheaper? You should hurry though, I booked nearly a month ago and I think they were filling up fast :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 thebeat7a

Hey,

3 Third year Children's and General Nursing Students looking for a person to fill a room in our house.

8 Minute walk to campus, large house in a quite estate, two bathrooms, very clean and an open fire!!

No first years / people doing 2 hours a week and on the p**s all day.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Molly!

Just wondering if anyone has any advice on accommadation for postgrads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭aelune

Molly! wrote: »
    Just wondering if anyone has any advice on accommadation for postgrads?

I second this. I'm looking for somewhere near, clean and quiet! Rarely ever been in Cork before so I need a helping hand.

I'm stuck between trying to apply to student "complexes" or going for the house share. I constantly check daft.ie but nothing ever catches my eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Ashill5

what about the village??????????? Was Thinking about there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 maii95

anyone got any advice for a first year on the best accomodation available ? :confused:

;) hi i just accepted a place in ucc and i'm wondering about the types of accomodation in cork i would really appreciate any advice thanks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

Hey, your last thread was moved to the big accommodation thread stickied at the top of the page. Check there maybe, there's loads of advice on the various student apartment complexes. Also the accommodation office has posted in there so you could probably PM them. Their website is http://www.uccaccommodation.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 kimkim

What are the general thoughts on Farranlea Hall? I'm after booking it and i was wondering what it's like to live there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 seandooleyking

Anyone living in The Village, pm me! :) I'd like to know some people before I move up. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Vetton

My application fell through for the Village. Too late. :(

Hopefully Brookefield or Farranlea Hall will take me now. They're pretty close though. (:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭PcAngel

daft.ie have a comprehensive list of house shares if that's of any use to you. Some on UCC's doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 andrewgally

Anyone ever lived in Castlewhite??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 ihearttea22

I'm looking for short term accommodation (4-5 weeks) in Cork- from nowish til mid September. I was wondering if anyone has a spare room? Would be perfect if someone is on placement or not moving down until term starts- I'd cover rent and bills until you moved back!

Thanks for the advice i really appreciate it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 CaramelMocha

Hi !

We have really nice 2 beds apartment in the city centre, McCurtain street. Beds are double, so a couple would be perfect! :) We are first year students. Room for a couple is 90 eu/week.

PM me for more information :)