Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mass Effect 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,565 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I hope I am not spoiling anything by mentioning something in the trailer

But "go out and build allianced?" - it just seems like the game is pretty much up for earth in the demo and that theres not really time to feck off back out into the galaxy and resort to diplomacy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Gunmonkey wrote: »
    the fact Shepard has been stripped of rank is going to the Earth council as some form of disciplinary hearing at the start of ME3, or so I gathered

I'm choosing to believe that
    you're in trouble because of all that stuff you did working for an illegal terrorist organisation in ME2. From what I saw in the demo I don't think it really matters very much anyway
    Though same could be said of Lair of the Shadow Broker
    will Liaras new position as SB ever come up, and if it does will those who didnt play it go "When did THAT happen???"

They could just make it so that
    Liara is not the Shadow Broker if you didn't get the DLC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭Varik

I traded in my copy of Skyrim as a deposit towards ME3 in Game.Stop. Got €28 for it, plus a pre-order bonus of €7, so €35 for a trade-in of a game that was released in November isn't too bad.

Might do that, have two copies of that game so may as well trade it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭namelessguy

It's a pity, I've been going to Game for almost 20 years. Sure sometimes the staff ain't great but they're just the part timers like you'd find in any Centra or Londis but the career-ey type people were always bang on who new their stuff and I've had great conversations with them.

Brick and mortar shops can't compete with online shops - who are still overpriced for what they provide.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I just completed my playthrough tonight, and remembered how good and bad it is at times. The final mission is excellent, until the
    giant baby terminator fight
    . Totally not fitting with the rest of the game, and completely un-needed. Always enjoy telling the Illusive Man to bugger off though :P

Then i started Arrival. Unfortunately, it's completely freezing at the same point every time, and i'm unable to complete it. Tried pretty much everything bar a re-install (whicgh i'm not doint). Really ****ing annoying, even if it is a **** DLC. I bought it because i wanted to have a fully complete save for the finale.
    Zillah wrote: »
    They could just make it so that
    Liara is not the Shadow Broker if you didn't get the DLC

Or that she did it without you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Trevor451

Spoiler tags for mass effect 2 ending lads? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Robi Wan wrote: »
    I live in hope they are standing up to ea and their suggested price range.
    Or else theyre dead.
    Either way i'm buying mine cheapest in hmv
    Sadly the days of cheap launch days are possibly over.

Unfortunately not. they lost their credit insurance so EA and ubisoft wanted payment in advance for their games. Game couldn't afford it so they cant stock

EA's set RRP had nothing to do with it Game almost always sold at the publishers RRP and in a lot of cases more HMV are almost always cheaper at launch aswell

Trevor451 wrote: »
    Spoiler tags for mass effect 2 ending lads? :rolleyes:

I think, given its a Mass Effect 3 thread, that readers should have little common sense that the end of ME2 is going to come up.

Up to the mods of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

You'd be pretty bloody stupid to be reading a Mass Effect 3 thread if you hadn't played Mass Effect 2 yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

This pic from the launch trailer looks so evil, class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

It's no wonder Talia keeps the mask on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

YOU TAKE THAT BACK

>_>

.....still would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Oh god, I forgot how bad the last boss in ME2 was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

5 days left? I'm starting to worry for my already already suffering social life... who'll miss me for a few weeks..
    The last boss was definitely a bit damp compared to some of the other sequences but I wouldn't knock it. Lair of the Shadow Broker was brilliant also. Arrival was a bit of a mess admittadly but not too important. I think the developers will be explaining what happened previously anyway for the benefit of players.
    Bring it on guys! I need a good game. My brother bought The Darkness 2 but I haven't played it at all. I want to jump straight in with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,755 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Tali, ye heathen! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Jigz

Got mine from HVM as well, although they aren't listed in EA's website for collectors edition (paranoia kicking in)... Anyways, hope we also get the N7 warfare pack. *prays*

>_<

Was reading Batman the other day! I don't deserve to save the Earth......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Funny, I always thought of Tali as the space Roma gypsy, got her killed in the final mission and wasnt bothered at all.....always felt like she should been selling roses and big issue in the Normandy canteen.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

hightower1 wrote: »
    Funny, I always thought of Tali as the space Roma gypsy, got her killed in the final mission and wasnt bothered at all.....always felt like she should been selling roses and big issue in the Normandy canteen.
    Hmm, bit harsh: I always thought Tali was the more rounded, believable female character on the crew. Seemed like a sweet, pleasant person as opposed to the psychos & sexpots that made up the rest.

If, like me, you had a rather devestatingly high level of collateral damage in the ME2 Final Mission, is there really any point to keeping that file?

Surely it would mean you miss out on all sorts of stuff in ME3?

Gimme tali over adams apple miranda or ash the racist any day! Gonne be me, her and garrus mostly. Still dont know what class to choose for myself

noodler wrote: »
    If, like me, you had a rather devestatingly high level of collateral damage in the ME2 Final Mission, is there really any point to keeping that file?

Surely it would mean you miss out on all sorts of stuff in ME3?

I actually saved my game purposely just before that mission, because I chose the wrong people for certain things, losing Grunt and Moridin in the process. Oh and half the crew too. Whoops.

CVG have a guide to the different classes. I still don't have a clue though. I like AR's and Snipers but I like having the odd power or 2. I played through the last 2 as Vanguard but don't like throwing myself into a group of enemies only and exploding the last of my shield. I also don't like the sound of cloaking as infilitrator. Saying that, I like the sound of Sabotage and sticky grenade.

What class will ye be picking?

http://www.computerandvideogames.com/338241/mass-effect-3-guide-expert-class-guide-tips-and-cheats/?page=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Loved Infiltrator in ME2, cloaking and slowing down time with the sniper was great. Adept was pretty good as well apart from the lack of weapons which was annoying against husk hordes

Hard to know until I try it but it'll probably be between those two again

Just tried the demo there with Infiltrator, thank thats what i'm gonna go with in the main game. I turned turrets against the enemy, burned em with incinerate and lobbed a few grenades. I didn't get a chance to use a sniper rifle, didn't use cloak much but i'm definitely liking that class.

I actually saved my game purposely just before that mission, because I chose the wrong people for certain things, losing Grunt and Moridin in the process. Oh and half the crew too. Whoops.

I don't think I did because I literally had no idea the game was going to end so suddenly (main story only felt like 3 missions long).

I guess I'll just play ME3 without my ME2 file then - too many ppl are dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭SK1979

After the launch trailier, decided to break my policy on buying games at release. First since Dark Souls, preordered from Gamestop.

Only annoying thing is I played ME 1 and 2 on the 360, but sold that about a year and a half ago so will be playing ME3 on PS3.

It'll be Adept all the way though, femshep too, plus Tali is easily the best team-mate! ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Hey all,
    Just got word that someone managed to extract the end game video files for ME3, so the ending for the game is now floating online.

Be very careful!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Hey all,
    Just got word that someone managed to extract the end game video files for ME3, so the ending for the game is now floating online.

Be very careful!!!
    hehe; yeah, we know, hence the mod warning in the title ;)

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Hey all,

Be very careful!!!

Initiating thread blackout.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

pixelburp wrote: »
    hehe; yeah, we know, hence the mod warning in the title ;)

I though that related to the fact that the ending was known, not that actual videos are now available.

Would be easy to click on a youtube video called "cool ME3 Demo" and get the game ruined by an idiot troll.

Ya, no more vids for me. That plus the fact the full game is on torrent sites means there are gonna be dopes posting spoilers on forums and youtube. Gonna be a long week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,011 ✭✭✭KilOit

Usually couldn't care less if I look at spoilers for games but in this case it would completely ruin it for me, can't recall ever being so excited how a story ends in a video game before :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

If I buy mass effect 2 tomorrow, will I have time to finish it by friday?

cloud493 wrote: »

Not if you have a job or school, it's 20+ hours as far as I remember, most of the game is taken up by recruiting crew members so you could skip some of it but if you do you're kinda wasting your time playing it in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

cloud493 wrote: »

Before ME3 comes out i've decided to put 2 full games together of ME1 and ME2, 1 Paragon male Shephard and 1 Renegade female. Each game, if you do all the little side quests (which give you more little bits of depth and other side quests in the next game) you can easily spend the bones of 50 hours.

And seeing as I'm doing the ME2 ones on insanity with an Adept and an Infiltrator, it's going to take a whole lot longer with all the reloading after I die.:)

For something as epic as this series I think it's worth going the extra mile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Gimme tali over adams apple miranda or ash the racist any day! Gonne be me, her and garrus mostly. Still dont know what class to choose for myself

Pretty harsh Miranda is hot imo. Really like Tali but she is kinda lets be friends until I see her face. I've been replaying ME1 but can't bring myself to save Kaiden he's just bland as hell. Ashley is annoying only really noticed that from my 2nd playthrough. I must do a bitchy Fem Shep playthrough eventually. I have 2 saves already one where I slept with Asari's the other with Ashley/Miranda. Really interested to see how keeping Wrex alive and saving the Ranchi go in ME3. Haven't it preordered but i'm hoping to get lucky next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

There's a few more PC Collector's editions in Amazon right now. They weren't there 20 minutes ago. Go go go if you want one. Works out around €65 or so
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mass-Effect-N7-Collectors-DVD/dp/B007ETFSDO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Ya, no more vids for me. That plus the fact the full game is on torrent sites means there are gonna be dopes posting spoilers on forums and youtube. Gonna be a long week!

Believe that when I see it. You've been stuck in every link regarding a leak for the last ages, you are so gonna spoil it for yourself....:pac:

no no no, i'm being very careful, double bagging it if you will. i've only seen those links from proper sites like cvg. Havn't touched gamefaqs in ages as I know that will be riddle with spoilers and i'm sure no one is gonna spoil it here so should be grand....should be :(

That new fetain character you get with a certain purchase sounds awful, go to YouTube and listen to his voice, some funny piss takes on it though

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭PenguinForce

I was wondering if I will get these pre-order bonus item when I pre-order from Gamestop. Such as the:

N7 Valkyrie Rifle
    N7 Defender Armor
    M55 Argus Assault Rifle

I am asking since I didn't see any advertisement in the shop or maybe I just missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

One thing i hate about this forum is what it does to me close to game time, example before i started reading this thread i was kind of taking the whole launch with a "meh" attitude but not anymore :(.

Now its countdown to game launch and not even that but i have decided i need to run ME 1-2 in the space of 4-5 days so i can play the whole way through the game series. All it took was someone comparing the ending fight of ME1 to 2 (i love 1) and i was hooked again :(.

Damned "drugpushers" i hope your happy :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Just got an email from gamestop tell me that my order was changed to the SE WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,755 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

happy days? did you only pay for the standard edition?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i think SE is Standard Edition
    CE is Collectors

so.. unhappy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

happy days? did you only pay for the standard edition?
    Nope had the CE paied for. Getting my money back and a free copy of mass effect 3. fell odd free copy but I had the CE per ordered from game since october and they cancel it. Then I ordered with gamestop and they cancel it. I can say that gamestop gave me a better deal then game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭Varik

gotten off EA.

http://www.ea.com/uk/1/mass-effect-3-update-1
    Mass Effect 3 will be available at a wide variety of retailers across the UK and Ireland.
    Our first priority is to keep you informed about the pre-orders you may have made with GAME and to help ensure you receive your copy of the game on launch day.

The Mass Effect 3 N7 Collector’s Edition will now be available at the following retailers:
    Amazon.co.uk [Sold Out]
    Play.com [Sold Out]
    ShopTo.net [Sold Out]
    Zavvi.com [Sold Out]
    Blockbuster.co.uk [PlayStation 3 Only]
    Gamestop.co.uk
    Sainsbury's

For customers who have pre-ordered the N7 Collector’s Edition please re-order your copies through these retailers.
    Republic Of Ireland Customers: You can still purchase the N7 Collector’s Edition from GameStop.ie

Customers who pre-ordered the Mass Effect 3 Standard Edition, and are expecting the N7 Warfare Gear in-game weapons pack, please re-order your copy through the following retailers:
    Zavvi.com
    Play.com
    Thehut.com
    ShopTo.net
    Amazon.co.uk
    Blockbuster.co.uk
    Sainsbury's

Republic Of Ireland Customers: The N7 Warfare Gear in-game pack remains only available at Xtra-vision when you pre-order the standard edition.
    Your local retailer is doing everything possible to make this process as smooth as possible to ensure you get your copy on launch day. If you have placed a deposit for a pre-order or are uncertain that your existing pre-order will be guaranteed, please contact your local retailer.

Also from amazon
    Please note, this incentive replaces the M55 Argus DLC. All customers who pre-ordered Mass Effect 3 and were due to receive the M55 Argus will receive the N7 Warfare Gear instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 ghouldaddy

I hate that the Americans get this before us.