Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

Sure the number is only going to grow; they haven't stopped taking expressions of interest yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭gigity gigity

Does anybody know if there are many people from the North that apply or indeed get in?
    I have registered my interest on public jobs so will just have to see what happens next. Have any of you applied for the PSNI?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Lufc92

Does anybody know if there are many people from the North that apply or indeed get in?
    I have registered my interest on public jobs so will just have to see what happens next. Have any of you applied for the PSNI?

Yeah i applied for psni did u?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Here Here to Keith101 on that one a lot of people are applying for the sake of it and like keith said themore hungry you are the better!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭Waiting Game

my friend tried signing up today,to select garda trainee as job alert but its not there..must have stopped advertising it on publicjobs..

Hey, No I just checked it and it's definitely there it has to be as they haven't even opened up the competition yet.

Have you reregistered with publicjobs after the 6th November 2009?. If you haven't you need to do so. You can still see it's there as it is on the main page of publicjobs!.

Once you log in you will see on the left hand side of the page 2nd from bottom it will say "my job alerts" click that. You will be brought into a page it will say "job category" click that and select security/emergency services once that is done a little box under this selection will display job titles such as firefighter, garda etc...You should select "GARDA" and your sorted from there on in.

Lufc92 wrote: »
    Yeah i applied for psni did u?

Yes im waiting to hear back from vetting etc,could still get put out at this stage so thats why im gonna try and keep options open. How are you getting on with your application?

caro32 wrote: »
    Hi, Gigity
    I applied for PSNI in Febuary but didint even get called for aptitude test. Am in the reserves and am hoping to get full time but totally panicking now with thousands going for it...Probably last chance as i am getting too old!

Is there no way of geting through or is it like the PSNI and you have to start from the start?

Strange that they didnt call you for the apt test, did you not call them to ask why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Preparing for an aptitude test? Better buy a Nintendo DS and braintraining because that's the only preparation you can do. That and mock/other aptitude tests. Interviews don't prepare you for an aptitude test. Plus an aptitude test with a high result does not make you a great Garda. Experience as you work does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

i saw where a few articles mentioned that 15000 people applied, was that just registering for it on public jobs or was there an actual application form for the guards that i seem to have missed out on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 dcdiz

Hey im interested in applying to the gardai in the forthcoming recruitment this year,.. and I was woundering which preperation course would you recommend as there are so many???.... Please help...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

ormondprop wrote: »
    i saw where a few articles mentioned that 15000 people applied, was that just registering for it on public jobs or was there an actual application form for the guards that i seem to have missed out on?

they just registered an interest. you havent missed anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Publicjobs.ie

hey just have another question about public jobs (sorry!) :o i had registered for an alert ages ago, but then i was unsure that i had done it right, so I tried it a second time, just to be sure...long story short, i have two alerts set up. Does anyone know am I counteracting the alert by having 2?...Should I delete one? I know its prob all nothing, but just in case anything goes wrong..!!! :P thanks in advance

Hi SteetAngel,

Probably best you have just the one alert in place for the Garda notification. Please make sure (applies to everyone) that you have only entered ONE email address in the email field. If you have entered more that one email address in this field the system will not issue an altert as it can not distinguish the text string even if you have used the “;” to differentiate.

Also make sure you have @publicjobs.ie on your safe list to avoid it becoming junk mail.

Hope this helps

Ger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Publicjobs.ie

ormondprop wrote: »

Hi Ormondprop,

Just to confirm that persons were registering an interest ONLY. Please make sure that you only entered one email address in the email field and you add publicjobs.ie to your email safe list to avoid any notification ending up in your junk mail.

Hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Lufc92

Yes im waiting to hear back from vetting etc,could still get put out at this stage so thats why im gonna try and keep options open. How are you getting on with your application?

Yeah I passed a/c and sent away vetting forms a couple of weeks ago.Have to keep options open too so will apply for guards as well.Hopefully one will be successful :D

dcdiz wrote: »
    Hey im interested in applying to the gardai in the forthcoming recruitment this year,.. and I was woundering which preperation course would you recommend as there are so many???.... Please help...

Check your pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Hi Ormondprop,

Just to confirm that persons were registering an interest ONLY. Please make sure that you only entered one email address in the email field and you add publicjobs.ie to your email safe list to avoid any notification ending up in your junk mail.

Hope this helps

Hi Publicjobs.

Can you give us any indication as to whether or not the eligibility requirements will change??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

dcdiz wrote: »

Hi dcdiz, welcome aboard. Check your private messages, I sent you on my recommendation there as we're not allowed to advertise on the forum. ;)

I should be charging these lads commission with the amount of people I've recommended them to over the past couple of weeks!!!! :D

I suppose I just wanted to say is that it's amazing how a certain newspaper declared on the 18th of June that 15,000 people applied for just 100 Garda positions. Now the reporter is full of it as the competition hasn't even been opened yet and he clearly states that these people applied so my advice which particularly relates to the last thread is don't heed to much into the press!. It will be interesting to see what numbers they are actually looking for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    I suppose I just wanted to say is that it's amazing how a certain newspaper declared on the 18th of June that 15,000 people applied for just 100 Garda positions. Now the reporter is full of it as the competition hasn't even been opened yet and he clearly states that these people applied so my advice which particularly relates to the last thread is don't heed to much into the press!. It will be interesting to see what numbers they are actually looking for?

The Press is not the only one constantly getting this wrong. Registering your interest on public jobs is not an application. Alot of people have been coming on here saying they have applied in the past year, month etc.. It's a huge oversight to think you have made an application when you haven't.

As for the whole 15,000 people for 100 jobs- that's rubbish, they will make a panel of as many candidates as they like/ or as many make it through all stages etc. and these people will be offered a place in due course. I can't imagine that any of the "15,000" people will be offered a place in the next intake. But there will be another intake, and another after that, and another after that- we just don't know when they will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

Hi SteetAngel,

Probably best you have just the one alert in place for the Garda notification. Please make sure (applies to everyone) that you have only entered ONE email address in the email field. If you have entered more that one email address in this field the system will not issue an altert as it can not distinguish the text string even if you have used the “;” to differentiate.

Also make sure you have @publicjobs.ie on your safe list to avoid it becoming junk mail.

Hope this helps

Ger

Thanks for your answer Ger, I'm going to delete one just to be sure! I was just terrified to go near it in case I wouldn't get any notification!!! Thanks again! :p

Yeh Im with you there Bluebell. Although It was easy to see how they got mixed up as Fachtna Murphy did say he hopes to take in another 100 recruits before year end. That was in a different paper. How many you reckon they will be looking at?. There was one interesting point made in one of the papers that part of the 14900 Gardai or so just over 2,000 are civilian staff. This in which I believe to be wrong assessment of the personnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭gamby

i know its a bit of a vague question with no exact answer, but does anyone know of the kind of numbers of they will be looking to take on?

Hey, No1 really know's to be sure but in 2009 there was 874 Garda retirees and this year the number is tipped to be over the 400 mark. Justice minister and the commissioner both said they want maintain the force at an all time high of 14,500 Gardai. Im not to sure of the exact numbers in the force Justice minister claims that there is a little over 14500 attested Gardai...a figure and only in my opinion though as been exaggerated!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Jypo1

Guys, you know when the email comes through to us from public jobs to apply, usually does the aptitude test come around quickly i.e within a couple of weeks of that email? Reason i ask is i want to do a course for the aptitude but i want to hang on until i can save up a few quid, so if the email came though in the morning say would i still have time to do a course?

Jypo1 wrote: »
    Guys, you know when the email comes through to us from public jobs to apply, usually does the aptitude test come around quickly i.e within a couple of weeks of that email? Reason i ask is i want to do a course for the aptitude but i want to hang on until i can save up a few quid, so if the email came though in the morning say would i still have time to do a course?

the people running the courses are generally well informed and base there courses around the aptitude tests so you should be ok.

the long wait, have you done the test before?

yes, i've everything done since last year.

So do you re-apply or just wait? Have you applied for the PSNI?

no didnt apply for psni. im only interested ags. dont have to reapply for anything(i hope), didnt fail anything. i'm just on the panel waiting, waiting, waiting and still waiting for the call.