Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 iony

i understand madbadger and thelongwait,i'll take your point...when i received the phonecall to go to the interview with local super,i was asked straight away if i was still interested on the job,as some guys pulled out completely as they've been waitin for far too long..and the female garda that was at the station told me she waited for 2and a half years aswell...
    it's great we can chat and release some of the negativity from all this..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭rossi272

You need motivation and common sense within AGS.....try to start using it here.....

PM the poster......do a google search........simples

LOL ah thanks for that NGA... Just to point out though... I have spent plenty of time working as a Garda (using common sense along with many other things) but at the moment *Snip*
    Obviously not, but its nice to be patronised for asking a question..so thanks again:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

rossi272 wrote: »
    LOL ah thanks for that NGA... Just to point out though... I have spent plenty of time working as a Garda (using common sense along with many other things) but at the moment *Snip*
    Obviously not, but its nice to be patronised for asking a question..so thanks again:rolleyes:

One poster took your post up wrong....so did it. It appears as if you are asking for information.....not offering it. Maybe be a bit clearer.....and it wasnt patronising....it was fact.

So to answer you question....no you cant advertise on boards.ie unless you are on adverts.ie.

(and am I the only one who HATES these :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:???)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

(and am I the only one who HATES these :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:???)

Ya they just make you want to :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Welcome back eroo, I was starting to think you had changed your mind about applying... :p
    eroo wrote: »
    Ya they just make you want to :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Ms.Forbes

onthebeat wrote: »
    Psni, this is just a once off post, but on behalf of evreybody at boards.ie, thanks for sorting the thread out, it had gotton ridiculous, and needed sorting. fair play to you.

I was just wondering,if it isnt too much hassle, could you post a thread for people that have just begun in templemore, tht want to give us hopefuls the low down on life in college? if you could that would be great thanks.

Sorry for the rant.

Lets get posting guys:cool:

Would you really like to be a garda taking into consideration you have to work weekends and work during the summer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭Waiting Game

Ms.Forbes wrote: »
    Would you really like to be a garda taking into consideration you have to work weekends and work during the summer?

Apart from teaching most occupations require having to work during the summer..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭rossi272

One poster took your post up wrong....so did it. It appears as if you are asking for information.....not offering it. Maybe be a bit clearer.....and it wasnt patronising....it was fact.

So to answer you question....no you cant advertise on boards.ie unless you are on adverts.ie.

Thats grand.question answered.It was obviously the way you phrased your answer that came across as patronising and sure aren't the little faces there to be used so....:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:.. just for you NGA...simples...no harm done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Jypo1

Hey guys, has anyone being doing community work? Im looking to do some now but im really stuck for time with commitments, is community work a must for the Guards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 SICKBOi

hi guys im applying for AGS.can you join if you wear glasses? im short sighted and rarely wear my glasses,i enquired for laser eye surgery but i have to wait til im 21.if i got into AGS could i wear contact lenses on duty til im 21? thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Best thing to do is get the eyesight requirements and bring them to an optician and ask them to test your eyes to see if you meet the standards and thus worth your while applying. AFAIK your eyes would be tested un-aided (i.e. without glasses or lenses )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 SugarRush

Hey guys! I've been following this thread for a while and I have some questions.
    Just wondering what is checked for at the medical stage and what could possibly hinder progress there? I know eyes and weight are the main two, I'm working on the latter, but is there anything else?
    Also, I've read it here that it's best to carry on with one's degree before applying, will it make much difference what subjects I continue with in my 2nd year? I ask because I was studying psychology last year, but I know it won't be offered to me for the coming year; however, when I finish my current degree in two years time it is possible to complete a conversion course to bring my psychology to degree level, would this increase my chances? Or is a degree of any kind appropriate? Or would I still have a chance if I applied while in college?

(Sorry for my rambling...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭woohoo

SugarRush wrote: »
    Hey guys! I've been following this thread for a while and I have a question.
    Just wondering what is checked for at the medical stage and what could possibly hinder progress there? I know eyes and weight are the main two, I'm working on the latter, but is there anything else?

Hi, there is some good info on the first page here: http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055289434

SugarRush wrote: »
    Hey guys! I've been following this thread for a while and I have a question.
    woohoo wrote:
    Hi, there is some good info on the first page here: http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055289434

:D Sugar Rush I just answered that in the Medical Examination thread..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

Funny, I never came across it there. Thanks :)

woohoo wrote: »
    Blue Belle wrote: »
    :D Sugar Rush I just answered that in the Medical Examination thread..

Thanks guys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 limerick2009

Hello
    I am currently a Garda Reserve and i am really enjoying the experience.I have seen frontline policing and know for definite i want to go full time.As a result i will be applying in the coming weeks.I have just completed a one year certificate course and i am due to begin a 4 year degree in spetember.My only anbition is to be a guard.My question is and sorry if the answer is staring me in the face but would it be better not to return in september to education and instead wait and see how the application for the guards pans out?The reason i ask is i heard that if is not viewed well if say for example you were in the middle of a degree and then you left to join the guards if you were lucky enough to be accepted.Any thoughts would be apperciated.:)

Hello
    I am currently a Garda Reserve and i am really enjoying the experience.I have seen frontline policing and know for definite i want to go full time.As a result i will be applying in the coming weeks.I have just completed a one year certificate course and i am due to begin a 4 year degree in spetember.My only anbition is to be a guard.My question is and sorry if the answer is staring me in the face but would it be better not to return in september to education and instead wait and see how the application for the guards pans out?The reason i ask is i heard that if is not viewed well if say for example you were in the middle of a degree and then you left to join the guards if you were lucky enough to be accepted.Any thoughts would be apperciated.:)

This is a fairly common question actually. My advice is if it is really something you want to do, then go for it. In the meantime continue with your college course. If and when the time comes that you are offered a place, then make your decision. Everyones circumstances are different. Why pursue a course for the sake of it, if it's not what you want when you could be in a job that you love gaining experience and moving up the ladder there. You dont know when they will open another competition again. At the same time, you dont know for sure if you will pass every stage of the application process, so you should tick away at your degree so you have something to fall back on. That's what I would do anyway! (Remember you could also start the course and love it) When asked about it in the interview say you want to be a guard, but you have started a course to fall back on should you not get it. They like you to be prepared for not getting in also, they dont want people who put all their eggs in one basket. It shows cockiness and lack of preparation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Hello

My advice to you would be: do not, do not, do not put your life on hold for a position in the full-time guards. Seriously, although you are a reserve your background checks would still have to be done again if/when you reach that stage again (for the full-time next time round). Their are just an unlimited amount of scenarios that could arise in the mean-time.

If I were you, I would apply and continue with this 4-year degree course this September and give it everything. Then apply for full-time when it arises and take it all as it comes. Their will be thousands of entrants in this forth-coming recruitment drive and it will be months before even a fraction of the applicants will be wittled down so...

As I said, don't put your life on hold. I would advise doing this degree course. Sincere, best of luck to you.

On a side-note: I like your optimism for applying for full-time after your time in the reserves. It's a positive sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 limerick2009

Thanks both Blue Belle and Kerry4Sam
    I found both your advice helpful and appreciate it.I will start the degree in september and see how the application goes for the full-time.On a side note i have found the reserves to be excellent and it gives you first hand experience of what it is like being a guard.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 rubberboy

Hi, have been moving towards an application for the Garda for a while now. I have gained relevant experience and am just finished the first year of a part time degree in psychology. I achieved a diploma in civil engineering back some years.
    My dilemma is I failed maths in the leaving cert and I can get anybody to say my diploma or current level superseded this. Any comment would be welcomed!!
    Thanks Guys…:eek:

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Their will be thousands of entrants in this forth-coming recruitment drive

just heard 15,000 people applied for (or registered an interest in) the guards on publicjobs.ie in the last week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Philush

just heard the same, got 2 paniced phonecalls off people asking had they missed the start of it! they calmed down when they realised it was just the numbers registering on public jobs, just goes to show how tough competition will be

it will be tough but remember alot of those people are just applying because they have nothing better to do. its just another job and there not as dedicated and wont have a hope of passing the aptitude test. if you gather as much info as you can off the people on this sight, do the 1day course and/or home study course and be prepared then its not all that tough. -dont get me wrong, its by no means a walk in the park but it is very passable when your prepared, and very possible to do well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Philush

aye thats very true, lotta them just doing it for the sake of it, so they have a story to tell of how "i was nearly a guard once ya know". but not gonna take that as an oportunity to be compacent.hopefully sorting one day course this week and can budget for home study one then, have a lovely book on aptitude tests too, does wonderfull for some bedtime reading!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Hopefully a lot of the 15000 wont have any real interest. Will just have to study harder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭keith101

CptMackey wrote: »
    Hopefully a lot of the 15000 wont have any real interest. Will just have to study harder.
    Lad's ye have to remember this is 15,000 applicants for hopefully a couple of hundred positions, this give a ratio somewhere between 750 applicants per position to cd filled, last month my local spar shop had 600 cv's for a part time job,. Jobs are hard to come by now, im suprised the figure is as low as 15k, you can be damn sure a majority of these people have not researched the job and will either not meet educational, medical or physical requirements. People who do not realise that for the first year your on the same money as the dole. And people who couldn't differentiate phase one from a hole in one, as thelongwait mentioned it is alot more do-able for those of us who are prepared and truly dedicated. Sorry about grammar ect writing this from my mobile at work,. Oh ya best of luck to everyone applying....