Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 GAZ 1

Sure listen, more than likley I would do it all over again. Great experience, great people, speak the lingo... but after a while I realised I was wasting my time over there, no real oppertunities. About time I came back and did what I wanted to do since a wee boy!! I went to a Spanish/American secondary school over there and have an North American type school diploma, I wonder if that's any use??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Gaz 1 if ya check out www.GARDA.ie you will see the requirements.
    Your ok as it says be a national of a european member of state OR
    etc etc....As of the educational requirements I'm sure your grand,
    There is some Polish members of the Gardai...educated in Poland and their
    educational requirements seem to match the Irish criteria.I'm sure your
    fine!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

hi!!
    just back from a summer abroad so haven't had access to technology in months! no boards for me! i see theres not much change in things here??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

Hi All

According to the Mail on Sunday today the Justice Minister Dermot Ahern was interviewed and he plans to lift the recruitment freeze next year.

Hopefully its true, fingers crossed!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

Hi All

According to the Mail on Sunday today the Justice Minister Dermot Ahern was interviewed and he plans to lift the recruitment freeze next year.

if i had rosery beads i would take them out and start praying, but crossed fingers will have to do instead :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭Waiting Game

Hi All

thanks for that Shanehillview positive news!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Cheers shanehillview was having a pretty crap day and facing a 12 hr
    shift and you brighten up my spirits!.Shall read the mail 2nite on break.
    tanks.

Hi All

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

Definately a bit of hope for us all anyway!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 sf94

Hey, hoping someone here can clarify something for me.....I was always under the impression that inital garda training was 2 years (because thats what it says on garda websites ("Basic training is divided into 5 phases and lasts 2 years").

However, was looking at the payscales page on the GRA website (http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml) and it says "For 58 weeks after the 1st date of entry to the Garda College entrants are considered “Student-Probationer Gardaí - where these allowances are paid.

After successful completion of the initial 58 weeks training an entrant is “attested” - as a member of An Garda Síochána"

So does that mean it only actually only takes 1 year and 6 weeks of inital training to become attested? What makes up the 2 years they refer to on the Garda website? Also, it only refers to 3 stages of training on the GRA website.....but 5 on the garda website??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

sf94 wrote: »
    Hey, hoping someone here can clarify something for me.....I was always under the impression that inital garda training was 2 years (because thats what it says on garda websites ("Basic training is divided into 5 phases and lasts 2 years").

However, was looking at the payscales page on the GRA website (http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml) and it says "For 58 weeks after the 1st date of entry to the Garda College entrants are considered “Student-Probationer Gardaí - where these allowances are paid.

After successful completion of the initial 58 weeks training an entrant is “attested” - as a member of An Garda Síochána"

So does that mean it only actually only takes 1 year and 6 weeks of inital training to become attested? What makes up the 2 years they refer to on the Garda website? Also, it only refers to 3 stages of training on the GRA website.....but 5 on the garda website??

You are attested after Phase 3 to AGS, no longer a "student" but still a Probationer for 2 years after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 sf94

You are attested after Phase 3 to AGS, no longer a "student" but still a Probationer for 2 years after that.

Thanks for the reply, so what exactly is involved in phase 4 & 5 training? Are they "on the job" or in templemore? How long are those phases?
    And then once you complete phase 5 (which will take 2 years) you will still be a probabtioner for 1 more year after that?

sf94 wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply, so what exactly is involved in phase 4 & 5 training? Are they "on the job" or in templemore? How long are those phases?
    And then once you complete phase 5 (which will take 2 years) you will still be a probabtioner for 1 more year after that?

Phase 4, you are assigned to your permanent station and basically do garda stuff (9 months) and then back to Tipp for a week to graduate (phase 5). Then a year till Probation is over (that's where the increments for having a degree come in then).

The whole system is under review and changes are being made at the moment, so this could all change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭pr43

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Cheers shanehillview was having a pretty crap day and facing a 12 hr
    shift and you brighten up my spirits!.Shall read the mail 2nite on break.
    tanks.

anyone got a link to that article in the mail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jypo

According to this 40 prison officers were recruited recently, has to be a good sign, and i read that article in the mail quoted here by others and i have to say it looks promising for next year,wouldnt say there will be big numbers taken in or even a recruitment drive but next year is only 4 months away now. Sorry i dont have a link to the Daily mail article.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0918/1224254800413.html

jypo wrote: »
    According to this 40 prison officers were recruited recently, has to be a good sign, and i read that article in the mail quoted here by others and i have to say it looks promising for next year,wouldnt say there will be big numbers taken in or even a recruitment drive but next year is only 4 months away now. Sorry i dont have a link to the Daily mail article.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0918/1224254800413.html

Hi

Thats the army and prison service both after recruiting staff in recent times. Has to be good a very good sign.

I had a look through the daily mail website but eh article wasnt up on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Munster_Abu

When the Minister foresees that further recruitment to An Garda Síochána will get underway; and if priority consideration will be given to persons who have completed all the aptitude and other tests and who are on a waiting list to be called into training

Question Posed By: Deputy Jim O’Keeffe
    Subject: Garda Recruitment
    Date: 23 June 2009
    Question Number: 286

Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform (Deputy Dermot Ahern): As the Minister for Finance has made clear, the moratorium on recruitment and promotions in the Public Service applies to the Garda Síochána, both members and civilian support staff. By its nature, it has no application to the Garda Reserve, whose members are unpaid volunteers who do not occupy public service posts.

The moratorium is due to remain in place until the end of 2010, and can only be deviated from in exceptional circumstances with the consent of the Minister for Finance.

While the situation will be kept under review the fact that the strength of An Garda Síochána has increased very significantly in recent years means that it is in the best possible position to absorb the impact of moratorium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

That was back in June when the gov had to stand by Lenihans decissio to place a moratorium.....
    We all know what was said back then and I wouldn't pay much attention to it...
    Look at the post I placed on the other Thread and you will see the subject of recruitment has been brought up about 100 times since june and with the spotlight on retirenments (I think its about 360) fro jan to jun and many more the opposition is calling for more Gardai.

Not being bad but no need to go back looking at negative articles from over 3 months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Mainistir

also heard from a guy in the navy that they are getting a class ready to go in the new year...rumour....but if its true that just leaves us!

ha did ayone see the Irish Mail today, ahern has pledged to lift the ban and recruit new gardai.

Quote from the paper-

"In a move that challenges a strict ban on hiring and promoting gardai- imposed by Finance minister Brian Lenihan- Dermot Ahern announced a drive for new members from next year"

ok i havent read all of it yet,il have a read and update on anything else interesting in the article, dont think this article will be online, anyone who didnt get the mail, will prob be able to get it still or tomorow.

Happy Days!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

ha did ayone see the Irish Mail today, ahern has pledged to lift the ban and recruit new gardai.

Quote from the paper-

"In a move that challenges a strict ban on hiring and promoting gardai- imposed by Finance minister Brian Lenihan- Dermot Ahern announced a drive for new members from next year"

ok i havent read all of it yet,il have a read and update on anything else interesting in the article, dont think this article will be online, anyone who didnt get the mail, will prob be able to get it still or tomorow.

Happy Days!!!!!!!!!!!!

happy days in deed, recruitment next year would suit me nicely! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭adrianjc20

Just read that article too. Thats great news, would be better if it was November though. Maybe he is testing the waters pre an anouncement for a november intake. Wishful thinking maybe.

ye he is testing the waters, Im bloody delighted!!!!!!!!!

Quote from the paper-

Happy Days!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well jypo, or anybody is there any chance somebody could put up a scan of this, i didnt get to see the paper today. unreal news!!!

Quote from the paper-

Happy Days!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good news alright, but it's not much of a surprise really, sure the freeze was due to end next year anyway

ye when you put it that way! shanehillview, i dont have a scanner, i still have the paper, i might be able to sort out something, type a bit out for you but would not be able to do that till tonight, pm me and il get back to you later, maybe someone else in the meantime might be able to help out.

and im not sure if it would be cool for me to type the hole thing out here and post it, since the irish mail dont provide their articles online

ye when you put it that way! shanehillview, i dont have a scanner, i still have the paper, i might be able to sort out something, type a bit out for you but would not be able to do that till tonight, pm me and il get back to you later, maybe someone else in the meantime might be able to help out.

and im not sure if it would be cool for me to type the hole thing out here and post it, since the irish mail dont provide their articles online

Hi Jypo, thanks for the offer, much appreciated. i'm getting a copy of the paper tomorrow night, so i should be able to scan it to PDF in work on Wednesday, so all going well i'll post it up on Wednesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 GoingBk2School

What will be the situation for those of us planning to apply for the first time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 scoobydoo-gaa

What will be the situation for those of us planning to apply for the first time?

log onto publicjobs.ie and register. then just wait for the next campaign

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 GoingBk2School

log onto publicjobs.ie and register. then just wait for the next campaign

Thanks. I understand that part, but would I be behind everyone that's already applied? Would it still be a year or so for me while the backlog is cleared?

Hi GoingBk2School

There is not recruitement campaigns under way at the moment, so theres nobody at the applied stage, the only people you would be behind would be those people who are at the advanced stages waiting to be called to Templemore, or for medicals etc