Irishisms

• 10-09-2009 10:07PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭

What's the most confusing Irishism you can think of?

When I first got here they took a hell of a lot of getting used to. "Come here" (the conversation version, not the actual command) especially. First time someone said that to me all I could think is "what the fúck? I'm already literally right beside you, how much closer can I possibly get?! Creep!"

"I'm after doing x" is another one that makes no sense to me. And I kept waiting for the remainder of the sentence every time someone ended one with "like" or "so."

I won't even get into "do be" and "amn't," much less "craic." :pac:

So, what's the strangest Irishism you can think of that you may or may not have used to confuse a poor innocent foreigner like me?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

G'wan away outta dat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

levy. it's a tax, it's just a sneaky irish way of putting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

liah wrote: »
    "I'm after doing x" is another one that makes no sense to me.

They're just trying to respect the person's privacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

The word 'after' when it's not used to do with time.

He's after being sick
    She's after leaving school

WHAT?!

EDIT: How did I miss this in the OP? Silly bilyl :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ill do it now in a minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

The Australians always got confused when I said "yer man".
    "which man? Who? Huh?" :)

And one poor German lad never understood when someone was talking about a 'fillim'. When I explained, it solved the mystery of quite a few conversations where he got lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

liah wrote: »
    a poor innocent foreigner like me?

there's no such thing. you're here to steal our jerbs and you fcuking well know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,610 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Get yisser selves a drink while I strain the spuds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Don't discriminate against us you feckin Maple lover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

the butt of a dunt

As in 'Did ya give her the butt of a dunt'

I'll have a slug of Guinness. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭bluefinger

least we can say aboot about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Come off it!

Larianne wrote: »
    And one poor German lad never understood when someone was talking about a 'fillim'. When I explained, it solved the mystery of quite a few conversations where he got lost.

"Are ye here for the fishin'?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Lash it in the press there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

get 'ou of that garden, get off tha' wall and take that young wan with ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

"how come" instead of "why".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

brummytom wrote: »
    The word 'after' when it's not used to do with time.

He's after being sick
    She's after leaving school

WHAT?!

Direct from Gaeilge "Táim tar éis e sin á dheanamh" - translates "I'm after doing that".

I think it means already, or just recently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

Wudjagoolack she's a beour! Sure fair fúcks to ya! Wujageddup outta dat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

turns round. As in a conversation 'well I turns round to him and said....'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Kevin Bacon

Saying the word "grand" when something is ok confuses the hell out of ever foreigner ive ever encountered.

Then when you follow it up, when you get a confused look, with "ah its fine", confusion reigns down on the conversation..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

Skeeeeetch!!!! It's the shades!!

Also see: Lamp! Lamp!, means the same as sketch (Watch out! basically)

I could eat a cow's arse through a hedge.

:confused::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭TheManWho

Trying to relate to somebody - Ara shar ya know yar self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Direct from Gaeilge "Táim tar éis e sin á dheanamh" - translates "I'm after doing that".

I think it means already, or just recently

Sound.. didn't know that before. Language is a strange thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

'Grand'.

That's a uniquely Irish thing apparently that tends to confuse people who aren't from here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Kevin Bacon

TheManWho wrote: »
    Trying to relate to somebody - Ara shar ya know yar self

Ha:D i say that at least once a day. Its great for when your not listening to someone ramble on and you have no idea what there talking about. There is not a statement in the world that someone can make that cant be answered with,

Ara shar ya know yar self!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

No bother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

I mind ( I suppose mind is an irishism too for remember) asking a girl on hoildays to fire a shot of whatever stuff she was holding into a glass. After a bemused few seconds she said 'Is fire, where'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I thought this was gonna be about Irish text messages :(