Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irishisms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

"I'll bet ya anything"

Derived from the fact that Ireland is a nation of gamblers, there's more bookies than pubs in some villages and towns.

Probably already mentioned:

"Ah sure f*ck it" Your mate has said he'll go to the game with you but the heavens opens (it rains) and he says "ah sure f*ck it we won't bother".

"Will you cop the f*ck on" also known as "Will you snap the f*ck out of it"

"See ya later" not only known as what it actually says, it has other meanings: Your mother is "wrecking your head" and not to want to abuse her with the words f*ck off you bi*ch, you turn around and say "See you later yeah"

"It's as simple as that" probably one of the most annoying things someone can say to you.

"I don't give a f*ck"

"Put the kettle on" first words you hear when entering the house of someone you know, or even don't know. You see it doesn't matter if you don't know the person because they know that you know how to put a kettle on and make tea.

"Ah sure you know urself"

"Ah sure it was some craic altogether"

"Where's me pants?" pants = trousers in the real world.

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

When I was in the States for a J1 they couldn't grasp how I told the time

American Co-worker: What time is it?
    Me: Half four.
    A: Huh? Half four? Two?
    M: No as in half past four
    A: Oh four-thirty.

'Half-past four' they could get but 'half four' was beyond them.

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

LOL!

For some reason, saying it hour:minute (e.g. 4 25) in an Irish accent just doesn't work.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,719 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

legendal wrote: »
    'Sambo' ie a sandwich.
    Saying 'I'd murder...' for 'I'd love to eat...'

Sambo's a racist term for black people elsewhere. I read on Boards once a story about a Irishman working in a London office who said 'Jaysus, I could murder a sambo right now!' He was called to a disciplinary hearing.

'Messages' instead of groceries is another one. A woman was called to an IRA trial in the 60s, and when asked where she was she told the court she was 'only getting her messages'. The court probed her, asking what these messages were, and who told them to her.

Those Brits just don't understand :D
    That's another one that's direct from Irish. In Irish, 'teachtaireacht' = message or errand.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭sheesh

'you will so then' meaning you will not

usually said with a derisive tone and the 'so then' pronounced like 'sew-den' with a lilt

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭powerfarmer

Lookit!

It started out in North Tipp/KilkennyCarlow but its everywhere now

Lookit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Let him alone, he's only a garsun,

He's the hairy garsun.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The OH is Brazilian so she's still trying to get used to how we mix up the words abit :P

The other day i asked her "Are you up to much so?" kinda caught her aside a bit...

- Drav!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

2 Espressi wrote: »
    I am, in my hole == I am not.

Watchin telly one time and irishisms came up. Dont know what programme but it had a few comedians on it. One of them was telling about when she was being interviewed for 2 roddy doyle play. An english person was also reading the script and when it came to ' i am in me hole' she pronounced it i-am-in-my-hole as in being in a hole. She repeated it 2 or 3 times whilst looking confused at the script before they corrected her

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Thick, not only used to define width.
    "That fellas an awfull thick" That person is ignorant/stupid/stuborn.
    "I was thick with the drink last night" I was drunk.
    "I was full as a tick" I know its not the same but I like that one :)
    Goo
    "Ah jaysus getting the goo on me" I am being to really like these pints or would like to have some drinks.
    To have a goo on - to want to have a few drinks.
    Usually comes after a "big feed" or after a few pints.
    "Roaster" as in Hey Tony you going for a couple of roasters? Used by a friend of mine to mean a quick pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Will you hoover the floor?
    I will! (means I won't:confused:, the way you say it.)

"I was thick with the drink last night" I was drunk.

We would say "He was getting thick with the drink" if the person in question was starting an argument. i.e getting thick = getting mad/angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Homicidal_jesus

hoover and tayto used outside of ireland confuse the s*it out of people

in a shop in england..
    me:do you have any hoovers?
    shop man!!:hoovers?
    me:ya hoovers*makes hoover movement with hands*
    shop man:you mean a vaccum cleaner..?
    me:..yes..a hoover:p

tayto = crisps every else!

saying can you get us a pack of taytos just frightens them:p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

to your boss when he asks ya to do something."ahhhhhhh would ya ever go and ****e!"

if someones a bit weird-"theres a bit of a want in that lad"

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Iggy Pop

Me: What time is it?
    American Co-worker: A quarter of eight
    Me: Huh? A quarter of eight? Two?
    A: Seven forty five
    Me: Oh, a quarter to eight

Gee eyed, locked, scuttered, langered and mouldy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

We would say "He was getting thick with the drink" if the person in question was starting an argument. i.e getting thick = getting mad/angry.

Yeah, although I would also take it to mean some one who was acting the maggot :D Not nessisarily anger but getting stroppy. When I've heard people call them selves thick with the drink it was to describe the loss of inhibtions and concerns :P In other words they just wanted more drink. I would also take it to mean being stupid as well as mad/angry.
    Any one hazard a correct spelling for canat/kenat as in acting the canat.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

we say o, as in the letter for zero the number, why do we do that?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

Are ye right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Tyranax

Ah shtop! = That is a ridiculous/funny/surprising thing that you have just said.

Standing on me head = Very, very tired.

Locked (suffix - well) = Very drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Aye, I have heard '45 after 4'(4:45) and 'quarter after 4'(4:15) as well. The past thing confuses a lot of people. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭NotSoDumbBlonde

"Ah here......."

As in "For Gods sake, are you takin the p*ss?"

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,719 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

"Ah here......."

As in "For Gods sake, are you takin the p*ss?"
    I think that's from 'a Thiarna' - 'our Lord/Saviour'. Though it's possible that it's just a happy coincidence that 'a Thiarna' and 'ah here now' sound similar and mean the same thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭yaya*

grenache wrote: »
    "I will in my boll0x!" As in...... "theres no chance of me doing that"

"How'd you get on?" As in....."how did you do?"

"How's she cutting?" As in....."how are you doing"

"He's fair watery" As in....."he is very weak"

Response -"Like a hot knife through buther" - As in ........very well!!! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

I was gonna add to this thread

but then I decided "I could'nt be arsed"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,661 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

tayto = crisps every else!

saying can you get us a pack of taytos just frightens them:p

One of the lads had awful trouble with that in London one night. For the life of him he couldn't think of the word 'crisps' or even 'potato chip' which might have got him out of it. He just kept saying 'You know, taytos' to the barmaid over and over again.

The weird thing was it was actually Tayto brand cheese and onion she brought him in the end.......

• Registered Users Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

'Grand'.

That's a uniquely Irish thing apparently that tends to confuse people who aren't from here!

Used a lot in Yorkshire too.

'Aye, she's a grand lass'

• Registered Users Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

grenache wrote: »
    Thats defo not an Irishism. Its as British as the Queen herself.

German then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

we say o, as in the letter for zero the number, why do we do that?:confused:

That's not an Irish thing, is it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭aine-maire

whisht! :D

hoover and tayto used outside of ireland confuse the s*it out of people

in a shop in england..
    me:do you have any hoovers?
    shop man!!:hoovers?
    me:ya hoovers*makes hoover movement with hands*
    shop man:you mean a vaccum cleaner..?
    me:..yes..a hoover:p
    They must have "educated" English people out of calling them hoovers, when I was growing up there everyone was calling them hoovers!