Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irishisms

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Here are some great Dublinisms: Crips, hostibal, pasgetti, chimley, drownded, babby, go me toilet/dirt

And "Here, giz a shot o' dat!" when you want a turn of something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Ollchailin

"I'd ate a scabby babby's arse through a skeach hedge"

"Go away", a term used ofr disbelief, as in: "I won the lotto, Mary". "Go away Bridie, you did not"

"The head on him" to describe someone's apparent emotional state (comes from the Gaeilge form of putting an emotion "on" someone, e.g. "tá brón orm" for "I'm sad/sorry" means literally "sadness/sorrow is on me")

"Cat" for something bad, as in "It hasn't stopped lashin' all day, the weather is cat"

"So I am/So I did" at the end of sentences, "I'm goin' out on the tear tonight so I am"

"Sure", but not as in to be convinced of something, but pronounced like "shir", e.g. "Shir (sure) you'll have a cup of tea shir (sure)"

Then there's the whole thing of being polite by refusing something that's offered to you first, only to accept when it's offered the second time, e.g. "Will you have a sweet"... "I won't, I'm grand thanks"... "Ah go on, sure you might as well".... "Ah alright so, thanks a million" (see Mrs. Doyle!!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Here are some great Dublinisms: Crips, hostibal, pasgetti, chimley, drownded, babby, go me toilet/dirt

And "Here, giz a shot o' dat!" when you want a turn of something.

These are common over here too.. especially babby

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

liah wrote: »
    I won't even get into "do be" and "amn't"

Take it back!

I am........Am I?.......Am not I?........Amn't I?
    You are...Are you?...Are not you?....Aren't you?
    He is.......Is he?.......Is not he?.......Isn't he?

makes perfect sense!

"aren't I?" however, don't!

Id imagine the weirdest thing about us to foreigners would be the placenames for a start, and the absolutley minisculity of our Action:Moaning ratio!

"Yizzer" as well! "Gerrup and wash yizzer face!" is a usage i've only heard where i'm from....note: it's not "yizzer faceS", just "yizzer face", and this is only used when addressing a group of people....strange!

Also "Afraid" pronounced "Afrerd", to rhyme with "herd", only ever heard that around my place as well for some reason!

coyle wrote: »

"Yizzer" as well! "Gerrup and wash yizzer face!" is a usage i've only heard where i'm from....note: it's not "yizzer faceS", just "yizzer face", and this is only used when addressing a group of people....strange!

Also "Afraid" pronounced "Afrerd", to rhyme with "herd", only ever heard that around my place as well for some reason!

Yea, yizzer is your plural I think! Skobie grammar. I love it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Grand job is another one - and fair play.

I find it hilarious that in Irish, fair play is just translated to "fair play duit!"

That girl's rotten, she's "bet sios"!...goddamn it i hate the irish language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

coyle wrote: »
    That girl's rotten, she's "bet sios"!...goddamn it i hate the irish language.

Bet sios!

Love it! *yoink* It's mine now! :D

"ta f*ck" is another Irish thing.
    eg. "Come on, ta f*ck"

... bizarre!

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

pacificallly = specifically

Grand job is another one - and fair play.

I find it hilarious that in Irish, fair play is just translated to "fair play duit!"

Ros na Rún, "agus bhí sí just like soo.....*irish word* tá fhios agat?" "Sea, I know yea"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

The greatest Irishism of all, ye instead of you all.
    Also, 'wrecking my head' and pronouncing probably as 'probly'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

"Amn't" is short for "am not".
    "I amn't" and "I'm not" mean the exact same thing and expand to the exact same thing.
    It's the idiots with "Aren't I"/"I aren't" that are butchering the language.

I think pronounciation can be quite weird, I just realised recently that insead of saying "Do you" or "Did you" I just say "Juh", sometimes "Di-juh" for did you.
    Add a 's'/'z' sound if talking to more than one person of course to specify that it's plural.

Starting every sentence with "sure" and ending it with "like" is another one.
    And not pronouncing the letter 'T' probably/at all.

I don't see why i need to tell any of you this though.
    Sure, juhz noh know yerselves, like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

-'Are you going to the game?'
    - 'I am.'

-'Did you see the match?'
    - 'I did'

Very Irish habit to repeat the verb back when answering the question instead of using Yes and No. It comes from Irish of course where there is no word for Yes or No. Always find that fascinating.

Bet sios!

Love it! *yoink* It's mine now! :D

Tis all yours! Dya never hear that before? I remember a cousin of mine brought it back from the gaeltacht 10 or more years ago, but i havent heard it since!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

"I will in my boll0x!" As in...... "theres no chance of me doing that"

"How'd you get on?" As in....."how did you do?"

"How's she cutting?" As in....."how are you doing"

"He's fair watery" As in....."he is very weak"

• Registered Users Posts: 31,823 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Skeeeeetch!!!! It's the shades!!

Also see: Lamp! Lamp!, means the same as sketch (Watch out! basically)

We use that up our way too! *high 5*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

Horse that inta ya now. Usually said when placing a Guinness on front of someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    -'Are you going to the game?'
    - 'I am.'

-'Did you see the match?'
    - 'I did'

Very Irish habit to repeat the verb back when answering the question instead of using Yes and No. It comes from Irish of course where there is no word for Yes or No. Always find that fascinating.

A friend of mine was doing a study of Irishisms. Apparently the most unique to Irish people are the above and to say "I'm after...". There was a third, but I can't remember it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

"I will, yeah"-which translates as "No, I shall not being doing what you asked of me"
    Also, yeah sure, meaning the same as above. That drives me nuts, as the mot is not Irish and says it all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Dublin person: 'Giz a pack of 20'

'Just as good is no use'

'Havin the crack' Americans in particular take offence to this.

'I'm goin out for the pull'

'Well Horse/Boss'

'I hear they eat their young around those parts'

And you know you are in Ireland when you stop at a junction where
    the stop sign is contradicted by the yield marker on the road infront.

Only in Ireland...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Didn't yer wan over peg the glass of stout up on himself.
    =
    The lady threw a glass of stout on the man.

Shur ya know now like, I do be very busy doing stuff, but I'll be grand.

That auld amadam shur I swear to gad he hasn't a clue about the headage.

Well, (a common greeting)

Howru boya

Come here to me now

I've no change at all at all (double)

Yerra he's an innocent auld fecker

I gave out mad to him last night, he totally scutterfied and he only 42, his mother id'nt (instead of isn't) not happy with that.

Well janey mack, the auld craitir tis nice to hear something good hapning to her.

take care, safe home, god bless

"Giving out yards!"
    and of course Irish road signs that have the exact opposite meaning in the rest of the world, like the old style one way street sign!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 REAL LIFE HOOD

Anybody see keith faheys goal for Pat's last night, it was deadly!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

dja Knowarahimeen ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭CoachBoone

My mother always says "Ah shít in it" (pronouncecd Shítinit) as in, she drops a plate "Ah shít in it", or someone gives her some bad news "Shít in it".

I never understood it.

Another one that used to annoy the hell out of me as a child. "Thats why".

"Can I stay up and watch the film?"
    "No"
    "Why"
    "Thats Why"
    "Wtf"

"I'll "wtf" you in a minute"!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Ya yoke ya!!!

And gob****e is another one. I hate that gobsheen word though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 REAL LIFE HOOD

gosson, which comes from garçon