Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Apprentice (UK) 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Lucinda wouldn't have fitted in to the Sugar world, she admitted so on the your fired show, Alex is a bollicks for hanging Lucinda in the boardroom, looks like the winner will be from the Lee/Claire team next week, although Lee looks like he falls to bits on some of the clips, should be good to see all the fired guys back.
    Also wasn't that comidian guy funny on the your fired show, he did great impressions of of the finalists, don't know his name but very funny guy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

I disagree. I think Lucinda was a less suitable apprentice. Helene made a very good point about so many of the tasks being related to sales, which was not her forte. Lucinda behaved like a weasel when she was being managed, and Sir Alan would have been aware of that.

Lee's interview was cringeworthy - poor guy having his spelling laid out like that for all to see. Interesting to see 4 of them make it, especially when Sir Alan told them at the start that 3 would be fired.

Absolutely loved You're Fired tonight, and glad to hear there is a double bill next week. The comedian guy was hilarious when he was taking off Claire and discussing Alex's age.

Claire has to be the firm favourite now, especially judging by the trailer for next week demonstrating Alex's pitch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

paul kempsey winking at sas. "piss off" as only sas can say it- class!!!:D:pac::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

At the start of the Apprentice I thought Lucinda was hopeless and wouldn't last more than a few weeks. As the show went on I warmed to her a lot, and even if she's not the best suited candidate, she would be my favourite! :) And definitely the best-dressed candidate in Apprentice history! :cool:

I have warmed to Helene a little bit - I thought she did well in the interviews, and she's excellent at defending herself.

I have disliked Alex from Day 1. Having seeing the way he treated Lucinda in the boardroom, I can honestly say he's my least favourite Apprentice candidate ever. At least Katie Hopkins, Michael Sophocles etc. were somewhat entertaining - Alex is dull, conniving and an all round gobshite!!

I don't mind who wins as long as it's not Alex. I still put my money on Claire though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,076 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I have disliked Alex from Day 1. Having seeing the way he treated Lucinda in the boardroom, I can honestly say he's my least favourite Apprentice candidate ever. At least Katie Hopkins, Michael Sophocles etc. were somewhat entertaining - Alex is dull, conniving and an all round gobshite!!

He squealed like a pig tonight. Nobody likes a grass even if the others were quick to jump in after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Just saw this story on RTE's website:
    RTE wrote:
    The Apprentice star hurt in accident
    Former 'The Apprentice' star Nicholas De Lacy Brown has reportedly been injured after a wall fell on him.

According to The Sun, the trainee barrister, who was the first to be fired on the current series of the BBC show, was walking past a building site when a lorry hit the wall and caused it to fall on top of him.

A source told the newspaper: "He was trapped for several agonising minutes and screaming in pain."

The report says that the 24-year-old has since undergone several operations and may be on crutches until next October.

http://www.rte.ie/arts/2008/0604/theapprentice.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

^^^ is it bad that i laughed a little when i read the above:o:D Poor ol Nicholas, hopefully he'll be grand tho!

I always love the interview week, thought Lucinda was the right one to go. Although i'd have booted Helena out also. Felt embarrassed for Lee over the whole lying on cv, sure everones done it but suppose he shoulda thought of that before going on tv. Alex was fairly quick to hang Lucinda out to dry, I dont think he'll be in the final 2 tho, Lee and Claire would be my vote. I'd like to see Lee win it at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,227 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

what i dont get tho is why he bothered to lie

does doing 2 years in a catering college and then giving up or 4 months?

i dont think it made any difference in the context of his cv which had to be more experience based anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I understand why some of these people are on 100K + a year are applying for the job.
    Does anyone know what Lucinda does for her 100+k a year?
    I did like the way Clurr was described by one of the interviewers as cheap and a crap negotiator. :)

she is some sort of contractor, business analyst

to be fair 100k per year in london is not big money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

She does Risk assesment.

Do you remember the stick she got from Sir Al, when he asked her to asses her chances of getting fired, and she said 1 in 3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Thumpette

I just dont understand why Lee didnt use spell checker on his CV- and maybe get a friend or something to check it over for him.

What sort of emails would be be sending to customers in a business environment! Shocking.

I am Lee, Soory but I spel baad and i hafe never herd off speel chekr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Bit disappointed that only one getting sacked. There is going to be a lot to follow next week...

Poor Lee, what a mistake to make with his fictional CV.

Helene definitely got the sympathy vote.

Alex came accross as not being able to take criticism well.

Claire, Couldnt shut up could she, Although the flirting part of your fired was hilarious.

Looking forward to the final now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

I disagree with most people on this thread about Alex's outburst against Lucinda in the boardroom. He was a bit of a snitch, but in fairness, his reasoning was sound, in that he's given up everything for the Apprentice, whereas Lucinda was just doing it as a little pet project.

For once I thought he grew a pair of b@lls...

staker wrote: »
    paul kempsey winking at sas. "piss off" as only sas can say it- class!!!:D:pac::)

Best moment of the entire series so far! :D

fricatus wrote: »
    I disagree with most people on this thread about Alex's outburst against Lucinda in the boardroom. He was a bit of a snitch, but in fairness, his reasoning was sound, in that he's given up everything for the Apprentice, whereas Lucinda was just doing it as a little pet project.

Nah. Can't abide grasses.

Reminds me of workplace snitches who will hang someone out to dry to make themselves look good. Lowest of the low IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭pebblesjm

Aw poor Lucinda, really liked her!!! Think she'e far far better than the others, Claire's good too tho, but saying that Lucinda wouldn't have thrived in SAS's corp cos they like the underdog and the would als had something against her discriminating for her 'zanyness' :mad:

I thought she came across well in the interviews and for those who didn't see the finalists profiled on Mon night, she too had difficulties with her family and has ceased contact with them.....but did she whinge and whore it out like Helene (man????) NO she didn't she was dignified!! Helene is such a snake and not far behind is Alex....twerp. At this stage I would be rooting for Lee or Claire and even tho she annoys the hell out of me and her teeth are crooked (she's earning loads she could get that fixed and get a proper haircut!!!) I reckon Claire is the best for the job, SAS has a wee soft spot for her and I reckon he sees her as his little project.

Next week looks interesting...........:D

Think Lee is in a difficult position now. Even if his team win Sugar is probably going to pick Claire.

If Alex and Helene win he'll probably pick Alex. Don't think he has much time for Helene.

Would be more interesting if the teams next week were Alex and Claire v Lee and Helene.

agree with the post above, didnt think of that, either way its looking like clare or alex, still you never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭elurhs

Re the teams, I think it's interesting he put the two weaker contestants on the same team, ie Alex and Helene. That way if/when Lee and Claire win, there will be a bit of tension as to who he will pick. TBH, he should have fired three of them like he was supposed to. I haven't liked Alex from day one. As long as he doesn't win, I don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭corcaighcailin9

I couldn't believe it when he put the four candidates into the final. It doesn't really make any sense at all. I think Surallun has been a complete bottler this series what with almost firing Sophocles on numerous occasions and now creating a silly (imo) finale like this one.
    If Alex and Helene win the last task, I can't see either of them being a good Apprentice. Alex has absolutely nothing about him, apart from his looks and apparent charm which has been lost on me tbh.
    I think the two best candidates have been put on the same team and if they win, really can't see how he'll pick a winner. I think they're both great but after last night's performance by Lee, think the smart money's on Claire now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Todoquetengo

Alex was a weasel, can't stand that guy, just want to slap him and he was sh!t in the interviews. Don't like the final with 4 in it, each finalist should be leading their own team and Alex and Helene don't deserve to be there anyway :mad:

And putting the 2 strongest together is strange, is he banking on them to win?? And if they do win how is that going to help him decide :confused:

Think people are jumping the gun a bit presuming the two strongest are Claire and Lee. I think Sugar probably sees Claire and Alex as his two favourites. He's certainly given those two the most praise out of the final four.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I don't think it is that simple.

Sugar decides which team will win, it is not a selling task. So he could decide for his own reasons what team wins regardless of performance of the task and make his choice from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

Think people are jumping the gun a bit presuming the two strongest are Claire and Lee. I think Sugar probably sees Claire and Alex as his two favourites. He's certainly given those two the most praise out of the final four.

+1 I don't see much to write home about with Lee.
    Think Lee is in a difficult position now. Even if his team win Sugar is probably going to pick Claire.

If Alex and Helene win he'll probably pick Alex. Don't think he has much time for Helene.

Would be more interesting if the teams next week were Alex and Claire v Lee and Helene.

Exactly what i thought.
    fricatus wrote: »

Too right. I think SAS saw something he liked in Alex when he spoke up. Why else would he have kept Claire when she was annoying him so bad, and same for Michael? I think Alex was right to stand up and say it too. Lucinda was good, but was a bit loopy and if she didnt really even want the job at all (oh sorry, need the job), she shouldnt have been kept.
    Away next week for the final :( (sun holiday :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Topmanager

Claire to be the next Apprentice....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

I think the way the final is being done this year is a bit of a farse really and they should have stuck to the normal format. The way he has the teams split its really Alex vs Claire cos i cant see Lee or Helene being offered the job considering the way they came out of the interviews. He likes the fact he could take a young guy like Alex with talent and shape him and he obviously thinks Claire is a great sales woman. Alex also proved he is great at sales in the car task and the fact he works on comission only shows determination.
    Also its not just the 2 teams of 2 hes bringing back people to help them like before so that throws the extra dimension of bickering and not liking the person you are working. So i think in the end it comes down to which team wins either Alex or Claire and thats your winner, the fact Lee and Helene are still there is just making up the numbers and trying to mix things up a bit in my opinion.
    Would like to see Alex win it cos he has done well, as was said in the interviews I think Claire has just shut her mouth cos she was told to and she hasnt changed a bit behind it all. Shes too gobby and reminds me of Vicky Pollard.
    Alex to win with Lee scaring people away with hispterodactyl impression and cauing the loss for Claires team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Acid_Violet

Nah. Can't abide grasses.

Reminds me of workplace snitches who will hang someone out to dry to make themselves look good. Lowest of the low IMO.

Agree. There's no merit in achievement if you only get it by putting someone down, as opposed to simply being better than them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Acid_Violet

Think it's a very deliberate decision that Claire and Lee were put together. I reckon that those two stronger all-rounded contestants were put there because in reality SAS has narrowed it down to them. Will be shocked if they don't 'win' and if he doesn't pick one of them.

Personally, I would've liked to see Lucinda or Raef win. Ah well, such if life.

Btw, SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME if I can see the profile of the finalists anywhere on ze interwebs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

Btw, SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME if I can see the profile of the finalists anywhere on ze interwebs?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/apprentice/

Then click on any of the contestants' pictures to see their profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

pebblesjm wrote: »
    Aw poor Lucinda, really liked her!!! Think she'e far far better than the others

Have to agree.

She showed personality and leadership.

Showing doubt about a job after a grueling interview is normal.

Lucinda was much better than the others.