Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman rakes up 648 convictions

Of course. You’re right. What facilities do they need now?

A dirt bike course? Oversized inflatable novelty fusball table? What about an all season indoor ski slope?

How can we expect scum not to scum if we don’t pay for an all season indoor ski slope? Where will they get their hot cocoa? Do they even have access to marshmallows?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

The more likely explanation is when you're on holidays, you don't see the places where the feral kids hang out.

Dublin is unusual in that its city centre, historic areas and tourist sites are also the places that have the greatest concentration of scrotes and toerags living there.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,758 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Crock of Sh1t excuse. Sort of excuse you’d expect from certain opposition parties at present.

we’re fooking awash with facilities for kids!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I've lived in 7 other rich countries for a year or more, our situation is unique. We breed them different.

Ok the UK is the same but nowhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

it's the govements job to look after people more services and facilities needed

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭mikethecop

and its peoples responsibility as citizens of the state not to be thieving scumbags ,

but your just here to troll arent you ?

a lot of people are products of their environments. if you were born to violent heroin addict parents would you have much of a chance of being an upstanding citizen? very naive to think as simply as you do.

bull, there are an unending amount of supports resources and facilities to help those who want help, she chose no ignore them and keep being a scumbag

this person isnt a naïve kid , she just doesn't give a f and has had every thing handed to her all her life, she has hardly ever had to deal with the consequences of her actions unlike her many many victims ,

if she and her kind dont want to live in a society with rest of use then cut her off , isolate her in jail, remove financial and resource support and give it to those who deserved it and dont just steal, take and consume without ever contributing anything

people like here are feral and we shouldn't have waste resources supporting her , we dont want or need parasites like her , no society does

• Registered Users Posts: 16,355 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Ok so what facilities are needed.

More prisons and longer sentences would be a good start anyway.

lol the responses are so true to type.

you don't think better services could have helped this lady i.e. counsellors, specialist teachers/schools, after school programs, help with health issues, addictions, career guidance, basic modern world survival skills etc. etc.?

she was screwed from birth, of course early intervention and help from the state could have given her a better chance, and it probably would cost a lot less to take this approach than pointless never ending court dates and incarceration.

The services are fine for everyone else who doesn’t commit these crimes. Why is it our fault for what she does.

Pandering to these people is what convinced them they’re victims and raise their kids to do the same crimes and believe it’s not their fault.

Our services are plenty for those that want to make use. You could pump 10 times the money into services and get the same individuals doing the same shite.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,758 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Are you implying that there weren’t some brilliant peolme involved in her life trying to help her?

Are you suggesting she was let down 857 + times by us, society?

You are posting here as if you know that all this was the fault of others. Have you detailed information chronicling her journey?

is it more excusing based off “yes, she had services, but she needed ‘better’ services.”

• Registered Users Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Its a bit of both though.

you need supports in place but prison is needed ultimatley if thinhs arent working.

society should pay the price for someone that cant help themselves

she isnt robbing any shops if shes in the big house.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭AyeGer

At what stage do we conclude this pest is never going to change and either throw her in the mental or jail for a very long stretch. An absolute scourge on society.

So services are fine for people who don't need extra services or are born into far worse situations than others. Well clearly they're not. I'd put my house on it that she was mentally and physically abused as a child, people like that need more help than others.

We could lock her up forever and throw away the key, she's probably a lost cause at this stage. I'd prefer if people from her kind of background got more help though from the start. An unpopular view here of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,267 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

And how much does all that cost?

Our biggest problem is that people like her are not isolated cases. It would take about ten or more taxpayers to pay for all the services you suggest. There is now a huge poverty industry dealing with situations like that, and to be honest, they don't appear to be making a blind bit of difference, which would make you question the premise you put forward. The list of projects and funding of groups are endless. Look at these examples from the North East Inner City.

https://www.neic.ie/

https://dublincitycommunitycoop.ie/

Would cost loads probably but with all the complaining about "scumbags" in city centres etc you're not going to solve the issues for free. Prisons cost loads too.

No. The services are fine for everyone. What “extra services” are needed?

I would have thought if they were fine for everyone we wouldn't have mentally ill people living on the streets, but what do I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Would anyone be able to estimate however roughly how much income she has generated for the legal profession, the most amoral profession in the country.

If the services were so bad why isn’t everyone going around committing crimes and blaming the victims?

You need to spend 15 minutes with her victims and explain to them how’s it’s their fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,452 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I don't think you can say that the 'lock em up brigade' are looking for lower taxes.

Just frustrated to see they way this country has gone/is going. You just need to look at this forum and the news to see that our legal system needs serious reform. There are many people in society who have no respect for the law or their fellow citizens......and you know something....it's pretty obvious to me why. I wrote about this on this very forum well over a decade ago and in the past few days have had opportunity to speak again about the topic in relation to it.

When people see holders of the highest offices in the land get away with behaviour which at best is immoral and at worst is illegal, they have can justify their own illegal and immoral behaviour.

I am not condoning any of these activities but in general citizens need to be held to account for their actions no matter who they are or the come of the rest of society sees it as a licence to do what they want.

It's not just that obviously but it's well and good telling people to mind their own business but this type of behaviour directly effects hundreds of people and indirectly effects all of us.

racks, not rakes. 14 pages and it's not been corrected. That's the real crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'll give it a shot, but it's probably wildly inaccurate.

857 convictions, mainly for theft/offensive behaviour. From my experience, you could get 3-4 charges from a theft with offensive behaviour. So we'll knock it down by 75%, give her the benefit of the doubt. So roughly 214. Being very generous here.

So at least 214 court appearances. But we need to at least double that, because nothing gets done on the first appearance. So 428 appearances. Again, being very generous, most likely a lot of these involved quite a few more appearances. If memory serves me correctly, one solicitor told me he gets €150 per appearance. Is a lot more if the appearance is above the District Court. But I'll again assume they didn't go beyond District, such "minor" offences that they are.

So on my completely guessed based on no information, I reckon (being generous) she cost the state at least €64,200. That's just legal representation. I'd have no idea how to even start to calculate the cost to the state overall.

If I was to not be nice, I'd say there was at least 650 appearances overall. So that would then be €97,500.

Aw now you really are being far to generous , your not taking into account the amount of bench warrants some requiring special courts . 600 euro a pop for the judge about 200 for the court clerk out of hours fees for solicitors and station visits when she gets arrested and interviewed

this creature does a lot of stealing from pharmacy's and supermarkets outside of DMR because she is so well known so there's added cost there again

also your assuming solicitor rather than barrister rates . it would have been far far more economical for the state to pay for the finest legal education for her and let her defend herself

of course then you could then factor the prosecution costs , garda time for response investigation and court, probation service counseling drug treatment courses anger management diversion programs before finally some jail time .

All that and much much more on top of what a law abiding person who spent their entire lives on social welfare gets

• Registered Users Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Is she actually in prison now or is she free to aim for the big 1000 convictions?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Yeah, I didn't want to really try and guess the overall cost she has accumulated. Hundreds of thousands, if not north of a million. From Wednesday:

"One of Ireland’s most prolific offenders, with a “record” 856 previous convictions, has been jailed for shoplifting rum and hurling abuse at supermarket security.

Serial thief and public order nuisance Jennifer Armstrong carried out the theft just a day after she was given a suspended sentence for a similar offence.

Judge Ciaran Liddy jailed her for three months when she appeared in Blanchardstown District Court."

"She had been given a four-month suspended sentence for theft and public order offences at the same court the day before, January 31.

The majority of her previous convictions were of a similar nature – public order offences, theft and criminal damage.

Her defence said she had long-standing crack cocaine and heroin addictions and had spent 30 years of her life in prison.

“I can’t deny she has an incredibly long list of previous convictions, but she is trying,” he said. ​

Judge Liddy sentenced Armstrong to three months for theft, with a concurrent one-month sentence for breach of the peace."

So she should be in jail, but not for long... Concurrent sentences with 856 previous convictions...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

She was probably born with Fetal Alcohol Syndrome to an addicted lone parent. Her mother should never have been allowed to take her home and maybe she didn’t.

She was probably in the care system for 16 years. In and out of foster homes. She actually needed to be in residential full time care, being looked after properly by professionals. Lots of severely disabled children are looked after in full time residential, why not her?

She was never going to be able to function in the real world. She’s had a miserable life fighting against the shadows and ghosts that only she sees.

She could have learned some useful skills and felt a useful contributor to society. She could have had some dignity and self respect.

Instead she’s spent 35+ years being despised by 1/2 of the people she’s encountered and patronised and condescended to by the other 1/2.

The latter are the worst. Patting her on the head and telling her how she’s entitled to live her life on her own terms and it’s society’s fault that she’s in trouble all the time.

Well….yes it is but not because she should have been forced to try and live independently in a flat somewhere on a never ending cycle of appointments with mental health professionals and social workers, but because she she should have been feeling safe and cared for in a state run setting.