Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men No Longer Want to Date, Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭LurkerNo1

'

The comments on eating and calling you a whippet are just projection of their own discomfort with their own weight, fitness and eating habits. In my own experience as a tall and slim guy when I have dug deep and asked ex partners about why women tend to like like "big" men is they don't want a bigger guy because they feel "protected" they prefer that build because it makes them less conscious about their own size.

Parental leave in Ireland is unpaid, full stop.

Neither parent gets any payment for parental leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭JaCrispy

Back to the original question, "Men No Longer Want to Date, Why?"

Most men wouldn't want to date this

Toxic feminazi. Compulsive misandrist. Single woman in her middle ages (There must be a very good reason she's single at that age)

Run for the hills men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭therapist3

Well yes it does when you're giving it away with no respect for yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

To be fair I'm not sure what age men your on about , I'd imagine younger men still want to date ,

But if your in your 30's on & have already had kids i wouldn't be arsed dating, I'd be looking for a bit of fun here & there and that's it,

I suppose some men are happy out & enjoy the freedoms of making choices not based on anyone else's needs,

The statement at top of the thread , is just to wide to be true in any real sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

Long-term relationships or marriage and family is optional nowadays. In order to be in a happy relationship it is better to be happy and secure in yourself rather than be seeking validation by being with someone who absolutely hates your guts and makes your life a misery.

I've been a good father figure to my son, he's in his 20's and he was lead by example of not falling into the trap that so many young people fall into. Back in my day the idea of a date was to meet outside say Brown Thomas or Hmv on Patrick's Street at a certain time. Then go from there. Go bowling or playing pool or something, few drinks after and head to a club if it's a Friday or Saturday night.

That was fun, and a great way to get to know someone. An activity rather than sitting there with nothing only shoite talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

Lol it's easier for a successful never married, fit good looking guy in his mid 40's to get on in the dating game than anything else.

He's been around the block, he's settling down in himself and ready to chill out more. He'd make a better dad as he's not driven by his sex drive anymore or seeking thrill's and fast love, he's burnt out from that. There's a reason why a lot of women like older guys. They're mature, able to understand when a woman's tired, a bit off maybe snappy. Unintentionally snappy, only burnt out with a headache or over worked and stimulated by the harsh realities of life.

The mature man will suggest that he'll take the kids out for the day and she can chill out or meet her friends, have her own day.

The modern day control freak guy's would only be asking her what's wrong now, have I done something wrong. He'd make her worse, and she'd feel trapped and lacking control of her own life.

Being a real man is being supportive and understanding, give each other space. A woman would love a guy more if he's helpful rather than cumbersome. Let her have space where she can get breathing space. And if you need a days fishing or golfing she's not going to stop you.

Team work rather than playing games against each other.

No relationship is perfect, as it takes a long time to build trust and get to know someone. It's not easy, but a man who is responsible and able to share the burdens will attract a better partner rather than end up with a brat who's constantly hen pecking him and being avoidant.

The best relationships I've observed are where there's a gap between the ages and the man is mature and a real man, with old fashioned family values.

A liberal or woke guy will more than likely be trolling Grindr with married on his profile while his other half is oblivious to him and his two phones. He'll be saying he's straight married and curious. Trying to hook up with trans and guys. My friend is on Grindr as a quite attractive transexual and she's inundated with request from married and attached guys. She's sickened by these creeps cheating on their other halfs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

This vulnerable/desperate/naive/innocent is just waffle 95% of the time.

The girl knows full well what she is deciding to do and whom she is deciding to do it with and the actual intentions of the other person. There is nothing wrong with it if that is what she wants to do, but there is no point in her getting what she wants, and him getting what he wants, and then her pretending that there was ever going to be more.

What might happen could be something along the lines of self-delusion of "sure I know what he's after but given that I am special, he will surely change his mind for me".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,818 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

LOL

These type of threads really bring them out don't they.

Fkn ell

Too much drama. Simple. I'm out of a long term relationship in my early l40s and have absolutely no intention of ever being in another one

He's been around the block, he's settling down in himself and ready to chill out more. He'd make a better dad as he's not driven by his sex drive anymore or seeking thrill's and fast love, he's burnt out from that. There's a reason why a lot of women like older guys. They're mature, able to understand when a woman's tired, a bit off maybe snappy. Unintentionally snappy, only burnt out with a headache or over worked and stimulated by the harsh realities of life.

Spot on.

TBH the best period of my life was from the mid 30s onwards. I know, understand, sympathise, etc without being manipulated in return. I know my own value, and I'm not begging for attention. It's the perfect period, especially since I know that most casual sex is incredibly unremarkable/unmemorable except when it's really bad. There's more important things in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,062 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Is maternity leave and maternity bebefit unpaid? Can men choose to take the time as primary carer and get the benefit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Housefree

Lol it's easier for a successful never married, fit good looking guy in his mid 40's to get on in the dating game than anything else.

So this fictional character, the successful, single, fit (66% of Irish men are overweight) over 40 year old. Who has dated a lot of women (been around the block) is going to risk all his assets (no prenup in Ireland) to settle for a woman that's: tired, snappy,burnt out, over worked and suffers from headaches caused by the harsh realities of HER life...

Yeah right, keep on dreaming!

The question was not asked about maternity leave, it was asked about parental leave which is totally separate from maternity, paternity, and parents leave in Ireland.

Maternity leave is not just for the purpose of taking care of a baby. Its also to recover from the physical affects of 9 months of pregnancy, labour and delivery, and then breastfeeding (if preferred) and what all that does to a woman's body. So no, men, do not get granted maternity leave or benefit in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I didnt say it was the same thing but from looking at couples around me, getting a property is easier in pairs which is probably the biggest expense anyone will ever have.

Easier also if you do want kids to do it in pairs. Creche fees are a disaster but if you can survive those few years, it should be much easier after that.

The problem is there is no easy alternative. And its not just an Ireland issue, the cost of living crisis is prevalent across alot of the western world.

Eitherway, staying single or getting married is going to involve some long term hard work.

Sure. And the question I asked was:

Is maternity leave and maternity benefit unpaid? Can men choose to take the time as primary carer and get the benefit?

The 2 weks mandatory leave is just for the mother to recover. The next 26 weeks paid leave are only available to the mother. No choice for families to decide how to divide the time. That's primarily a men's rights issue as men would win the right to take paid parental leave, but the family is the beneficiary because the family gets to decide how to work.

And I answered it, and why. No men cannot take maternity leave in Ireland.

I can't speak for the UK where you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Dvaey

I was hoping you'd engage with the suggestion that equal parental leave is a men's rights issue which is worth pursuing. Never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭therapist3

Oh and iirc, it's six weeks mandatory in Ireland. Then you get a six week check up.

2 weeks? FFS the post-partum bleeding wouldn't even have stopped by then. It takes a hell of a lot longer than 2 weeks to recover from even an easy birth.

You don't recall correctly. It's 2 weeks as I said before.

Still no interest in engaging with the suggestion that equal parental leave is a men's rights issue which is worth pursuing?

Maybe it's 2 weeks in the UK.

Here, it's six.

And as I've already explained (twice) parental leave is already equal for all parents, in Ireland.

You're right. It's 2 weeks before and 4 after birth.

You have avoided discussing the fact that 26 weeks paid parental leave is only available to the woman in the form of maternity benefit.

Perhaps this guy will find someone who isn't burnt out or has found herself a lifestyle that's removed from the rat race? Depending on the age group being considered, it's not all that rare anymore. A lot of single women made their money when they were younger, and have dialled things back considerably between 30-40. (or made their money from their first marriage, and are open for a second more meaningful one)

Also, why does this guy have to limit himself to Ireland, and choosing from such a small population? Cheap flights mean that you can date abroad quite easily, and eventually, bring that person home with you (or you go live in their country).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Swaine

No interest in dating right now (mid 30s). Have zero in common with most women and for me going through a lot of bull sh1t and expense in order to get the leg over some girl who thinks she's god's gift is just not worth the hassle. I have a good job, own car, place etc so don't need a woman. Have a few girls on the go but they're FWB situations which suits me fine.

The apps are a total waste of time, all you get is over weight women who've been left on the scrap heap. The good looking ones just want an ego boost. No thanks.

I'm not avoiding anything. I'm sticking to the facts.

You're trying to take my response to a statement that was made incorrectly by another poster about parental leave, and turn it around into one about maternity leave - instead of just accepting that that original statement made that parental leave is unequal was incorrect, and that maternity/paternity leave is dealt with separately in this country.

As I said I am unfamiliar with the UK system, where you say you are living. If you want to start a discussion on reforming maternity rights for women in Ireland that I suggest you start another thread. You might be surprised by my opinion. You might also want to note that maternity benefit is not available to every woman, as it is subject to having enough contributions paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

That made me spill the tea !

Some real catches all right!

Between yer man living in the past who speaks in cliches like a 70’s porn movie- needs a bar of soap to wash his mouth out to the many persecution complexes and woe is me pity parties.

I suppose every cloud has a silver lining in that the fact that some of these these men don’t want to date means that no poor unfortunate may chance upon them.