If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 408 ✭✭RunningFlyer

Don’t worry, doesn’t matter about Prof Nolan’s inaccuracies, he’s been hired/promoted to Director General of Science Foundation Ireland (SFI)

Just wait for the others…

8CC9AAE4-7439-48FC-8A35-43AF72E89B2F.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,845 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '26 - Big Thief, Stendhal Festival, Electric Picnic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Relax brah

Pandemic is over lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,574 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I said Spring, its about 3 weeks early for Spring, but I'll take it 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭vegandinner

That so infuriating. My tax money wasted on his salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭hamburgham

The relaxations announced here and in the UK are making Australia’s treatment of Djokovic look more ridiculous by the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Feria40

Saw an article earlier that in reality nightclubs won't be able to open til about Wednesday as they have to apply for late night exemption as was the norm pre-covid.

I presume it's the same story with late bars?

Thinking about going on the lash tomorrow but might hold off for a week 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,133 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Nah, NPHET were fully behind today's reopening and they never cared what was happening on the other side of the Irish sea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,133 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Don't hold me to this but i think they usually apply for a few weeks at a time and what they applied for back in October, or maybe even February 2020 can be used now

2 night clubs I used to frequent have Facebook updates saying they're back tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Danno

America sniffles, England gets a cold and Ireland gets a flu. Always has been this way, and pretty much always will be.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Danno

Optional - perhaps, with a hefty side serving of coercion.

That one might be a while. It's hard to know. It might end up being that certain countries that make it a mandatory criteria for arrival. It should eventually disappear everywhere though.

The nation and boards mods gave a collective sigh of relief today as restrictions were finally relaxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭dockysher

covid started with a bat out of hell and ended with a bat out of hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

Relaxation of Restrictions?

Restrictions Relaxed!

Thread closed! 😁

Open the pubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,756 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,540 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Almost. If we get to the end of next month and they've removed the requirement for masks in schools and retail/public transport, THEN it'll be over.

As I said last night, it's fantastic that everything else has now been done away with, but I'm surprised that so many seem to be willing to accept this last lingering measure on themselves and their kids as the price for the return of rights (not privileges) they should have had returned a lot sooner anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭PalLimerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭17larsson

Just two days ago Pat Kenny was talking to some lady about how bride and grooms organising weddings could deal with unvaccinated guests.

He was saying that because they wouldn't be able to guarantee the safety of the unvaccinated people they should consider not inviting them or really try to persuade them to get vaccinated.

Can you imagine being so condescending to somebody? Pat them on top of their head and tell them you're not inviting them to your wedding because you're worried about their safety? The guest he had on agreed, and with a chuckle said that if the unvaccinated person got covid at the wedding it wouldn't just be the sniffles, they would get it hard because they weren't protected.

Oh yeah? Well what do you have to say now Pat and lady guest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,046 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Just had a scroll on your one Orla Hegarty’s twitter, good lord she’s unhinged!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Don't feed the statistics by visiting her profile.

Best to stay away from that kind of mindless trash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

So what is the craic with masks? I see in the media it's reported that they remain in crowded indoor settings until end of February.

I got rid of the masks I had yesterday. Done wearing them as they make zero sense now. Especially as peolle don't actually wear them properly. I went to the library this morning and was surprised that pretty much anyone else in there didn't have a mask on either. And nobody said anything. Security guard who usually had one on even had it off. As did some of the staff.

So if the language is crowded indoor setting. Does this mean it wouldn't apply when not crowded? Just curious more so than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,117 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

@Neamhshuntasach

Technically people should still wear them in the library but I do believe some people will start moving away from them from now. I think they'll be kept in a pocket and put on if asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,540 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Retail settings and schools still require them until Feb 28th when they'll be reviewed. The (flimsy) excuse being that vulnerable people don't have the option not to shop for food etc but can avoid pubs if needed.

Whether a library, bank, barbers etc counts as retail is debatable especially as some of these were closed as "non-essential" at times over the last year.

I'd imagine/hope they'll start to disappear from everywhere but the likes of Dunnes and Tesco from next week, and probably start to disappear there too (it's already been slowly happening) until everyone just ignores it altogether.

It makes no sense though - stand in the pub/coffee shop unmasked for as long as you like and a lot closer to others, but put one on to do the shopping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

So is it the case mask are officially not required entering and exiting hospitality settings now?

Post edited by daydorunrun on

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.