Formula 1 2021 - General Discussion Thread (Read 1st post rules)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,282 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I will be keeping an eye on the battle for fifth in the consructors championship, something I have been doing for the last few races. Alpine who are 5th at the moment with 149 points and Alpha Tauri are 6th with 120 points. I'm hoping Alpine will hold onto 5th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭McFly85

There's a lot of this about now on both sides of the fence. "I have no skin in the game here but how has Verstappen not gotten everyone killed?" type of thing. I don't know if its because they think that by saying they're not a fan they feel their opinion holds more weight because it's not formed out of bias, or if its just trolling. Either way it's annoying.

I think, either you are genuinely new to the sport and haven't watched enough to form a solid opinion, or you will have watched it a fair amount and have formed your opinions and biases. You'll know which drivers you like and you will be more kind to them in any non black and white situations(indeed, even in black and white scenarios you may accept the driver mistake but ask why another driver you don't like hasn't received the same punishment). I think if you want to have genuine discussion you probably need to accept that you can see the same situation in a completely different way to someone else.

But the majority of the discussions now are basically one person good, other person bad.

Personally, I can't stand this new pervasive attitude that Max has been so dangerous this year that when someone crashes into him, it's his own fault. It seems to be a reaction or justification to the title race being so close. I think it's fair to say he's looking more desperate in recent races as the car he's in is at its most disadvantaged against the Merc as it has been all year, but that seems to have turned into some revisionism that he's basically been like that all year and there would have been loads of other crashes if other drivers were insane like him. Most of the time he's won corners with good, aggressive driving, helped by being lightning quick off the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 973 ✭✭✭steinbock123

Does anyone know the exact changes to the Yas Marina circuit this year ?

Anyone seen a map showing the new layout ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Anjobe

Shall we try a neutral post then and see how we get on?

I am not a Hamilton fan, or a Verstappen fan. Hamilton is a fantastic driver and an 8th championship would be an incredible achievement but I think Max has edged it this year, he would be a worthy and deserving champion and can count himself unlucky if he doesn't win it. But...

I do think Max's driving at the last couple of races and at times earlier in the season has been over the line. To assess this, and the occasions where Hamilton has been at fault too, you need to get beyond the personalities of the drivers involved and any favouritism or enmity towards them, and try to consider what is good for the sport. If drivers are allowed to defend overtakes the way Max did in Brazil, and similarly in Saudi Arabia where Max and Lewis were both guilty of it, would that encourage exciting, close, wheel-to-wheel racing, or would it make or make it even more difficult and risky than it already is? I think the latter.

Others have already commented that for such a close championship season there has been very little good on track battling between the 2 drivers, and this is because as soon as they get close on track they collide, or someone is forced to yield to avoid a collision or is run off the track. Neither is innocent in this regard but on balance I think it is more often Max who has been at fault, he is certainly the more aggressive and never seems to yield. Silverstone is sure to rankle with many, the collision was not Max's fault but he could have avoided it, let Hamilton through, and still won the race as the Red Bull was clearly faster there. If he gains that cool headedness and maturity he will be an even better driver than he already is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭barryribs

I agree with a lot of this, but on the last paragraph I'd argue that Max has been like this all year. Imola, where they made contact and forced hamilton off the road, Silverstone prior to Stowe where they made contact, Spain where he forced hamilton off the road, Monza sprint where he forced hamilton off the road, Brazil where he forced Hamilton off the road. The outlier of course to this is Stowe at Silverstone, coincidentally it is the only time Max found himself on the outside of all the above moves.

I don't like either of the drivers involved, but it's not fair to say that Max hasn't been overly aggressive this season. He showed a maturity in his driving last year that has evaporated this year, enabled by Horner (who's behaviour has been disgraceful) and inconsistent penalties by the FIA.

Hamilton is the same as he's always been, when things don't go his way, its a big conspiracy to stop him. Weak at wheel to wheel racing and always capable of a brain fade moment at any opportunity.

Regardless of who wins, next Monday I'll have to get up and go to work. Max or Hamilton are not going to pay my mortgage, no matter how many 3000 word essays I write on here defending every ridiculous action taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭McFly85

Imola and Spain are the only 2 I really disagree with, that get brought up a lot. I've watched them both again and both times he's gotten his car on the inside far enough up to consider the corner his. He runs slightly wide but if Hamilton stands his ground there then there could be a crash and he would be at fault for it. When the contact happened at Silverstone, Toto was trying to argue that it was Max' fault for moving in as Lewis had been alongside him enough for him to be able to consider the corner his(but the replays showed he wasn't near enough beside him).

Since Brazil, as I've said I definitely think he's been more erratic as he tries to get some sort of foothold in each race. The FIA have almost abdicated responsibility for fear that they will wreck the title run in.

Overall though I find people are really looking for examples of him being dangerous to fuel the narrative that any and all contact he's involved in is his fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,686 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭barryribs

You are absolutely right and the key point is ' if Hamilton stands his ground there then there could be a crash'. So when Hamilton doesn't yield and Max comes off second best, lets apply the same standards.

Imola and Spain are both the same move, take a massively early apex so you purposely run wide and run out of road. I said at the time that Hamilton's mistake at Silverstone was dropping too much speed, trying to make the corner on the tighter line, when he's been given a lesson all season that the FIA consider it legal if your on the inside to just run it wide and force the guy on the outside out of road.

What Max has achieved this season is phenomenal, in what has been a slower car for most of the year, combined with unforced errors and bad strategy by Hamilton and Mercedes, but to say that he's not been over the limit with a lot of his driving this year is not exactly true. What I would like to see is some consistency by the FIA, not applying arbitrary penalties for the sake of it, and Toto and Horner to stop badgering the FIA every time something doesn't go their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Getting away from the Hamilton-Verstappen argument for a while:

I think Michael Masi proved in Saudi Arabia once and for all that he isn't fit to do the job and he needs to be replaced.

He may know the rule book inside out, but he's not a racer and never was. Charlie Whiting was in F1 when it evolved in to what it is today, but he always kept a handle on it. Yes there was a lot happening in Saudi, but some of his decisions there and over the past couple of years are odd.

He's very inconsistent and that's the worst accusation you can make about a sport referee/steward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Am I correct in saying the Brazil DRS straight is roughly 600m and the one in Abu Dhabi is roughly 750m??

With most of the slow corners removed and turned into straights?

F1 put this up on YouTube, presumably what with his final race coming up.

As usual I'll say just look how twitchy those cars were. Also if you watch from just after 0.45 in, there's an onboard and Montoya is to Kimi's right. When Montoya hits the brakes it's like a switch. Now it seems (and I'm sure lack of good engine note doesn't help) than even when driving hard in the race the braking power doesn't look as strong or as instant. I know the hybrid system helps with braking but the extra weight doesn't.

Also just that overtake for the win. That corner wasn't a flat-out kink back then either.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,355 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Kimi is my spirit animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,047 ✭✭✭✭flazio

You see, we don't really know that. We've only been introduced to the team radio to Race control this year. The closest we've ever seen as to how Charlie operated was when cameras rolled in the drivers meetings a few years back. For all we know, the umming and ahhhing happened under Charlie as well and who can forget when Seb basically told Charlie to eff off over the radio. There was a very good debate over this by the BBC team on the Chequered Flag podcast that's worth checking out.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

I’ve no doubt Charlie was available on the radio during races and it just wasn’t broadcast at the time…. But I’ve also got no doubt he wouldn’t take any of this sh*t from Toto and Horner were hearing lately and would put them back in their box quicksmart!

Maybe that’s why it’s now being broadcast? Because teams can push a bit more knowing there will be no repercussions so we’re hearing more drama??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,282 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

McLaren to use a modified livery this weekend:

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,213 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

It looks like they ran out of regular blue paint and used the flo-vis stuff instead.

Mercedes sponsorship with Kingspan has been terminated.

“Mercedes end controversial £4m-a-year deal with Grenfell firm”

https://mol.im/a/10285663

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,724 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

lol. so that is an issue worth having a whinge about but racing in SA or Qatar is not?

Exceptionally massive double standards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,635 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Not fair play to them for putting theie money where their mouth is on the issue they can control? Mercedes has influence but they don't decide where they race, but they do decide their own sponsors.

Dare I suggest a little honourable mention to Lewis? Well see what they say later.

I'd be very surprised if the teams' behaviour hasn't changed since they started broadcasting it to the public. They're now working in the court of public opinion as well as Masi.

The snippy tone and passive aggressive questions they ask Masi are probably not helping their case with Masi directly. They probably know they're leveraging public opinion to get masi to do what they want.

People give out loads about Masi bit I don't think he's done much wrong. I don't agree with all the decisions and some decisions have taken too long. But all in all, I think they've done well given a difficult set of circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Petronas? Malaysian govt owned company. A country with a fairly poor human rights record. A company for whom Hamilton appears in an advert for and has no problem promoting

It’s all just bluster, if people didn’t kick up a stink over it then nothing would have been said and the sponsorship would still be in place. It’s got nothing to do with sensitivity etc…. It’s just money and social media appearance!! No one on twitter cares about Malaysia or petronas so it flies under the radar, Merc aren’t alone in this type of thing either, all corps do it and will judge what’s best for the brand, profile and bottom line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,047 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Y'all want to talk about dodgy sponsors?

Ferrari and McLaren are still sponsored by nicotine suppliers, the Red Bull energy drink can cause cardiac issues if over consumed, all those fancy stats sponsored by a multi billionaire who flies his 🍆 into space, Haas being taken over by Russians and before that possibly the most contentious sponsor in the history of Formula 1. Rich Energy.

Post edited by flazio on

This too shall pass.

I haven't heard any stink kicked up about Petronas. But that might be my western European perspective.

In any case, Hamilton was placed in an invidious position as he lent support to the Grenfell survivors and then his team accepted sponsorship from one of the companies involved in the Grenfell tragedy. And they have now resolved the position by not accepting the sponsorship. That sounds like them putting their money where their mouth is in this case even if not all others.

Why always resort to whataboutery?

Oh look someone appears to have acted well.

Yeah well, they haven't acted perfectly in all other instances so they're hypocrites, which makes them even worse.

Post edited by El_Duderino 09 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭quokula

Exactly - practically nobody in this part of the world gives a **** about Malaysia, and have no direct experience of what happens in Saudi etc. But the F1 circus and the media that covers it is completely and totally UK centric in the way everything is reported, and Grenfell is a major UK issue, so that's why Mercedes have backed down to public pressure in this instance as the PR damage is not worth the monetary gain. If enough of a stink is kicked up about other sponsors, they would also be dropped. But if the sponsorship money outweighs the PR damage, there is literally nobody they wouldn't take money from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,168 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Such a pity Kingspan had to be involved in the Grenful Tower fire as if it wasn't we could have had an Irish sponsor and maybe even another Irish F1 team in the future. Kingsland F1 could have been interesting. Maybe Haas or one of the smaller teams will do the deal with them who knows. I think it's harsh really as all Kingspan done is sold there product they did not install it the engineer on the project should have known if it was the right product to use or not and there was another cheaper product used along with Kingspan the exasperated the fire. It was the council and others that wanted it done cheaper that should be blamed for the fire.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭tigerboon

You should probably look into the accusations against Kingspan. Very serious if true.

While engaging in a smear campaign against competitors claiming they were using sub-standard materials. Pretty scummy.

I'll say fair play to Hamilton on this one. Toto did his best with his laughable "I'm sorry that what we're doing makes you feel bad" statement. I doubt Merc gave a shite either way and were ready to ride it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,990 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ya the kingspan line is that they didn't design any of the systems in the tower and that their product was used without their knowledge in a small percentage of the facade.

They don't mention the fraudulent certification of their products and their company attitude around that.

For a company like Mercedes to walk blindly into this PR disaster would suggest that they didn't do even the most basic due diligence prior to signing up.

As for kingspan, being dropped like this must be the ultimate advertising disaster.