Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Message for young people appears to be get infected as you wont be getting the vaccine before the end of summer if you want to socialise. PCR not a guarantee of getting off the island either if Nphet have their way according to Donnelly at 1.00 today.
    NPHET only get their way if the government let them. They only advise, not make policy and no is always an option.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Discussing how the UK failed to have their big open day.

They've been open to a level we can only dream about for months.

This is what is built into people following Irish media, that shurre look the UK had to delay opening.....

Yet not understanding they are largely open in all sectors of their society!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,980 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2021/0629/1232044-dail-leaders/

I never thought I'd see myself voting for Labour but if they're the only ones opposing this nonsense then I guess I'm in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Quags

Anything to do with RTE is just propaganda for the Government, never have and never will go against their paymasters

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

• Registered Users Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭tigger123

RobitTV wrote: »

He's an insufferable gobsh*te.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

• Young people are not allowed into pubs for a pint, as its dangerous.
    • But young people are allowed in pubs if they are serving people, as that'll be fine.
    Clearly the Delta variant has figured out how to only infect people enjoying themselves, and not working.

What the actual ****? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Communions and Confirmations that was planned for early July are off but weddings with guests of 50 people can proceed. Where is the logic in allowing one over the other?
    There is none. Not just that either, for example indoor shopping centers packed while outdoors in 46,000 semple Stadium only 200 supporters was allowed to attend.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

Another prick, just becuase NPHET have lost the run of themselves doesnt mean we need to be listening to the likes of this clown

• Registered Users Posts: 11,932 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Discussing how the UK failed to have their big open day.

They've been open to a level we can only dream about for months.

This is what is built into people following Irish media, that shurre look the UK had to delay opening.....

Yet not understanding they are largely open in all sectors of their society!

Yup, they pushed back stuff like opening nightclubs. Nightclubs aren't even close to being discussion here (I'd be surprised if they open this year at all tbh)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

jakiah wrote: »
    Another prick, just becuase NPHET have lost the run of themselves doesnt mean we need to be listening to the likes of this clown

If an opinion is sound, it is sound regardless of the source. Stop being so petty.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

He's the last person you want in your corner. If I owned a pub I'd want his mouth shut for the sake of overall credibility. Brings everyone down with him.

Beverly Hills, California

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

TomTomTim wrote: »
    If an opinion is sound, it is sound regardless of the source. Stop being so petty.
    The guy is derranged, Gemma O'Doherty is anti-NPHET you'll be posting her **** next

• Registered Users Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Ray Darcy towing the RTE /pro government line.

It's cringe.
    Didn't that gob****e say we would leave the country and never come back if Enda Kenny was ever made Taoiseach?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Jaysus even their own are turning against them

• Registered Users Posts: 15,557 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Delighted that the delay is happening. Now if the Government had been giving everyone including myself the Jennson vaccine like they were supposed to instead of the two jab pfizer one I would have been up for more opening up but as it is with the Delta variant around it is only right that more opening up of the country is delayed.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

tigger123 wrote: »
    He's an insufferable gobsh*te.

You should've heard Donnelly so. Makes Healy Rae into a Stephen Hawkin.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,201 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

They said we are all in this together. We won't stand for young people being left behind.

I mean they are literally in power.

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭PaulJoseph22

Ray D’Arcy comparing the closure extension to the smoking ban.

Says being an “outlier is often a good thing”

Propaganda broadcaster ala Fox News….

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

A Taoiseach with no testicles

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

jakiah wrote: »
    The guy is derranged, Gemma O'Doherty is anti-NPHET you'll be posting her **** next

Some people would jump of a bridge if their enemies were pro bridge. It's nothing but a childish approach. Just because you hate someone, it doesn't mean that they are always wrong.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 11,632 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Times like this I wish we had an effective opposition. We’re being absolutely fecked here.

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭The HorsesMouth

titan18 wrote: »
    Wouldn't suprise me if someone in NPHET or the government is getting married and wants 50 people.

Not saying it is the reason but Minister of state Robert Troy is getting married on July 17th

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

I mean they are literally in power.

They're not in power, the real party are. Two very different entities.

Beverly Hills, California

Stop questioning the experts folks. Mind your own business.

https://twitter.com/Michael_O_Regan/status/1409827633500622850

• Registered Users Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭John.Icy

It's honestly hilarious that Leo Varadkar spent his weekend wedged into Capel Street in what I can only describe as some of the most packed I've ever seen streets in Dublin. Outdoors sure, but something NPHET still consider not safe and a risk factor.

Yet here he is today dictating about restrictions and dangers of Delta etc. etc and just generally being ridiculously pessimistic. Does the man believe anything he says in his official capacity? If he did, then he most certainly wouldn't be attending huge unauthorised Pride street parties. Make it make sense. I'm sure he will say he went home before it got too busy.

EDIT: I have no issues with the scenes I saw for the record - but that gowl being there at such a thing, get outta here.

AMKC wrote: »
    Delighted that the delay is happening. Now if the Government had been giving everyone including myself the Jennson vaccine like they were supposed to instead of the two jab pfizer one I would have been up for more opening up but as it is with the Delta variant around it is only right that more opening up of the country is delayed.

Delighted? Strange emotion for the day.
    Also Pfizer is more effective after one dose than the one-shot is. Which is another bit of unscientific nonsense that has been passed over all this time.