Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Yeah all the scientists and medical experts haven't got a clue. Maybe the surgeons should stop wearing them during operations? :pac:

With respect,you appear to be quite highly stressed about the issue.

I have not seen ANY suggestions that Medical Personnell should stop wearing appropriate coverings,and to contend otherwise reduces the chances of you being taken seriously.

Surgeons,and other medical personnell wear facemasks in very specific situations and under a variety of differing protocols,with there being no "one size fits all" scenario.

As you are,no doubt aware,if the wearing of facemasks in the general outdoor scenario is to be effective,it is subject to the wearers following strictly the protocols around handwashing,removal/fitting,storage and disposal/sanitization.

It is VERY obvious that the large majority of Facemask wearing people do/can NOT adhere to these recommendations,which in fact,are minimum standards for Facemask wearing in the general population.

The only avenue left open to the State in order to satisfy YOUR requirements is for the wearing of Facemasks to be made Compulsory everywhere at all times,under punishment of law.

As another poster has earlier mentioned,this scenario then raises issues surrounding the very type of rule we operate under,as in Democratic vs Dictatorial.

In the past 18 Months,much of the Western World has veered alarmingly in the direction of the latter,but as reason began to reassert itself,the general populace is regaining a semblance of self-confidence and recognition that Covid 19 and it's ilk does not,of itself,pose an immediate fatal threat to the greater mass of humanity.

So,at the end of all that,I shall continue to wear Face Coverings where I am forced to do so by (Temporary) Legislation,removing them immediately I am clear of the specified areas.

I do,however,recognise that this entire coercive process has inflicted far ranging damage to our very core of Humanity.

I also venture to point out that Dr.Holohan himself is not immune to being affected by Post Traumatic Stress,as would be very possible following the Death of a spouse or close family member.

Doctors,Scientists,Politicians and even Boards Posters remain HUMAN,and thereby subject to all that this brings with it.

Dr Holohan's tweet,by it's very tone and appearance displays a sense of being a Tweet motivated by a sense of strongly felt desperation,and bewilderment as to why so many people will not listen to him.

He most likely fails to appreciate that his Covid-19 voice,is now but ONE of thousands directed at the individual every waking moment,and thankfully,that individual remains free (presently) to make their own decisions.

The CMO may not like it,but,Long may that prevail ! :)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,104 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

RobitTV wrote: »

O dear God, Verona Murphy opinions count? Seriously, I truely despair when an argument being justified on the back of something/anything this person says

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

If they would give some vague indication on mass gatherings as opposed to talking as if we're literally years away from them, things like this wouldn't happen so often. A lot of people have lost hope that they'll be allowed to congregate in crowds like this for years to come, and for the kind of people who derive the most enjoyment of life from crowded gatherings, that ongoing "not in our lifetime" bullsh!t is leading to a sort of mass nihilism, hence scenes like those witnessed last night.

It's that simple. You cannot tell people in their twenties who up until 2020 were used to being packed in to dancefloors and concert mosh pits every weekend that they may never be allowed to do so again, and expect them not to eventually break and say "f*ck it, life is too depressing without it".

They need to give some clear indication on what they regard as an acceptable timeframe during which people are prohibited from socialising in large numbers. Because people simply will not accept that as a long term situation. I know internet forums tend to skew more introverted so there are a lot of people who probably don't understand this type of psyche, but there are people for whom experiencing something like was seen in the videos from William St last night may have been the first time they've been able to smile in more than a year.

Many, many people literally thrive on large social gatherings, life for them, build their enjoyment of life around them. To temporarily shut them down to deal with a crisis is the right thing to do. To talk as if they are simple dispensable long-term, is f*cking insanity. The government keeps kicking the can down the road as far as giving a clear indication on the return of nightclubs, concerts, outdoor festivals, etc - now we're being told it will be July before they'll even hint at when such events might be allowed again.

Expecting people to watch their lives slowly passing them by without experiencing what is, for many, the one thing that makes life worth living, is entirely unsustainable. Even Simon Harris admitted this in mid-2020. It's ridiculous for so many people to imagine that the massive number of people for whom mass gatherings are life's bread and butter would tolerate an indefinite, undefined, unconstrained ban on such activities without being shown literally any light at the end of the tunnel.

There is a danger of misrepresenting the CMO's anecdotal account as being focused on "Young" people.

Reality,as in observation,will show that the "Young" reference covers a VERY wide age-range.

The people Dr Holohan witnessed socialising around Dublin City Centre represented a broad cross section of the City's population,and this fact,more than anything else,would worry somebody in his position.

The Government will certainly now be aware of the tightrope it now walks.

The Taoiseach,being a Schoolnaster who resembles exactly that,is now in an invidious position,vis-a-vis his Táiniste,who has consistently appeared more willing to accept the reality of Human behaviour as opposed to what the "Experts" say it will be.

This is NOT Young vs Old....It is being Human vs Humanoid.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Tony has nothing to say in a bloody tweet about the cervical cancer fcuk up he was central too.very convenient for the sainted one

Do not post in this thread again.

Anyone else thinking of bringing up the cervical cancer issue should read post #1 again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Boggerman12

<Snip>

Mod - Ignored threadban, one week forum ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭User142

What we are seeing here is middle aged men setting policies based on how they would like to behave in this "outdoors Summer".

When the government stated this was an outdoor Summer they clearly were not talking to the young or had in mind how the young would interpret this . When it announced this outdoor Summer it was thinking of what the average 40 year old does for the Summer.

They should be providing more outdoor spaces for the young, more bins. Open outdoor beer gardens. Recommend the use of rapid antigen tests. Instead they are closing off public spaces as if the young will just stay inside and twiddle there thumbs.

This outdoor Summer and easing planned is currently tailored the the elder segment of society. The young as expected to socialize and behave as if they are 50 this Summer.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

The same CMO who oversaw the cervical smear scandal?

Do not post in this thread again

Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Murph85

I'd wager far more young and youngish people will have died from covid related suicide in Ireland than from covid, not with covid, because of covid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Dempo1 wrote: »
    O dear God, Verona Murphy opinions count? Seriously, I truely despair when an argument being justified on the back of something/anything this person says

So anyone who says something you don’t like: baaaaaad
    Anyone who says something you like: gooooood

Ok gotcha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Tony has been sitting on that tweet for a while. He knows exactly what he is doing. He's trying to put pressure on the Garda to enforce gathering restrictions.

I'll be in the City Centre around that area later on, I bet the Garda will be all over it.

Yep......

https://twitter.com/adamos29/status/1399079866545410048?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭User142

This is dystopian when you realize that in a few weeks a different demographic will be encouraged to wine and dine indoors with a government backed subsidy (stay and spend).

the gardai closed down the barge area few weeks ago and guess what?? youngsters moved from the canal to the city, and so what? they pay tax, they pay the CMO's fat wage on what's the latest quango...

the young people who vote, should vote with their feet, this is indeed very sinister when you have the Gardaí walking round gathering spots forcing folks to move on...all actioned by one tweet on a a social media platform by a non government official.. this is brown shirt stuff..I did not hear martin (the country leader) tell anyone, thou shalt not congregate in public..WTF..this is unreal.. the canal is closed and now so is part of town..

and you cannot challenge the integrity of this TWITTER (hollahan) with regards to past performance, or you get a weeks ban??? gas stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Hypocrisy for the government to encourage an outdoor summer and then when people socialise outdoors as they were told they still give out. This isn't about a virus.

hottest day of the year and where are you?? what are you doing??? and many like you???

out there selling an availability cascade of covid eh?? you should despair at why your typing mails when everyones at the beach, park, barbecue

did you ever get those ruby slippers in the end there doctor jessen??

get a grip, and all of your ilk too, bloody lightning rod for shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭corkonion

AlekSmart wrote: »
    There is a danger of misrepresenting the CMO's anecdotal account as being focused on "Young" people.

Reality,as in observation,will show that the "Young" reference covers a VERY wide age-range.

The people Dr Holohan witnessed socialising around Dublin City Centre represented a broad cross section of the City's population,and this fact,more than anything else,would worry somebody in his position.

The Government will certainly now be aware of the tightrope it now walks.

The Taoiseach,being a Schoolnaster who resembles exactly that,is now in an invidious position,vis-a-vis his Táiniste,who has consistently appeared more willing to accept the reality of Human behaviour as opposed to what the "Experts" say it will be.

This is NOT Young vs Old....It is being Human vs Humanoid.

I'm a taxi driver, it is the young that are gathering, 15-30 is the majority, who can blame them, the younger you are the slower time passes, life is not meant to be a prison sentence, our forefathers lived in horrific conditions, our youth find themselves in more comfortable homes, but in starker times.
    When the sun comes out after what to them seems like a lifetime of unbelievable restrictions, who can blame them for meeting friends and drinking a few beers? and if government policy forces them to urinate on streets and leave their litter on the roads, blame the government, not the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,810 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Just catching up on the videos of rubbish leftover from drinking in Cork, Dublin and Galway along with Tony Holohans lovely tweet.

The exact same happened in Manchester and several places all throughout England in April. I live between a massive green and a canal, both of them were absolutely heaving one weekend when it was sunny out. Genuinely more people than I’ve ever seen in either place before. They were left in a state, people pissing, ****ting and vomiting everywhere, cans, bottles, etc all over the place. I remember thinking it was like Manchester City Centre turned into an outdoor festival for a weekend. I think people who were doing all that were feral but when everything was closed, I wasn’t really surprised.

Outdoor hospitality opened up the following weekend and about 80% of the people and rubbish disappeared immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,680 ✭✭✭Penfailed

GT89 wrote: »
    Hypocrisy for the government to encourage an outdoor summer and then when people socialise outdoors as they were told they still give out. This isn't about a virus.

What's it about?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,048 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

corkonion wrote: »
    I'm a taxi driver, it is the young that are gathering, 15-30 is the majority, who can blame them, the younger you are the slower time passes, life is not meant to be a prison sentence, our forefathers lived in horrific conditions, our youth find themselves in more comfortable homes, but in starker times.
    When the sun comes out after what to them seems like a lifetime of unbelievable restrictions, who can blame them for meeting friends and drinking a few beers? and if government policy forces them to urinate on streets and leave their litter on the roads, blame the government, not the kids.

Nobody forces people to litter. Bring it home with you. If you were able the carry the full cans you can carry the empty cans.

There is no excuse for the lack of responsibility.

So anyone who says something you don’t like: baaaaaad
    Anyone who says something you like: gooooood

Ok gotcha.

No just Verona Murphy, have you seen /heard her performances over the past year on various Shows, she has one agenda (Hers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Leroy42 wrote: »
    There is no excuse for the lack of responsibility.
    This is true, but it's also human nature.

We can either account for it by providing more bins, or we can keep wagging our fingers and hoping in vain that people will change.

The best solution is not rocket science. I said it before. Every day, DCC gets skips dropped at lunchtime in hot spots around the city and puts tall signs indicating where they are (so it can be seen from the end of a street) and then posters around the place asking people to use them for their waste.
    Skip then gets lifted at midnight and brought away. Do it every day until July.

Some people will still drop their rubbish, but one would hope that most people will use the skips.

If only we has a bottle and can deposit return scheme like many countries had decades ago... public toilets wouldnt go amiss either... absolute farce!

Even if it was just a bank of urinals behind a wall...

seamus wrote: »
    This is true, but it's also human nature.

We can either account for it by providing more bins, or we can keep wagging our fingers and hoping in vain that people will change.

The best solution is not rocket science. I said it before. Every day, DCC gets skips dropped at lunchtime in hot spots around the city and puts tall signs indicating where they are (so it can be seen from the end of a street) and then posters around the place asking people to use them for their waste.
    Skip then gets lifted at midnight and brought away. Do it every day until July.

Some people will still drop their rubbish, but one would hope that most people will use the skips.

A ridiculous idea! It's too simple for dcc...

I've seen the video's, Ive heard the reaction to the free for all in Dublin and other locations

It's quite extraordinary the narrative seems to be these Naughty people didn't clean up after themselves, TUT TUT and whilst one disgraceful aspect of this carry on, liitle of no commentary about the unbelievable lack of social distancing and not a mask to be seen anywhere, unless you were a Garda dealing with this debacle.

I do not want to see a nanny state, I glad restrictions easing but mother of God have we learned nothing. This was not just a gathering, it was a free for all and the selfishness displayed quite appalling, spare a thought too for business owners already struggling having to close early and clean up the mess, but of course thinking of others not necessarily a priority by all accounts.

Roll on the Hysterical reactions........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

liitle of no commentary about the unbelievable lack of social distancing and not a mask to be seen anywhere, unless you were a Garda dealing with this debacle.
    Some people have tbh.

I think most people realise that to make a big deal of it, would be very hypocritical.

I'm not naive enough to think that if I was in my early twenties, I wouldn't have been there. I would. Almost definitely. And so would most of us.

That's what young people do. They are evolutionarily predisposed to be less risk averse than older adults. Tutting at them about this is to claim that we wouldn't do the same thing at their age.

There have been a number of blind spots from NPHET and the Government on the lifting of restrictions. It's been mostly done from the perspective of upper-middle-class men in their 50s with a half-decent private garden, with very little consideration given to the people who can't make themselves fit in this bracket.

We should be less concerned about the social distancing aspect outdoors anyway. The WHO only recently admitted that Covid is in fact airborne. In terms of transmission, that actually changes the game a bit. No longer are social distancing and hand hygiene as important. The two most important defences are now masks and ventilation.

In hindsight, the data we had and saw over the last 14 months all pointed to this. And many people continually called it out. But the WHO took a long time to agree it. There's a whole backstory which is quite interesting on it.

So outdoors, unless people are literally crammed like sardines or licking eachother on the street, is largely a safe environment, even without social distancing.

seamus wrote: »
    Some people have tbh.

I think most people realise that to make a big deal of it, would be very hypocritical.

I'm not naive enough to think that if I was in my early twenties, I wouldn't have been there. I would. Almost definitely. And so would most of us.

That's what young people do. They are evolutionarily predisposed to be less risk averse than older adults. Tutting at them about this is to claim that we wouldn't do the same thing at their age.

There have been a number of blind spots from NPHET and the Government on the lifting of restrictions. It's been mostly done from the perspective of upper-middle-class men in their 50s with a half-decent private garden, with very little consideration given to the people who can't make themselves fit in this bracket.

We should be less concerned about the social distancing aspect outdoors anyway. The WHO only recently admitted that Covid is in fact airborne. In terms of transmission, that actually changes the game a bit. No longer are social distancing and hand hygiene as important. The two most important defences are now masks and ventilation.

In hindsight, the data we had and saw over the last 14 months all pointed to this. And many people continually called it out. But the WHO took a long time to agree it. There's a whole backstory which is quite interesting on it.

So outdoors, unless people are literally crammed like sardines or licking eachother on the street, is largely a safe environment, even without social distancing.

Very fair and objective response, thank you. I appreciate outdoor socialising relatively safe, I guess my concern on seeing the images was the cramped nature of the gatherings, particularly Dublin City, but I do accept your points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭boetstark

corkonion wrote: »

Hold on, we were all in our teens at one time and your right about young people having endured a tough year.
    But there is no excuse for the excesses we have seen over past 3 days. It takes a certain class of individual to enjoy themselves with a few drinks and then not just throw your litter on the street, but the piss and have a crap on same streets expecting others to clean it up.
    How hard is it to bring a bag and take your rubbish home and if you feel the need for a crap go home.
    Animals.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭boetstark

Murph85 wrote: »
    I'd wager far more young and youngish people will have died from covid related suicide in Ireland than from covid, not with covid, because of covid...

Well if you wager money on that you are a poor gambler.
    Suicides are down over 200 last year from549 in 2019.

boetstark wrote: »
    Hold on, we were all in our teens at one time and your right about young people having endured a tough year.
    But there is no excuse for the excesses we have seen over past 3 days. It takes a certain class of individual to enjoy themselves with a few drinks and then not just throw your litter on the street, but the piss and have a crap on same streets expecting others to clean it up.
    How hard is it to bring a bag and take your rubbish home and if you feel the need for a crap go home.
    Animals.....

Worth mentioning it wasn't just Teens taking the P*** (no pun intended) there was as many adults present who you think might have more cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

He's some embarrassment.
    One minute he's telling us all to be outside then he isn't.
    Then the government tells us to be outside and then we shouldn't.
    They just can't get a handle on how to exit their own mess without creating an even bigger one.