Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Lumen wrote: »
    Let he/she/them/they/attackhelicopter who has never urinated in public cast the first stone.

Fixed this for you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭SNNUS

timmyntc wrote: »
    Christ.

People are going to drink and meet up regardless - so if you chastise them for meeting outdoors in a ventilated environment, and have the gardai move them on constantly, they will just throw house parties!

Risk of transmission from a few cans outdoors in minimal, risk of transmission from house parties is quite high. But of course our learned leaders can't appreciate that fact

Go outside but don't go outside like..

Country is run by well off middle aged cronies that have no idea or memory of what it is like to be young.

I would love it if they went through with punishment lock down as it might be the straw..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

SNNUS wrote: »
    Go outside but don't go outside like..

Country is run by well off middle aged cronies that have no idea or memory of what it is like to be young.

I would love it if they went through with punishment lock down as it might be the straw..

Go outside and dont shít and píss everywhere? Guess thats just too much to expect for some of the "young".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,945 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

pjohnson wrote: »
    Go outside and dont shít and píss everywhere? Guess thats just too much to expect for some of the "young".

You are aware that there are virtually zero public toilets left in any of our cities?

So its more like "go outside but we wont provide any of the infrastructure that is required for the outdoor summer we keep telling everyone about"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,881 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

VinLieger wrote: »
    Have you seen what happens at beaches up and down the country when the sun hits and there isnt a pandemic? This always happens, Irish people are disgusting its not gonna change over night.

I agree people should bring home their rubbish but they simply dont so yes the government should be aware of this possibility and after lauding the "outdoor summer" they have not done any preparation for it.

You can criticise the people but when the government come out with the finger wagging attitude it is the height of ignorance and shows once again how disconnected they are.

I been at alot of beaches on the east coast during the summer and they are not left in the state we saw on Sunday morning. Not sure about dublin beaches.

Even when we went knacker drinking we always brought the rubbish with us.

Current generation are spoon fed, don't respect things and no idea of hard work.

Not eveything can be provided for you in life, do it yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Russman wrote: »
    He probably thought it was possible for people to be outside without needing slabs of cans and not sh1t, p1$$ and litter on the streets of the city...........

So that never happened before covid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The biggest complaints seem to be about littering and toilets. Totally non covid related issues. I feel Pro-Lockdown types are using the litter as a back route to enforce restrictions.

Nobody (bar the ISAG weirdos) can comprehensively argue that young people out socialising is a threat to public health. Because we all know at this stage that everybody that needs to be vaccinated has been vaccinated and even if we have a 1000 cases a day, it won't matter because young healthy people barely feel the virus.

So why are we still doing this nonsense? Why do we still have restrictions? It's over.

I been at alot of beaches on the east coast during the summer and they are not left in the state we saw on Sunday morning. Not sure about dublin beaches.

Even when we went knacker drinking we always brought the rubbish with us.

Current generation are spoon fed, don't respect things and no idea of hard work.

Not eveything can be provided for you in life, do it yourself

Heres 2 results from a quick google showing your incorrect and this has always happened.

Im not excusing it but people like you putting your head in the sand and complaining about the youth are also part of the problem because you are the reason we dont have bins and toilets provided as you only blame the youth and wont acknowledge the government and councils have a role to play.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/brittas-bay-wicklow-destroyed-litter-14851162

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/dublin-canal-left-covered-cans-12411893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

bear1 wrote: »
    So that never happened before covid?

So thats acceptable then. Cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭SNNUS

A huge city where all toilets are locked away and there are none on the streets.. That is planning for an outdoor summer alright..

Spoiler, older people need to pee and poop whilst in the city too.

Its not acceptable but its also not acceptable to tell everyone to go enjoy them outside and not provide facilities to do so and then do shocked pikachu faces when people do exactly what you told them to and leave a disgusting mess because you didn't prepare in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Russman

Its not acceptable but its also not acceptable to tell everyone to go enjoy them outside and not provide facilities to do so and then do shocked pikachu faces when people do exactly what you told them to and leave a disgusting mess because you didn't prepare in any way.

I totally agree there should be facilities, but in the absence of them, do people not have at least some responsibility to enjoy themselves in such a way that doesn't leave the place the way it was left ?
    Or is it simply that "enjoy themselves" is a euphemism for get hammered and to he11 with the consequences ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,429 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Because we all know at this stage that everybody that needs to be vaccinated has been vaccinated

We don't all know that because it's not true.

Still large amounts of Group 7 and health care workers needing to be vaccinated.

Hundreds of thousands of 'high risk' patients still waiting for vaccines

We are certainly getting there, but not there yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Did I say that or did you decide to deliberately let the point go over your head?
    These things always happened, does that mean it's good? Of course not.
    But to use it as some sort of stick to wave at the public and say that they can put everyone back inside is beyond idiocy.

Russman wrote: »
    I totally agree there should be facilities, but in the absence of them, do people not have at least some responsibility to enjoy themselves in such a way that doesn't leave the place the way it was left ?
    Or is it simply that "enjoy themselves" is a euphemism for get hammered and to he11 with the consequences ?

They absolutely should and i hate that's what happened but i don't know why people are surprised, maybe i'm just more cynical than most and expect the worst of irish people?

Look what happens at places like oxygen, slane etc theres toilets provided and plenty of bins but even then the place is a garbage heap after and people are pissing up against walls instead of walking across the field to the toilets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,031 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

To be fair, the ones that run the country and their age groups have their own private gardens to socialise in and sip from their wine glasses.
    The young would be lucky to have a window box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,048 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

So people are completely helpless to look after themselves?

Yet you have others on here decrying that the state is looking to control our lives through lockdowns?

p which is it? Are we capable to make rationale and socially aware decisions or not.

Because if people are so happy to simply litter and other issues, can we really trust them to wash their hands, wear facemasks and other ways to control the spread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Russman

They absolutely should and i hate that's what happened but i don't know why people are surprised, maybe i'm just more cynical than most and expect the worst of irish people?

Look what happens at places like oxygen, slane etc theres toilets provided and plenty of bins but even then the place is a garbage heap after and people are pissing up against walls instead of walking across the field to the toilets

Ohhh I largely agree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,048 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

To be fair, the ones that run the country and their age groups have their own private gardens to socialise in and sip from their wine glasses.
    The young would be lucky to have a window box.

So the only alternative is to go to an already crowded place where there are no facilities and throw your litter on the ground?

So making excuses for this. THese people made the decisions knowing that there was going to be a lack of facilities. But that didn't stop them, they simply threw the litter on the ground and expect everyone else (ie you and me) to may for it to be cleaned up.

Leroy42 wrote: »
    So people are completely helpless to look after themselves?

Yup
    Yet you have others on here decrying that the state is looking to control our lives through lockdowns?

Not me and those people aree ridiculous and the exact people who dont wash their hands, wear seatbelts and litter everywhere but then complain when all of the above is also done by other people
    p which is it? Are we capable to make rationale and socially aware decisions or not.

We aren't, people are garbage, are you honestly surprised this happened?
    Because if people are so happy to simply litter and other issues, can we really trust them to wash their hands, wear facemasks and other ways to control the spread?

We cant, its simple, im for having face masks be mandatory on public transport for the foreseeable future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭xtradel

In Heidelberg Germany they stopped crowds partying in a park by the river and closed off the area

Unfortunately when you move nearly 1000 people from a big open park, the only way home is thru the old town which worked out pretty bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,031 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

So the only alternative is to go to an already crowded place where there are no facilities and throw your litter on the ground?

So making excuses for this. THese people made the decisions knowing that there was going to be a lack of facilities. But that didn't stop them, they simply threw the litter on the ground and expect everyone else (ie you and me) to may for it to be cleaned up.

I've seen rubbish thrown in remote places, far from any city, ironically thrown by people coming to enjoy the countryside. Mature people, with houses and gardens and obviously cars to transport themselves there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭NoLuckLarry

Yeahhh....they should probably stop antagonising the public with nonsense threats like this, people have had more than enough of this bull**** the past 15 months and waving further "lockdowns" around as some threat directed at people returning to normal will only end one way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Ballynally

boetstark wrote: »
    Hold on, we were all in our teens at one time and your right about young people having endured a tough year.
    But there is no excuse for the excesses we have seen over past 3 days. It takes a certain class of individual to enjoy themselves with a few drinks and then not just throw your litter on the street, but the piss and have a crap on same streets expecting others to clean it up.
    How hard is it to bring a bag and take your rubbish home and if you feel the need for a crap go home.
    Animals.....

What i take out of all this is the predictable virtue signalling that goes on in the condemnation. If we further understand that the condemned behaviour is also predictable i would hope we could all keep our claws in.
    See what i am doing there? I add my own virtue signal.
    But it is a positive one. Accentuate the positive.
    Accept the inevitable. It is so easy to condemn.
    To me it points to an everlasting hunger to keep the **** hitting the fan.
    I understand people`s behaviour and opinions and forums like this display a wide variety.
    I just get irked when people in position of authority keep on banging a particular bell, triggering the news, fanning out, and then your friends and neighbours picking it up and spreading it, as if we are all responsible to try and control everybody else. There is a strong Catholic background there. It is in the fabric of society. The idea of the rebellious Irish is a fallacy. I see that clearly as an outsider/foreigner.
    Condemnation messaging to the flock via the pulpit/media/official bodies.
    It is too easy to stay in this control/comply/condemn mode once it has been established, which it clearly has. We need more acceptance and understanding, not less.
    At this point in time i have widened my acceptance of individual points of view including some quite bizarre ones. It is OK. Whatever.
    If we keep on attacking a moving target our actions will become self defeating.
    There will always be something we could get worked up about.
    I just do not want to see it amplified by the likes of Tony H. It is clearly counter productive. It is just signals to like minded people how good they can feel about themselves. It wont actually change anybody's behaviour for the better. In fact it will do the opposite. People turn off, go out and party.
    Now, THERE is the Irish rebel. The more you preach the larger the opposition.
    That penny hasnt really dropped. All we get is mixed messages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Ballynally

A huge city where all toilets are locked away and there are none on the streets.. That is planning for an outdoor summer alright..

Spoiler, older people need to pee and poop whilst in the city too.

That is why they stay away or go in, get what they need and go out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

How exactly do you think the mental process should of went? "It's a lovely day, I want to go have a few beers and socialize. Oh, no, there's no where to put my rubbish or use a toilet, I better sit in my room for the evening instead"

It's actually impressive how out of touch with human psychology many people are.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,318 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Imagine if they had actually listened to the VFI and opened up outdoor dining and drinking the same date as hotels ie 2nd June

I'm not saying the problem goes away instantly but it does lessen to a larger degree as it would at a minimum be more organised.

As a result, this bank holiday weekend is going to be filled with the shriekings of the permanently outraged as young people do what young people normally do anyways, but have nowhere to actually go and do it properly and in an organised fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Necro wrote: »
    Imagine if they had actually listened to the VFI and opened up outdoor dining and drinking the same date as hotels ie 2nd June

I'm not saying the problem goes away instantly but it does lessen to a larger degree as it would at a minimum be more organised.

As a result, this bank holiday weekend is going to be filled with the shriekings of the permanently outraged as young people do what young people normally do anyways, but have nowhere to actually go and do it properly and in an organised fashion.

There should be pressure on to push forward the opening of outdoor hospitality ahead of the bank holiday really - open up or suffer the consequences of a middle class heart attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There is a sense of The Berlin Wall falling. People have stopped caring about the rules. The authorities are trying to push back by getting the police to get heavy handed. The government media are full flow trying to demonise the people.

Police will eventually have to give up and let the people do what needs to be done. Media will eventually give in and pretend they were om the side of freedom all along to save themselves.

And its all going to happen this weekend. We just need the Irish weather to finally side with the Irish people :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,318 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

timmyntc wrote: »
    There should be pressure on to push forward the opening of outdoor hospitality ahead of the bank holiday really - open up or suffer the consequences of a middle class heart attack

It's the fear of bank holidays that the government seems to have had throughout the pandemic I suspect.

Really doesn't make any sense when you can book a hotel from 2nd June and eat and drink indoors yet we've had the narrative pushed for months now that an outdoor summer would be for the best.

Well people are outdoors and, social issues aside that I don't think anyone finds acceptable (the excessive littering and public urination etc) now they aren't happy with that. It does give off this elitist vibe that the advice is purely tailored towards older people who have their own garden etc