Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is someone you inexplicably can't stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,643 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

cj maxx wrote: »
    Is she supposed to be a comedian? She tries to be zany, but she's not very funny

She sort of spreads herself too far, imo. (*Prepares for onslaught of filthy jokes*)

Like, one minute she's a comedian (which she was winning awards for), the next she's an actress, and then TV presenter...

Like, to be great in one area, you sort of have to focus on one area. she seems too widespread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

IF you're in the public eye, you know that you're up for scrutiny. It comes with the territory.
    Simple as.

Social Media is, essentially, a 'symptom' to that. Many of these people wouldn't have followings but for being in the public eye. If they weren't in the public eye, nobody would care who they are.

Plus one bad post... and you're out of a job.

Scrutiny is one thing but thread after thread on this forum is polluted with poisonous bile towards public figures, particularly Irish ones.

The lame excuse that’s normally trotted out is that “I payed me bleedin tv licence” even though the TV licence is for the production of new programmes, maintaining the TV and radio infrastructures etc, rather than throwing rotten fruit at TV stars. It’s just tall poppy syndrome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,118 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I thought he lived with his mother?

That’s the thing ... I never said he lived with his partner :)

Scrutiny is one thing but thread after thread on this forum is polluted with poisonous bile towards public figures, particularly Irish ones.

The lame excuse that’s normally trotted out is that “I payed me bleedin tv licence” even though the TV licence is for the production of new programmes, maintaining the TV and radio infrastructures etc, rather than throwing rotten fruit at TV stars. It’s just tall poppy syndrome.

Is that dee forbes?????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,321 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Roddy Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Indeed. Good point that. I must say I would switch off the radio by then and haven't been subjected to that really, although having been at a match a couple of years ago, a person with whom I availed of a lift with insisted upon listening to it, thereby subjecting myself and another to 40-50 odd minutes or so of the worst dreck in Irish radio history and that's a feat in itself in this day and age.

Marty appeared to be getting off on the whooping attention of mere innocent mortals and whatever female presence may have been there from camogie or football, all the while with zero analysis or critical review of the sport. Absolute yahoo broadcasting.

Marty is a poor commentator, he is always making predictions instead of describing what is happening, "Austin Gleeson takes the handpass, and strikes powerfully, he's the best hurler since Cuchulainn, a giant of game, but this one is left and wide"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

She sort of spreads herself too far, imo. (*Prepares for onslaught of filthy jokes*)

Like, one minute she's a comedian (which she was winning awards for), the next she's an actress, and then TV presenter...

Like, to be great in one area, you sort of have to focus on one area. she seems too widespread.

Always found her very articulate and quick in interview. Pretty and clever!
    Had a good few belly laughs from her This Way Up show. Not sure about the stand up period. I think I am just too old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭LapsypaCork

Sinead O’Connor
    Claudia Winkleman
    Jeremy Clarkeson
    Fergal D’Arcy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,267 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Pussyhands wrote: »
    What's she saying?

I don't think she's funny at all and is only getting gigs because she's a woman.

Ah she is just VERY hippy. And jumps on every social justice bandwagon going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,724 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Alan Quinlan.

No idea why but he always looks like he is about cry when Ireland lose.

Liam Cunningham.

Work with a woman who did bit of acting with him before. Not the clean image he likes portray. For me I don’t know why but find him irritating.

Anna Geary

Best of luck to her and whatever she does it seems to work, but she is on everything and everywhere and I just have turn off TV or turn away when see her.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

cj maxx wrote: »
    Is she supposed to be a comedian? She tries to be zany, but she's not very funny

That's what happens when you live in an echo chamber (no matter what you're stance on anything is). Twitter would only elevate similar minded people to her so she probably things she's driving it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭cms88

Alan Quinlan.

No idea why but he always looks like he is about cry when Ireland lose.

Liam Cunningham.

Work with a woman who did bit of acting with him before. Not the clean image he likes portray. For me I don’t know why but find him irritating.

Anna Geary

Best of luck to her and whatever she does it seems to work, but she is on everything and everywhere and I just have turn off TV or turn away when see her.

As i've said before Anna Geary the answer to a question no one asked.

While it would be fair enough if she was any good at all these roles, bit she's actually terrible. I would ay there are more far better people, both male and female, than her who could do a much better job but don't have a ''profile''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

cms88 wrote: »

While it would be fair enough if she was any good at all these roles, bit she's actually terrible. I would ay there are more far better people, both male and female, than her who could do a much better job but don't have a ''profile''.

Not a nice person by all accounts.

But she "fits the bill" perfectly for the rte 'agenda' , let's be honest, herself & dervla o rourke aren't overflowing with talent but they get tons of airtime.

What qualities would you associate with this talent thing you struggle to find in people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

She must have those yoga pants welded to her.

Well as we seen a few weeks ago she had an ''accident'' with them after a workout..

Dervla O Rourke has to be one of the greatest spoffers of all time.

Was probably around this time last year she had a whole time about how to keep hydrated etc amd in the end the answer was to drink more water :rolleyes:

Donnacha O'Callaghan. Boils my piss when I see his face on the tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

Davy Fitz. Nothing remotely inexplicable about that. An unmitigated toerag. I'm just trying to get the full set of Ireland's fittest family after the Cork Karen's were listed along with the big rugger lug above.

Yeah, definitely nothing inexplicable about dislike him. Plenty to choose from!

You'd swear he was driving to Wexford for the good of his health, not making hapes of money from it.

What qualities would you associate with this talent thing you struggle to find in people?

I "stuggle " with very little, thankfully, so to quote Simon Cowell.... " the thing with talent is....you either got it or you dont"

Yeah, definitely nothing inexplicable about dislike him. Plenty to choose from!

You'd swear he was driving to Wexford for the good of his health, not making hapes of money from it.

As I say it was in the context of 'Ireland's Fittest Family' and the other troupe of garish coloured screeching coaches, all from Cork. The quartet from hell.

However the Clare man takes credit for that 'concept' and consequently also as you put it, makes hapes of money from that too.

Meanwhile on his various missions around the country attempting to set various counties hopes back by decades with his hyper defensive nonsense tactics, he picks up a pretty package. Not sure Waterford are over it their stint yet and I hope Wexford have deep pockets.

As I say it was in the context of 'Ireland's Fittest Family' and the other troupe of garish coloured screeching coaches, all from Cork. The quartet from hell.

However the Clare man takes credit for that 'concept' and consequently also as you put it, makes hapes of money from that too.

Meanwhile on his various missions around the country attempting to set various counties hopes back by decades with his hyper defensive nonsense tactics, he picks up a pretty package. Not sure Waterford are over it their stint yet and I hope Wexford have deep pockets.

There's also been a few reports of Clare lads hving to retire in their late 20s totally crippled after his time with them.

The mod will be on here soon but I've heard much the same. The 2013 all-Ireland was overseen by the expertise of others in the background, and it was obviously built on the success of the under-21 all-Ireland winning teams which provided the team and bulk of the panel for the senior success.

Davy jettisoned anyone who would take the glory as he was seething with jealousy. Tiny minded little man. Napolean complex. Oversaw the destruction of that team within 12 months! Beaten by a poxy intermediate standard Wexford in 2014 was humiliating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

The bloke in Limk who won €1million in the lotto. I can give many reasons why I detest him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭External Association

The mod will be on here soon but I've heard much the same. The 2013 all-Ireland was overseen by the expertise of others in the background, and it was obviously built on the success of the under-21 all-Ireland winning teams which provided the team and bulk of the panel for the senior success.

Davy jettisoned anyone who would take the glory as he was seething with jealousy. Tiny minded little man. Napolean complex. Oversaw the destruction of that team within 12 months! Beaten by a poxy intermediate standard Wexford in 2014 was humiliating.

Having said all that Clare were lucky in 2013. A tired Kilkenny lost to Dublin, took care of Tipp in the qualifiers before limping out to Cork. It wasn't a vintage Cork team, they struggled past Dublin in the semi.

People raved about the lovely skillful hurling in the AI final and replay. It was very pretty but the marking was non existent. Clare scored a goal in the replay and ran down the middle without a tackle put in. Once KK, 2014-15, Tipp 2016 and 2019, Galway 2017, Limerick 2018 and 2020 got their act together Clare would always struggle with physicality, bar John Conlon, Aaron Shanagher, David McInerney, Duggan they were a little light. Clare should count themselves lucky to have won a Senior All Ireland in the last decade. The 3 U21 teams 2012-14 were very good. But that never guarantees senior success, Like Limerick's 3 U21 teams 2000-2002. Or Tyrone U 21 footballers 1990-92.

Having said all that Davy is a whiny bolix with a victim complex. It's either he was bullied or his father or someone belonging to him. He's well able to give it but if he gets a bit back he's crying on the fcuking Late Late.

That sums him up perfectly.

A man who's always been in the right place at the right in both his playing and management careers.

It's only a matter of time before he jumps ship with Wexford and leaves them in a hole like he's done elsewhere.

That sums him up perfectly.

A man who's always been in the right place at the right in both his playing and management careers.

It's only a matter of time before he jumps ship with Wexford and leaves them in a hole like he's done elsewhere.

Ah Lads, sure he must have his own thread here somewhere! He's the driver behind the covid - Clare - Wexford - HSE - row at the moment as well. Despicable.

Himself and Lee Chin were saying they were opening a restaurant together there over a year ago in Wexford.

Davy's a cute hoor. He's getting far more out of Wexford than he's putting in.