Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,968 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

At the minute, many European countries are more strict than Ireland in that they will not accept travellers from the US. It is not that they are requiring MHQ for them - they won't let them in. .

Sorry but thats wrong

If anyone from the US needs to go to Europe for essential family reasons then they can still travel.

Irelands system of hotel quarantine though requires you to first travel and go into quarantine and pay the €1900 Euro and THEN chance your luck with an exemption risking (well... almost definitely) being stuck there for the 2 weeks
    Even if you have parents dieing/ just dead or you yourself are on the last legs. Even if you want to get to your partner / spouse about to give birth. Even if you need to get back to care for an elderly parent/ relative.
    No, this well thought out compassionate system makes you take a high court case to get out of hotel quarantine even for those reasons, which is far far more restrictive than the european system which allows for family emergencies.

For your own "vaccinated" status, it will depend on when that becomes active. Is it the day you get your first shot or a couple of weeks after getting your second one?

I don't know the answer. Just asking in case anyone knows. I have a family member who received their first shot there a week or two ago and they were told they'd get the second one in July.

Second I would think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Sorry but thats wrong

If anyone from the US needs to go to Europe for essential family reasons then they can still travel.

Irelands system of hotel quarantine though requires you to first travel and go into quarantine and pay the €1900 Euro and THEN chance your luck with an exemption risking (well... almost definitely) being stuck there for the 2 weeks
    Even if you have parents dieing/ just dead or you yourself are on the last legs. Even if you want to get to your partner / spouse about to give birth. Even if you need to get back to care for an elderly parent/ relative.
    No, this well thought out compassionate system makes you take a high court case to get out of hotel quarantine even for those reasons, which is far far more restrictive than the european system which allows for family emergencies.

They would be wary that many would take advantage of exemptions and before you know it lots are doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Yes the ones on here that you have to constantly argue the toss with for getting your freedoms of travel back.

Roll out progressing well but still over 400 new cases today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

More proof that the Civil servants running this sham have lost the run of this mandatory detention system!

Department of Health stated: “The attendance at a parent’s funeral or in the aftermath of their death does not amount to an exceptional or urgent humanitarian reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Sorry but thats wrong

If you are a regular US citizen living over in NY and you want to travel to Germany, can you go? The answer is no. They will not let you in.

If you are a regular US citizen living over in NY and you want to travel to Ireland, can you go? The answer is yes. You will have to quarantine, but you will be let in.

What are you going to do? Come back and "disprove" that fact that they are more restrictive by trying to find out whether Germany has an exemption whereby if you are a one-legged Nobel-prize-winning diplomat with three balls then you don't have to quarantine to get into Germany .... and therefore you deduce that they are less restrictive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

If Ryanair are thinking about cancelling flights due to quarantine, what happens if you go ahead and book one and then they cancel. Are you entitled to a refund?

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    More proof that the Civil servants running this sham have lost the run of this mandatory detention system!

I am shocked. What have we become? No political voices standing up against this nonsense (Regina Doherty aside). There is no compassionate left just a group of far right loopers who want to lock people up.

I am shocked. What have we become? No political voices standing up against this nonsense (Regina Doherty aside). There no compassionate left just a group of far right loopers who want to lock people up.

I know it's mad. She used to be in favour of airport detentions. Amazing what happens when you don't get elected then try to get elected where the airport is based.

https://twitter.com/paulodonoghue93/status/883092561820356612?s=20
    A New York-based blogger who was stopped and cautioned by gardaí at Dublin Airport about social media posts she made about Minister for Employment Regina Doherty is considering legal action against gardaí.

Ms Kelly was approached by two gardaí at the airport on June 27th who asked to confirm her identity and then cautioned her about her social media posts.
    Describing the encounter as a “sinister and chilling experience” Solidarity TD Ruth Coppinger told the Dáil Ms Kelly was cautioned not to tweet about Ms Doherty or publish any material relevant to her again.

I am shocked. What have we become? No political voices standing up against this nonsense (Regina Doherty aside). There is no compassionate left just a group of far right loopers who want to lock people up.

True, and in this specific case and that of the Dutch specialist engineer they have locked up in a hotel then it's really lost purpose and focus entirely...

Lads, ye have to stop believing verbatim every single sob story that's published in the paper. (I am referring to the "specialist engineer" here).

If I am stopped and placed into quarantine, I am free to give an interview and claim anything I like, safe in the knowledge that nobody from the "other side" will be able to comment on my case. There is only ever going to be "one side" of any such story published.

Inhumane. The people who deemed this up, supported it and implementing it now should be ashamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

Lads, ye have to stop believing verbatim every single sob story that's published in the paper. (I am referring to the "specialist engineer" here).

If I am stopped and placed into quarantine, I am free to give an interview and claim anything I like, safe in the knowledge that nobody from the "other side" will be able to comment on my case. There is only ever going to be "one side" of any such story published.
    so the guy came here to stay in 2k staycation ? hm who knew :cool:

Inhumane. The people who deemed this up, supported it and implementing it now should be ashamed.

It's not just that, the MHQ was setup to discourage people from coming to Ireland, not to imprison people from going home to their Dad's funeral or professionals with negative PCR's from going back to their home base.

scamalert wrote: »

No point in discussing individual 'hard' cases and we don't know the full story. The big picture is what's important.

scamalert wrote: »

Well the specialist engineer wasn't aware of any pandemic or travel restrictions. Maybe corona hasn't hit the news in countries outside of Ireland yet?

Even though he wasn't aware of the possibility of any restrictions, he choose to drive to an airport in another country in order to fly here but was then was caught out upon entering Dublin.

(Maybe he was reading hints on here about how to break the law without being caught by travelling via another airport... cough cough Belfast)

saabsaab wrote: »
    No point in discussing individual 'hard' cases and we don't know the full story. The big picture is what's important.

The big picture is the massive reputational damage we are doing. The big picture is losing our humanity. That’s the big picture. Disgusting.

Look at India now. Do you want that brought here?

Same could be said of saint regina trying to lock up someone who disagreed with her policy,

Strange advocate for no airport checks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Santan

But a God damn politician or athlete can move around with impunity, i guarantee you if it was a friend of a civil servant they would be out the back door and nothing heard about it. I honestly hate these people so much, i just hate them

Look at India now. Do you want that brought here?

Now it’s India. JC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭General Toilet

Just booked my flight to Belfast.

Humanity me hole. The rules are the rules. Just because some thicks might feel that they are too special to follow the rules and get a land when they are actually enforced, well that has nothing to do with humanity.

Now it’s India. JC.

Yes, now it's India. Tomorrow who knows.

We have vaccines. We still have restrictions. We require PCR tests. Life is coming back. We are not India.

Humanity me hole. The rules are the rules. Just because some thicks might feel that they are too special to follow the rules and get a land when they are actually enforced, well that has nothing to do with humanity.

Do you have an ounce of humanity in you?

We have vaccines. We still have restrictions. We require PCR tests. Life is coming back. We are not India.

India has vaccines too but a new variant seems to have run riot before it was administered to the masses. We should learn.