Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

gozunda wrote: »
    Well for a start - show where what was written is in anyway factually incorrect. Rather than trying to act out.

And bull. That's from police NI reports about rioting currently going on in NI or are those reports 'scutter' and '****' as well? And no 'a few streets in Belfast" were not classed as the North. Maybe get the fuqing facts right before going on the attack.

And wrong - the pints thing is from actual comments with posters claiming they can't wait to travel for just that. And yeah that's a parody on those comments. Sorry all that doesn't suit...

Not to sound rude but you've been rambling on about Brexit and unionism in NI for the past few days now. What relevance is it to the current topic at hand ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭trixi001

So yeah loads of soft spoken Irish tourists may not be exactly welcomed with open arms by everyone especially considering that compared to the North - most people here have yet to receive their fist vaccination and the NI authorities have detailed that eveyone should comply with all travel restrictions in place for their region/country within the CTA.

How many here are aware that currently anyone arriving into Northern Ireland from within the Common Travel Area and planning to remain there for at least 24 hours are being asked to self-isolate upon arrival for 10 days, unless otherwise exempt for essential purposes and not subject to the self-isolation requirements? And the thing is - I see no indication that requirement has been targeted for change in the NI roadmap. And while it may not be currently enforced - "plenty" deciding to skip over the border may well change that.

Not only that but anyone travelling to NI will be doing against health protection regulations which have been put in place here and NI to help reduce the rate of transmission of COVID-19. Even with its vaccination schedule doing well - NI Hospital occupancy is at 103% with 97 beds over capacity. Six hospitals are operating over capacity. There are 58 people in hospital with coronavirus and eight in intensive care. Six patients are on ventilation.

Everyone could of course adhere to the regulations in order to keep ourselves and others safe. But fuk it pints eh?

Key point - people are being asked to self isolate - its not a legal requirement... and so far i know no-one who has done so..

NI Hospitals are poor anyway and operate above capacity regularly - the important point to note is the ICU has signifcant spare capacity - with about 25% of ICU beds unoccupied, and only 9 covid patients in ICU, only 5 ventalited

53 beds out of over 3000 are being used for COVID patients, so any problems with occupancy is not down to covid (at least not directly), may be indirectly as the health service tries to get to grips with the backlog

All information is available here

As for your rant about rioting - 99.9% of the North is perfectly safe - and i have a booked a few staycations already and also booked a lovely restaurant for a meal in the outside beer garden on the 30th April. Can't wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Not my figures btw and I made no claim as to the reasons for over capacity. It remains those are the reported figures. But maybe you have a point- is it those extra covid patients which are pushing the system into over capacity? I really couldn't tell you tbh.

From yesterday's Belfast telegraph.

https://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/coronavirus-northern-ireland-landmark-day-as-executive-confirms-reopening-of-non-essential-retail-and-outdoor-hospitality-by-end-of-april-40315474.html

But yeah fuk it - pints eh ... :pac:

You always know when someone has lost an argument on here when the pints argument is brought up. Its embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

Is there another surge in Ireland ?

Yeah, there is a massive surge in critical theory science, fearmongering and hysteria by ISAG members like Tomas Ryan, Sam McConkey etc.

Unfortunately the media allow this hysteria to go unchallenged and some people seem to be swallowing the nonsensical, magic money tree, fantasy land approach by ISAG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

niallo27 wrote: »
    You always know when someone has lost an argument on here when the pints argument is brought up. Its embarrassing.

Nobody wins or loses an argument in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

You may be correct, maybe countries out there planned to use lock downs, I have yet to hear or see those plans.

The British have being planning for over a decade, for a pandemic with a projected death rate much higher than Covid, those plans did not include any kind of lock down.

Those plans were thrown out the window in March of last year.

My point I guess, our civil liberties have been taken from us, and we are still not clear what the reasoning is, as you point out, our health system is a shambles and is constantly in crisis but nobody ever hinted we should shut down large parts of our economy and suspend most of our civil liberties.

If you told people 18 months ago that they would be in lockdown for the guts of a year for a disease that mostly kills people above the age of life-expectancy and currently has a couple of hundred people in hospital, you would have been laughed at.

If you told them that we would add €50bn to our debt in 12 months and render over 25% of the population effectively unemployed, you would have been called a loon.

If you told them the Guards would be mobilized to prevent people from protesting what is happening, you would have been told to stop imagining things.

It's a frightening road this country has traveled in a short time and it's not the virus that's frightening. Finding out you share a county with a load of people who don't give a crap about their rights or their futures is what's truly scary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

Akesh wrote: »
    Yeah, there is a massive surge in critical theory science, fearmongering and hysteria by ISAG members like Tomas Ryan, Sam McConkey etc.

Unfortunately the media allow this hysteria to go unchallenged and some people seem to be swallowing the nonsensical, magic money tree, fantasy land approach by ISAG.

McDonkey shouldn’t be given any air time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dublin_paul

Russman wrote: »
    Nobody wins or loses an argument in this thread.

Everyone loses when arguing on internet forums, imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Everyone show know that's its the pints that cause the new variants...

The riots stopped last week so your wrong on that anyway, you seem very angry when people challenge you.
    Oh no they dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭uli84

Looks like holiday in Greece or Cyprus this year, unless Spain/Italy stops the stupid wearing masks outside that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

It’s brilliant to see the EU calling these clowns to heel

We’ve had the longest strictest lockdown and now MHQ

The boys have 10 days to answer the EU council and I’m delighted

It’s like a movie scene where the bully gets taken down a peg

The irony of course is when we go begging of the EU to fund basic services when the money runs out

It was always going to end up with Europe pulling us into line at some stage.

When Europe opens up its game over here, Dirk in Holland and Paulo in italy aint paying for Ireland to sit at home collecting pup for the forseeable future especially when the numbers dont support remaining locked down.

The irony will be watching the pro lockdown and zero covid fanatics align themselves with the likes of the far right here in calling out interference from Europe when it does happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

If you told people 18 months ago that they would be in lockdown for the guts of a year for a disease that mostly kills people above the age of life-expectancy and currently has a couple of hundred people in hospital, you would have been laughed at.

If you told them that we would add €50bn to our debt in 12 months and render over 25% of the population effectively unemployed, you would have been called a loon.

If you told them the Guards would be mobilized to prevent people from protesting what is happening, you would have been told to stop imagining things.

It's a frightening road this country has traveled in a short time and it's not the virus that's frightening. Finding out you share a county with a load of people who don't give a crap about their rights or their futures is what's truly scary.

And now we are being softened up to expect another lock down this winter (before we are even out of last winters lock down) for a virus that isn't as deadly as we were first led to believe...a virus we will all be vaccinated against by the end of the summer....and as a community will have a much greater level of community immunity.

This really does begin to feel a bit ominous...I sincerely hope I am wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

No they don’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Adverse or simple reality?

Was that stated in the comment? Maybe an idea to leave the personalisation and stick with the topic at hand

Ok the detail. Riots are already ongoing in NI. One poster opined that trouble was usually limited to around the 12th only. And thats the type of misinformation which is all to evident in this thread. The fact is rioting takes place in the run up and in months after the 12th. And its not just public places - end up in a pub or anywhere you don't know and you could be having interesting discussions with some of the locals.

This year is somewhat different in that the origins of the current riots stem in part from Brexit and resentment towards the Northern Ireland Protocol - with some loyalists believing that Northern Ireland could end up being treated separately from the rest of the UK with goverments in Belfast, Dublin and London variously being blamed and as a result with more than 74 police officers been injured in the clashes, burnt out cars and road blocks on some major roads in and around Belfast etc.

Recent densions have also boiled over after a decision by Northern Ireland's Department of Justice not to prosecute senior leaders from the Irish republican party Sinn Fein who did not follow Covid-19 restrictions last year, after attending the funeral of a high-profile former Irish Republican Army commander.

So yeah loads of soft spoken Irish tourists may not be exactly welcomed with open arms by everyone especially considering that compared to the North - most people here have yet to receive their fist vaccination and the NI authorities have detailed that eveyone should comply with all travel restrictions in place for their region/country within the CTA.

How many here are aware that currently anyone arriving into Northern Ireland from within the Common Travel Area and planning to remain there for at least 24 hours are being asked to self-isolate upon arrival for 10 days, unless otherwise exempt for essential purposes and not subject to the self-isolation requirements? And the thing is - I see no indication that requirement has been targeted for change in the NI roadmap. And while it may not be currently enforced - "plenty" deciding to skip over the border may well change that.

Not only that but anyone travelling to NI will be doing against health protection regulations which have been put in place here and NI to help reduce the rate of transmission of COVID-19. Even with its vaccination schedule doing well - NI Hospital occupancy is at 103% with 97 beds over capacity. Six hospitals are operating over capacity. There are 58 people in hospital with coronavirus and eight in intensive care. Six patients are on ventilation.

Everyone could of course adhere to the regulations in order to keep ourselves and others safe. But fuk it pints eh?

Just want to say, as a Northerner myself, this whole thing about southern accents and southern reg cars etc inviting some sort of risk in the North is just a long-running trope that bears no resemblance to reality. You will not be attacked for being a southerner and you aren’t going to end up in a riot. The only way either of these things would even come close to being probable is if you literally disregarded the most basic tenets of common sense that anyone applies when visiting a city. You are not going to wander into a flashpoint area or a pub full of hardened violent Loyalists on Sandy Row unless you are being almost unfathomably foolish. You might come across a demonstration or a march, and like anywhere else in the world you simply just move on in case things go up a level — but nobody is going to single you out or attack you for being southern.

The situation in the North is fragile and serious, but I don’t think it is either appropriate or in any way reasonable to try exploit those problems (by way of lazy stereotypes) for use as a side-serving of fearmongering to further a Covid-driven agenda of deterring people from visiting what is even by Western European standards a highly safe and low crime part of the world. The northern people can decide, on their own appreciation of risk, who and how many they let bunk up in their homes for trips and gatherings — because this is what the dogs in the street know will happen anyway. Businesses which are permitted to open can also adopt whatever policies they feel are necessary and safe, and many of them know that Southern tourists will be the height of what they get this year.

You should be advocating and calling for the authorities on either side of the border to develop nuance to the laws and restrictions to give businesses a lifeline this summer and to find a balance between short term safety and important long term interests. I feel this would be a much more constructive exercise than trying to stoke up old false stereotypes about the North.

the kelt wrote: »
    It was always going to end up with Europe pulling us into line at some stage.

When Europe opens up its game over here, Dirk in Holland and Paulo in italy aint paying for Ireland to sit at home collecting pup for the forseeable future especially when the numbers dont support remaining locked down.

The irony will be watching the pro lockdown and zero covid fanatics align themselves with the likes of the far right here in calling out interference from Europe when it does happen.

I think it's more down to the EU protecting Dirk and Paulo's EU enshrined right to free movement.

The Europeans have far more concern regarding the protection of constitutional rights than Ireland has.

I have some issues with the EU but I'm very glad that we have membership - they will drag us kicking and screaming back to normality if they have to - we should all be grateful.

Hard to believe that some posters would resort to ranting about how the North is Syria on steroids to facilitate their argument.have been out in the North loads of times and never had a problem. It's common sense as a previous poster just said.

And now we are being softened up to expect another lock down this winter (before we are even out of last winters lock down) for a virus that isn't as deadly as we were first led to believe...a virus we will all be vaccinated against by the end of the summer....and as a community will have a much greater level of community immunity.

This really does begin to feel a bit ominous...I sincerely hope I am wrong.

It's almost as though there's something else going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

This is what never made any sense to me, especially from a "good faith" perspective. The initial harshness of restrictions, you could argue, was justified based on a lack of understating of the level of risk. When things became clearer, and we understood that it was nowhere near as bad as initially speculated, there was no adjustment in reaction. No one every came out and said "It's not as bad as expect, we can calm down a bit". The train of hysteria just continued, without every truly acknowledging that our reactions weren't proportionate to the risk.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

ypres5 wrote: »
    Not to sound rude but you've been rambling on about Brexit and unionism in NI for the past few days now. What relevance is it to the current topic at hand ?

You must be thinking of some other poster mate.

But yeah comment was answering another posters about traipsing across the border for holidays. A topic someone else started yesterday afaik.

But no the North is not "Syria" as one poster who went hyperbolic has it - but has its issues. Something a lot of posters seem absolutely oblivious too. And yes some of those are in the news atm. But more importantly there's restrictions against unnecessary travel on both sides of the order atm. Not that you'd know it on this thread.

But yeah some of what's going on up there atm has relevance to that. Sorry if that bothers you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭darem93

I always go out in the North and no one gives a toss if you’re from the South or not. This isn’t the 80s anymore.

TomTomTim wrote: »
    This is what never made any sense to me

It's really very simple when you realise that the train of hysteria is extremely lucrative to the media types who get to set the narrative, and to social media types who get to decide what "disinformation" is, and to multi-billionaires who may or may not have simultaneous interests in gigantic online retail companies and media outlets.

Anyone who doesn't see it now is either cognitively compromised (not a judgment on them - propaganda is most effective on the educated, after all) or being purposely dishonest.

Just want to say, as a Northerner myself, this whole thing about southern accents and southern reg cars etc inviting some sort of risk in the North is just a long-running trope that bears no resemblance to reality. You will not be attacked for being a southerner and you aren’t going to end up in a riot. The only way either of these things would even come close to being probable is if you literally disregarded the most basic tenets of common sense that anyone applies when visiting a city. You are not going to wander into a flashpoint area or a pub full of hardened violent Loyalists on Sandy Row unless you are being almost unfathomably foolish. You might come across a demonstration or a march, and like anywhere else in the world you simply just move on in case things go up a level — but nobody is going to single you out or attack you for being southern. The situation in the North is fragile and serious, but I don’t think it is either appropriate or in any way reasonable to try exploit those problems (by way of lazy stereotypes) for use as a side-serving of fearmongering to further a Covid-driven agenda of deterring people from visiting what is even by Western European standards a highly safe and low crime part of the world. The northern people can decide, on their own appreciation of risk, who and how many they let bunk up in their homes for trips and gatherings — because this is what the dogs in the street know will happen anyway. Businesses which are permitted to open can also adopt whatever policies they feel are necessary and safe, and many of them know that Southern tourists will be the height of what they get this year.
    You should be advocating and calling for the authorities on either side of the border to develop nuance to the laws and restrictions to give businesses a lifeline this summer and to find a balance between short term safety and important long term interests. I feel this would be a much more constructive exercise than trying to stoke up old false stereotypes about the North.

Wel thanks for the lecture. But I'm more than familiar with the North. Having lived and worked there for an extended period and have family there etc etc.

The post was prompted by some right eegit postings about the North including one that declared that the only trouble ever happened on the 12th.

Tbh most here wouldn't know the sandy row from Rathlin Island. And the sad thing about common sense apparently- is its not that common. Or trying to explain why a significant number in NI decamp every year to get away from the fun that is the annual "celebrations"
    Eitherway the present advice (because of the Pandemic btw) on both sides of the border is too avoid unnecessary travel. I dont see that changing in the short term at least.

Personally if I was in the North atm I would be politely advising any wannabe unvaccinated holiday makers from outside the jurisdiction to take a well organised walk somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Wel thanks for the lecture. But I'm more than familiar with the North. Having lived and worked there for an extended period and have family there etc etc.

The post was prompted by some right eegit postings about the North including one that declared that the only trouble ever happened on the 12th. Tbh most here wouldn't know the sandy row from Rathln Island. And the sad thing about common sense apparently- is its not that common.

At present advice on both sides of the border is too avoid unnecessary travel. I dont see that changing in the short term at least.

Personally if I was in the North atm I would be politely advising any wannabe unvaccinated holiday makers from outside the jurisdiction to take a well organised walk somewhere else.

"My Dad works at Nintendo and he says they're making a Nintendo Playstation.."

It's really very simple when you realise that the train of hysteria is extremely lucrative to the media types who get to set the narrative, and to social media types who get to decide what "disinformation" is, and to multi-billionaires who may or may not have simultaneous interests in gigantic online retail companies and media outlets.

Anyone who doesn't see it now is either cognitively compromised (not a judgment on them - propaganda is most effective on the educated, after all) or being purposely dishonest.

The stock market has boomed - particular in the US. A lot of very rich people have made a lot of money out of Covid and the response to it.

It's going to be a real 'K shaped' recovery.

It is the young and the low-paid that are and will bear the brunt of this. I don't want to live in a society where huge swades have been disenfranchised - not because I'm some bleeding heart but because those societies are horrible places to live and raise kids. We are heading that way though and the comfortable, lockdown cheerleaders working from home are too short-sighted to see what's coming down the track for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

The post was prompted by some right eegit postings about the North including one that declared that the only trouble ever happened on the 12th. Tbh most here wouldn't know the sandy row from Rathln Island. And the sad thing about common sense apparently- is its not that common.

At present advice on both sides of the border is too avoid unnecessary travel. I dont see that changing in the short term at least.

But your not in the North, and any holiday makers would be well within their rights to tell you mind your own business.

niallo27 wrote: »

And yeah the same old put downs that never wash ... embarrassing is right.

But you'll have to excuse me for engaging with the previous poster who said that was exactly what they were looking forward to. Ie PINTS.

You couldn't make it up ...

But yeah deeply sorry I touched a big nerve ..

But your not in the North, and any holiday makers would be well within their rights to tell you mind your own business.

Did I say I was? But yes with family there, having lived and worked there etc - I can tell you I have a hellava better insight there than the total lack of common sense / cop on as detailed in many comments and name calling on here. And don't act surprised if more than myself think the same.

The pints thing has turned into a straw man at this stage but remember just over a year ago we had full freedoms here, and a pint could be enjoyed in company as part of socializing be it in the pub, a wedding, a christening, a party etc. Now all of those things are being taken from us, these very human experiences of enjoying each other’s company and celebrating life. It’s beginning to look very stale and dull here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

It's almost as though there's something else going on.

Any ideas?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

And yeah the same old put downs that never wash ... embarrassing is right.

But you'll have to excuse me for engaging with the previous poster who said that was exactly what they were looking forward to. Ie PINTS.

You couldn't make it up ...

But yeah deeply sorry I touched a big nerve ..

Did I say I was? But yes with family there, having lived and worked there etc - I can tell you I have a hellava better insight there than the total lack of common sense / cop on as detailed in many comments and name calling on here. And don't act surprised if more than myself think the same.

Hilarious, your calling people covid deniers and your giving out about name calling, yeah sure everybody that's going to the North on holiday is a simpleton who doesn't have a clue about the place, thanks very much for setting us simple folks straight.