Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

JMNolan wrote: »
    I don't think that'll happen if the EU green cert kicks in as everyone will just take a Ryanair flight to the continent. Or if we can fly to the UK/drive to NI then Ireland will have to do whatever they do.

We will be in lock down next Winter.

I have no doubt.

The variants will be the reason.

The variants have only become an issue to be feared since the Vaccines were announced.

The population are being conditioned to fearful of them, that much is obvious.

When you have ordinary punters who know more about Variants than they do about the economic cost of lock downs the conditioning has been a success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

I’ll be heading out foreign holiday too. Fcuk this stay cation thing in this communist country we are living in.

Same here, dont get me started on the "stacation" bollox... wasting good hard earned money on it... NO WAY.

South of Italy is my regular / family destination and in late Aug I expect to be there... and then hopefully my cancelled wedding 100% rearranged to be in the Caribbean or somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭arccosh

Click-and-collect was banned so that people would be less inclined to go into town. But the virus cannot be contracted by driving into town and collecting something from a shop. Why were the rules on distancing and face-covering not considered enough?

I still think that is one of the funniest rules brought in. UK here, if it was similar the country simply wouldn't function.
    Ree Raw on a Monday back in the day, and Bondai Beach Club every wed I think it was.... ahh those were the days.... think I remember Redz doing it too during the week on occasion!!

Jesus, some debauchery in Bondai on Wednesdays...
    showpony1 wrote: »
    It is hard to see people "crying out" for yourself & other young teenagers to be falling out of nightclubs after messy midweek nights of €2 drinks in the same way that they would for young children to go back to school.

very relevant development phase... just before the - "just spent 2 days in a session gaff belonging to some random from the smoking area, necking pills and not being able to walk for an few hours after a bit too much of a bump of k" phase...

will still be anti vax though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I’ll be heading out foreign holiday too. Fcuk this stay cation thing in this communist country we are living in.

Jesus. "Communist country"...

Similar to last year on this thread, people complain about the hospitality industry on the one hand and then snub them on the other.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Jim Power on newstalk talking about the lack of cost benefit behind covid restrictions.

The usual texts into the show, “what about all the dead people”

There is no fixing Irish society now, it’s beyond repair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Jim Power on newstalk talking about the lack of cost benefit behind covid restrictions.

The access to cheap credit has destroyed us.

The Government have been allowed to borrow tens of billions against our kid's futures and most people are too dumb to be able to see what's happening.

The sooner tax-rises are implemented the sooner the 'what about the dead people' argument melts away - the longer this is allowed to go on, the higher the bill and the more our indigenous economy gets destroyed.

Criminal negligence by the Government cheered un by mobs of stupid people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Pat is no fool. He could easily have made the point that there is always a cost benefit analysis when assessing new drugs and treatments. Lives are not saved any any price. And as we know, sadly, many of these people were going to die anyway with or without covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

There is definitely something strange in our make up. I'd compare our covid 'one death is one too many' approach with our attitude towards bank repossessions. We'll complain that the banks here are making a mint off us with higher rates yet 2 of the 5 biggest banks here have decided to pull out in the last few months due to our backwards attitudes on repossessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

bear1 wrote: »

The hotel thing is the only good idea he came up with.

Need more to protect the country and get us up and going.

Obviously some of entrance criteria needs a bit of re-doing, but its a good idea 12 months too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

How would you do such a cost benefit analysis then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,573 ✭✭✭Archeron

darem93 wrote: »
    It's like MM is doing everything possible to make himself very unpopular with the Irish public.

Well if we are going to give him credit for anything, this can be it, he is doing a stand up job of making himself the least popular Taoiseach in history.

Even before he showed himself up to be the cowardly Mr Burns shaped piece of tree moss that he is, he was already regarded as the Taoiseach that nobody wanted.

Now he's the Taoiseach nobody wanted who completely f*cked over the country twice! Good on you Michael, you're setting new records all the time.

Smithers, release the hounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Disappointingly a lot of people seem to be lapping it up. An easy deflection from his many failings. Completely ignores the bigger picture. Sure he's saved lives. How many lives? Zero? Three? One hundred? Ten thousand? No one knows. Doesn't matter. He saved lives, how can you criticise that?

This is a huge problem Jim.

No matter what question is asked it’s easily answered with “what about the dead people”

The question next year will be why does Ireland not have money to fund a health service?

The answer can always be “what about the dead people”

It’s a worrying development for democracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭Seweryn

charlie14 wrote: »
    Actually the numbers you are using are not "our national official numbers".
    The Central Statistics Office is the national statistical agency of Ireland and recognised by Eurostat, a Directorate-General of the European Commission as such.
    These are still not "my numbers" and the most reliable numbers we have at present. What is annoying here, you are trying to dig a hole for no reason. If you have more reliable source of data, please present it rather than keeping bashing me for showing the available numbers.
    What makes your numbers potentially "unfaithful" is that you used the same format on another thread, (Admittedly I only did a quick search, but could not find those charts. Did you perhaps delete them?), where also using unofficial and incomplete data your figures showed negative excess deaths for Sweden.
    No, I did not delete them. But I understand you are convinced that I did.
    Same for Sweden I used the available (at the time) source of info.
    When the completed official figures were published, the excess death figures compared to 2019 were 9,175 (+10.3%). Compared to the prior 5 year average excess deaths were 6,979 (+7.7%).
    Fair to say I believe pretty much "drama killer" figures.
    That is unless you have another cause for those excess deaths other than Covid-19?
    What makes your numbers unfaithful is that you have picked the lowest death rate year in the last 44 years (not even taking adjustment for population) and compared it with 2020. I can tell you one thing - if you pick any year between 1977 and 2020 and compare it with 2019, the death figures will appear higher. How is that a surprise?
    I would also look on -5.6% excess deaths in a positive way if I had faith in your figures, but I suspect for reasons other than yours.
    Suspect whatever you want. Realistically, I see Irish figures for 2020 are a bit higher than in my table and that is why I have previously allowed the additional numbers to the list (despite over 3 months passing after the year ended). I guess we are within +/- 3 to 5 % regardless, which is pretty normal year. If you look at our previous years there are always fluctuations between the years with a few % difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

arccosh wrote: »
    he's dead right, **** Scillatchi

Serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-9475955/Pfizer-CEO-says-Covid-vaccine-dose-needed-soon-six-months.html

Pfizer CEO says a THIRD Covid vaccine dose will be needed as soon as six months after someone receives two shots - with annual vaccinations to follow

Thats a sweet gig, sign up all of humanity to a $120 a year subscription. I wonder what effect this will have on the removal of restrictions and a return to the OLD normality when this is all over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-9475955/Pfizer-CEO-says-Covid-vaccine-dose-needed-soon-six-months.html

Pfizer CEO says a THIRD Covid vaccine dose will be needed as soon as six months after someone receives two shots - with annual vaccinations to follow

Thats a sweet gig, sign up all of humanity to a $120 a year subscription. I wonder what effect this will have on the removal of restrictions and a return to the OLD normality when this is all over.

Will it mean we will be locked up in our cage for Christmas or will we have a meaningful Christmas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

No hospitality even outdoor until June or July according to Leo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

KrustyUCC wrote: »

that will change fairly quick when we are all going to the north.. heard a guy on bbc there saying they are taking bookgs from dundalk and drogheda. no one is going to obey this rubbis any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

We will be in lock down next Winter.

I have no doubt.

The variants will be the reason.

The variants have only become an issue to be feared since the Vaccines were announced.

The population are being conditioned to fearful of them, that much is obvious.

When you have ordinary punters who know more about Variants than they do about the economic cost of lock downs the conditioning has been a success.

It was like clockwork too. The vaccines were announced, and within a day or two suddenly there's all these variants to worry about. And people wonder why there's "conspiracy theorists" in society.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

that will change fairly quick when we are all going to the north.. heard a guy on bbc there saying they are taking bookgs from dundalk and drogheda. no one is going to obey this rubbis any more.

We're in Dublin and we'll be looking for a week up there in the summer soon enough

TomTomTim wrote: »
    It was like clockwork too. The vaccines were announced, and within a day or two suddenly there's all these variants to worry about. And people wonder why there's "conspiracy theorists" in society.

Or maybe they appeared at roughly the same time.......

Are you putting forward a theory that the higher echelons of government have conspired to pretend there are different variants, all to keep the common man under restrictions? Because there's a word to describe people who come up with that kind of conjecture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

KrustyUCC wrote: »

Did anyone expect hospitality open before June Bank Holiday? All the openings happen after Bank Holidays, it's just a question of whether we can get some indoor allowed in June or not, probably not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Penfailed wrote: »
    That's complete nonsense.

Which bit Penfailed? That this seasons rioting has already started up North or some seem to think a trip up North will be no bother even with the current situation etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Where did you used to go to that had 2€ pints?

I have every sympathy with young people having their lives destroyed for a virus that doesn’t effect them.

Utterly shameful what has happened to them. And nobody has stood up for them.

Do you really believe that "young people" do not have parents, siblings, grandparents and friends of their own age with underlying conditions etc who the virus does affect?

Or do you somehow think 'young people' live in some Logan's Run type dystopian reality?

And no one is happy that people of all ages and especially younger age groups lives have been curtailed ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

gozunda wrote: »
    Which bit Penfailed? That this seasons rioting has already started up North or some seem to think a trip up North will be no bother even with the current situation etc?

Well that’s an interesting insight into an extremely risk averse mind. So each year during the marching season the whole of the North has no visitors or tourists?

Plenty will travel and those that don’t won’t be avoiding it because of isolated rioting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

One thing some of newly enthusiastic wannabe border Crossers haven't really thought out imho - is the annual riot season there which has already started and the fact that Southern registrations are always a big hit especially at that time of the year. And guess what - its not just one weekend either.

I've driven the length of the north in a southern registered car at all times of the year. Not once have I been targeted because of this. The 'annual riot season' as you call it is much less significant than the time of Drumcree. It's isolated to a couple of hotspots where tourists aren't likely to be going anyway.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Penfailed wrote: »
    I've driven the length of the north in a southern registered car at all times of the year. Not once have I been targeted because of this. The 'annual riot season' as you call it is much less significant than the time of Drumcree. It's isolated to a couple of hotspots where tourists aren't likely to be going anyway.

Are you telling me that shankill road isn't a tourist hotspot who'd have thunk? This whole idea of framing northern ireland to be like the gaza strip is ridiculous and you're right to call it out