Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random EV thoughts.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,005 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

ELM327 wrote: »
    So, "Random EV Thought"
    I'd love to fly over to the UK, buy this https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ford-F-250/193964305830 pickup and put this twizy in the back https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2012-Renault-Twizy-Urban-Battery-Owned-Full-Service-History/224359104033

A 7.3l Diesel, the engine must weigh more than the rest of the truck! :eek:

Do an electric conversion of the pickup and give us a before and after of the VRT estimate :D

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,121 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Good lord no. The IDI is the best part of that truck. I had one before. Non turbo, 180bhp but will never break down and pull down a house.

VRT is 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭lukas8888

I'm definitely for focusing the subsidies on lower priced cars to force manufactuers to focus on that segment, but it seems that £35k might be too low given the levels of adoption in the UK at the moment

Am I right in saying they also cut £500 from the grant, I'm fairly sure it used to be £3000?

Hopefully the Irish government doesn't get any ideas about cutting the SEAI grant
    Sunday business post front page story speculating that the SEAI 5k grant is to be scrapped for cars costing more than 50K.
    i can see the logic but hopefully they will let it run until end of 21 as planned, or anyone with cars over the threshold for late summer delivery might have to find another 5K.My new car is due in July so i am hoping for no change for some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,326 ✭✭✭✭KCross

lukas8888 wrote: »
    Sunday business post front page story speculating that the SEAI 5k grant is to be scrapped for cars costing more than 50K.
    i can see the logic but hopefully they will let it run until end of 21 as planned, or anyone with cars over the threshold for late summer delivery might have to find another 5K.My new car is due in July so i am hoping for no change for some time.

Not at all suprising if it does happen. The UK appear to be doing the same thing.

The UK government have been gradually reducing their EV grants over the last few years and we have been following closely behind with VRT relief on PHEV's now gone. Capping the grant is a logical next step to force the OEM's to reduce their prices and hopefully not just target the high end market to meet their emissions targets.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I couldn’t care less what EV hits the road once it hits the road, we are taking incentives away while still at way too low a penetration rate and there were plenty of incentives we never went with.
    ICE cars will continue to dominate if this erosion of incentives continue, stupid idiots that be:rolleyes:

slave1 wrote: »
    I couldn’t care less what EV hits the road once it hits the road, we are taking incentives away while still at way too low a penetration rate and there were plenty of incentives we never went with.
    ICE cars will continue to dominate if this erosion of incentives continue, stupid idiots that be:rolleyes:
    Many of the PHEVs here are only bought for the Benefit in Kind reductions and grants. They never plug in except where it allows them to get a free parking space on the ground floor in parking houses. Remove incentives for PHEVs and keep the incentives for the EVs under 40 or 50k.

I was listening to the Renaulution presenatation and they were happy to admit that their margin on their electrified vehicles was much higher than for ICE cars. If we are going to make fortunes for Manufacturers it should be directed at consumers who actually due run their cars without burning petrol/diesel.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

Many of the PHEVs here are only bought for the Benefit in Kind reductions and grants. They never plug in except where it allows them to get a free parking space on the ground floor in parking houses. Remove incentives for PHEVs and keep the incentives for the EVs under 40 or 50k

We don't have a BIK exemption for PHEVs so we never really had the problem of tax dodge PHEV's like was seen in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

This was well flagged in the budget last October.

liamog wrote: »
    We don't have a BIK exemption for PHEVs so we never really had the problem of tax dodge PHEV's like was seen in the UK.

There was one in 2018 afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,231 ✭✭✭Kramer

Sunday business post front page story speculating that the SEAI 5k grant is to be scrapped for cars costing more than 50K

That could push a non white, entry level Model 3 SR+, with FSD, up to close to €65k :eek:.
    Ouch :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,724 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

This was well flagged in the budget last October.

Was it? The VRT rebate removal was for sure, but I don’t remember anything about the SEAI grant being removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭lukas8888

MJohnston wrote: »
    Was it? The VRT rebate removal was for sure, but I don’t remember anything about the SEAI grant being removed
    The SEAI grant was only guaranteed to run until end of this year.My reading of the vague Business Post story suggests that the grant might expire in July. This would seriously impact any new buyers with cars ordered for delivery in July onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Kramer wrote: »
    That could push a non white, entry level Model 3 SR+, with FSD, up to close to €65k :eek:.

Anyone ordering FSD at the same time as they order their new Tesla needs their head examining as they'll have to pay additional VRT for a €7,500 feature that they can simply buy VRT free the day they collect their car.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

There was one in 2018 afaik.

The BIK Exemption was introduced in the Finance Act 2017. It applied solely to electric vehicles using the definition
    ‘electric vehicle’ means a vehicle that derives its motive power exclusively from an electric motor;”,

It was amended in 2018, to
    “(iv) notwithstanding subparagraph (ii), where a car made available during the period 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021 is an electric vehicle and the original market value of the car does not exceed €50,000, no amount shall be treated as emoluments of the employment,

(v) notwithstanding subparagraph (ii), where—

(I) a car made available to an employee during the period 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2020 is an electric vehicle,

(II) the original market value of the car exceeds €50,000, and

(III) the car was first made available to the employee during the period 10 October 2017 to 9 October 2018,

no amount shall be treated as emoluments of the employment, and

(vi) where a car made available during the period 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021 is an electric vehicle and the original market value of the car exceeds €50,000, the cash equivalent of the benefit of the car ascertained under subsection (3)(a) or (4)(a), as the case may be, shall be computed on the original market value of the car reduced by €50,000.”.

So between Jan 1st 2018 and Dec 31st 2019, there was a BIK exemption for electric vehicles, after Jan 1st 2019 it only applies to the first €50,000 of the original market value.

They've pushed the expiry date out a few years. It could be argued that a series hybrid such as the I3 REX is eligible under the finance act definition of an EV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭cannco253

https://www.volkswagen-newsroom.com/en/press-releases/initial-contact-the-mobile-charging-robot-presenting-a-vision-6736

I haven't heard any mention of these mobile charging robots anywhere, I wonder how much of this is dreaming.
    Lots of Terminator themed music in the video...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭kop-end

Has anyone heard any update on Skoda Enyaq availability this year? I Heard the 2000pcs for Europe have been booked since launch day but also hearing of some cancellations of those who jumped into the ID4 or holding for Ioniq 5
    I rang 2 Skoda dealers this morning but both had no update.

I accidently ended up in a traffic light grand prix situation with a Garda car yesterday. At the first set of lights he wasn't expecting it and I'd left them for dust before hitting the legal speed limit. At the second set he was revving the engine like a boy racer. Wifey told me to back off when I hit 45km/h instead of carrying on to 60km/h

And by the 3rd set of lights he'd been arrested :)

Brave sould racing the guards, I always figure they're trying to bump up the numbers when they start messing about trying to wind people up

And by the 3rd set of lights he'd been arrested :)

Brave sould racing the guards, I always figure they're trying to bump up the numbers when they start messing about trying to wind people up

In fairness, I wasn't the one doing the racing. I was just doing my normal accelerate from a standstill to the speed limit :D

It's pretty difficult to resist racing off from the line, especially when I see any cars with aftermarket spoilers or exhaust kits attached :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,724 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

It's pretty difficult to resist racing off from the line, especially when I see any cars with aftermarket spoilers or exhaust kits attached :D

It's not quite physically impossible to avoid beating most ICE cars off the line, but it's close. Anytime I have a Garda beside me at the lights, I turn on the i3's Eco Pro+ mode because it significantly limits acceleration. You never know what nonsense law they'd conjure up to give you a fine if they were in a bad mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Orebro

It's difficult to resist the traffic light grand prix even in the humble Leaf, in the City you're just gone before most ICE have left the clutch out :D

Orebro wrote: »
    It's difficult to resist the traffic light grand prix even in the humble Leaf, in the City you're just gone before most ICE have left the clutch out :D

I've seen quite a few Audi and BMW drivers in my rear view mirror with their jaws around their ankles as they saw a Leaf speed away from them at the traffic lights :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

I've seen quite a few Audi and BMW drivers in my rear view mirror with their jaws around their ankles as they saw a Leaf speed away from them at the traffic lights :D

It's the best thing you will do for the environment today.

Those aftermarket attachments make the cat slower. There’s a reason there “aftermarket” if a better slip stream could be achieved by a Bora with a spoiler VW would have fitted one. Also big bore exhausts are actually illegal due to noise and emissions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,231 ✭✭✭Kramer

Anyone ordering FSD at the same time as they order their new Tesla needs their head examining as they'll have to pay additional VRT for a €7,500 feature that they can simply buy VRT free the day they collect their car.

OK, I'll change it for you.........
    That could push a non white, entry level Model 3 SR+, with FSD (added later), up to close to €65k :eek:.

:P.

Even if Elon finally passes on the $3k he's saving on the cheaper batteries, to Irish customers, which he did for €uropean buyers already, it'll still struggle to come in sub €50k in non white, so miss out on the €5k grant.

I'd say Hyundai/Kia/VW have more leeway to stay within the €50k too - especially VW, no tarriff on their €uropean produced cars.

The Berlin facility will allow Elon to avoid that 10% tarriff too. Maybe then Model 3 SRs will be safe, until they get rid of the grant entirely, which won't be long either IMO :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Those aftermarket attachments make the cat slower

1qr0.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Orebro

It's one of the first things that turned my attention to the world of EVs after I had my arse handed to me at the lights by a Leaf around 5 years ago, serious WTF moment - had always assumed they were as slow as molasses before that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,121 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

It's the best thing you will do for the environment today.
    The best thing you can do for the environment is a) not buy any new car and b) walk everywhere