If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭IQO

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Yeah I was I Mexico is in November and it was the same as you described. The only people I saw not wearing masks outside were the odd junkies in mexico city and countless Americans along the Mayan Riviera... But what would one expect from the ignorant pigs north of the Mexican border :D
    Haha yes, I wrote Americans first and then replaced it with 'tourists' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

IQO wrote: »
    I flew to the same country, and also through Amsterdam, last Wednesday. All good, 28c degrees here, just had a meal outside, and had long awaited haircut yesterday. Felt very safe during the flights only the passport control on arrival took almost two hours, which is not good covid wise.

Although much can be said about how Mexico is handling the coronavirus crisis, everything seems to be open (depending on the region) with common sense. Good covid protocols in hotels and restaurants. Masks are worn everywhere on the streets (I've only seen a handful tourists ignoring this rule), and almost 99% of people are also wearing them over their nose, which is a percentage you won't see in Ireland.

Further impressions of my experience at Dublin airport, regarding the Garda checkpoints:
    - More or less all cars were being checked around 9am (when I arrived)
    - Buses didn't get checked, probably too many commuters on then and it would too much disrupt services
    - Its been said before in this thread, but have a look at the departure board - are most flights leaving from T1 or T2? In my case I was flying from T1 but went through security in T2, where the next flight was leaving only 3 hours later. Security operates throughout the day, regardless if flights are leaving. I went through within minutes, and the Garda checkpoint was unmanned (had a look before in T1 and Garda was checking outgoing passengers there. I had some sort of reason for travel but preferred not to go into any discussion, which worked out well this way).

I also think that if one would use the fast track security option you would avoid the Garda checkpoints all together, as they are situated in front of the normal security checks.

Let me know if anyone has some specific questions about my recent travels, cheers.

Great post & very informative. Thanks a million?

Were cars that were headed to the airport car parks being checked did you notice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

I never knew it was possible to enter Terminal 1 from Terminal 2 after security. Very interesting.

So let's say you are catching a flight from Terminal 1 - can you enter Terminal 2 and go through security there? and then head towards Terminal 1 to catch your flight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

acequion wrote: »
    But RobitTV, think about it for a minute! Is it not outlandish that a normal, law abiding, tax paying citizen would be stopped by Gardai while basically going about his business in the "freedom of movement" EU?? And with his negative PCR to hand! I can well understand how some people are getting indignant. Or unprepared. Tbh I'd find it hard to keep myself in check so outraged am I over this violation of fundamental rights! But my desire to escape this dump would keep me quiet and play along.

It's actually humiliating that Irish people are pushed so far that they have to do crazy things like booking unnecessary medical /dental appointments or go all the way up to Belfast [for those of us in the bottom of Ireland] just to exercise their rights. Be it for a holiday, to see a loved one, check on a foreign property, get a needed break away, the contempt perpetuated by the media and posters on social media with remarks like "going on a jolly", "jetting off to Lanzo" is utterly contemptible imo and it's dreadful to see so many people of that ilk in Ireland. That attitude is non existent everywhere else. This is indeed a sad, miserable little backwater of a country. Roll on retirement that I can get out of here for good!

Where in the name of feq do you think that only Ireland has restrictions on flying for holiday or leisure purposes?

Next door in the UK - its actually currently illegal to head off on holidays or other leisure purposes.. In Austria there is an effective a lockdown with tourism and leisure travel not being possible and hotels are closed to leisure travellers/tourists. As for Germany - it does not allow passengers to travel from Ireland to Germany, with the exception of those transiting through a German airport to a non-Schengen destination. The UK is on Germany's list of 'virus variant areas', which makes it near impossible to enter, except in 'individual, well-founded case. The list goes on.

So yeah it looks like in many instances - "freedom of movement" is off the books atm

As for this gem
    This is indeed a sad, miserable little backwater of a country. Roll on retirement that I can get out of here for good!

Afaik and you'll be happy to hear that there's no restrictions on one way travel for emigration purposes from here . Mind the door....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

RobitTV wrote: »
    I never knew it was possible to enter Terminal 1 from Terminal 2 after security. Very interesting.

So let's say you are catching a flight from Terminal 1 - can you enter Terminal 2 and go through security there? and then head towards Terminal 1 to catch your flight?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭JoeExotic81

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Jaysus not this one again :rolleyes:

Benefits of the ignore button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tazz T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭IQO

RobitTV wrote: »

Yes that was always possible, and is what I did.

Hilariously Dublin Airport also suggests that Terminal 2 is the best option when flying out of the 300 gates, so I was basically following their advice.

https://twitter.com/dublinairport/status/1164147906930249728

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Benefits of the ignore button.

Ignore button or not i’m sure most people ignore posts from certain posters at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Ignore button or not i’m sure most people ignore posts from certain posters at this stage.

It's great really. It allows people to live in an alternative universe devoid of challenges to their preconceived notions.

People who say "ignore button is great" tend to read the post so I'm not sure what good it serves them.

"It's impossible to catch it on a plane statistically" is a false statement.

Don't let the truth get in the way. Ignore or don't ignore it's still false.

https://twitter.com/amymaxmen/status/1320811661717131264?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭fm

"The source case is still not known but the chain of transmission after the plane landed here resulted in 59 cases, driven by social gathering"

So the flight is responsible for 59 cases? Nothing to do with social activity after?

Any more studies done last year as this one seems to be the only one rolled out every so often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭acequion

gozunda wrote: »
    Where in the name of feq do you think that only Ireland has restrictions on flying for holiday or leisure purposes?

Next door in the UK - its actually currently illegal to head off on holidays or other leisure purposes.. In Austria there is an effective a lockdown with tourism and leisure travel not being possible and hotels are closed to leisure travellers/tourists. As for Germany - it does not allow passengers to travel from Ireland to Germany, with the exception of those transiting through a German airport to a non-Schengen destination. The UK is on Germany's list of 'virus variant areas', which makes it near impossible to enter, except in 'individual, well-founded case. The list goes on.

So yeah it looks like in many instances - "freedom of movement" is off the books atm

As for this gem

Afaik and you'll be happy to hear that there's no restrictions on one way travel for emigration purposes from here . Mind the door....

First off I neither appreciate your tone nor your attitude and generally don't bother talking to posters who're just trying to provoke.

As for your last comment, be very careful what you wish for! While you might cheerlead draconian restrictions on movement and rudely encourage me, who you don't even know, to emigrate, these policies could well spark another wave of emigration out of here in the foreseeable taking away our best and brightest as has happened over and over in our past.

And while you might wish that every place was as restricted as here, the plain fact is that it's not. Yes a few countries have needed to impose temporary travel bans and no the list does not go on. And there is no other EU country fining their citizens for leaving. The UK are no longer in the EU however their leaders are keen to reassure their citizens that democratic principles still prevail and hence have provided a roadmap back to normality. We have none of that here and have no idea how long these fines will continue or if the noose will be tightened further on non essential travel. And that hugely bothers some of us.

Too bad if you can neither understand or respect other viewpoints apart from your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭a clanger

With the latest vaccine news of the AZ jab being 'suspended'
    It will certainly delay any relaxation of travel restrictions, NPHET have their triple lock of conditions to enable relaxation and I believe vaccination progress is the 3rd lock as such. So fines and ban on 'non-essential' here to stay for foreseeable. It seems our Govt want us in the longest most restrictive regime indefinitely.
    Possible trip to Spain this week for work , looking forward to a haircut and a visit to a cafe. I believe they have an 11pm curfew. Need a break from nonsense and fear mongering and ineptitude of this Govt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

Blut2 wrote: »
    100%. Everyone on the plane has had a negative covid test at the maximum of 72 hours ago, the entire cabin's air is filtered every 2 minutes, and the cabin crew tell anyone who isn't wearing their mask correctly (or who takes it off) to put it back on immediately. Its a much much safer environment.

Which is born out in the figures also to be fair - its been almost impossible to catch covid on a plane in the last year, statistically.
    i would be more worried about getting on a boeing 737 max than catching covid on the plane being honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

The situation in Ireland is getting worse. They have now suspended the rollout of the AstraZeneca vaccine and the case numbers are increasing a small bit.

NPHET are going to recommend no further relaxation of measures for a long time now. April 5th isn't going to happen.

April 5th was nothing worth waiting for to be honest.

Best thing to do is to emigrate and enjoy a half normal life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

fm wrote: »
    "The source case is still not known but the chain of transmission after the plane landed here resulted in 59 cases, driven by social gathering"

So the flight is responsible for 59 cases? Nothing to do with social activity after?

Any more studies done last year as this one seems to be the only one rolled out every so often?

Sorry they did genome sequencing and 3 groups of people from 3 continents showed that a single point source infection was responsible. i.e the plane.

By all means carry on regardless.
    Whole genome sequencing and analysis was performed on five available samples, which came from one case travelling from one continent, three cases travelling from a different continent and one case travelling from a third continent. All five samples were identified as belonging to SARS-CoV-2 viral lineage B.1.36 (PANGOLIN nomenclature, v2.0.7). Pairwise comparison of the nucleotide sequences showed more than 99% homology across the entire viral genome, strongly suggesting a single point source of infection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

It's great really. It allows people to live in an alternative universe devoid of challenges to their preconceived notions.

People who say "ignore button is great" tend to read the post so I'm not sure what good it serves them.

"It's impossible to catch it on a plane statistically" is a false statement.

Don't let the truth get in the way. Ignore or don't ignore it's still false.

https://twitter.com/amymaxmen/status/1320811661717131264?s=20

Getting a bit defensive there caveat? Not sure why you are posting that usual doom and gloom waffle in reply to my post for because i don’t care if it’s true or not. I won’t be flying until the masses and myself are vaccinated anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

First off I neither appreciate your tone nor your attitude and generally don't bother talking to posters who're just trying to provoke.

As for your last comment, be very careful what you wish for! While you might cheerlead draconian restrictions on movement and rudely encourage me, who you don't even know, to emigrate, these policies could well spark another wave of emigration out of here in the foreseeable taking away our best and brightest as has happened over and over in our past.

And while you might wish that every place was as restricted as here, the plain fact is that it's not. Yes a few countries have needed to impose temporary travel bans and no the list does not go on. And there is no other EU country fining their citizens for leaving. The UK are no longer in the EU however their leaders are keen to reassure their citizens that democratic principles still prevail and hence have provided a roadmap back to normality. We have none of that here and have no idea how long these fines will continue or if the noose will be tightened further on non essential travel. And that hugely bothers some of us.

Too bad if you can neither understand or respect other viewpoints apart from your own.

You were asked before about the apparent contradiction between your stance on wanting schools to close, and then to stay closed, because of the dangers of the virus, but then being in favour of unrestricted travel for everyone.

Would it be the case, in your expert opinion then, that maybe the virus is too dangerous for children to attend school, except for if they were commuting internationally in an enclosed metal tube to get there? In which case going to school by plane makes them safe?

I'm just trying to figure it out.

There are other posters on here who appear to be in favour of open travel too. But then they point out "look over there - people are ignoring other restrictions. That's very bad". I don't understand that particular dissonance - that they understand that the virus is dangerous and that people shouldn't be doing certain things, but then appear to think that it's not dangerous at all when it comes to travel restrictions. I can rationalise the covid deniers in the sense that they are consistent. I don't agree with them but they are at least consistent.

Fair enough if there are people living in what they consider to be a shithole part of the country that they want to escape from then I can understand that to a point - but that issue is the same whether there is covid or no covid. And maybe the current situation will be a benefit to them in the sense that it can afford them the opportunity to assess their life choices and perhaps be a motivation for future change. If you don't want to live where you are living then change that. Someone else would probably like to live there instead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

If you are traveling and need a test avoid ROCDOC in the airport had many problems with them there test are not accepted everywhere double check especially for international.
    On an earlier ocassion the gave me a false positive alerting me 2 weeks later it was negitive after stress of isolation

Avoid avoid I only went back because they gave me a free voucher.

I had to be tested at that airport or go back to ireland paid €90 + missed my connection my insurance is picking up the tab confirmed ROCDOC have a dont give a ucfk policy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

3. Fly from Belfast - By July intra - county travel should be permitted (not a guarantee the way things are going with NPHET) so a trip to Belfast is totally allowed. Northern Ireland will have foreign travel permitted by that stage so that also would be restriction free. However I would presume a lot of people are using the flights they postponed from last year so this might not be feasible. Financially probably being the most obvious reason.

The good news is Ryanair announced they are to re start 8 routes from Belfast. Looks like we will all be meeting in Belfast Airport for a pint.

Actually, are many planning a few days in the UK in June? A west end show would be lovely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

FrStone wrote: »
    The good news is Ryanair announced they are to re start 8 routes from Belfast. Looks like we will all be meeting in Belfast Airport for a pint.

Actually, are many planning a few days in the UK in June? A west end show would be lovely!

thinking the same meself...will be a hell of alot more open in the uk in june than here anyway thats almost guranteed...

Sorry they did genome sequencing and 3 groups of people from 3 continents showed that a single point source infection was responsible. i.e the plane.

Ok fair enough, the evidence there is overwhelming that the source was the plane. However there is no single indoor space where humans are gathered that is 100% safe. But the fact remains that some are a lot safer than others and aircraft with the HEPA filtering systems are among the safest. This is borne out by the very low incidence of in flight infection worldwide. This here study claims that chances of catching it on an average two hour flight are 1 in 4,300 and the odds are halved to 1 in 7,700 if the middle seat is left empty.

https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/2020-08-05/is-it-safe-to-fly-here-are-the-odds-of-catching-covid-on-a-plane

So you're right that Covid can be caught on a plane but if the above odds are correct, chances are slim.

You were asked before about the apparent contradiction between your stance on wanting schools to close, and then to stay closed, because of the dangers of the virus, but then being in favour of unrestricted travel for everyone.

Would it be the case, in your expert opinion then, that maybe the virus is too dangerous for children to attend school, except for if they were commuting internationally in an enclosed metal tube to get there? In which case going to school by plane makes them safe?

I'm just trying to figure it out.

There are other posters on here who appear to be in favour of open travel too. But then they point out "look over there - people are ignoring other restrictions. That's very bad". I don't understand that particular dissonance - that they understand that the virus is dangerous and that people shouldn't be doing certain things, but then appear to think that it's not dangerous at all when it comes to travel restrictions. I can rationalise the covid deniers in the sense that they are consistent. I don't agree with them but they are at least consistent.

Fair enough if there are people living in what they consider to be a shithole part of the country that they want to escape from then I can understand that to a point - but that issue is the same whether there is covid or no covid. And maybe the current situation will be a benefit to them in the sense that it can afford them the opportunity to assess their life choices and perhaps be a motivation for future change. If you don't want to live where you are living then change that. Someone else would probably like to live there instead of you.

So Donald, you're back trying to stir up another fight with me by dredging up old stuff, that's very interesting!

I actually stopped reading your post after the first provocative paragraph.

However, kindly provide evidence of where in this thread I ever mentioned a view regarding the closure or otherwise of schools? Why would anybody discuss same on a travel thread? And for the record I have never supported unrestricted travel.

I'm a teacher and have discussed issued related to schools on the relevant threads so if you want to debate with me on those threads, by all means be my guest. You'll have to go way back though as I haven't discussed anything recently.

On this thread, like everybody else I discuss travel. You have one view and I have another. Tit for tat rows are tiresome and don't interest me. So if you can't provide the evidence requested, this exchange will end here.

Ok fair enough, the evidence there is overwhelming that the source was the plane. However there is no single indoor space where humans are gathered that is 100% safe. But the fact remains that some are a lot safer than others and aircraft with the HEPA filtering systems are among the safest. This is borne out by the very low incidence of in flight infection worldwide. This here study claims that chances of catching it on an average two hour flight are 1 in 4,300 and the odds are halved to 1 in 7,700 if the middle seat is left empty.

https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/2020-08-05/is-it-safe-to-fly-here-are-the-odds-of-catching-covid-on-a-plane

So you're right that Covid can be caught on a plane but if the above odds are correct, chances are slim.
    So yes you certainly could get infected on a plane

12 months into this and some people still don't appear understand that travel and movement restrictions are not meant for the benefit of preventing the specific individuals traveling from begin infected whilst traveling. It is to stop/slow the spread of the virus on a macro level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

FrStone wrote: »

Will be heading over for a gig definitely, not even fussy about what it is, anything I even semi like and ill be there.

I imagine the atmosphere will be euphoric.

So Donald, you're back trying to stir up another fight with me by dredging up old stuff, that's very interesting!

I actually stopped reading your post after the first provocative paragraph.

However, kindly provide evidence of where in this thread I ever mentioned a view regarding the closure or otherwise of schools? Why would anybody discuss same on a travel thread? And for the record I have never supported unrestricted travel.

I'm a teacher and have discussed issued related to schools on the relevant threads so if you want to debate with me on those threads, by all means be my guest. You'll have to go way back though as I haven't discussed anything recently.

On this thread, like everybody else I discuss travel. You have one view and I have another. Tit for tat rows are tiresome and don't interest me. So if you can't provide the evidence requested, this exchange will end here.

So you want some "evidence" but on the condition that it is only taken from this thread and not what you post which is outright contradictory on other threads? Is this part of the same logical dissonance that what goes on "over there" has a different set of alternate facts to the ones that are here? And that mental segregation allows one to choose which set one wants to suit their argument for any particular case - even if contradictory?

How do you flip-flop between a stance that the virus isn't that big of a deal and therefore we should be all allowed to travel willy nilly and the below from a few weeks ago:
    acequion wrote:
    There needs to be one hell of a fight put up and it needs to be stopped. Apart from the absolute certainty, with current numbers, that some of us will catch it and perhaps spread it with god knows what consequences, there is no hope of getting numbers back down to manageable levels and getting some semblance of normality back without a really strict lockdown for the next few weeks. It is a truly repugnant Govt decision and fair play to those few schools who are refusing to open.

(https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=115841312&postcount=770)

It is a valid question. I'm trying to understand the dissonance that is going on and to ascertain whether or not there is any underlying logical argument there at all that allows you to do it? You seem to be aware of the potential consequences of a teacher catching it and spreading it locally, but unaware of the consequences of international travellers catching it (or variants) and bringing it in. To me, a local outbreak is far less serious on a macro level because it can be contained. In the UK, they had a case recently where they needed hundreds of people to work on frantically tracking down a recent arrival from Brazil.

I can follow the arguments of those who might say that schools and travel should be fully stopped/closed.

I can follow the arguments of those who say that both schools and travel should be fully open.

I can also follow the argument that schools are more essential than leisure travel and therefore would be a higher priority to open.

I just cannot follow your argument. It seems very contradictory. I am giving you an opportunity to clarify. You might have some logic behind it.

Not looking for your permission, don't worry.

Maybe it was the 12 hour lay over in the airport some of them did. The 59 number is ridiculous really, just trying to bulk up the number for maximum effect. The hse went out looking for the answer they wanted no doubt to back up the Nphet anti travel advice.
    There is no doubt you risk catching a virus in any indoor setting so what do we do? Never meet inside again or make as safe as possible?

Again have there been any other studies done on this? Surely there is a lot more worldwide?

Maybe there should do a study on people traveling on trains, buses and cars around this country to prove it contributed to the spread at Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Ridiculous leaping hysteria.

Dublin airport passenger numbers 2020 - 7.4m people, lets remove the first 3 months, now its 3.3m people.

13 people / 3.3m people = 0.00039%

Covid cases in Ireland 2020 = 91,000 (would be over 200k today but lets be kind and stop at 31 Dec 2020)

59 cases / 91,000 cases = 0.064% of cases.

If that flight is the best we can muster to justify this rubbish you would be better justified to enforce quarantine on people after a trip to the supermarket. But let's not give them any ideas.

Statistically negligible, and this is before all passengers required a negative test as well!

The original posters point stands, the airport and a plane is probably one of the safest indoor environments you could be in at the moment.

And add pcr testing and vaccinated people to that in the summer and chances are alot slimmer