If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

RobitTV wrote: »
    NPHET are going to lose the plot over that

Definitely

Also very important to note that it seems this pass will allow travel under 3 provisos:

1) Proof of Vaccination

2) Recovery from previous positive Covid diagnosis. (Time frame will be interesting here. Within last 6 months would be my guess)

3) Recent negative PCR test.

This information is likely to get lost in translation next week when this is branded as a “vaccine passport” by the media etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭fm

Knowing this government they will agree to adopt this system along with their own rules-home quarantine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Would be nice to work abroad right now. Jealous of the people who have moved away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

acequion wrote: »
    Fair play to her. Jesus, fingers crossed that those in power recover their senses before it's too late.

Yes absolutely well done to Regina Doherty on this

Would be nice to work abroad right now. Jealous of the people who have moved away.

You can still move abroad :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

acequion wrote: »
    Fair play to her. Jesus, fingers crossed that those in power recover their senses before it's too late.

Regina at the next GE will be running as a candidate in the constituency where Dublin airport is located. I suspect she has an eye on votes. Although if it goes towards ending some of the madness great.

bubblypop wrote: »
    You can still move abroad :)

Might move abroad for a haircut and return home :D

Regina at the next GE will be running as a candidate in the constituency where Dublin airport is located. I suspect she has an eye on votes. Although if it goes towards ending some of the madness great.

They all have an eye on votes. Fair play to her and that man from Clare McNamara who has also railed against this nonsense.

Further update - saw six people travel to Marbella this week on social media. Sign me up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭fm

A journalist wanting to fly, things are looking up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,684 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

He's right, Supermarket/shopping centres were packed today, people perusing the cards and flowers for Mother's day..
    Some shops were limiting the numbers of people entering the stores, leading to queues of people gathering outside...
    Yet you'll get hammered with huge €€fines for going to the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

When the EU came up with this idea a few weeks ago for the summer NPHET comments were “ Now is not the time to be thinking about this” or something in those lines, not sure of the exact words.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    He's right, Supermarket/shopping centres were packed today, people perusing the cards and flowers for Mother's day..
    Some shops were limiting the numbers of people entering the stores, leading to queues of people gathering outside...
    Yet you'll get hammered with huge €€fines for going to the airport.

But garda, greeting cards and flowers are essential purchases!

(Meanwhile baby and children’s clothes are not)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,684 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

faceman wrote: »
    But garda, greeting cards and flowers are essential purchases! (Meanwhile baby and children’s clothes are not)

Unreal, and it being a "Patrick's weekend" sales of slabs of cheap booze are through the roof also for the house parties...but they're essential items you see...

Shopping centres full of teens who having 100's of contacts now they're all back at school and loitering around the place with either no mask on or one covering their chins...

There's no Garda or anyone checking masks or social distance... the whole things a farce..

I definitely feel safer on a plane full of people with negative PCR's and also the HEPA aircraft air filtration system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭Blut2

I definitely feel safer on a plane full of people with negative PCR's and also the HEPA aircraft air filtration system.

100%. Everyone on the plane has had a negative covid test at the maximum of 72 hours ago, the entire cabin's air is filtered every 2 minutes, and the cabin crew tell anyone who isn't wearing their mask correctly (or who takes it off) to put it back on immediately. Its a much much safer environment.

Which is born out in the figures also to be fair - its been almost impossible to catch covid on a plane in the last year, statistically.

Unreal, and it being a "Patrick's weekend" sales of slabs of cheap booze are through the roof also for the house parties...but they're essential items you see...

Shopping centres full of teens who having 100's of contacts now they're all back at school and loitering around the place with either no mask on or one covering their chins...

There's no Garda or anyone checking masks or social distance... the whole things a farce..

Fan Sa Bhaille.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Guys I have a question.

Looking at flights to Mexico, cheapest option is via amsterdam which requires a negative PCR test AND an antigen test down before take off in Dublin.

What's the process on getting this antigen test done? Baring in mind my flight to Amsterdam woidl be at 07:00. Anyone got one done in a similar situation?

I'll be fine with the PCR side of things so no information needed regarding that.

Thank you in advance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

I can see the government trying to guilt people to support Irish hospitality this summer like they did last year. While I feel extremely sorry for all these industries effected badly the last year, I will be travelling abroad this summer as I did last year. Will take an extended break of annual leave and working remotely to hopefully get away for close to a month.

I'll be paying enough for this pandemic through future taxes. It will be funny though listening to the government pleading for support for these industries after the way they treated them for the last year.

Klonker wrote: »
    I can see the government trying to guilt people to support Irish hospitality this summer like they did last year. While I feel extremely sorry for all these industries effected badly the last year, I will be travelling abroad this summer as I did last year. Will take an extended break of annual leave and working remotely to hopefully get away for close to a month.

I'll be paying enough for this pandemic through future taxes. It will be funny though listening to the government pleading for support for these industries after the way they treated them for the last year.

If I were stuck in Ireland for the summer I’d be spending it in the garden, and saving up for next year, rather than being gouged on a staycation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,939 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Guys I have a question.

Looking at flights to Mexico, cheapest option is via amsterdam which requires a negative PCR test AND an antigen test down before take off in Dublin.

What's the process on getting this antigen test done? Baring in mind my flight to Amsterdam woidl be at 07:00. Anyone got one done in a similar situation?

I'll be fine with the PCR side of things so no information needed regarding that.

Thank you in advance :)

Looks like Randox at the airport can provide this. €49

https://booking.randox.ie/

"Before booking an antigen testing appointment please confirm with your destination that this method is accepted as a means for entry. If flying the same day, please book your test 4 hours before your flight departure time."

john4321 wrote: »
    Looks like Randox at the airport can provide this. €49

https://booking.randox.ie/

"Before booking an antigen testing appointment please confirm with your destination that this method is accepted as a means for entry. If flying the same day, please book your test 4 hours before your flight departure time."

Ah amazing. I doubt they would be open at 3am though :( I guess I'll have to settle for more expensive flights via Paris with air france.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,939 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Ah amazing. I doubt they would be open at 3am though :( I guess I'll have to settle for more expensive flights via Paris with air france.

Looks like 2:45am is the earlierst so you should be ok.

546934.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭bluelamp

Klonker wrote: »
    I can see the government trying to guilt people to support Irish hospitality this summer like they did last year. While I feel extremely sorry for all these industries effected badly the last year, I will be travelling abroad this summer as I did last year.

Same here, will be getting away again this year - from Belfast airport if necessary (who look like they will have a great year at the cost of Dublin).

If they push ahead with the EU plan there will be no reason to feel sorry for the Irish travel industry, as we will have inbound tourism too.

Otherwise there are going to be 100's of Irish planes remaining parked up - at least the government will get a couple of quid off us on the M1 toll bridge on the way up to Belfast.

john4321 wrote: »
    Looks like 2:45am is the earlierst so you should be ok.

546934.jpg

Jaysus they're amazing! Thanks a lot. I'll check it out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭IQO

I flew to the same country, and also through Amsterdam, last Wednesday. All good, 28c degrees here, just had a meal outside, and had long awaited haircut yesterday. Felt very safe during the flights only the passport control on arrival took almost two hours, which is not good covid wise.

Although much can be said about how Mexico is handling the coronavirus crisis, everything seems to be open (depending on the region) with common sense. Good covid protocols in hotels and restaurants. Masks are worn everywhere on the streets (I've only seen a handful tourists ignoring this rule), and almost 99% of people are also wearing them over their nose, which is a percentage you won't see in Ireland.

Further impressions of my experience at Dublin airport, regarding the Garda checkpoints:
    - More or less all cars were being checked around 9am (when I arrived)
    - Buses didn't get checked, probably too many commuters on then and it would too much disrupt services
    - Its been said before in this thread, but have a look at the departure board - are most flights leaving from T1 or T2? In my case I was flying from T1 but went through security in T2, where the next flight was leaving only 3 hours later. Security operates throughout the day, regardless if flights are leaving. I went through within minutes, and the Garda checkpoint was unmanned (had a look before in T1 and Garda was checking outgoing passengers there. I had some sort of reason for travel but preferred not to go into any discussion, which worked out well this way).

I also think that if one would use the fast track security option you would avoid the Garda checkpoints all together, as they are situated in front of the normal security checks.

Let me know if anyone has some specific questions about my recent travels, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭IQO

Jaysus they're amazing! Thanks a lot. I'll check it out!

I used Randox at the airport for the rapid test (for flying to Amsterdam) as well, they were great - result within one hour in your email. Also used them for the PCR test a few days earlier, for 99eur I believe they are the cheapest now in Ireland.

For anyone in Ireland still picking on people traveling, for most countries and itineraries PCR tests are now the new normal. I'm spending about 300 euro on tests this trip (for going and back), and it definitely feels safe when you know that everyone in a plane has tested negative in the last few days (or last few hours to Amsterdam), only the odd false negative out there would make it back in Ireland, making the current risk of travel as small as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Blut2 wrote: »
    100%. Everyone on the plane has had a negative covid test at the maximum of 72 hours ago, the entire cabin's air is filtered every 2 minutes, and the cabin crew tell anyone who isn't wearing their mask correctly (or who takes it off) to put it back on immediately. Its a much much safer environment.

Which is born out in the figures also to be fair - its been almost impossible to catch covid on a plane in the last year, statistically.

lol

https://twitter.com/JulienMercille/status/1353456171911409665?s=20

IQO wrote: »
    I flew to the same country, and also through Amsterdam, last Wednesday. All good, 28c degrees here, just had a meal outside, and had long awaited haircut yesterday. Felt very safe during the flights only the passport control on arrival took almost two hours, which is not good covid wise.

Although much can be said about how Mexico is handling the coronavirus crisis, everything seems to be open (depending on the region) with common sense. Good covid protocols in hotels and restaurants. Masks are worn everywhere on the streets (I've only seen a handful tourists ignoring this rule), and almost 99% of people are also wearing them over their nose, which is a percentage you won't see in Ireland.

Further impressions of my experience at Dublin airport, regarding the Garda checkpoints:
    - More or less all cars were being checken around 9am (when I arrived)
    - Buses didn't get checked, probably too many commuters on then and it would too much disrupt services
    - Its been said before in this thread, but have a look at the departure board - are most flights leaving from T1 or T2? In my case I was flying from T1 but went through security in T2, where the next flight was leaving only 3 hours later. Security operates throughout the day, regardless if flights are leaving. I went through within minutes, and the Garda checkpoint was unmanned (had a look before in T1 and Garda was checking outgoing passengers there. I had some sort of reason for travel but preferred not to go into any discussion, which worked out well this way).

I also think that if one would use the fast track security option you would avoid the Garda checkpoints all together, as they are situated in front of the normal security checks.

Let me know if anyone has some specific questions about my recent travels, cheers.

Yeah I was I Mexico is in November and it was the same as you described. The only people I saw not wearing masks outside were the odd junkies in mexico city and countless Americans along the Mayan Riviera... But what would one expect from the ignorant pigs north of the Mexican border :D