Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,196 ✭✭✭Glebee

Dont think ive ever seen a group of maybe fifty guards move a group of a few hundred people so quick.....

Ladies and gentlemen we are witnessing the gradual breakdown of civilized society, it was nice while it lasted

I was walking up Cuffe St towards the green at about half two today and was asked by a Guard if I could turn around and continue my walk somewhere else. I said grand, no problem and I was thanked as I went on my way. Politest societal breakdown ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭pm1977x

One of the hard chaws in the earlier video carping on about 'Garda plants' in the crowd causing trouble to discredit them, they're in cloud cuckoo land a lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Housefree

One person setting off a firework doesn't equate to societal breakdown.

They had the Garda out numbered & no riot police. The crowd could have done a lot of damage. Very reserved crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I wonder if there were any workers at the protest?
    I suspect not too many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,016 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Of course this event was going to get hijacked by scumbags and use it as an excuse to pick a fight with the guards. Anyone who's been around dublin city centre in the past 2 months will have seen nothing but junkies/scumbags/kids hanging out and causing trouble cos there is nothing else to do and noone else around. There are plenty of 'normal' people against this absurd lockdown, but they will have been drowned out by the events today. Unfortunately the narrative has been set by the idiots with the fireworks/without masks/NP types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Housefree

Glebee wrote: »
    Dont think ive ever seen a group of maybe fifty guards move a group of a few hundred people so quick.....

Only thing I can think of is the crowd thought the fireworks was an active shooter, either that or the kids have gone soft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

I have been shown some of the footage. It seems there are some in attendance who wouldn't even know what a protest is and are clearly there to cause trouble. Throwing missiles and laughing, the usual tracksuit and hoody brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

It turns out you can’t refute the points I made because they are factual.

I want you to think about what you typed here.

You are content that the sum total of your freedom right now is choosing what you have for dinner or what time you go for a walk.

That’s bizarre

I did specify 'simple things', i wanted to make it as simple as possible for you to understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

retalivity wrote: »
    Of course this event was going to get hijacked by scumbags and use it as an excuse to pick a fight with the guards. Anyone who's been around dublin city centre in the past 2 months will have seen nothing but junkies/scumbags/kids hanging out and causing trouble cos there is nothing else to do and noone else around. There are plenty of 'normal' people against this absurd lockdown, but they will have been drowned out by the events today. Unfortunately the narrative has been set by the idiots with the fireworks/without masks/NP types.

I have seen quite a few videos and pictures, haven't seen any masks.

The idea that the event was "hijacked" is hilarious.

No.

NPHETs advice around Covid puts us in danger of longer lockdown

Pissed off as i am with Lockdown its made all the more bearable seeing how utterly frustrated and annoyed the right wingers are about it, their agony and wailing on here is some light relief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

a bit of a party atmosphere on Sandymount promenade today, groups of people enjoying their beers, some auld ones throwing shapes at them

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Jaysus you'd swear there was hundreds of lads firing AK47 rounds at our pathetic police force the way some people are going on.

It was one guy with a firework, yes a firework.

A non-story that will deflect from the government's failures for weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Polar101

Housefree wrote: »
    They had the Garda out numbered & no riot police. The crowd could have done a lot of damage. Very reserved crowd.

I assume it was meant to be a protest, and not a riot - in many civilised countries it's possible to protest peacefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Lundstram wrote: »
    Jaysus you'd swear there was hundreds of lads firing AK47 rounds at our pathetic police force the way some people are going on.

And a pack of twats that probably didn't know what they were protesting about

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 144 ✭✭decreds

Strumms wrote: »
    The fact that Gardai were attacked with fireworks shows the caliber of person you are dealing with... that isn’t a situation getting heated...

That is premeditated, organized violence...

Violence was planned...

don’t like restrictions ? I know, attack Gardai with fireworks, .. bunch of absolute ****, hope the courts throw the book at them.. custodial sentences would be nice..

I agree what a scumbag but curious to know if you were saying the same when BLM protestors racially attacker native Irish people in Blanchardstown and also attacked the guards and even threatened to terminate a gardai while addressing the mob.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 144 ✭✭decreds

Absolutely, it pales in comparison to the racial attacks committed by BLM protestors in Blanchardstown recently. Which, ironically, didn't even get a mention in the main stream media. They even threatened to "terminate" the gardai involved ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

py2006 wrote: »
    Prob the most stupid post on here

Are you new to this thread?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Exactly, not like fireworks can cause any damage to a person.

Another :rolleyes: for my collection.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,956 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

decreds wrote: »
    I agree what a scumbag but curious to know if you were saying the same when BLM protestors racially attacker native Irish people in Blanchardstown and also attacked the guards and even threatened to terminate a gardai while addressing the mob.

I commented on that situation too... if you are curious my opinion is that they should have been arrested, charged, convicted and sentenced... the law applies to each of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,661 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Really no talking to fintan if you can't see how wrong this was on every level

We're you at protest?

That’s some serious gymnastics

The attack on the Garda was a criminal offence, can’t be justified

The protest overall seemed peaceful

Pissed off as i am with Lockdown its made all the more bearable seeing how utterly frustrated and annoyed the right wingers are about it, their agony and wailing on here is some light relief

Left wingers.

I wouldn’t have expected you to have know the definition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

The sad part is, I think most people would be happy enough if they’d even just scrap the nonsense 5KM.

I'd say you're right on that.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Lots of new posters on the thread today.

Nowhere to be seen for the last year.

Some lad throws a firework at a Garda and they're all over it like flies around a sh1t.

Left wingers.

I wouldn’t have expected you to have know the definition.

No i said right wingers, you should understand that term more than most i would have thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Another :rolleyes: for my collection.

Thanks.

I had to include it, some mental people on here might have taken my post seriously. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,149 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Russian troll farm employees moved off trump and on to Covid?

Hard to know, there are a lot of new accounts mostly anti restrictions, but also some new ones vehemently in favour too. I suspect there are a couple of groups posting on the site - a small number of extremists with a large number of accounts under their control with the goal of undermining adherence as one and another group posting with both strong pro and anti messaging with the intent to sow discord.

I've no evidence of course, and cannot prove my hypothesis. The site has been attacked this way before though.

Some lad throws a firework at a Garda and they're all over it like flies around a sh1t.

Just thought of that

I fell for it too and tried to engage them in debate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Hardly dole day on a Saturday??