Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

So many on here wanted that protest to go badly. The usual lot as well. The same people who said that hairdresser should have been locked up. Its incredibly disappointing
    It was looking fairly ropey there at the start to be fair, but really quietened down fast after a minority of more sinister fellas were dispersed. Wonder were any arrested ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

If the Government had taken action to prevent a BLM protest could you imagine the outrage then?

They should have organised a protest under the guise of a Climate Crisis protest!

If a firework had been aimed at the head of a Gardai during a BLM protest..imagine the outrage..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I sent emails to every TD in Ireland.
    Got about 4 responses. 2 of the 4 seemed like auto generated responses.

Further action is needed to show our dissatisfaction.

Today has helped get the message across. Hopefully the big numbers encourage more out next time.

The sad part is, I think most people would be happy enough if they’d even just scrap the nonsense 5KM.

My point was the amount at protest would generate a serious amount of mail !
    I bet if you put that to them there wouldn't be a great uptake

Yes today got a message across OK but I don't think we,d agree on what that message was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Yes the government have got some this wrong but its not all negativity. Vaccines are being rolled out

This protest is going to solve nothing

It’s likely the only way Europe’s longest strictest lockdown would be relaxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

RobitTV wrote: »
    The violence must be condemned. Nobody can defend firing fireworks at people. It's totally unacceptable.

True
    You have to remember that they are being egged on by certain groups. They get all of this information from Facebook and online groups. This has all led to the showdown today.

Then the next line you did.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

C__MC wrote: »
    That's what happens
    No plan and trouble develops
    Government a shambles

Yes.

People are understandably unhappy. They're not all 5G loons or fascists.

There needs to be a clear communication from government on how society will reopen, because it will, and that process needs a plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Not during a pandemic maybe!
    One lad said the whole country is there on video

No most people are respecting restrictions in the hope that we can get out of lockdown

I,m so sick of looking at thats like !

I just saw this protest on social media and my heart sank! So many people agree with restrictions yet these protesters have the audacity to think their speaking for the whole country.
    Theyre so unbelievably dramatic, comparing the lockdown to nazi Germany, comparing themselves to Michael Collins and as one of them said in the video theyre 'Celtic legends' Its just embarrassing, they think theyre fighting a war of independence all because they cant go to the pub or go to pennies.
    Listening to these twats is effecting my mental health. Their selfishness is on another level, they look and sound like fools. All theyre being asked to do is restrict their social contacts for a couple of months for the greater good, to help save lives. God love the poor little heads on them they cant cope so take to the streets thinking theyre Irelands saviors.
    Its such a sh!t show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,665 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

If a firework had been aimed at the head of a Gardai during a BLM protest..imagine the outrage..

Was there not a threat to "end" a guard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

"We put the brick on the accelerator"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

C__MC wrote: »
    That's what happens
    No plan and trouble develops
    Government a shambles

I 100% disagree with violence and that fella with the rocket should get whats coming to him, a despicable act to aim a rocket at anyones face. That said I agree with everything you've said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Notice all the accounts that are pro restrictions are all pre 2010, would wager a bet a large portion of those accounts are landlords too
    And a huge proportion of the anti restrictions accounts are post Oct 2020. All with a similar posting style too, funny that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Most of the videos look like a bit of craic and pretty normal.

Your man with the firework will have ****ed up everything though and given them a narrative to cut zero slack now to any lockdown protest, unfortunately.

Sure as night follows day..

Higher Education Minister Simon Harris condemned the situation. He said on Twitter: "Pure thuggery on the streets of Dublin today.

"It's not a 'protest'. It's an attack on our national effort. The abuse directed at the gardaí is sickening and shameful. Disgraceful. Thoughts with the gardaí and their families"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Was there not a threat to "end" a guard?

Unsure about the protests. Think the brother of the guy killed said something like that.

Should be condemned, but actions speak louder than words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Lundstram wrote: »
    The government and government alone have caused this. Those scenes while distressing to see are needed, they were brought on by the actions and lack of communication from our so called leaders.

This is now the result of people suffering the longest and harshest lockdown in the EU and possibly the world.

The UK people aren't as compliant than the passive Irish but the difference is they have been handed a clear and concise exit strategy. This gives their people a date to work to, an end goal, the start of the rest of their lives.

We have got nothing but negativity, no dates, shockingly bad vaccine strategy and no life.

The 5km restriction is the killer. That is inhumane.

Blame the "scummers", blame the "far-right", blame Gemma all ye want but this is all on the incompetence of our so called leaders.

You are alive and human? Limited just now but alive and human . As we all are. No one is saying it is easy. How is the 5 k limit " inhumane?" And no one is killing you? "no life"?

Hard, yes, Very hard indeed. For all of us.

py2006 wrote: »
    Prob the most stupid post on here

Can you highlight what’s not factual?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Boggles wrote: »
    True

Then the next line you did.

Very untrue. I have now condemned the violence several times today. Lets not spend time going down this road and trying to misrepresent what I have clearly stated multiple times.

There is no point in calling these people 'scum' - they live within our society. I am not defending these people at all.

They have caused violence today. Plain and simple. But they need help to get away from the level of disinformation they are being fed daily online.

It’s likely the only way Europe’s longest strictest lockdown would be relaxed

I,d hazard a guess that 60 % of what's there would go to any protest!!

No one is enjoying any aspect of the last year but when numbers start to decline and then this happens it,s a finger to everyone who,s trying to do what,s best to get out of this as quick as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,665 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Unsure about the protests. Think the brother of the guy killed said something like that.

Should be condemned, but actions speak louder than words.

I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I just saw this protest on social media and my heart sank! So many people agree with restrictions yet these protesters have the audacity to think their speaking for the whole country.
    Theyre so unbelievably dramatic, comparing the lockdown to nazi Germany, comparing themselves to Michael Collins and as one of them said in the video theyre 'Celtic legends' Its just embarrassing, they think theyre fighting a war of independence all because they cant go to the pub or go to pennies.
    Listening to these twats is effecting my mental health. Their selfishness is on another level, they look and sound like fools. All theyre being asked to do is restrict their social contacts for a couple of months for the greater good, to help save lives. God love the poor little heads on them they cant cope so take to the streets thinking theyre Irelands saviors.
    Its such a sh!t show.

Excellent appraisal.. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

One scumbag aiming a firework at a Garda is absolutely disgraceful, you won't find anyone on here defending an idiot like that!

But a Government using its power to prevent a protest against the actions of that Government is crossing a line that is far more serious...

Surely you can differentiate between the actions of one idiot and that of the State?

There is no point in calling these people 'scum'

If someone launches a fire work into someones face they are absolute scum.

I don't see how anyone would have a problem with that apt description.

Why do you have a problem with it?

Its such a sh!t show.

This x 100. They most definitely do not represent me

They are not hero's. They are twats.
    I'm sick of the whole "government trying to control us"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Can you highlight what’s not factual?

This
    But those not in jail currently have little more freedom than those in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Boggles wrote: »
    If someone launches a fire work into someones face they are absolute scum.

I don't see how anyone would have a problem with that apt description.

Why do you have a problem with it?

Why did you ignore what I have said after that sentence?

Quote: They have caused violence today. Plain and simple. But they need help to get away from the level of disinformation they are being fed daily online.

Why do you have a problem with my suggestion?

This

Can you expand a little?

The sum of your articulation in discussion appears to be emojis or one word posts

Can you expand a little?

The sum of your articulation in discussion appears to be emojis or one word posts

Simply put it,s ridiculous to make a comparison to how we are at the minute to being in jail

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,246 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Whatever about the violence, why are so few protesters wearing masks?

I can understand protesting lockdown, but there's no good reasons for not wearing a mask.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Why did you ignore what I have said after that sentence?

Quote: They have caused violence today. Plain and simple. But they need help to get away from the level of disinformation they are being fed daily online.

Why do you have a problem with my suggestion?

Why do you have a problem with them being called violent scum?

GLaDOS wrote: »

I can understand protesting lockdown, but there's no good reasons for not wearing a mask.

They are anti mask.

They also think 5G causes covid.

Reasoning is not part of the "protest".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Downlinz

GLaDOS wrote: »

They're presumably conspiracy theorists and Gemma followers who believe masks are a symbol of oppression and Bill Gates has nanomachines in the vaccine.