Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    There's nothing stopping them changing the 5km limit only they want to keep it in place

This red herring with evictions is only an excuse to keep the 5km limit in place

Of course it is....only a simpleton can't see through this.

It's about helping the Health System cope with the backlogs the lock downs have created....large parts of the system had a very handy year over the last 12 months...we all have to stay at home until they get back up to speed!

The restriction are not about Covid any more, or the fear Covid patients will have on the health system.

Can you let this go....you are making an idiot out of yourself.

You made the claim there was huge excess deaths.

You couldn't back it up.

You posted an article in the journal that was littered in misrepresentations, I only pointed out one, there were many others.

The data we do have access to is not showing a year of excess death...we had one month of excess deaths, that was April, where there was 1,000 excess deaths over April 2019....why would it show excess deaths for one month and no other month?

We won't know until the figures are official...but given that we didn't have a flu season this year that normally takes lives in wintertime, it is a safe assumption that we will not record excess deaths...we know the Covid deaths were predominantly in the demographic that is vulnerable to a number of ailments as they are every year.

You do realize, you are enforcing Fintans point, that you ridiculed, he said,

"Those mostly in favour of restrictions, need death to support their argument"

You are leading that charge, you need death to support your argument...there is something very sad about that!

The bolded is a bizarre fantasy you have developed.

You also don't realise my argument is against the bizarre nonsense some use to support their view on removal of restriction, and not the fact there are genuine arguments to be made.

You have this weird assumption that anyone who doesn't express the view that there is no merit in any restrictions are somehow suggesting that they want and like continued restrictions indefinitely and dont want any movement towards opening up. No one expresses this view, yet you keep arguing against people as if they do. I dont know does it give some inner joy to believe you have one an argument by inventing a fantasy version of the opposing view. The use of what McConkey said in March is in this vein. What was a worst case from an alarmist made when we knew far less than we now know about the virus is presented as the view of anyone who questions the thread narrative. Disingenuous in the extreme.

Also, we did not have the same level of deaths as other countries. Was this because our physiology is more resistant to the virus or a different virus came here? Or maybe because we have a magnificent health service?
    Or was it because not as many people caught the virus for some strange reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

You also don't realise my argument is against the bizarre nonsense some use to support their view on removal of restriction, and not the fact there are genuine arguments to be made.

Its mad how you believe one needs an argument(s) (whose validity is determined by you :pac:) to justify why they want to live their lives as they see fit accepting the risk of (anything not just covid19) what is beyond their front door.

It seems bizarre that we'd decry this ****e in china but accept it here.

paw patrol wrote: »
    Its mad how you believe one needs an argument(s) (whose validity is determined by you :pac:) to justify why they want to live their lives as they see fit accepting the risk of (anything not just covid19) what is beyond their front door.

It seems bizarre that we'd decry this ****e in china but accept it here.

Its when people descend to bizarre fantasies such as the journal is a paid propaganda organ of the government among, PCR conspiracies, government loves lockdowns, Tony is using it to drive an anti alcohol agenda etc etc etc etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

On April 5th, Irish gyms will have been shut for 20 of the last 23 weeks. Longest in the EU.

Longest school closures in EU.

Highest nursing homes deaths per capita, 3rd highest over 65 deaths in Europe per capita. No visitors to nursing homes since March. General public still get blamed, though.

The only country to have construction banned. Not forgetting we are in the middle of a housing crisis.

The longest closure of wet pubs in the EU.

The damage Government and NPHET have done to young and old in this country is incalculable.

Someone yesterday called me out for being a FG man. Yes, I am and I will be the first to admit they have been an absolute disgrace. FF, the gutless Greens all the same. SF, an opposition party, can’t even do that right anymore, cowards.

The laughing stock of the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

Its when people descend to bizarre fantasies such as the journal is a paid propaganda organ of the government among, PCR conspiracies, government loves lockdowns, Tony is using it to drive an anti alcohol agenda etc etc etc etc etc.

I'd nearly believe that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

timmyntc wrote: »
    Yes - incidence rates are still high now and the salons that do open are full

:confused: Again alternative universe?

Any way the main point is this
    It puts pressure on govt

and this
    So if all Salons in the country decided to open in defiance of govt restrictions, that wont be putting pressure on the government?

Is not going to happen and it certainly won't happen because some simpleton has gorged themselves retarded on Ben Gilroy's youtube channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

https://twitter.com/griptmedia/status/1364193937955692545?s=21

This is extremely sinister and dangerous in the extreme.
    Yesterday two of these professors were on The Last Word with no alternative viewpoint being offered. Another was in rte radio in the morning trying to keep schools closed. The attempt at normalising the extremists is a disgrace.
    The extremists agenda is absolutely shocking - they should be locked up with all the damage they’re causing Irish society.

You don't entertain genuine arguments.

You previously dismissed the need to have alternate opinions on media about lock downs...and yet you couldn't name an expert who has been most accurate in their predictions.

You previously dismissed the ability to shield the over 70s in a more humane fashion.

You have convinced yourself we have had excess deaths in 2019 without a shred of evidence...you have stopped mentioning Euromomo where you originally got your data...I suspect I know why.

You have consistently supported the strictest, most damaging lock down in Europe to the point where you can't tolerate criticism of it.

You are a lock down extremist for some reason...a tool that should never have been used for this long on account of the damage they clearly cause...

We all recognize the need for restrictions, it is the strictest lockdown in Europe that most of us have the issue with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I really hope they raise it to 10km. I am 8km from a beach and really want to get there for a walk. I am missing it big time. This 5km is so cruel...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Lundstram wrote: »

Someone yesterday called me out for being a FG man. Yes, I am and I will be the first to admit they have been an absolute disgrace. FF, the gutless Greens all the same. SF, an opposition party, can’t even do that right anymore, cowards.

Ive been a FG supporter since I was old enough to vote - Im now 46 so youre not alone.

Personally they will never get another vote from me after this fiasco.

But we dont have an opposition - we have a group of like minded individuals all probably centre left leaning.

Its a disgrace that there is no one to call them out on their **** ups in the Dail.

Opposition want more restrictions and I honestly really thought after SFs gains in the last GE they might have been an alternative but theyve shown they are worse than what we have.

We need a genuine opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

The BBC have reported surges in UK holiday booking followings yesterday's announcements on reopening the economy and the vaccine rollout.

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-56161129

Meanwhile in Ireland our useless shower of over-paid cowards mutter about maybe allowing outdoor dining in mid-summer

We are lucky to have the UK as our nearest neighbour. The will shame our Government into opening up sooner. But meanwhile we'll continue to add 10's of billions of unnecessary debt to our books so our lily-livered saps can duck out of taking any decisions they could be held accountable for .

This is the most expensive arse-covering exercise ever attempted.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I really hope they raise it to 10km. I am 8km from a beach and really want to get there for a walk. I am missing it big time. This 5km is so cruel...

Not going to happen until after Easter at the earliest

More than likely May seeing as they have 5km limit tied to evictions now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Monster249

Ignore it and go anyway. Don't let illogical, baseless, arbitrary rules stop you from living your life. Let your own critical thinking dictate the way you live and not rules made by people who are inept.

Yesterday two of these professors were on The Last Word with no alternative viewpoint being offered. Another was in rte radio in the morning trying to keep schools closed. The attempt at normalising the extremists is a disgrace.
    The extremists agenda is absolutely shocking - they should be locked up with all the damage they’re causing Irish society.

Wow this is a sinister development...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 SilentGreenx32

Just go? Its an arbitrary guideline and if you are just going to the beach for a walk you are not putting anyone in danger. I go outside the 5km limit all the time but I go to places like parks, fields and beaches. Just use some common sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

100% agree on the right of people to make their own risk assessment. We did see what happens when people made their own risk assessments before Christmas though. "Sure twill be grand to go to that house-party, I dont have it", "sure twill be grand to meet my group of friends from 4 different households for a meal down the local food pub, we are not sick", "sure it will be grand for half the town to book into the local hotel so we can get pissed and watch the match, it is the All-Ireland after all","sure it will be grand for Tom, Mark and John to travel back from London when they are in the middle of a surge", " Sure twill be grand"

Spoken like a true nanny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,025 ✭✭✭growleaves

Leaked documents show that members of the Zero-Covid advocacy group @ISAGCOVID19, whose public facing campaign group is @WeCanBeZero, were recently instructed to "look for ways to increase insecurity, anxiety and uncertainty."

Wow. That is shocking if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Wow this is a sinister development...

At last their being exposed.
    They’ve had a stranglehold over all of us for long enough.
    Matt Cooper , Clair Byrne etc should be writing resignation letters imo.

I hope there’s an investigation to expose the source of this cabal.
    Terrorising people is surely a criminal offence.
    Lock them up and throw away the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

In a few months from now, when all this has died down a bit and emotions aren’t as rampant, I hope there is an investigation into how we let such unchallenged, damaging and dangerous drivel take over our airwaves and tv screens at such a fundamental time, and the impact it has had on our collective mental health. And RTE should be right front and centre. For a station that was all about mental health (the topic de jour not so long ago) they sure as hell don’t give a fcuk anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Boggles wrote: »
    :confused: Again alternative universe?

Any way the main point is this

and this

Is not going to happen and it certainly won't happen because some simpleton has gorged themselves retarded on Ben Gilroy's youtube channel.

Alternative universe?
    Maybe this one, where a salon opened today and is already fully booked out?

I don't follow Ben Gilroy other than knowing he's a nutter with a hurl, so you can leave your ad hominems at the door.

I also already stated previously that I do not expect all salons countrywide to open, it was a hypothetical. I'm very sure you are aware of the concept.

I take it since you are now ignoring the other points in my last post and trying to drag things over to this that you concede you were wrong. That's very gracious of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Imagine being this pathetic.

Alternative universe?
    Maybe this one, where a salon opened today and is already fully booked out?

Because she said so?
    I don't follow Ben Gilroy other than knowing he's a nutter with a hurl

The salon owner does, which was the point.

How did she get on do you know?

Is she ploughing threw the full bookings?

I don't follow Ben Gilroy other than knowing he's a nutter with a hurl, so you can leave your ad hominems at the door.

Come on now. If Boggles couldn't spend his time comparing people he disagrees with to Trump, Gemma or whatever random 5G Covid conspiracy group he's been told to hate today, he'd never post. We'd miss him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

This is what this ridiculous rule has done to people. Questioning whether they can move an extra few kilometres from their home for exercise and general wellbeing. Definitely go. If you're worried about a checkpoint on the way, use your imagination - they are not going to interrogate you.

This rule needs to be challenged and removed. It's beyond farcical and is not helping anyone. Mass movement by people outside of their 5k will make it unenforceable and get it removed. The guards should be up in arms having to deal with this arbitrary rule. Such a waste of their resources

Imagine being this pathetic.

Take issue with the people making the laws, not the people following them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

In a few months from now, when all this has died down a bit and emotions aren’t as rampant, I hope there is an investigation into how we let such unchallenged, damaging and dangerous drivel take over our airwaves and tv screens at such a fundamental time, and the impact it has had on our collective mental health. And RTE should be right front and centre. For a station that was all about mental health (the topic de jour not so long ago) they sure as hell don’t give a fcuk anymore

Matt “pooper scooper” Cooper had a load of these frauds on his show yesterday.
    He should also definitely be part of this future investigation

Come on now. If Boggles couldn't spend his time comparing people he disagrees with to Trump, Gemma or whatever random 5G Covid conspiracy group he's been told to hate today, he'd never post. We'd miss him.

Your comprehension issues are my fault?

That is a bit conspiracy TBF.

I think it should fall into the remit of the Citizens Assembly or similar entity to police the media somewhat.

If you watch a movie on tv these days, they often come with a warning about reflecting different values or some such nonsense, it's all a bit weird...

But for instance if the Claire Byrne show has deliberately misrepresented a topic and it has been proven then a warning should accompany that program for a period of time, at the beginning, same for any news content on any station.

They need to be babysat unfortunately!

Yeah, we should let the owners of Gript chair it.

Impartial bunch those lot.