Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,131 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The tone here has changed a lot now.

Different from the times where many posters were jumping up and down looking for everything to be opened stat.

I don't think it is going to happen for a long time now, that is not me being negative, it is just reality which for a long time was sadly lacking in this thread, but maybe that was just bored Leaving Cert students who pivot from Reddit now and then.

Summer outdoors is looking good though. And in fairness the anti alcohol crowd got the pubs shut. What is it now, a year so far?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,018 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

risteard7 wrote: »
    "Dont question anything" that's what I've been told by PM. What a shambles. Discussion board my ****

Mod:

Threadbanned. Discuss this via PM because if you post here again you will be forum banned

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Boggles wrote: »
    Was that the loon speaking at the 5G rally?

You really are just a nasty little ****wit government shill.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,018 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

sabat wrote: »
    You really are just a nasty little ****wit government shill.

Mod:

Threadbanned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Lockdown will go on well past March due to a shortage of vaccines.

Level.5 till July according to the Taoiseach.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40217615.html

Where did he say that?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Penfailed wrote: »
    Where did he say that?

In the parallel universe that some post from

Oops, tensions are rising here.

Look, we are going to be confined for a while until vaccines for all come through. That is the reality. Once you accept that you're grand.

Resistance is futile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Christ lads, pull yourselves together. A new vaccine approved, j&j showing great results, novartis and sanofi on board to partner in expanding manufacturing of the biontech Pfizer vaccine. What a bunch of doom mongers

What’s the roll out schedule of these vaccines ? We are waaaay off from actual approval never mind delivery & jabs in arms.

Once the vaccines are jabbed we now have to potentially await this new delay episode of waiting with “herd immunity” period that’s being hammered home by the zero hero’s.

So if my posts are sounding gloomy then gloomy it is .

It All spells years not months of restriction B.S to me

dalyboy wrote: »
    What’s the roll out schedule of these vaccines ? We are waaaay off from actual approval never mind delivery & jabs in arms.

Once the vaccines are jabbed we now have to potentially await this new delay episode of waiting with “herd immunity” period that’s being hammered home by the zero hero’s.

So if my posts are sounding gloomy then gloomy it is .

It All spells years not months of restriction B.S to me

If anyone had be told 6 months ago that we would have 500,000 vaccinated by end of March this year with 3 approved vaccines rapidly expanding production and 3 more ready for Q2 they would have been accused of being fantasists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Cork2021

If anyone had be told 6 months ago that we would have 500,000 vaccinated by end of March this year with 3 approved vaccines rapidly expanding production and 3 more ready for Q2 they would have been accused of being fantasists

Fantasy and fantasists are the favourite words of some around here! But we can’t be realistic or optimistic as it’s all FANTASY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Aph2016

No major opening of the economy after March 5th, this is absurdity!

Aph2016 wrote: »
    No major opening of the economy after March 5th, this is absurdity!

Why do you think that? EU money is cheap and we are getting a chunk of it, borrowing is cheap too. We will survive until we are all jabbed.

Maybe some of us want more out of life than simply surviving...

By the time we are all vaccinated, people will have lost 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Are you at a time in life where paying it back won’t affect you?

We need to consider those coming after us, we can’t destroy any opportunity for a normal life for them

That truly is hysteria Fintan. And a lack of basic understanding of long term macro economics

I will be paying it back just like most of us will. I am not on SW welfare where paying back anything is a joke.

Seriously though, “prolonged suppression” of the virus through long term lockdown is possibly the worst strategy in the entire world.

There is not a single social or economic benefit.
    We’re not exactly moving fast with the vaccine either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Or we can simply reopen and get back to normal right now

Back again. Let 'er rip. Yeah?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Maybe some of us want more out of life than simply surviving...

By the time we are all vaccinated, people will have lost 2 years.

Oh boo hoo. It is what it is now. For the sake of everyone, not just those who want to party. Tough sht. Same in many countries, Valencia region and Andalucia in Spain is shut down like ourselves. We will cope. It is called resilience, not childishness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Oh boo hoo. It is what it is now. For the sake of everyone, not just those who want to party. Tough sht. Same in many countries, Valencia region and Andalucia in Spain is shut down like ourselves. We will cope. It is called resilience, not childishness.

If you want to waste your life, by all means lock yourself in your house. Everyone will think you're so tough, brave and resilient for it. :rolleyes:

You are very naive if you think people are really going to put their lives on hold for another 6 - 12 months.

Pay your fine so.

Honestly do you really want to spread this awful virus or study for your Leaving Cert lol

GazzaL wrote: »
    If you want to waste your life, by all means lock yourself in your house. Everyone will think you're so tough, brave and resilient for it. :rolleyes:

The absolute irony of people to mention resilience that support hiding under the bed for 2 years because there is a mild virus out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,328 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

You might be surprised what people can do. Believe they can certainly judge the situation better than you do.

GazzaL wrote: »

Doubt there will be a choice to venture anywhere for months, do you think so?

Pay your fine so.

Honestly do you really want to spread this awful virus or study for your Leaving Cert lol

There are many acceptable reasons to be beyond 5KM. My GP is 50+ away from me.

Family as well. And I have essential reasons to drop in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Seriously though, “prolonged suppression” of the virus through long term lockdown is possibly the worst strategy in the entire world.

You are forgetting one vital ingredient, fear, keep everyone afraid.

Only give exposure to experts who talk about Mass Graves, Freezer trucks full of bodies, 100,000s deaths, mutations, new deadly variants ....

No one is allowed talk about probable seasonality, no one is allowed talk about the times of year when we our collective immune systems are weak and conditions for transmissibility.

No one can talk about how the ordinary person can improve their health by diet or supplements

Never mention the old normal...it's all about the new normal, which always involves more restrictions!!

Shun any one who doesn't comply, the good old Irish way!!!

The only way out of this is vaccines....not herd immunity.

Maturity is sadly lacking here. As is the reality of this situation. But back to your books and studies for the LC, best of luck folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I would think lettin' her rip is the worst strategy in the world to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

We literally have no idea how it will play out.

The dust has yet to settle. Huge money creation with no subsequent rise in output and hindered supply chains. Who knows what beckons.