Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

The less we move around, the less the virus moves around.

Construction workers included.

This should mean numbers drop faster than if more people (like construction workers) were still mobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭growleaves

Parlon remarked that “no other country – barring some US states and Italy in the initial wave – have shut down construction during lockdowns. Most recently, the UK and Scotland have entered lockdown and left construction operational.”

https://www.globalconstructionreview.com/news/ireland-shuts-down-construction-covid-cases-rise/

Great news for REITs and other landlords since housing supply will be even more constricted than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Are you going to ask for a link for everything someone posts?

Look it up yourself

No one was asking you. Anyway if someone makes a claim it`s not unreasonable to ask for evidence to back it up. Very prickly post from you BTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

batman_oh wrote: »
    Not if they are travellers or gangs of teenagers on bicycles or in a field though

yeah but then the gardai might have to do a bit of actual policing with those groups rather than the mostly submissive general public

growleaves wrote: »
    Great news for REITs and other landlords since housing supply will be even more constricted than before.

All those empty air b&bs which were supposed to be housing in the first place will help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

We need to hang tight if not go harder for the next 4-6 weeks. If we can get cases crushed than we can actually do the things we want to do but.

Once April comes around the weather will be milder, more outdoor options, more circulation in buildings will significantly aid more widespread reopening especially combined with more rapid vaccine deliverance.

The good will of the people will run out eventually, I reckon the next 3 months are crucially important to crush this virus we need to restrict as much movement as possible and get as much vaccine into the population as possible, as come April, May people will have had absolutely enough of this, particularly in Europe where tensions are already beginning to bubble up, especially in France and Italy.

Europe will open for summer, let's hope the virus is suppressed and as many people are inoculated as possible.

We need to hang tight if not go harder for the next 4-6 weeks. If we can get cases crushed than we can actually do the things we want

That's pretty much what I'm expecting SR.

Get the numbers low enough to lighten restrictions with the vaccine rollout established before we head into another wave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

We need to hang tight if not go harder for the next 4-6 weeks. If we can get cases crushed than we can actually do the things we want to do but.

This has been said midway through the last 3 lockdowns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

This has been said midway through the last 3 lockdowns
    from the soundings it looks like this will be different, nothing but schools and construction likely to open until April

maybe some outdoor sporting things like tennis and golf, outdoor training

from the soundings it looks like this will be different, nothing but schools and construction likely to open until April

What are those assumptions based on?

Leo said on CB this week that the relaxation would be just as slow as last year.

He didn’t mention case numbers being a requirement to relax mitigation measures, he said just as slow.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Probably after Easter

Household visits and inter County travel will be later along with pubs, probably June being optimistic

We don’t. We may like to know, but that’s not our job.

So you will continue to defend strict mitigation measures without any quantification or justification.

It’s not making any sense how people have accepted the lack of justification for implementation of severe mitigation measures indefinitely.

Posters are defending the only closure of construction across the globe this year with comments like “people moving around spread the virus”.

Obviously they do, but I’m struggling to understand how closing construction could be considered cost effective in Ireland but not anywhere else.

It just seems like all NPHET can justify for their time, is gathering information on every mitigation measure implemented across the globe last March, implemented them all in Ireland and continued to recommend their implementation since early last year, without trying to actually run models on cost effectiveness.

So you will continue to defend strict mitigation measures without any quantification or justification..

You're the one assuming the mitigation measures have no quantification or justification.

In reality, most of the population understand it's actually related to case numbers.

Graham wrote: »
    You're the one assuming the mitigation measures have no quantification or justification.

In reality, most of the population understand it's actually related to case numbers.

So case numbers is the only metric?

You'll notice I didn't say that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

So the 1st month of 2021 closes and what a month it’s been.

Of particular note is the week just gone where we have endured a major positivity battering with obliteration of our hopes for a normal incoming summer 2021.

We are being buttered up for a big shift in the timeframe of vaccine rollout with a taters of the Astra Zeneca debacle.

The covid zero mantra is actually openly being talked about. Leaky Leo was saying it was not plausible at a conference during the week but I can’t help remembering his October interview where he was stating that level 5 was implausible/unfair/unnecessary only to change his tune days later and relent to level 5 for the Nov 6 weeks.

Bleak bleak bleak.

What’ll be the situ by the end of February?

Bleaker bleaker bleaker.

I'd agree with part of your post.

Covid zero not plausible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Case numbers are up because people with no symptoms who are not sick and never will be sick never mind in no danger at all of dying are coming forward because they are terrified and getting tested which in turn fuels the fear all over again.

The HSE says assume everyone has Covid 19.

Ok let's assume 99.97% of the population have it and 0.03% are dead.

The overwhelming majority of people who died had underlying conditions and were very old and/or very sick.
    We don't know for sure if they died with the virus or died of the virus.

Therefore the majority of the population who are going to suffer very soon from mass business closures mass job losses mass poverty mass homelessness and mass dependancy on welfare and charity to survive who have been fed a diet propaganda fear and utter lies since March of last year who have been wearing masks socially distancing and staying home on the orders of Dr Tony are going to realise too late they have been taken for utter fools.

Our county our economy our society and our very lives are being destroyed right now.

We have taken a petrol can to our country and lit a match.

It would hilarious if it were not so tragic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Graham wrote: »
    I'd agree with part of your post.

Covid zero not plausible.

The dithering this week is terrible though. There’s an air of headless chicken like leadership.
    In fairness though it’s not just Ireland that’s dithering but Europe wide. Ursula Vander what’s her face is shockingly incompetent with her shifting blame on the vaccines which is really our only hope out of lowering restrictions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

dalyboy wrote: »
    The dithering this week is terrible though. There’s an air of headless chicken like leadership.
    In fairness though it’s not just Ireland that’s dithering but Europe wide. Ursula Vander what’s her face is shockingly incompetent with her shifting blame on the vaccines which is really our only hope out of restrictions.

Or we can simply reopen and get back to normal right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It just seems like all NPHET can justify for their time, is gathering information on every mitigation measure implemented across the globe last March, implemented them all in Ireland and continued to recommend their implementation since early last year, without trying to actually run models on cost effectiveness.

I am curious though Fintan what do you think we should do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,131 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Parlon remarked that “no other country – barring some US states and Italy in the initial wave – have shut down construction during lockdowns. Most recently, the UK and Scotland have entered lockdown and left construction operational.”

https://www.globalconstructionreview.com/news/ireland-shuts-down-construction-covid-cases-rise/

Well he would say that wouldn't he. Guess what his job is, although I think you know anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Didn't hear Nolan today -  but based on his history why is anyone surprised he'd say that.

Quicker likes of him are pushed aside the better. No comprehension or understanding of real life displayed.

Very valid point,particularly when we see the treatment being meted out to Doctor Marcus de Brún by the medical establishment on the grounds his views on the Covid Care Home issue are "Undermining Irish Medical Council Policy".

https://twitter.com/indepdubnrth

If the McConkeys and Nolans of the Medical establishment are free to expound their theories,then those of dissenting views should at least be heard ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Case numbers are up because people with no symptoms who are not sick and never will be sick never mind in no danger at all of dying are coming forward because they are terrified and getting tested which in turn fuels the fear all over again.

The HSE says assume everyone has Covid 19.

Ok let's assume 99.97% of the population have it and 0.03% are dead.

The overwhelming majority of people who died had underlying conditions and were very old and/or very sick.
    We don't know for sure if they died with the virus or died of the virus.

Therefore the majority of the population who are going to suffer very soon from mass business closures mass job losses mass poverty mass homelessness and mass dependancy on welfare and charity to survive who have been fed a diet propaganda fear and utter lies since March of last year who have been wearing masks socially distancing and staying home on the orders of Dr Tony are going to realise too late they have been taken for utter fools.

Our county our economy our society and our very lives are being destroyed right now.

We have taken a petrol can to our country and lit a match.

It would hilarious if it were not so tragic.

Yes we do know they died of it.
    Every death 'with' vaccination is being investigated and the numbers are tiny in comparison with the at risk group who has died 'after' contraction of COVID.
    If they were just dying with covid, there would no more COVID deaths in this group than among the vaccinated group of similar age and health.
    https://www.brusselstimes.com/news/belgium-all-news/151678/14-deaths-after-vaccination-in-belgium-causality-not-established/

I guess that depends if your definition of normal includes overwhelmed hospitals and hundreds of deaths.

Otherwise, the 'pretend it's not happening' approach probably isn't the smartest move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,332 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

That whole post is garbage, but this is just patently untrue. If there was any element of the truth to it either test numbers or positivity rates would be off the charts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Very valid point,particularly when we see the treatment being meted out to Doctor Marcus de Brún by the medical establishment on the grounds his views on the Covid Care Home issue are "Undermining Irish Medical Council Policy".

Was that the loon speaking at the 5G rally?

dalyboy wrote: »
    So the 1st month of 2021 closes and what a month it’s been.

Of particular note is the week just gone where we have endured a major positivity battering with obliteration of our hopes for a normal incoming summer 2021.

We are being buttered up for a big shift in the timeframe of vaccine rollout with a taters of the Astra Zeneca debacle.

The covid zero mantra is actually openly being talked about. Leaky Leo was saying it was not plausible at a conference during the week but I can’t help remembering his October interview where he was stating that level 5 was implausible/unfair/unnecessary only to change his tune days later and relent to level 5 for the Nov 6 weeks.

Bleak bleak bleak.

What’ll be the situ by the end of February?

Bleaker bleaker bleaker.

Christ lads, pull yourselves together. A new vaccine approved, j&j showing great results, novartis and sanofi on board to partner in expanding manufacturing of the biontech Pfizer vaccine. What a bunch of doom mongers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Yup just shutdown the healthcare and we can get back to normal..

This thread didn't change at all.

AlekSmart wrote: »

https://twitter.com/indepdubnrth

If the McConkeys and Nolans of the Medical establishment are free to expound their theories,then those of dissenting views should at least be heard ?

“I didn’t hear what he actually said but I am going to draw my conclusions on it anyway”

“Great point”

And ye say it’s not an echo chamber full of empty conjecture