If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Sam Bennett - no same day spoilers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

deandean wrote: »
    Dare I say it...I wonder if there has been influence applied that a female should win, regardess of who the best sportsperson of the year is?
    I feel that there has been a bias in this direction over the past year or two - no disrespect meant to any of the contenders.

More female nominess to reach parity with male nominess, but no, no bias towards females winning the award. Taylor is a world champion and likely winner tonight.

My vote is for Sam and the extra eyes he brought to the sport of cycling.

BTW, If Bennett interviewed tonight, it might be the most we get to see of him for a good while, with the likelihood of more races cancelled or postponed.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,298 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Go on Oisin

Two cyclists winning in one night?

Unlikely, but fair play to Oisin on his recognition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,142 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

CramCycle wrote: »
    Go on Oisin

I can't believe he got it. Jumped of the couch when he got it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,444 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Anyone got Sam’s number? Call him on zoom and if he’s already on a call, we know he’s won! 😂

Delighted for Oisin, certainly talks the talk and walks the walk rides the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,125 ✭✭✭✭neris

That's shocking

WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Cetyl Palmitate

neris wrote: »
    That's shocking

Robbed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,125 ✭✭✭✭neris

Gender bolloxology or they just went for the higher profile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

For.Fux.Sake.

Utter shyte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭deandean

My hunch was right. Yet another example of
    'Positive discrimination'.

Can everyone whinging about gender politics please F*** off to after hours and stop trying to ruin another thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Sam didn't win. Not the end of the world. Katie is one of the finest, most professional and most dominant athletes we have ever had in this country. Give her the credit she's due. We had a great year with Sam and I'm sure his Green Jersey means more to him than an award from RTÉ

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Can everyone whinging about gender politics please F*** off to after hours and stop trying to ruin another thread
    Sam absolutely deserved the title IMO, based on his 2020 performance and his promotion of the sport, and this country.
    Would you care to offer your opinion as to why he didn't win?

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Sam didn't win. Not the end of the world. Katie is one of the finest, most professional and most dominant athletes we have ever had in this country. Give her the credit she's due. We had a great year with Sam and I'm sure his Green Jersey means more to him than an award from RTÉ

I'm sure if you added up all the wins and trophies she is the greatest ever Irish sorts person on the international stage

And we have just had a cyclist win the young category and he isn't even a road racer which is phenomenal. Was sure one of the more well known sports would win it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,745 ✭✭✭touts

Shocking decision. Katie is a great athlete but no where near the achievement of Sam this year. Katie won a couple of fights again last year because there is no one serious to challenge her. Sam had to fight his way through a crowded field of outstanding athletes and competitors to claim the top prize for sprinters.

Totally and absolutely decided on the basis of gender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

The great thing is that Sam Bennett surely won't care a hoot about any of this. If ye are waiting for RTE to cover cycling in any serious way.....

Absolutely won't mind at all. I'm sure he is probably a fan of Katie himself anyway like most of the rest of the country.

As for RTE never mind covering cycling it would be a win if they could report some of his races outside the tours and also stop looking disappointed when he doesn't win the stages up Tourmalet

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Jesus H Christ can the sexist gender quota bullshyte fcuk off? Sam had a fantastic year and the green jersey to top it all off is brilliant, but he has not achieved anywhere near the success Katie Taylor has, no where near.
    She deserves every bit of it.

It's AMAZING that Oisín won, thoroughly well deserved. Stunning achievement.

eeeee wrote: »
    Jesus H Christ can the sexist gender quota bullshyte fcuk off? Sam had a fantastic year and the green jersey to top it all off is brilliant, but he has not achieved anywhere near the success Katie Taylor has, no where near.

It's AMAZING that Oiswon, thoroughly well deserved. Stunning achievement.

The award is for 2020. Sam had a better year than Katie.

Gender has nothing to do with it. If this were a male boxer it would be the same decision. Professional Boxing has always been held in high esteem (you could argue why it is so) and we have a world champion boxer who has defende the title twice in 2020.

Regardless of the depth of her division, Taylor can only beat who is in front of her. Consider if the England womens team won the soccer World Cup. It would be the exact same achievement as the men's team in 1966. It's doesn't matter if the technical aspect wasn't the same or the attendances are lower, or there are less people watching on TV... that's beside the point. The England women's team and Katie Taylor are performing to the very best of their ability as female athletes. Men and women are equal, so their accomplishments should be treated equally as so.

If someone has any issue with the above paragragraph, then they need to have a reset on what they believe about gender equality.

Here endeth the lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Shur Sam only finished 287th and was 18hours back in the TDF, how would he win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

What did poor Jesus do on you???? Leave HIM out of it

Great to see Oisin's award.
    Sam has been on the RTE Sports Awards shortlist 2 years in a row. Best wishes to him for 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,745 ✭✭✭touts

Well if we're talking about lifetime success let's just give the award to Katie every year for the next 50 years running and be done with it.

Sam was the best Irish Sports achievement of 2020.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭happytramp

Having watched pretty much every race sam participated in 2020 and both of Katie's fights in 2020....I honestly don't believe there's a realistic argument to be made for her having had a better sporting year than Sam and I genuinely think a judge would have a tough time explaining their decision if that was the only criteria on which it was judged... That said, she's a massive star and a great ambassador for the sport so that may have been played a part in the selection process.

happytramp wrote: »
    Having watched pretty much every race sam participated in 2020 and both of Katie's fights in 2020....I honestly don't believe there's a realistic argument to be made for her having had a better sporting year than Sam and I genuinely think a judge would have a tough time explaining their decision if that was the only criteria on which it was judged... That said, she's a massive star and a great ambassador for the sport so that may have been played a part in the selection process.

She has only won it once back in 2012 after the Olympics and never when she was hovering up world titles and almost single handedly turn women's boxing into a serious sport. I know it's supposed to be about 2020 but these things sometimes come into play in votes.
    Like how the Oscars held of on the first 2 Lord of the Rings then threw every trophy going at the last one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Why did RTE have a photo of Remi Cavagna instead of Sam?? I personally think Sam should have won, but Katie is a a good pick too if it had to be someone else. A shambles from RTE though to not even know his picture.