Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 10,172 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

lawred2 wrote: »
    FF would probably chuck in some lad whose expertise lies within the alcohol trade...

Would not be a bit surprised, pub and restaurant trade with their spokespeople constantly insisting that it's practically impossible to catch the virus in their premises.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,300 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Eod100 wrote: »
    Martin on radio 1 confirming schools closing until end of January is on agenda today. Say that's it so.

Maybe he should have that on "the agenda" at the start of December

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

mcburns07 wrote: »
    That's not even remotely what I said...

Stress is bad for your health. Reduce stress = healthier and happier. Much more beneficial than taking vitamins.

How did you equate me being stressed from taking a list of vitamins?

Or maybe I mentioned the anxiety part a few days ago... Where I got a panic attack... Nothing from what I read online. It was assholes ignoring the maximum number of people in a small room and then proceeded to take their face masks off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Loving these guys. Early warning, and hopefully can tell us the peak has arrived sooner than cases/swabs.

No sign yet, though you wouldn't expect to see a peak just yet

Yes, it's great work. Looking at some of the past data, it is not unusual for Monday's data to be double a normal day, so I would say it's flattening out. But I always take the optimistic view (often wrongly).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

A little petulant when someone is openly concerned about your mental health and only offering advice(As others have also offered). A break does us all good. A few days over Christmas was very refreshing for myself, likewise in the summer, need to step back at times for our own sake.

Ah come on, all of ye with yer well meaning aka patronising advice for AWTF. Leave her alone. Go past her posts and stop with the If I was you condescension. Why should she do what you "advise"? If she wants to be up to high doh it is her prerogative. Balances out the nothing to see here delusional crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Ah the classic hire people who agree with you. NPHET have made the cabinet / government look like the gob****es they were. That is a sackable offence in Ireland. Being a gob****e however is grand though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

mcburns07 wrote: »
    That's not even remotely what I said...

Stress is bad for your health. Reduce stress = healthier and happier. Much more beneficial than taking vitamins.

Patient: "My Scurvy has flared up again doctor"

Doctor: "A funny thing happened on my way to the surgery . . ."

Patient: "Ha ha, thanks doctor, no vitamin C for me then"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

seamus wrote: »
    The unknown here is that he's predicting that the halving rate is the same as Oct/Nov. When the data from April suggests that a sharper spike results in a faster decline. But in terms of expectations, we should look at the Oct/Nov decline rate as the worst-case scenario.

The April data taken in an almost complete lockdown?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,944 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Hopefully it's more than just schools staying closed that are the new measures.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Looks like construction be closed going by what MM is saying in this interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Pcgamer

Or maybe I mentioned the anxiety part a few days ago... Where I got a panic attack... Nothing from what I read online. It was assholes ignoring the maximum number of people in a small room and then proceeded to take their face masks off.

Well that does show you have hone some mental health issues, relax, take a walk, have a beer.

Chillout

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Eod100 wrote: »
    The source saying they want ''more medical specialists who are knowledgeable and have strong personalities'' is interesting. Thought they'd want the exact opposite tbh based on previous differences between NPHET and government.
    "Strong personalities" is like when Varadkar's meeting with Holohan in October was called a "robust discussion" by Eamonn Ryan.

They want individuals in there who are willing to argue a differing opinion against Holohan. The current team are no doubt invaluable in terms of supplying data and interpretation, but it's clear Tony makes the final decisions unchallenged.

As long as they appoint suitably qualified experts and not just someone with any medical qualification because they have a different opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Drumpot wrote: »
    I’m lucky I don’t drink alcohol :D

I suppose asking people to take a VIT D tablet is far more likely to get less resistance to asking people not to drink. Although there does seem to be a fair few people averse to even just taking the VIT D question out of the equation for some reason. If everybody in Ireland was not VIT D deficient, doesn’t that equate to less severe cases due to VIT D deficiency?

My limited understanding of VIT D on the body is that it’s very important role in keeping our immune system strong to help us fight off infections. Seems like such a simple low hanging variable to address, I don’t get the resistance to take it off the table.
    Its effect on COVID is unproven, apart from "I gave it to 20 of my patients" type of trials/YouTube videos, but there are some proper trials under way anyway. Here's one.

https://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2020-10/qmuo-ctt101320.php

It's still good to take anyway, especially this time of year!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

"Strong personalities" is like when Varadkar's meeting with Holohan in October was called a "robust discussion" by Eamonn Ryan.

They want individuals in there who are willing to argue a differing opinion against Holohan. The current team are no doubt invaluable in terms of supplying data and interpretation, but it's clear Tony makes the final decisions unchallenged.

As long as they appoint suitably qualified experts and not just someone with any medical qualification because they have a different opinion.

This was exactly my take too

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Seriously, it's all feeding in to your anxiety. Just because you didn't have a panic attack while reading about covid online does not mean it's not a contributing factor.

You really need to step away from it all if it's affecting you that much.

Not going to say any more on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Will the 2km come back?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Will the 2km come back?

Probably

• Registered Users Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Lads how ye keep taking a certain poster here seriously and think they are genuine in unreal

• Registered Users Posts: 11,723 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Possibly but I don't see what could be done differently at this juncture and government's default policy remains easing in and out of restrictions until people are vaccinated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Pcgamer

Will the 2km come back?

Looks like it to be fair

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Stheno wrote: »
    Probably

MM said they are not considering reducing to 2 km on the radio just now. Not for the moment anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,209 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Gruffalux wrote: »
    Ah come on, all of ye with yer well meaning aka patronising advice for AWTF. Leave her alone. Go past her posts and stop with the If I was you condescension. Why should she do what you "advise"? If she wants to be up to high doh it is her prerogative. Balances out the nothing to see here delusional crap.

What are you on about? All I said was its good for everyone to take a break. Have done it myself a few times, much the better for it. Nothing patronising or condescending about saying whats worked in my experience, might not work for someone else but its called sharing an experience, nothing wrong with that.

People can make their own minds up about whatever they want to do, sharing an experience is perfectly acceptable here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

LOL this is going to make the hiring of Seamus Woulfe look like non event.

Wonder what the bollox made up criteria will be or who'll decide it. We know who'll leak it.

BANANASTAN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Lads how ye keep taking a certain poster here seriously and think they are genuine in unreal

Clue is in the name?

MM said they are not considering reducing to 2 km on the radio just now. Not for the moment anyway.

Thats good news for me anyway :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,578 ✭✭✭JDD

Which means we can practically guarantee that it will be imposed.

Same as the government ministers on the radio yesterday saying the schools would definitely open next Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭_feedback_

What was it that he said?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,944 ✭✭✭✭titan18

You'd think they'd have the meeting first before saying what they are or are not going to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Tandey

Why what did he say?